Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverdale Cottage

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Battle > Riverdale Cottage Reviews

Riverdale Cottage
Kent Street
Sedlescombe
Battle
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN33 0SF
Tel: 01424 756932  or  07814 517297
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 14 Reviews
                10/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Omoregiefamily 1 review from this member

 We couldn't recommend highly enough! We stayed here in a motor home. 2 adults child and a cat. Honestly our favourite holiday site by far.

My daughter loved the goslings and lambs. The owner even let her hold one! We all loved watching the llamas turkeys and other animals.

Facilities were clean and fine for what we needed them for.

The owners were incredibly friendly and welcoming and it was an amazing stay.

This site is the sole reason for returning to Hastings later on this year if we can. We couldn't ask for more and will recommend to anyone thinking of a Hastings trip.

Just a lovely, lovely friendly site that we will be sad to leave tomorrow. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bridgeywidge 22 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from an enjoyable weekend and really wanted to stay longer but sadly work didn't allow.

The site is off the A121 and easy to find - if you don't miss the turning. Consequently, there is some road noise but, it's also surprisingly peaceful as you are in a little valley edged by woods and a tiny stream. The facilities are well kept with 3 unisex loos, a baby changing room, hand basins, and one shower - which was free, no meter. There's also an open air washing up space with a bit of a canopy, lots of hot water, and the recycling bins near by. The owners leave a basket there with garden produce for campers with a donation tin for next year's seeds.

The main joy of this site is the animals which we enjoyed immensely: turkeys, hens, little pigs, alpacas (which amused us as they mirrored each other's movements like bookends), soay sheep and some lambs. You can buy the produce from these also. We just had eggs but chops and sausages can be purchased.

V & P the owners were friendly and welcoming, and I'd like to say a personal 'thank you' for allowing me to temporarily store some kit in the shed as I pitched our tent (in the only rain for weeks) whilst OH went off to visit his customer in Eastbourne - the reason for trip. That was really appreciated.

I suppose my only negative - and this is very much a personal 'holy grail' - is that there's nowhere to walk to from the site. There is a golf club just up the road (no path but a verge) if you want to eat or drink out without driving, but not a little village for an evening stroll. That may not bother you as the animals and wildlife (bunnies, bats and a whole squadron of dragonflies) may be entertainment enough. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dave42 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from a perfect week end at the cottage camping. Really lovely people. Very friendly. There's animals there and they allowed my 9year old to feed the animals. She loved it. They have two of the happiest pigs I've ever seen lol. The place is clean and peaceful. Nothing is too much trouble. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: R and M Hill 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a lovely few days from Riverdale Cottage camp site campsite. The owners V & Paul were so helpful and generous. We had fresh veg all week from the little veg basket where we just had to put a donation in.

The site was lovely and quiet and the farm animals were a joy to watch.

A nice relaxing break in this beautiful little site.

Will return one day Thank you. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 18 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Riverdale cottage after a lovely week long stay. It's very difficult to find any fault at all here at all. Totally don't get the last review as we had no problems at all and didn't find any of their issues. Location lovely, the owners really have managed to find their own bit of paradise here. Well set back off a busy road and noise from road barely noticeable if at all. So the peace is wonderful.

Owners very friendly and helpful. Asked several times if everything was ok with our stay, which it always was. Only one issue with hot washing up water was immediately sorted out. Facilities very clean whenever we used them. Animals added an extra element and it was lovely to watch their antics from our tent.

We did have the benefit of the site being lovely and quiet when we were there even though the weather glorious. The busiest we saw it was 4 units with only couples in them and most of the time only us and another tent so we got the best of it really. The sites facilities of 3 or 4 unisex loos and one shower and one washing up area may struggle if site was full, especially if larger families were present. However we were spoilt as it was so quiet so never had to wait for anything.

This site is a true gem and a credit to the owners and the lifestyle they are leading. It's a little haven of peace In a busy world and we were thrilled to find it. We will definitely come back one day as there was a lot to see in the area.

Thanks for a lovely week V xx 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FamilyHolidays 4 reviews from this member

 We visited Riverdale Cottage campsite at the end of May this year. We had booked in for 4 nights but came home after 3. During our stay we encountered three main issues which affected our enjoyment.

1) Situated close to the back of the campsite is a tile factory with noisy machinery. The owner informed us on arrival that this can at times run all night, which it did for one of our nights. It creates a background noise, the only advantage of this is that it drowns out the humming of the pylon which was very close to our pitch at the far end of the campsite.

2) The toilet and shower facilities were basic which was not a problem in itself. However the one shower was in a poor condition with mould and dirt in many places. The heating fan was clogged with dust and debris. The floor tiles had lifted where water had seeped in underneath. The mop provided to clean the floor was filthy. The toilets were cleaned infrequently and at times ran out of toilet paper and soap. Due to the fact that there were ten motorhomes/caravans and two tents on our third night, the facilities became very busy and unpleasant.

3) When the issue of the condition of the shower room was raised with the owners, they became agitated and argumentative. We were told that we could find another campsite. We stopped the discussion when the owner swore in front of our 8 year old son. The owner did apologise for using a swear word.

As a result of the reaction of the owners to our enquiry about the shower, we made the decision to leave the campsite a night early and will not be returning. This is a great a shame as with a different attitude from the owners, this campsite could be lovely. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andy McKay 15 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site within walking distance (45 mins) to Battle. Paul and Vandra, the site owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Shower (one only) and loo’s kept very clean and tidy, wood and fire pits for hire, home produced meats for sale. Great location for visiting nearby coastal resorts. The site is situated on a main road with some fast moving traffic so entry and exit can be a little tricky, however the pitches are at the far end of a long field so traffic noise can barely by heard. As a working smallholding there are lots of animals about but they all seemed well behaved, it was always interesting seeing what the Alpacas and lambs were up to. We would definitely stop again if in the area, this is what a CS should be like. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HymerMLT280 1 review from this member

 We dropped in with the intention of staying one night. I can echo everything where people have made positive comments. Very friendly very welcoming. Facilities looked great.

We had a couple of other places that we wanted to look at. If this had been the last on our list we would definitely have stayed.

We will be back, this looks a great place to chill.

Value for money: I have given a 9 out of 10 for the value for money, this is from a modern motor home point of view. We have all facilities in our van. And there are sites which cost less. I would like to add that if I were in a caravan it would be definitely 10/10.

Steve 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruth Grossberger 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site. We had a fabulous holiday, staying for almost 3 weeks. The site is small and quiet, but had everything we could have wanted for a quiet family holiday. The animals kept the kids busy and occupied, there's plenty space for running around, the little woods ideal for running around and exploring. Small toilet block with one shower but hardly any queuing necessary even at busy times. Delicious home-grown vegetables were available for us to buy and it was really good for the kids to see that tomatoes don't grow on a supermarket shelf, and are much tastier when grown locally! The owners were so helpful and really pleasant. They couldn't do enough to help us whenever we needed anything and did whatever they could to make sure we had a happy and relaxing holiday. Site was the ideal base to explore this area of the country and we were close to coast, countryside and towns. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mac52 2 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site if you like quite. We stayed for 2 nights and there were 2 caravans, 4 tents and 2 small camper vans. The site has everything you need, clean toilets and shower, plenty of free hot water, tidy washing up area and recycling bins. We like a small site and this has something for everyone, the pitches are large and there is plenty of room for kids to run and ride bikes and not make a nuisance of themselves, farm animals to watch and a woodland to explore. There are fresh eggs for sale along with sausages, cucumbers and tomatoes. The couple who own this site have got it right, a nice welcome and then your left alone. If you need them they are around. As stated before its off the A21 but there is no noise from the road, it's a slice of heaven in that respect, so many sites have noise from main roads.

We will be going back to enjoy the peace. 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverdale Cottage child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverdale Cottage?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Riverdale Cottage dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Battle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3981 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement