Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lochan Nan Al

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Ardnamurchan > Lochan Nan Al Reviews

Lochan Nan Al
Ormsaigbeg
Kilchoan
Ardnamurchan
Argyll   (Browse area)
PH36 4LL
Tel: 07435624280
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

The site is split into two areas, first is a hardstanding area with 4 ehu pitches and 2 non ehu. Then a further 50-100 m up the road are another two hardstanding and a large tenting area.

We had telephoned to make a booking with ehu - on arrival no reserved signs, the next van to arrive said they had booked but again nothing reserved.

Have to say for first hour we didn't realise there was a second part to the campsite which was where the fresh water and chem disposal were.

From the pitches lovely views over the Sound of Mull very quiet and peaceful. The village shops is just steps over the road, stocked with pretty much everything you could think of and they sell fuel.

There arent any bins on site or in the village, you take a black bag from the campers kitchen and put your rubbish in then walk approx 400 metres down the single track road and place your rubbish in a netted trailer. Its a 5-7 minute walk - not great with traffic and no walkway.

The site does not have showers or toilets, the public toilets also have two showers for which you pay 1. Campers were happily wandering down the road past the shop in their towels. Whilst they are cleaned by volunteers they were a bit grubby but appreciate that is due to the people using them not the cleaners.

The sign on the toilet / shower building shows open 9am - 8pm.

The owners do not visit site so any questions you need to telephone, payment is via an honesty box - 12 per pitch, plus 6 for ehu.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jehpesto 12 reviews from this member

What a find! We were aiming for Resipole Farm but they were full, however the man there told us about this site and we're very grateful to him!

It looks as though they have extended the hardstanding a bit and so we were on rough (but quite OK) cindery bit even nearer the sea. It was numbered but no EHU (which wasn't a problem).

There is good chemical toilet disposal and completely separate and clearly marked drinking water tap, as well as a nice washing up area with hot water (no charge! see my review of Portnadoran at Arisaig!) and even a roll of black bin bags.

There are free public loos and 2 pay showers (1 for 5 minutes) just up the road and both of those were big enough to accommodate wheelchair user. The great weather helped of course but we will definitely return.

There is an honesty box with a suggestion of 12, which we were happy to pay. There is also a phone number on a noticeboard and the only thing we were not entirely sure of is were you meant to phone, or just park and pay as it didn't specify that you have to phone.

The website (quite minimal) says ring "for bookings and information" but I'm not sure how booking would work if people, like us and I assume others, just turn up on spec.

The helpful man at Resipole farm referred to it as an "aire" and indeed that is what it most resembles. Just a pity there are not more like this around the UK.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Raymie 1961 4 reviews from this member

Nicely situated by the sea but don't need to shower or need the toilet after 8pm. Not sure if it's good for children. As wee John I'll pee himself by the morning.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anderson24 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for one night (Oct 2017) with my car and tent in the field set back from the road, the cost was 10.

There is a wooden hut on one side of the field with hot and cold running water, microwave, fridge, and plug sockets for charging your phones etc, everything in this hut was spotlessly clean.

The toilets and showers don't belong to the site, they are community facilities for all visitors and are situated in a building next to the Post Office which is about 50 yards from the site. The toilets are free, but the showers cost 1 (they only accepted the old round 1 coins when I visited).

This site is in a brilliant spot on the water's edge with superb views over to Mull, I will definitely visit again when I'm in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Headgardener 35 reviews from this member

This is a quirky little site in the Village of Kilchoan. There are three hardstanding pitches with EHU on the shore side of the road with two more about 50 yards further west on the other side of the road where the fresh water tap is. The chemical disposal unit, which is modern, clean and purpose built, is opposite the second part of the site.

The site is about 100 yards from the Post Office/Village Store. The shop is well stocked with a good selection of food etc ( plus wine !).

Although there are no facilities on the site there are community showers and toilets next to the shop that are open 8 am to 8 pm. Dont know what they are like.

The views across to Mull and out towards Coll are spectacular.

The ferry terminal for Tobermory, Mull is about. 75 mile away.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NealA 4 reviews from this member

Great site and location campervan pitches with ehu over look sound of mull with views over to mull. Field for tents and campervans if you don't need ehu. Hotel for food and drink 15 mins walk away village shop 2mins walk. Showers and loos next door to the shop.

Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cathnclive 1 review from this member

We stayed for three nights exploring the far end of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula in not the best weather, although our final morning was glorious.

All the facilities you need are there, just a little spread out along the road. Toilets/showers next to shop/post office, drinking water in opposite direction near some static caravans and further pitches, and rubbish on a trailer towards pub and ferry.

The view from the loch side site is spectacular and the pub (The Kilchoan Hotel) does a good menu.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Whelan 2 reviews from this member

Small site in a village in Ardnamurchen. Located about 15 minutes walk from hotel and bar which does good food. Great location with fantastic views to Mull. We were able to watch herons flying across the coastline but no otters, sadly. We were on a hard standing pitch, there is also a field for tents. As said previously the toilets and showers are located across the road past the post office and extremely well stocked shop, but not a problem at all. We paid 14 per night for 2 people. Showers are 1. Extremely laid back site in beautiful, peaceful location. Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sisterblue 3 reviews from this member

Spent one night on this site in August. Handy for the Mull ferry, the motohome pitches were sited next to the water with open views. They are hardstanding and there is space for 4. So really nice for a stopover. The site is in the village (tiny village) and you do share community shower and toilets, but these were as close as most on site loos, and good enough. Looked like the site extended to a bit of glamping and tent pitches, but I didn't really explore!

Would stay again if I was up that way.

Cost was 10. 50 - which was for one person and electric hookup (think it would have been 7 without power)

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

Noticed that site as we headed to our normal pitch and pulled onto it and called the number on the board. Helpful owner lives on Mull and I was advised who to leave the fees with. Great location and community toilet and shower was ok. Water pipe and cwp easy access but no obvious place to drop grey waste.

Very peaceful and with great views. We were told to watch out for otters and sure enough one ran along the shore adjacent to our pitch. Magic.

Will stay there again.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ardnamurchan      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019