Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stephensons Arms Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wylam > Stephensons Arms Certificated Site Reviews

Stephensons Arms Certificated Site
Off Main Road
Wylam
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE41 8ED
Tel: 07932555369
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 Caravans/Motorhomes & 10 Tents
Open: 01/02/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Frantz 1 review from this member

 Very lovely campsite, I loved the pitch it even had a rope swing which we used thoroughly,

I would recommend this campsite to anyone who loves the outside :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Denisebr 13 reviews from this member

 Excellent site close to many places of interest in Northumberland with a regular train service to Newcastle City Centre. Entrance to field is now a few yards down a narrow unmade track. Large level field with electric hookup.

Grass cuttings are left on ground which get walked into motorhome. Toilet is very basic with no toilet paper, soap or sanitizer. We used our own facilities.

Water and chemical disposal next to toilet. No sanitizer provided.

Village has 4 pubs, a small Co-op and a Spar/Post Office.

£15 per night plus £5 per night for EHU. Friendly owners. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Peteji 1 review from this member

 Site staff were very friendly polite and genuinely nice people. I wouldn’t recommend the site if travelling in a tent. There was no Toilet paper, soap or hand sanitiser.

All of the site use the same water tap and no Covid/ cleaning appeared to be in place.

I wouldn’t recommend people using tents. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Beckie 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely family friendly run site in a perfect location to visit places such as Hadrian's Wall and Chester's Roman fort and Museum.

Our third time staying now and we hope to be able to return again soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Vhedl1 1 review from this member

 Nice peaceful campsite in an ideal location in Wylam village, a good walking distance to 4 pubs and a couple of shops.

The toilet needs improvement though as one toilet for the whole site is not enough and was very basic. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Graeme 1 review from this member

 Great little site close to pubs, there was a couple of different ones, we went up the road about a mile to the lambs arms, great scran. close shops and a beautiful walk to the river and park, what the kids loved.

We got electric hookup with easy. kids loved the rope swing as we sat round the fire pit

Not a bad little site at all, will defo go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 40 reviews from this member

 Based on the reviews on here we booked 4 nights on this site.

Sadly it did not live up to the reviews and in our opinion, and that of two other couples who we talked to on site, it was a huge disappointment.

The village itself is very nice with 4 pubs and a Co-Op. The excellent Wylam Waggonway cycle path passes just outside the site and there is public transport (bus and rail) to Hexham and Newcastle a very short walk from the site.

On arrival we were pounced upon at the gate and immediately asked for the full payment, with no real greeting or customer service. We were told to set up anywhere we wanted, with no advice about distancing etc. No other information was given and we had to ask where the toilets, water etc was (it was not obvious).

The site itself is basically just a flat lumpy field but it was adequate.

The 'facilities', such as they were, left a lot to be desired. They consist of a single toilet with an old stone sink in a brick built shed that was not cleaned for the whole 4 days that we stayed there. There was toilet paper on the floor, the flush handle was gaffa taped together and there was old ingrained dirt everywhere, including on the first aid kit. The single sink was being used for handwashing, a washroom and washing dishes. There was no hand santiser or any means of cleaning the surfaces anywhere on the site, nor any way of drying your hands.

There is a fresh water tap and a toilet emptying facility, a brick built hole with an old dustbin lid on top as a closure, next to this.

The waste bins were full to overflowing and not emptied at all during our stay, with notices saying 'Please take your rubbish home. Handling it is a risk to us' - hard to do if you are touring.

During our stay the entrance to the site was changed from a flat farm gate access to a steep ramp with unprotected sides, made up of what looked like hardcore, at a 90 degree angle to a narrow farm lane. There were no barriers to the side of this and it was unlit. In our 6m van found the turn sharp but exited ok. However a couple of large caravans really struggled.

We have used many CS/CL sites in the past and have usually found them good value for money. For £20 a night including electric this site was way overpriced. We will not return. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Beckie 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely family run site kept clean and tidy.

Owners very friendly and helpful. Situated within walking distance to the village and some excellent walks right outside the campsite. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jmvrs3 1 review from this member

 The site was perfect for our needs. We travelled with our cat and the location was ideal, well away from roads and very quiet.

The presence of a resident cat encouraged us to think it would be suitable. The owner was lovely, very helpful and friendly but not at all intrusive.

We did not use the facilities as we have our own. Super pub grub within walking distance, as well as shops.

All in a great stay. We will stay again and recommend it to others.

Giving 10/10 for facilities and child friendliness because there is no 'not applicable'. I am sure they were fine!

Good places to visit nearby, we went to Corbridge and to the Alwinton show. 


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Davidh 1 review from this member

 Used This site before and this was a great stay again apart from the weather.

Great location and a Lovely village with good walking for all abilities. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Stephensons Arms Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stephensons Arms Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Stephensons Arms Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wylam      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement