Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stephensons Arms Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wylam > Stephensons Arms Certificated Site Reviews

Stephensons Arms Certificated Site
Off Main Road
Wylam
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE41 8ED
Tel: 07341 436439
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravans/Motorhomes & 10 Tents
Open: 01/02/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 35 Reviews
                8/10 from 35 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mjwafe 1 review from this member

 A typical CL site the better side of the field has no electric hook up but long leads are available to borrow to reach your unit if required.

You need to enter the field very slowly as the caravan bottomed out because of the slope.

Wylam is a very nice village the pubs being friendly and a great rail link to the Tyne valley. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: 19jane68 1 review from this member

 This was our 3rd trip this year Beautiful surroundings, fresh air close by the Tyne. Loads of walks site seeing metro and Newcastle for shopping food shops just a hop away out of the site

We have seen differences from the first visit so had done a bit of upgrading. We love this site dogs have a wild time running after their balls.

It’s very close to family I have in Overingham ( very pretty village with The Swan pub for lovely home made meals ) yes road in and slope aren’t perfect but having spoken to the owner he will be getting it done he has put a gate so is secure for pets /kids.

There’s also a little group of young children in the forest group it’s a joy to watch them play learn and dress up the noise can be loud but we’ve had kids so doesn’t bother us

Fresh water, new toilet and new area to empty the toilet

I for one will be returning again we as a family love this site and there is always more to see 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Mghill17 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely area with site close to village and railway station. However access road is not really suitable for a caravan and the dip at the gate caused my van to bottom out and smashed 2 of my feet jack's.

The single toilet needs major improvement and but for the fact I had 2 lengths of electric cable hook up would have been difficult.

Very friendly but needs more development 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Miffin 9 reviews from this member

 Has possibilities but too expensive for what it is. Toilet is a tiny shed and it's take your own toilet paper.

Emptying your own toilet looks basic but works well. Water on site. Dog friendly. Very uneven drive in and our car bottomed.

Wylam is great though and a good few walks around. Near to Close House Golf Course.

Electric system is weird at moment but expect it to be sorted. It takes more vans and tents than stated. There were 10 tents around the toilet shed one of the days. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Anth252 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and kind staff. after a phone call enquiry I received a call back explaining everything I was happy had all I could ask for for my stay.

I would recommend this site and stay again thanks 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: AbWo 4 reviews from this member

 First the positives. This is the perfect location for walkers and cyclists, being within a few metres of walking and cycling trails and a 5 minute walk from the railway station from where there is a regular service to Newcastle but also direct trains to places like Carlisle, Whitby and Morpeth.

It is a spacious site and has lovely views. The toilet is clean and there is EHU, chemical disposal and a drinking water tap. It is also very relaxed and we were largely ignored by the owners.

However…given the £25 per night price tag (up £5 from 2020 and not on the website at the time of booking), I would have expected rather more in the way of facilities.

The single toilet was housed in a flimsy shed and had only cold water with no soap or sanitizer. This might be adequate if it was only being used by the 5 touring vehicles but caravans are also stored here and several owners had overnight stays while we were here (not sure this is in keeping with the site’s Camping and Caravanning Club’s certified status?) as well as tents, putting a lot of pressure on that one loo.

There is electric hook up but for some reason the pitches are on the opposite side of the field from this so extension leads are provided. Unfortunately, this means that cars are regularly driving over the leads. And the policy for getting rid of grey water is to let it out onto the grass, which I guess is their problem, not ours but seems unusual!

My overall feeling is that, although we enjoyed our stay, we did feel we were being taken for mugs (a view shared by several other campers we spoke to) and that our £25 fees were helping them complete their Forest school project, rather than on the upkeep of the site.

As regular campers, we would expect to pay no more than £15 for such a basic site, with an additional payment for EHU so £20 max and even that’s a bit steep. And if the price was published, you do at least know what to expect. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Khris 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this site a few weeks ago and have to say we were not impressed. Firstly the access is very poor with a heavily pot holed access with overhanging branches which were impossible to avoid with a motorhome. There was no signage showing where the access is on arrival which is very confusing and nearly lead us the wrong way which would have been difficult to reverse back to the road from.

When we drove on to the poorly maintained and uneven field we found it full of grass clippings from quite long grass which had not been collected resulting in it being trailed through the motorhome and awning. This field consisted of a concrete slab which housed what I would call half a shed which contained a toilet inside and on the outside (this was the chemical disposal point). The one toilet for the whole of the site was dirty as was the washbasin. There was no toilet roll, no soap, (but there was 2 empty soap dispensers on a dirty rusty old trolley) no hand drying facilities and you got soaked every time the tap was turned on. There was 2 steps for children's use and again, these were absolutely filthy. These toilets were not cleaned at any time during our stay. Additionally, the toilet feeds in to a septic tank which was visibly overflowing in to the surrounding ground.

The electric hook up tripped with minimal equipment being used. These hook ups were only on one side of the field so if you chose to go on the opposite side away from the constant noise of works being carried out (which we were advised of on arrival) you had to use extension cables with your hook up cable and these trailed right across the field causing a trip hazard and cars also had to drive over them.

There are only two household domestic type bins on the field with a notice advising if these were full to take your rubbish with you! This is not acceptable.

We paid £25 a night for this site and all we got really was a bit of grass (covered with clippings) as there was no way we would use the toilet and couldn't use the electric. We couldn't even leave our rubbish. I have read other reviews and the owner keeps harking back at it being in transition, then charge transition prices and being in transition doesn't stop anyone from cleaning the toilet. Covid has been used as an excuse to not provide toilet roll, which is strange as every other site we have visited provided it – and hand sanitiser.

It is such a shame as the location – even if access is a tight fit – is excellent. There are walks, a river and a 5 minute walk into the village which has an excellent Co-op which is well stocked and has friendly staff and also pubs!

Needless to say we wont be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eiraan 2 reviews from this member

 I agree entirely with the previous June 2021 review.

The location of the site is perfect. Easy access around the area by train & lots of very good walking & bike routes.

It is a spacious site with lovely views & right by the river & also the Wagon Way walking/cycling route.

There were definitely more than 5 caravan/motorhomes on the site plus tents so 1 toilet housed in a shed not adequate & also against certified status.

Most of the occupied caravans (there were a few unoccupied which I think are used at weekends) were on the opposite side of the field to the electric supply. This meant long extension leads had to be used trailing across the middle of the site. Also, the electric was low wattage because it tripped twice when we had water heater on with low wattage kettle or toaster.

We have never before visited a site where there is nowhere to empty grey water. Letting it out on the field is not very hygienic (especially with Covid) when other people/children might be sitting/playing on the grass after we left.

There were no signs to the site & we found it very difficult to find, initially turning into the old entrance & having to turn around. The entrance was over quite rough ground.

We chose this site as we were visiting relatives 2 miles away. Consequently, we were usually only there overnight & first thing in the morning. It was just as well as in the day there was noisy building work going on. Also, there was quite a bit of noise from the Forest School run by the owner.

We thought the cost was extortionate @ £20 + £5 for low wattage electric. The next site we visited had proper electric & a fully serviced pitch for £15 per night! 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annett 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site! Really peaceful and a bird watchers heaven.

Walking distance to the river Tyne.

Owners are very pleasant and really helpful.

Nice and local to shops and pubs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Frantz 1 review from this member

 Very lovely campsite, I loved the pitch it even had a rope swing which we used thoroughly,

I would recommend this campsite to anyone who loves the outside :) 
via mobile


Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stephensons Arms Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stephensons Arms Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Stephensons Arms Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wylam      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement