Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Penrose Holiday Park (was Penrose Farm Touring Park)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Penrose Holiday Park (was Penrose Farm Touring Park)
Goonhavern
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 9QF
Tel: 01872 573185
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 150
Open: Easter Or 1st April (which Ever 1st) To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skiiddy 10 reviews from this member

We spent three days here in late July - family sites are not our first choice during school holidays because they can be a little noisy but our visit was to see friends who were staying for a week.

The meet and great was friendly and we were shown to our pitch very quickly. It was an excellent size and 50 metres from the shower block, campers kitchen and reception. The site appeared to be reasonably full and our fellow campers where very friendly.

There are three very large grass sites for tents/caravans and ours was adjacent to a B road which could get a little noisy. Whilst the grounds were generally in good condition, the shower block is very tired and in need of modernisation. We were told by some regular visitors that the park is on the market and would explain the attitude of some of the staff and the general cleanliness around the shower blocks.

Overall, there are better camp sites in this part of Cornwall and perhaps any new future owners could improve the obvious.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sjeglon 1 review from this member

An easy site to find and an ideal base to explore Cornwall ( a very short distance to the A30). We were welcomed following our long journey and made very welcome with a last minute change of plot which put us in the first field directly in front of the amenities block. The block was well maintained and felt spacious with great showers only let down by the very short interval between pushing the timer button!

We travel with our dog and there are plenty of tie down points around the amenity block for when we made a quick visit. The exercise field was small but as we were out all day it was only for his first and last run around. We did however find a larger field if you exit the gate turn left and head a short distance down the lane.

We missed the chip van but Perranporth is a very short drive away for some great takeaways.

The only wish was that the site was a little closer to the coast with obvious route for a walk with the dog. But that is not the fault of the site which is a great find!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: XSASSx 16 reviews from this member

I could summarise this site in a few words by simply saying it's lovely; very very lovely. It's very hard to fault so I feel bad for only rating it a 9, but it's a gut instinct thing. It didn't draw me in, it felt a bit sensible. There were lots of older couples / families with older children / teens which was great for our kids who had plenty of others to play with, but we're only in our early / mid thirties and I suppose prefer something a bit more quirky. We had a fantastic stay though so I shall move onto all the plus points.

Let's start with the initial booking. The customer service over the phone was fantastic and to be honest, the clincher that stopped us booking the same campsite we stayed in last year. Over the course of a few conversations the owner couldn't be more helpful, and was fantastic at accommodating last minute changes. She greeted us on arrival and proved to be just as lovely in person.

The site is really easy to find, close enough to the main road for easy access to Perranporth, Newquay and heading west but set back so you don't hear the traffic. Our pitch was in the meadow which turned out to be a bit of a walk (3 mins) to the facilities as what looked like a gap in the hedge on the map wasn't in real life. However, I suspect we had a quieter experience for being further away and at one point there were so few tents in the non EHU bit of the meadow we were able to have a Nerf battle in half the field. Actually the thing I love most about this place is that 'fully booked' means about two thirds / three quarters full at any one time, because they don't insist on stacking their bookings back to back, most pitches are empty for a couple of days betweens campers. This contributed to a very quiet, spacious feel to the place.

All the facilities were top notch; adjustable heat showers, campers kitchen where you freeze your ice blocks and get tourist info, plenty of space in the Ladies so I never had to queue, footstools so my youngest could reach to the bottom of the washing up sinks etc. We used the takeaway on our first night and the food was reasonable and the playground kept my kids entertained all week. All in all we were very happy campers.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Potter 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Penrose and we will return when next in Cornwall. The site is flat, well maintained with good facilities and excellent sized pitches. We were offered a choice of pitches when we arrived. The toilets and showers were very clean and always with hot water. The site has a play area and a table tennis facility.

The site has a 'takeaway' which was open for breakfast and in the early evening with a choice of fish, chips, burgers home made curry and chilli. The great thing about this site was how quiet it was at night. We spoke to a number of other holiday makers who return year after year to the site and all seem to quote not just what a great site it is but how quiet it was at night and we all know when you are in a tent how important this is for a relaxing holiday.

Walking distance from the site was a Londis convenience store and recently refurbished pub that is now open for business. Opposite the Londis store was a great little park if you have children with swings, slides, monkey bars and a great zip wire.

The site is conveniently situated between perranporth and newquay and the access to the site is excellent.

This is a well run site with very friendly and most welcoming owners who couldn't do enough for you. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed for another 2 nights and even though it was the bank holiday weekend they managed to juggle the site so we could keep our pitch on.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Terr 1 review from this member

We have just come home from our holiday at penrose holiday park. We have been there for the last 5 years and we will be going again next year. It's a lovely site has very flat pitches and they are a nice sizes as well. They have family showers and a block of showers and toilets which are cleaned every day there is a small play area for the small children. The camp site is run by very friendly people they are very helpful. It's in a very good position for going out and about.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiteflyer1959 1 review from this member

Once again we had a great peaceful time at Penrose. The facilities are always spotless, staff are friendly and the site has a very safe, quiet atmosphere. We spent a week here to use Perranporth beach and recognised several campers who we meet last year. Seems to be a place that once you have experienced it you tend to go back. The relaxed attitude about arrival is much appreciated and staff are very helpful when you phone ahead to see if you can go straight to your pitch. Good play area with table tennis table and plenty of space for kids to let off steam. There is a local shop near by and a pub but that was closed for refurbishment. Almost certainly to be back next year. Thank you.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Little Jill 1 review from this member

Have been going to this site for 4 years now and will be going back again next year.

The site is kept clean and tidy, the pitches are a really good size. It is very child friendly and dog friendly too.

The toilet blocks are clean and the showers are always nice and hot.

There is a laundry room and washing machines with ironing facilities.

There is a small park for the children.

The owners are brilliant and will go out of there way to help you out in any way they can.

Top marks all round.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drew70 2 reviews from this member

Two and a half weeks at Penrose and I wish I was back already, arrived straight from a business appointment in Exeter with two tired and ratty children, but as soon as they saw the play area, all was forgotten. We were camped in the meadow, which is classed as a 'free camping' area, a beautiful large field, which left you feeling as if you were alone, and we were for much of our stay. Yes, it's a bit of a trek to the facilities from there, but the owners did warn us that was the case, but I wanted peace and quiet, and you certainly get it there.

The facilities were kept in a good condition, clean and always hot water available, the downside was the showers, which had a press valve on so you didn't waste water, but they only stayed on for about a minute, so you'd be fumbling for the button with shampoo in your eyes.

The 'campers kitchen' was a nice touch, a microwave, fridge and freezer, the latter containing ice blocks that you could borrow free of charge.

The owners couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one, Heather was especially helpful when we ran out of gas late one night when prepping dinner, coming out from the house on site and allowing me to take a bottle, paying for it the next day as reception had closed, and when we discovered a wasps nest in the hedge behind our tent, Steve dealt with it promptly for us.

The washing up area would benefit from a small shelf to put clean items onto, and some hooks to hang your t towels while you are washing up, I mentioned this and was told they hadn't thought of that, but liked the idea and would get it done.

There is no shop on site, but Londis is only 2 minutes away by car, so it's not a huge issue.

All in all a great site, we will definitely return, the children loved it, and we had a wonderful, relaxing time.

My only real moan is directed at our fellow campers, when our friend who was staying with us was taking down her tent, we discovered that somebody in the field behind (we can only assume) had found a stone on their pitch, and chucked it into the hedge, this sadly went right through the hedge, stopping when it hit her tent, tearing a hole in her new Icarus 500! It's fair to say she was more than a bit annoyed. We also had some ice blocks of our own in the freezer, tied up in a carrier bag with our name on it, sadly, somebody had opened it by unknotting the handles, and had taken two blocks, no big deal but it's a shame these two things were done by our fellow campers!

If you're looking for a site that is in a perfect location for Perranporth's amazing beach, at a good price with all the right facilities, then go straight to Penrose. We can't recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Procamper 1 review from this member

Before I came to stay at penrose holiday park I read the reviews on this site, and it made me want to be there straight away. Low and behold it did exactly what it said on the tin. Pitches were of a good size and plenty of soace between them. The grounds were beautiful and there was always someone doing something around site. Being a father of 2 young children we only really have one must at a campsite and that is clean washrooms. Again we were not let down. Every day all day they were immaculate to the point my kids wanted to shower for longer. There were a few niggles with hot water for a while but the staff there made sure we didn't do with out. Which brings me to the most important note. The staff, who would almost prempt our questions. Anything you needed to know or wanted they had the answer, very polite and helpful and for me that makes my holiday much more relaxing.

Ok on a negative point and there's only one. The beautiful meadow is a wee bit to far away from the loo's parden the pun. See you next year penrose I have to happy children and a very relaxed wife.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TinaD1972 1 review from this member

We have just returned from our second visit to Penrose and can't wait to return for a third next year. We only went camping for the first time last year and returned to the same campsite this year as we enjoyed it so much. Received a lovely warm welcome from the owners and was guided to a perfect spot to pitch. Travelling with two boys, 6 and 4 who love the campsite and the children's play area which has a nice climbing frame, slide and swings. The grounds are really well maintained. The toilet/shower block was really clean with warm water for a good morning shower and we had no problems getting a shower when we wanted it. The campsite felt perfect as it isn't too big and it isn't too small - there was plenty of children for the boys to play with but it never felt too noisy in fact I would describe it as calm, classy and relaxing. There is a pub nearby for drinks and food, a londis a few mins walk away and also a garden centre around the corner with a fab cafe. The campsite owners were really helpful in giving us information about events on and places to visit in the area, particularly on a rainy day when the beach wasn't an option. Thanks for a fab holiday and see you next year!

Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


755 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019