Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White Meadow A Camping Unplugged Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Blackfields > White Meadow A Camping Unplugged Site Reviews

CLOSED: White Meadow A Camping Unplugged Site
Lepe Road
Blackfields
Hampshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justine Parkinson 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July, 5 adults and 2 children in 3 tents. The site was lovely and we had a nice enclosed area (half way up the left side of the first field next to the big tree) around our camp fire.

The children had a wonderfull time especially when another camper put up a long swing on the tree! Very safe and fun for the children to run around in the woods without constant supervision. Lots of places for them to explore.

The facilities have been covered in detail so I won't do that but all very good and sufficient.

Fantastic little shop selling everything you needed at a reasonable price and they would re-freeze your ice blocks for free.

The couple running the site were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. We needed some extra guide ropes and the chap disappeared and returned with a whole stack for us to use, very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this site for families.

It is about a 20 minute walk to the beach along the road. We took the scenic route which was probably twice as long but much nicer along paths, through, woods and fields with horses. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DT-campers 2 reviews from this member

 A real campsite!

Two fields next to Lepe Lane, running down to beautiful Lepe beach, (20 minute walk with kids)

Facilities :

2 shower blocks with open air and closed showers as well as toilets and compost toilets.

Wash up area (open air) with hot water and plenty of space, (automatic lighting ideal for washing up after dark!)

Shop

Selling barbecues and basic food stuffs. Also information on walks and the local area as well as tick advice. Do bring a tick remover. There are ticks everywhere in the forest so it's a good investment!

Logs

Logs for sale but we brought our own which they didn't mind!

Noise

Low background hum from the power station at night, but not enough to keep you awake. Road practically unused so NO traffic noise, (unlike Embers Beaulieu!)

Comments

We were there on July 14 with 3 other tents so very quiet. Plenty of existing fire spots but you can make your own new one if you wish. Picked up ticks either in the field or collecting branches on Lepe road for the fire.

What makes this site outstanding are the friendly couple who run it :D I forgot chairs and the man ran out a couple of logs on the back of his truck! Overall a great campsite, with shade if necessary. Brilliant! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DeborahTurner 17 reviews from this member

 A great location, and if you want to be in the New Forest (or on the very edge), have a campfire and travel with a tent this is a great site.

The site comprises two large fields with trees or meadow adjoining. A minority of the site borders the quiet road. There are 3 grades of toilet, compost in the far field, plastic 'event toilets' and flushing portacabins. Showers are excellent wooden huts with good hot water and loads of space - we really liked using these - and ones in the portacabins. Portacabin hot water and lights go off at 9pm, reverting to solar power (to stop generator noise at night). The washing up stations (two of 2 sinks each) were sturdy, spacious and good, built in wooden shelters. All the facilities were kept very clean.

For such a site ('wild camping') the little shop is excellent, stocking everything you would need for an emergency meal (pasta, jar sauce, tins etc), toiletries, camping accessories etc. They have a freezer and allow you to re-freeze your cool blocks.

Wood is £10 a bag - pricey but the bags are big and we made two last 4 nights. They hire out campfire grills.

The couple who run the site are really friendly, hard working and helpful.

It is recognisably a Camping Unplugged site, campfires allowed, camp where you like, popular with a few big groups as well as quiet couples.

The ground is hard and stony - take your heavy duty pegs and a mallet. The grass is long, this is not a mowed, manicured site - kids will be best in wellies in the dew.

It can be a long walk to the tap if you camp in the far part of the far field.

Our visit covered quiet week nights and weekend nights - it was VERY busy over the weekend and I would be surprised if there were only the advertised 40 pitches! However the facilities still seemed adequate, and there is still plenty of space.

At night we could hear a constant quiet hum - probably the big power station, or maybe the oil refinery. This area of Hampshire is right between the industrial bank of Southampton harbour (and the view in that direction is blighted by the towers and chimneys of the power plant and refinery, but you do get a Sainsbury's Local, Tesco Express and good Co-Op supermarkets in the workaday suburbs off the main road down to the site) and the glorious, picturesque (perhaps rather twee) villages such as Beaulieu with it's expensive but well stocked post office store (do not rely on this for you basic shopping!).

The beach at Lepe Country Park is just down the road and we loved being able to pop down for a swim. The New Forest is beautiful and fantastic for walking, cycling and exploring, and this was a great location for that.

Two kids did get ticks, either from the woodland round the site or out and about in the New Forest - they keep tick removers and information at Reception. The whole area (Hampshire / New Forest) is high risk for ticks, not specific to the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dotcomplex 9 reviews from this member

 Spent a very chilled mid week at the site run by a lovely family. Stayed in the field furthest from the entrance which as already noted by others is difficult to pitch in if you don't have some robust pegs and a hammer or the back of an axe. Apparently the stoney core beneath the lush surface is a legacy of the fact the location was used as a departure point for the DDay landings. Other than that the site itself is nice and level and very spacious. The facilities are great and well looked after. I was very lucky with the weather and the walk down to the sea and back was very enjoyable. One word of warning, if bringing a dog and taking the country walk to the sea around this time of year be sure to treat them with tick repellent or keep them on a lead. When I arrived home I found they had really gone to town on my spaniel. The small beaches down at the mouth of the solent are definitely worth the trouble though and the peace and quiet of the campsite made it a very relaxing break. I would highly recommend the site and the owner, a really helpful and nice guy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hippy chic 1 review from this member

 Spent 3 amazing nights in white meadow we were literally the only campers and weather fab!

I was a bit wary of open air showers and not sure I would have used it had there been other campers due to numerous ' peep holes' in wood!

Site had camping supplies, wood and owner was lovely, they also had a herb garden for visitors to use.

We loved the peace and quiet, night time was full of sounds of owls and residual noise from planes did not seem to be an issue.

Surrounding area very beautiful but worth driving out to lymington for shopping. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jedzi 11 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights here (Sun to Weds) in early August. If you like huge amounts of space, as well as peace & quiet and a laid back feel, this place is absolutely spot on. Apparently the sites capacity is 50 pitches. We’ve been to other sites that would cram 300 tents into the same area.

Pros

Space, space & more space

Quiet

Spotlessly clean loos

Well run by the couple who manage it

Laid back feeling

Camp fires

Loos & showers in decent portacabins. Or you could choose the open air showers & (smell free) compost loos

Woods for children to play in.

Did I mention the space?

Cons

Nothing of any significance.

If I’m being really picky you might say the ground in the 2nd field is a bit stony, also I think it’s maybe a breezy part of the world, but neither made any difference to our stay.

The closest villages are nothing special, but the wider area has a lot to offer with Beaulieu, the New Forest, the Solent etc. The nearby villages are useful for Sainsbury’s Local, Tesco etc

We’d happily go back. I just wish more sites gave you this much room. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jbb1003 5 reviews from this member

 Spent five days there. Very spacious, we were the only tent there on the last day! though a bit puzzled as to why a new arrival on our second day decided to camp right next to us (right next to on this campsite meant 10 metres away!). We camped in the rougher second field, the first field is more 'crowded', but has access to the woods and a rope swing, and is also a bit more sheltered from a Westerly wind. We saw three tents and three gazebos demolished by the wind (unusually strong for the end of May) in our field, because they weren't pegged out properly. The ground is a bit stoney, so decent pegs needed!

Real campfires are wonderful. The woodland showers are great, plenty of hot water, and nice and spacious so you can dump your one year old in the corner without them getting soaked. And hot water for washing up too! Cool Camping seems to imply that the river runs through the campsite, and that you can walk down it to the beach. This is complete rubbish! I did go for a run down the bridle path to the south of the campsite, and from then on to the beach, but it was practically impossibly to avoid some nettle stings on the first part of the bridle path - not surprising for May, but does make it unsuitable for little ones.

Langley to the north is excellent for topping up groceries. The Lepe beach cafe is reasonably priced (3. 95 for a cream tea) and ok food. Stars were not as good as we expected, there's a real glow from Southampton and the refinery. The road down to Lepe runs right next to the campsite, but with a 40 limit, is not that noisy. As expected, the campsite was a bit noisier on Friday night, but the kids still got to sleep with no trouble.

Campsite costs more than some others, but the amount of space you get is excellent. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jools77 1 review from this member

 Lovely first outing for our family tent. This campsite is perfect for those who want to enjoy fresh air and simple camping. The field we pitched in was flat and we pitched backing onto a wooded area so we were able to enjoy the bird song in the the morning and listened to a tawny owl whilst sitting round the camp fire. The campsite host couldn't be more helpful and the availability of fire wood was a nice touch.

The showers were beautifully rustic but with the option of an indoor trailer shower if wanted. I can imagine on a busy weekend there may be a queue for the facilities but we encountered no problems. The toilets in the field we stayed in were trailer toilets and spotlessly clean.

The beach and country park, which are on the door step, were perfect for wearing out our little people during the day.

We will be returning for another weekend before the season is over. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3229 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement