Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camber Sands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Rye > Camber Sands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) Reviews

Camber Sands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )
New Lydd Road
Camber
Rye
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN31 7RT
Tel: 0843 3092804
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54
Open: 15/02/2021 to 05/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 52 Reviews
                6/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jayser 1 review from this member

 Having read the reviews on here I was worried about what we would get with this camp site, especially in terms of late night noise. Sadly, my worst fears were well and truly founded.

A large group of families had booked a group of pitches on one side of the camping field, and we ended up right next to them. It started innocently enough - a bit of music, drink and chatter, which is fine until you realise it's still going on at midnight and you and your teenage kids can't get to sleep.

In the end I got up and went for a walk, whereupon I came across two security guards. Having spoken to them, they went and asked them to turn off the music, which they did. It made little difference, as they got more and more drunk whereupon their voices got louder and louder, and the tone of the language ever worse. In the end I think they turned in about 1. 00am.

Second night I had hopes it would be better because the next day, a Sunday, was to be the last day of the school holidays, therefore I guessed (correctly) they would be leaving. Having been asked by the warden not to play their music late into the evenings (yes, I was behind that too) they didn't bother with the music but the drink and chat went on until around 2. 00am. Somehow they were all up early with their kids to pack up.

Other groups were also noisy, and we had drunken people tripping over our guy ropes and falling into the side of the tent about 11. 00pm on the first night. The chatter 'buzz' from this site late at night is unbelievable, I've never heard anything like it.

I suppose this kind of resort, with the indoor pools, entertainment complexes etc. Will always attract a certain type of person. If you like staying up late, boozing and making lots of noise yourself, then go here. If you want to go to bed at a reasonable time and actually get some sleep, or you have children who need to turn in at a good time, forget it. This place is a noisy haven for chavs.

By the way, as others have said, the motorbikes really do roar up and down the nearby road. You also get the odd self-abuser who thinks it's incredibly funny to shout something like 'Wake up!" as loudly as they can out of their car window. On Sunday morning, a tractor came past about 7. 00am and played a tune on his horn. Even the locals like to join in the assault. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rcpilot 2 reviews from this member

 Site is excellent for children, best we have seen with one exception, the staff have no control over who books to stay there, consequently the site is invaded by travellers who use the site as a base to stay while going out in their vans to look for work.

Their children are unruly and just do anything they want, in fact one of the staff who looks after the touring side told us he had to close part of the toilet block because of the damage they caused, he also told us some of the children had been banned from the shop for stealing.

One caravan (a travellers) next to us which when told to leave had stolen items from a seasonal pitched caravan also next to us. These travellers ruined our stay at Camber Sands 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Criticexpert 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely love this site! On arrival at the touring field, the touring manager always greets us and we decide on a pitch. He brings our entertainment passes over personally.

The toilet block is a little dated, but it functions well. The entertainment complex is fab!

Large amusement arcade, large pool with 2 or 3 smaller pools, lots of kids activities, crazy golf, great food, great bar.

Access to beach over the road is perfect. Lovely surroundings. No down sides to anything. Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TerenceM15 3 reviews from this member

 An outstanding site and well located. We were cycle touring and our two-man tent was dwarfed by this big site. Nonetheless we were treated like royalty.

The facilities were first class and not in your face as can happen with large organization and being near the sea. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Catalina68 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2 nights in my VW camper at Camber Sands (Park Resorts). I was only using it as a base rather than for full site facilities. Booked a week before my stay (using the discount code available via this site, so 21 total for 2 nights with electric hook-up).

I received a phone message a couple of hours before the booking was due to begin suggesting I could choose new dates or have a full refund as there were only 'a few pitches'. On calling back I was advised the touring field was 'waterlogged' - on further questioning I was told it was 'muddy with puddles'. As a date change was not possible I went anyway - the site was nowhere near as bad as I expected, yes a bit muddy in patches but that was it.

The touring field is next to the main road although being in a van with good sound insulation this didn't worry me, but there are a high proportion of noisy 'boy racer' cars in Camber it seems. I did go out the first evening at 8pm when it was dark & returned to find a very large tent pitched very close by (their guy ropes were less than 2' from my doors) which was a surprise, and had others close behind me too so felt a bit surrounded.

The toilet/shower block was pretty clean generally, including a laundrette & washing-up area (& I'm fussy about stuff like that!). I only encountered staff on arrival, they seemed friendly.

I did take a walk up to the entertainment complex for a look one evening, other than a fish & chip counter, there were no other takeaway options.

Entrance barriers were mainly up with no staff monitoring access to the park, plus cars driving much faster than the recommended 5mph round park. Access to the beach was right opposite the park entrance, up some steps/sloping path, although there is clearly work still ongoing to the sea wall but I had a paddle.

Local post office, fish & chips, Indian restaurant within 10 mins walk. Buses run from just outside park entrance too. I'd use this park as a base again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bindason 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from another week in the Park Resorts Camber Sands, we did a short 3 night break there 7 weeks ago and the beach access from the touring field was closed due to construction of the sea wall behind the field.

Although beach access is now open there is still a lot of diggers, concrete mixers, rollers etc active on the sea wall and they started work at 7am every day so expect some noise this season too.

The touring field is getting quite tired and needs the usual holes refilling however the warden did his best to keep it tidy and helped people set up in the strong winds.

The facilities on the touring field are very tired, although 2 showers for each the men's and ladies plus a disabled /babies toilet and shower, they were very busy at peak times and not the cleanest, hot water at sinks but no undercover area so you get wet if it rains and washing up!

The rest of the park was quite pleasant however we didn't use any of the entertainment apart from the pool as we have a little one and she was in bed.

Overall pleased but expensive for what you get. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Laurenceslater 2 reviews from this member

 Have just come back after two nights at this site. I agree with most of the reviews below (poorly maintained touring field, excellent on-site facilities including indoor swimming pool, beach just over the road) I am pleased to report that they have now marked out 43 separate pitches in the field.

However they were not very large pitches so we were quite near our neighbour. I would imagine the site could be very crowded in high season. We would return and this time we would remember to pack our swimming costumes!

One advantage of going out of high season was that the price was very cheap. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shiny and co 3 reviews from this member

 When we booked we were told that we would need two pitches to accommodate our 26 foot caravan, Having not been here before we paid for two. On arrival we were directed to the pitches.

Not end to end as we had thought but side by side ? We would have fitted on one easily but they wasn't having it. The pitch had electric hook up point 15 feet from the fence making it awkward to reverse around. (I drive arctics to am experienced at reversing).

There wasn't much grass, mostly dirt and we were right next to the road. The showers, 2 of them for men and 2 for women were always dirty and the toilets lacked paper. There was around 150 tents and caravans when we visited plus many statics.

The entertainment in the club was suited mainly for young kids, my two, 11 and 14 got bored. On a positive the area is beautiful. Camber beach is fab and the nearby town of Rye is very pretty.

The swimming pool although a bit small was clean and well staffed 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jnash 2 reviews from this member

 I didn't find the receptionist very welcoming and had to wait a while to be seen, even though it wasn't busy. The camping area was ok but a bit run down. Lots of things to do for the kids but it is quite a large site so I found it a bit impersonal.

Local attractions are good, such as the local beach and nearby town of Rye. Good location for a weekend. Not sure I will rush back though. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Allweather 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed here before, 2 Easters ago. Nothing's changed. PROS: Nice long Sandy Beach just over the road,

The clubhouse Facilities are fantastic, Restaurant has good choice menu and not too expensive, Amusements, Fair size shop/minimarket, Entertainment was great for all ages as you'd expect from Park resorts, Great indoor swimming pool, staff friendly, Camp site washing etc facilities good but not fantastic.

CONS: Bar prices very high, Camp site very uneven and worn out, most of the electric point were leaning over, lots of pot holes, Only two water tap point, one of which was sooo slow I used the Fire Hydrant nearby to fill my water Butt up, as this was much quicker.

o organised pitches just pitch where your able, even as previous post have mentioned you pitch on top of your neighbour. The Main road can get quite noisy due to most motor cyclist opening up their machines as they come off the bend just outside the front gate.

We only use this site cos we take our Grandson away for Easter and this site has everything he'd need to keep him occupied. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camber Sands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camber Sands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camber Sands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts )?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camber Sands Holiday Park ( Parkdean Resorts ) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4499 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement