Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stephensons Arms Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wylam > Stephensons Arms Certificated Site Reviews

Stephensons Arms Certificated Site
Off Main Road
Wylam
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE41 8ED
Tel: 07932555369
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravans/Motorhomes & 10 Tents
Open: 01/02/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Miffin 7 reviews from this member

 Has possibilities but too expensive for what it is. Toilet is a tiny shed and it's take your own toilet paper.

Emptying your own toilet looks basic but works well. Water on site. Dog friendly. Very uneven drive in and our car bottomed.

Wylam is great though and a good few walks around. Near to Close House Golf Course.

Electric system is weird at moment but expect it to be sorted. It takes more vans and tents than stated. There were 10 tents around the toilet shed one of the days. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Anth252 1 review from this member

 Very friendly and kind staff. after a phone call enquiry I received a call back explaining everything I was happy had all I could ask for for my stay.

I would recommend this site and stay again thanks 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: AbWo 3 reviews from this member

 First the positives. This is the perfect location for walkers and cyclists, being within a few metres of walking and cycling trails and a 5 minute walk from the railway station from where there is a regular service to Newcastle but also direct trains to places like Carlisle, Whitby and Morpeth.

It is a spacious site and has lovely views. The toilet is clean and there is EHU, chemical disposal and a drinking water tap. It is also very relaxed and we were largely ignored by the owners.

However…given the £25 per night price tag (up £5 from 2020 and not on the website at the time of booking), I would have expected rather more in the way of facilities.

The single toilet was housed in a flimsy shed and had only cold water with no soap or sanitizer. This might be adequate if it was only being used by the 5 touring vehicles but caravans are also stored here and several owners had overnight stays while we were here (not sure this is in keeping with the site’s Camping and Caravanning Club’s certified status?) as well as tents, putting a lot of pressure on that one loo.

There is electric hook up but for some reason the pitches are on the opposite side of the field from this so extension leads are provided. Unfortunately, this means that cars are regularly driving over the leads. And the policy for getting rid of grey water is to let it out onto the grass, which I guess is their problem, not ours but seems unusual!

My overall feeling is that, although we enjoyed our stay, we did feel we were being taken for mugs (a view shared by several other campers we spoke to) and that our £25 fees were helping them complete their Forest school project, rather than on the upkeep of the site.

As regular campers, we would expect to pay no more than £15 for such a basic site, with an additional payment for EHU so £20 max and even that’s a bit steep. And if the price was published, you do at least know what to expect. 


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Eiraan 2 reviews from this member

 I agree entirely with the previous June 2021 review.

The location of the site is perfect. Easy access around the area by train & lots of very good walking & bike routes.

It is a spacious site with lovely views & right by the river & also the Wagon Way walking/cycling route.

There were definitely more than 5 caravan/motorhomes on the site plus tents so 1 toilet housed in a shed not adequate & also against certified status.

Most of the occupied caravans (there were a few unoccupied which I think are used at weekends) were on the opposite side of the field to the electric supply. This meant long extension leads had to be used trailing across the middle of the site. Also, the electric was low wattage because it tripped twice when we had water heater on with low wattage kettle or toaster.

We have never before visited a site where there is nowhere to empty grey water. Letting it out on the field is not very hygienic (especially with Covid) when other people/children might be sitting/playing on the grass after we left.

There were no signs to the site & we found it very difficult to find, initially turning into the old entrance & having to turn around. The entrance was over quite rough ground.

We chose this site as we were visiting relatives 2 miles away. Consequently, we were usually only there overnight & first thing in the morning. It was just as well as in the day there was noisy building work going on. Also, there was quite a bit of noise from the Forest School run by the owner.

We thought the cost was extortionate @ £20 + £5 for low wattage electric. The next site we visited had proper electric & a fully serviced pitch for £15 per night! 


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Annett 1 review from this member

 Lovely little site! Really peaceful and a bird watchers heaven.

Walking distance to the river Tyne.

Owners are very pleasant and really helpful.

Nice and local to shops and pubs. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Frantz 1 review from this member

 Very lovely campsite, I loved the pitch it even had a rope swing which we used thoroughly,

I would recommend this campsite to anyone who loves the outside :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Denisebr 13 reviews from this member

 Excellent site close to many places of interest in Northumberland with a regular train service to Newcastle City Centre. Entrance to field is now a few yards down a narrow unmade track. Large level field with electric hookup.

Grass cuttings are left on ground which get walked into motorhome. Toilet is very basic with no toilet paper, soap or sanitizer. We used our own facilities.

Water and chemical disposal next to toilet. No sanitizer provided.

Village has 4 pubs, a small Co-op and a Spar/Post Office.

£15 per night plus £5 per night for EHU. Friendly owners. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Peteji 1 review from this member

 Site staff were very friendly polite and genuinely nice people. I wouldn’t recommend the site if travelling in a tent. There was no Toilet paper, soap or hand sanitiser.

All of the site use the same water tap and no Covid/ cleaning appeared to be in place.

I wouldn’t recommend people using tents. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Beckie 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely family friendly run site in a perfect location to visit places such as Hadrian's Wall and Chester's Roman fort and Museum.

Our third time staying now and we hope to be able to return again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Vhedl1 1 review from this member

 Nice peaceful campsite in an ideal location in Wylam village, a good walking distance to 4 pubs and a couple of shops.

The toilet needs improvement though as one toilet for the whole site is not enough and was very basic. 
via mobile


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stephensons Arms Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stephensons Arms Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Stephensons Arms Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wylam      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement