Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stalkhurst Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Hastings > Stalkhurst Caravan Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Stalkhurst Caravan Park
Stalkhurst Cottage
Ivyhouse Lane
Hastings
East Sussex   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 10 Reviews
                6/10 from 10 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that the touring site at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches, although they may still offer accommodation for sale. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mjrees 40 reviews from this member

 My wife and I are trying to emulate the BBC Coast programme by driving round the UK coastline.

This site is as described - quiet, friendly and well located for walking and exploring the area.

The facilities should be prize-winners - even if they are not already! They are immaculate, fresh and almost brand new.

We hadn't booked but were made to feel most welcome although the owner did say when we arrived that he didn't normally take tourers but then directed us to a pitch with hook-up! Perhaps I misunderstood.

Anyway, it is a site to be recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lou Lou 6 reviews from this member

 First of all I would like to say you couldn't get a nicer and more helpful family who run this caravan park. All the facilities are extremely clean, including the toilets, showers, grounds and the swimming pool. The pool is a good temperature (has to be warm for my husband to get in, which he did). No nasty smells as a previous camper indicated. The only thing I found a little disappointing was the area that tourers and tents are allocated was at the end of a car park. This small area of grass is only big enough to accommodate 2 or 3 caravans or tents so your outlook is of the cars in the car park so you feel you are parked in the car park. We couldn't get a signal for the television even using the booster, however if you are only using this as a base with good clean facilities then this site is perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Stalkhurst 3 reviews from this member

 This is in reply to the various comments below :-

The Weetabix factory that caused the smell & noise has closed down & is up for sale .

The swimming pool was at 28C at the beginning of September & dropped to 22C at the end of September , the heater comes on below 21C . We regularly get air temperatures of 37C+ in the enclosure so there is a big difference between the air & water temp . 10 - 15C difference makes the water feel cold whatever it is .

Clay soil :- All cars are allowed on the field but asked to park on the tarmac car park if wet , all pitchs are fed by concrete path from here .

All toilet & shower lighting have now been fitted with sensors so do come on during the day.

The table tennis table was new in 2004 ,the bats are available from the reception at no charge (20p to buy a ball) If left loose in the games room they disappear !

Rubbish :- Most people keep it separated as they do it . 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ladbroke 1 review from this member

 Visited in September, and I would say this an average site.

The pitch itself: No problems at all. The majority of the site is for static caravans, with a small field for tents etc. Not cramped, and plenty of room with clay soil, which got the car in a real state!

Site Facilities: The swimming pool; a good size, and it is all one depth which was great for my five year old. Being September this REALLY needed to be heated as it was freezing, which spoilt it a little bit. Toilet block; Generally OK but a bit dated. The main problem was lighting which was only switched on at night. This meant that during the day you had to have a shower in the dark as there was no natural light in the shower cubicle. This was a bit mouldy, but a very powerful shower. With only one shower and two toilets I can imagine this would be very busy during peak times. The games room; It's not what I'd really call a games room at all. All that was in there was one very old table tennis table with no bats or balls. A poor show really. Rubbish area; All rubbish has to be seperated into different bins, which isn't too surprising I suppose in 2007, but still a bit grim to be going through all your rubbish bags!

In short the site needs a bit of money spent on it as it's a bit shabby (games room especially). Lack of lighting in the toilets and not heating the pool in September seems a bit miserly.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keith123 1 review from this member

 We stayed here a while ago now. The toilet facilities were good and clean and the swimming pool was a great asset and well maintained. There was also a small shop on site which provided the essentials and was very convenient. The showers were fine and it was good that you did not have to pay extra for them. One problem we did have was that the area around our tent become very muddy due to high rainfall and car use. This would have been less of a problem if there were suitable facilities available to clean our camping gear. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liana 6 reviews from this member

 Clean and pretty site. Quiet apart from kids playing . Lovely swimming pool. Didn't mind the smell, quite mild really, but then we love weetabix.
Hastings nearby, probably 15 min walk, always very busy . The owners were very helpful, using scuba gear to search the swimming pool when my husband lost his wedding ring. 


Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Utopia12 1 review from this member

 A small but pleasant site. The only problem with this site, is a strange smell coming from a food distribution factory, behind the site, sometimes can be very unpleasant. Also a continuious humming sound also comes from the same factory. Apart from that, this site is a really nice place to stay, very friendly owners, who are quite willing to help. Although we didnt use the pool, it looked really nice. Would use this again. Thanks for a qreat weekend!!!! 


Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Ldriver 3 reviews from this member

 Small site with clean toilet facilities. The pool was a great benefit for my two teenage children and the size of the site meant they had it more or less to themselves.

Some noise from a local factory and a lingering smell that it emitted. We never did quite pin it down, but a lot of Weetabix lorries were seen in the vicinity...

 


Reviewer: Andy_reilly2000 1 review from this member

 July 2005
This camp site was immaculate, the toilets, showers and the pool. The pool was warm and under cover. The owner was helpful, polite and a very nice man. The camping area was very clean and if you need power there are plenty of electric boxes around. The location was also good, being only a 5 minute drive to hasting. There is a super store 5 minutes away, a petrol station and a wine shop 5 min walk away. The showers were always hot and powerful and there is a place to wash pots and pans. In conclusion this camp site is one of the best I have been to in Hastings. If your staying in Hastinga then I recommend this place to you. On a personal note Id like to thank the owner for a pleasant stay.  



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54021 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement