Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Penrose Holiday Park (was Penrose Farm Touring Park)

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Truro > Penrose Holiday Park (was Penrose Farm Touring Park) Reviews

Penrose Holiday Park (was Penrose Farm Touring Park)
Goonhavern
Truro
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 9QF
Tel: 01872 573185
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: Eaer Or 1 April (which Ever 1) To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 63 Reviews
                9/10 from 63 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  63 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AandJ 14 reviews from this member

 Disappointed to have been strung along into paying.

Prior to making final payment in early July we were told that the Family Room showers would be open. They were not open when we arrived. My wife had had a couple of calls from Penrose reception in the intervening period between booking and arriving, checking how things were, and the sudden shower closure was not mentioned, they had ample chance.

They now have the shower situation publicised on their website.

After arriving on site and trying to use the shower rooms that evening we were met with a surly old woman that just slammed the (keypad operated) door shut in front of us. Unbelievably rude too.

We called reception and were told "Oh I know I said the family room showers would be open in July, but the boss changed his mind and they are only open to people with seasonal caravans now" No discussion and no moving on that either!

There is a cliqueness on this site. The seasonal owners all seem to know each other and keep themselves to themselves. I asked one guy why we couldn't open the shower door and he replied "We've been told not to give out the code number to you lot". Charming.

The expensive Club WiFi is not what it was last year. Very slow almost unuseable at peak times. Don't waste your money.

We came here last year and had a lovely stay, see earlier 10/10 review.

I have heard that there has been a recent change of ownership and attitude. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AandJ 14 reviews from this member

 We loved this well established site. It has a quality and laid back feel and is very well kept, with beautiful hanging baskets and tubs, infact it has the best grass that I have ever seen, like a golf course.

Very spacious pitches with lovely clean facilities, which were close by as we were on the main area, a mixture of tents, tourers and camper vans. The staff were very nice, chatty and genuinely friendly.

Got to mention Daz's on site Cafe. Just excellent. Lovely freshly cooked, tasty home made food and not dear either. We ate there several times. Highly recommended, try the brisket burger and the full Enlgish breakfast.

Gwinear Pools about ten minutes away, is a brilliant day ticket water that is definitely worth a look. Superb fishing.

We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Jonesy123 1 review from this member

 Excellent site and facilities.

Also try daz's cafe on site.

For daily fresh baked/cooked food. 5☆'s.

It was that good I went home and went back 5 weeks later in august. I found it to be an excellent central Base to Cornwall.

Pub just at the end of the road. Also shop just round the corner. Both within 10 min's walk. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skiiddy 10 reviews from this member

 We spent three days here in late July - family sites are not our first choice during school holidays because they can be a little noisy but our visit was to see friends who were staying for a week.

The meet and great was friendly and we were shown to our pitch very quickly. It was an excellent size and 50 metres from the shower block, campers kitchen and reception. The site appeared to be reasonably full and our fellow campers where very friendly.

There are three very large grass sites for tents/caravans and ours was adjacent to a B road which could get a little noisy. Whilst the grounds were generally in good condition, the shower block is very tired and in need of modernisation. We were told by some regular visitors that the park is on the market and would explain the attitude of some of the staff and the general cleanliness around the shower blocks.

Overall, there are better camp sites in this part of Cornwall and perhaps any new future owners could improve the obvious. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sjeglon 1 review from this member

 An easy site to find and an ideal base to explore Cornwall ( a very short distance to the A30). We were welcomed following our long journey and made very welcome with a last minute change of plot which put us in the first field directly in front of the amenities block. The block was well maintained and felt spacious with great showers only let down by the very short interval between pushing the timer button!

We travel with our dog and there are plenty of tie down points around the amenity block for when we made a quick visit. The exercise field was small but as we were out all day it was only for his first and last run around. We did however find a larger field if you exit the gate turn left and head a short distance down the lane.

We missed the chip van but Perranporth is a very short drive away for some great takeaways.

The only wish was that the site was a little closer to the coast with obvious route for a walk with the dog. But that is not the fault of the site which is a great find! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: XSASSx 16 reviews from this member

 I could summarise this site in a few words by simply saying it's lovely; very very lovely. It's very hard to fault so I feel bad for only rating it a 9, but it's a gut instinct thing. It didn't draw me in, it felt a bit sensible. There were lots of older couples / families with older children / teens which was great for our kids who had plenty of others to play with, but we're only in our early / mid thirties and I suppose prefer something a bit more quirky. We had a fantastic stay though so I shall move onto all the plus points.

Let's start with the initial booking. The customer service over the phone was fantastic and to be honest, the clincher that stopped us booking the same campsite we stayed in last year. Over the course of a few conversations the owner couldn't be more helpful, and was fantastic at accommodating last minute changes. She greeted us on arrival and proved to be just as lovely in person.

The site is really easy to find, close enough to the main road for easy access to Perranporth, Newquay and heading west but set back so you don't hear the traffic. Our pitch was in the meadow which turned out to be a bit of a walk (3 mins) to the facilities as what looked like a gap in the hedge on the map wasn't in real life. However, I suspect we had a quieter experience for being further away and at one point there were so few tents in the non EHU bit of the meadow we were able to have a Nerf battle in half the field. Actually the thing I love most about this place is that 'fully booked' means about two thirds / three quarters full at any one time, because they don't insist on stacking their bookings back to back, most pitches are empty for a couple of days betweens campers. This contributed to a very quiet, spacious feel to the place.

All the facilities were top notch; adjustable heat showers, campers kitchen where you freeze your ice blocks and get tourist info, plenty of space in the Ladies so I never had to queue, footstools so my youngest could reach to the bottom of the washing up sinks etc. We used the takeaway on our first night and the food was reasonable and the playground kept my kids entertained all week. All in all we were very happy campers. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Potter 1 review from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to Penrose and we will return when next in Cornwall. The site is flat, well maintained with good facilities and excellent sized pitches. We were offered a choice of pitches when we arrived. The toilets and showers were very clean and always with hot water. The site has a play area and a table tennis facility.

The site has a 'takeaway' which was open for breakfast and in the early evening with a choice of fish, chips, burgers home made curry and chilli. The great thing about this site was how quiet it was at night. We spoke to a number of other holiday makers who return year after year to the site and all seem to quote not just what a great site it is but how quiet it was at night and we all know when you are in a tent how important this is for a relaxing holiday.

Walking distance from the site was a Londis convenience store and recently refurbished pub that is now open for business. Opposite the Londis store was a great little park if you have children with swings, slides, monkey bars and a great zip wire.

The site is conveniently situated between perranporth and newquay and the access to the site is excellent.

This is a well run site with very friendly and most welcoming owners who couldn't do enough for you. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed for another 2 nights and even though it was the bank holiday weekend they managed to juggle the site so we could keep our pitch on.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Terr 1 review from this member

 We have just come home from our holiday at penrose holiday park. We have been there for the last 5 years and we will be going again next year. It's a lovely site has very flat pitches and they are a nice sizes as well. They have family showers and a block of showers and toilets which are cleaned every day there is a small play area for the small children. The camp site is run by very friendly people they are very helpful. It's in a very good position for going out and about. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiteflyer1959 1 review from this member

 Once again we had a great peaceful time at Penrose. The facilities are always spotless, staff are friendly and the site has a very safe, quiet atmosphere. We spent a week here to use Perranporth beach and recognised several campers who we meet last year. Seems to be a place that once you have experienced it you tend to go back. The relaxed attitude about arrival is much appreciated and staff are very helpful when you phone ahead to see if you can go straight to your pitch. Good play area with table tennis table and plenty of space for kids to let off steam. There is a local shop near by and a pub but that was closed for refurbishment. Almost certainly to be back next year. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Little Jill 1 review from this member

 Have been going to this site for 4 years now and will be going back again next year.

The site is kept clean and tidy, the pitches are a really good size. It is very child friendly and dog friendly too.

The toilet blocks are clean and the showers are always nice and hot.

There is a laundry room and washing machines with ironing facilities.

There is a small park for the children.

The owners are brilliant and will go out of there way to help you out in any way they can.

Top marks all round. 


Previous     63 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Penrose Holiday Park (was Penrose Farm Touring Park) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Penrose Holiday Park (was Penrose Farm Touring Park)?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Penrose Holiday Park (was Penrose Farm Touring Park) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Truro      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1322 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement