Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mount Pleasant Camping And Glamping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Mount Pleasant Camping And Glamping Reviews

Mount Pleasant Camping And Glamping
Mount Pleasant Farm Stanton Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 2BX
Tel: 07432660155  or  01538 308385
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Edeny3 2 reviews from this member

 This site has everything you need for a relaxing stay, which we needed for our trip to the Alton Towers fireworks. It's a quiet, clean site, with fantastic views, good toilet facilities, welcoming and genuine owners, and donkeys! When we arrived, the rain had been and gone, and while the field was wet, we had no problem getting our unit onto the pitch. The pitch was reasonably level and had a 16A hookup.

The owners were really great, explained where everything was and were on hand if anything went wrong (which it didn't). Only one person is allowed into the toilet block at any time, but as there were only a few guests on-site, we never had to wait. The toilets were always clean, warm, and had piped music, which we thought was a nice touch.

However, because this is a working farm, it would be awkward for disabled users. There is a step to the toilets, and most of the roads and paths are unpaved, but if you can get around with a walking stick, then you'll have no problems.

While we like the quiet sites, we also like the more interesting ones, and this site certainly ticks this box. The owners have a small museum on site! They have collected all manner of farm equipment, and many other artefacts together in a large barn. It's really fascinating to go round and spot things your grandparents would have had, and early childhood toys, office equipment, and too many other things to mention here. There's no charge. However, the donkeys and horse would appreciate a small donation of carrots, apples, and Ginger Nut biscuits (there is an Aldi in Leek).

I have to explain the 8/10 for child friendliness. This is a working farm with lots of dangerous equipment about. I would advise anyone with children to warn them not to wander off and keep an eye on them at all times. The owners don't mind children playing on the tractors and old fairground cars, but please be careful.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Taralara 1 review from this member

 We camped here last weekend and we had a fantastic time and enjoyed our stay thoroughly.

The campsite is very spacious and have lots of room as it is not overcrowded and packed in unlike these commercial ones that like to put you right next to one another.

The farm animals are great too to camp with and lovely to see each day and see younger children interact and be in nature with them.

The toilets and showers are lovely and clean.

Even a fridge on the campsite that can be used by anybody.

The views are absolutely stunning and what a view to wake up to each morning, breathtaking and even better when the sun is shining too 😊.

The pitches for camping are level and perfect spot for camping.

The campsite is built on trust and the trust was not broken once from the Campers & Glampers.

Very friendly and welcoming site to come on too. Emily who runs the campsite is a lovely lady too. When we arrived Emily welcomed us warmly and showed us around the campsite and what we needed to no.

Emily was very accommodating too as when we originally booked for two tents we were told that they may not be together but on arrival Emily tried her best and succeeded and put both tents next to each other which was a bonus and made our day bless her, so Thankyou Emily very kind of you.

The machinery and old theme park rides around the site are fantastic touch and lovely to walk around and look at. The trinkets that are about in the toilets, showers, washing up area and generally around the farm are fantastic to spot and look at.

Would recommend this site to anyone looking or thinking of going as we definitely loved our stay and the spot was amazing and will definitely be back.

Alton towers and the town isnít far either which was one of the purpose of our stay as we had a day at Alton towers. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Alicethompson 1 review from this member

 Incredibly accommodating to my group request for non-electric pitches, very private too due to it being a large field (however high winds were a problem due to being on top of a hill, but also gave fantastic views).

Small toilet facilities which occasionally meant we had to wait due to corona one-in-one-out system, however they were lovely to use and regularly cleaned.

The campsite is close to many shops, Alton Towers, Pubs and walks in the Peak district.

Overall very pleasant experience, especially due to the animals that we could pet on the farm. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Campingfamily6 1 review from this member

 First camping experience for us so we have nothing to compare to but as a (slightly) fussy person I was pleasantly surprised on how lovely the site was. We had an EHU pitch.

The shower and toilet facilities were spotless, the site was quirky but fab for the kids to explore (with adult supervision), pitch site itself was great.

Small ditch outside our front door but that was purely coincidental as to where we had the opening for our tent and was not off putting in any way. Owners were lovely.

One thing that we did struggle with was the wind a little - it is open field with open grounds surrounding and we were quite high up compared to other local campsites so it was breezy.

This would put us off going again though as it is perfectly placed for Alton Towers but the other sites nearby had many more tents on site and I think we would have worried a lot more about our children as they had plenty of space on this site but also for noise that they may make.

Looking forward to visiting again next year when weather warms up for our Alton Towers adventures - about 6 miles away so perfectly placed. Stayed end of August. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: RainMagnet 9 reviews from this member

 Camped for 7 nights, non electric, family of 4 (2 adults, 9 year old & 5 year old).

The site has a large field with electric points along one side, the rest of the perimeter can be used for non electric campers. The field is relatively flat & well maintained for the most part but does drop off at the far end.

The site is on top of a hill so can be subject to high winds, great for kite flying with the children. The site is a working farm and has some animals the children can go to see, there are Harley the donkey & Axle the horse, both the children loved stroking and feeding them carrots.

There are also some pigs & sheep and a load of chickens, Emily the owner let my eldest check for eggs. Whizz has an amazing collection of old items in one of the barns that you are free to walk round, its work a look.

The toilet facility is small but well maintained and cleaned regularly, the men's have 2 toilets, 1 wash hand basin & 1 shower, the women's have 2 toilets, 2 showers (1 combined with the toilet) and 2 wash hand basins. There is a single covered pot washing station next to the toilets. There is a shed that has a fridge freezer for ice packs, it also contains some leaflets for local attractions & takeaways.

The site is a 10 minute drive from Ashbourne, with a Sainsburys & Aldi for any food shopping.

Attractions we visited where Alton Towers, Dovedale stepping stones and Peak Wildlife Park, all are under 20 minute dive away.

Would recommend camping here, good value for money, our children loved the site especially the animals, if we are looking to camp in the area again would definitely stay here. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy Burke 1 review from this member

 We had a great time at Mount pleasant, so much so that we returned 2 weeks after our first visit.

Emily and Whizz are lovely people, the showers and toilets were immaculate every time I visited them and Whizzes collection of antiquities in his museum are fascinating.

Just 10 mins to Alton Towers and the same to Dovedale there is something for everyone within easy reach 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Andyhart21 1 review from this member

 A really nice friendly little site. Clean toilet block and nice warm showers. They only allow a limited number of pitches and no dogs, which is exactly what we are looking for.

So many sites advertise a certain number of pitches, then when you arrive, they have allowed half the UK population to camp because it is school holidays.

That is not the case at this site, Sarah and Whizz can't do enough for you, and even though the weather was shocking, we had one of the nicest camping holidays ever.

We will definitely come back. Extremely child friendly, especially if they have an interest in farm machinery! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: BishyBahBoos 3 reviews from this member

 Really lovely farm site which we chose as we wanted a flat pitch to try out trailer tent for the first time.

Toilets and showers are beautifully clean with piping hot water. Staff were very friendly and the kids loved the pigs. Great location with lots nearby to see and do.

We really enjoyed out three night stay and will definitely return 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Team Monkey 19 reviews from this member

 Weekend stay for us here. Excellent working farm site which we love with having small children. The glamping huts look great too, we had a nosey through the window! Big spacious more- or-less flat field with short grass so kids could easily play.

Liked watching the light aircraft and microlights. A field nearby appeared to have a homemade runway! We had gorgeous sunshine but it's quite exposed to the wind.

Great site, great attentive owners, we will be returning 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Briff 16 reviews from this member

 We arrived to a huge immaculately mown field, and after a quick call to Sarah we were invited to pitch in any of the free spaces. The Facilities are very clean, and the showers are operated with a token for 6 minutes which was more than enough to have a quick shower. The site is conveniently situated between leek and Ashbourne. Aldi is 5 miles away in Ashbourne.

The highlight for our youngest two was being able to feed the pigs with our fruit and veg left overs, boy can those pigs devour an apple.

We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely be back. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mount Pleasant Camping And Glamping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mount Pleasant Camping And Glamping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Mount Pleasant Camping And Glamping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2449 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement