Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thriftwood Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Thriftwood Holiday Park
Plaxdale Green Road
Sevenoaks
Kent   (Browse area)
TN15 7PB
Tel: 01732 822261
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 112 Reviews
                8/10 from 112 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (11) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Clicon357 1 review from this member

A odd review this as I'm not a camper/caravanner but bear with me. I'm resident in a nearby village and driving one evening came across a very distressed German couple in their large camper van. Their day had gone pretty wrong. En route to Dover from Cambridge they ended up going through London due to confusion over the Dartford Crossing toll. They had then arrived at 'To The Woods' in Botsam Lane to find the site no longer exists. Because of the narrow lanes they had also managed to damage their van. Their English was pretty good but it was late, they were tired and the mum I could tell had had enough. After a quick Google I found Thriftwood called and spoke to Tina. I explained the situation but at short notice Tina said to direct them to Thriftwood and even if fully booked they would help them out even if it was just somewhere safe for the night. I had them follow me and escorted them to the bar where the staff were very helpful. Tina arrived and opened up reception specially and helped the couple and their two kids out there and then. I left them I think being taken to a pitch for the night. Hopefully they continued their journey with no more mishaps. I've lived local for 50 years and never knew Thriftwood was even there. I've given 10/10 on all counts even though I didn't use them. The place just felt 'right'. Very impressed.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle Lee 1 review from this member

An exceptional Site. Fantastic shower block. Very clean and tidy with friendly helpful staff. Dog friendly and great walks through the woods and surrounding areas. Enjoyed great nights in Sams bar, brilliant entertainment with good atmosphere. Definitely highly recommend Thriftwood holiday park

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richardcoleman211 2 reviews from this member

Just come back from our camping trip. We had a wonderful time at Thriftwood Holiday Park staff was very helpful and friendly Steven & Tina was very pleasant in the bar shower, facilities was very well maintained so was the rest of the park a lot of work has gone into this site was just a shame we missed the pool opening party which the staff told us it's open early for Easter.

We are a family of 4

Thank you for the wonderful stay we will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rev16 2 reviews from this member

Very clean showers and toilets.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Very quiet site - as we are a couple did not use the play area. It was fenced off and looked very safe.

Weather not right to swim in the pool but looked inviting and was cleaned every day.

Good dog walks through the woods - this was an added bonus!

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Candstaylor 1 review from this member

We have just got back from a weekend break at Thriftwood. We wanted a few days away just chilling and that's exactly what we had. Although at full capacity the site was quiet especially at night time. The toilet block although basic was kept clean. Staff were all really helpful. It was a shame nowhere for take away food on the site. Had plenty of walks and dogs were generally kept on their leads. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wineodineo 2 reviews from this member

As we drove upto the campsite it was very well presented and a lovely big pond with big fish in it too. Mark and Julia the owners greeted us at reception, we were then taken to out pitch by Ron, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The facilities were very clean and tidy and freshened up throughout the day, there was a lovely heated swimming pool next to the facilities and a bar - this had FREE Wifi, a pool table, television with lovely food.

The setting was beautiful and we will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theroseys 2 reviews from this member

Just back from an 4 day break which turned into a 8 day break. Mark was really helpful when we were trying to set up and along with a few fellow campers and staff they managed to get us pitched correctly in no time - nothing seems to much bother for them. I asked to stay on extra nights and Billy at reception went out of his way to sort my extra nights and I didn't have to move pitch. Visited this site many times over the last 7 years, started in a tent and progressed to a hard top folding camper and now our beloved Hobby caravan. The site really is immaculate, they focus on every detail. Pitches are quite large, shower blocks are fantastic, possibly the best we've used, always clean. Staff are very friendly, they go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect, nothing too much trouble. I was there on my own for most of my visit, the owners kept their eye out on me, I felt relaxed and safe in the secure environment. They are constantly improving the site as we have witnessed over the years. The long termers are friendly and welcoming to tourers. Perfectly located with shops and pubs, beautiful surrounding areas. There is a playground for children and a lovely wooded area to walk through on site. Dogs welcome. Good clubhouse and a small shop with the basics. Booked up to return before we left ! Thanks Thriftwood team.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackburn1 2 reviews from this member

This was our second outing this year in our caravan. We saw this campsite while visiting the NEC Caravan show. We took our grandkids, 6 and 4, with us. They loved playing in the woods and small play park and games room. Will definitely take them back in the summer when the outdoor pool is open. There was a club house on site - we only went in 1 night. It was very clean - staff were friendly.

The park has gone under refurbishment to a very high standard. The park owner was extremely kind and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. He showed us to our pitch and walked us around telling us all the work the park has undergone.

The facilities were very clean and newly refurbished.

The price of 25 per night was reasonable for what they had to offer - our super pitch had water, electric, TV, hook up on the pitch.

Thank You

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swifttourer 1 review from this member

We have passed through this area many times on the way to the port. We had the opportunity of a few days on this wonderful site, in an area new to us.

We received an extremely warm welcome from the staff and management. This is a very secure site that has undergone a massive refurbishment. All pitches are being turned into super pitches that are generous in size with hard standing.

The showers are amazing all newly refurbished with under floor heating.

The bar complex is really smart and resonable price drinks.

This site is just over an hour from either the tunnel and port, it is good for an overnight stop or an extended holiday.

There is an abundance of place's to visit in Kent, or a day trip to France.

Highly recommended, we will be back.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Thriftwood is a camp site off the A20 near Wrotham. Part of the site is static caravans, the rest tourers - although many of the touring plots are taken up by seasonal occupants (some of them appear to have been there for a long time - with grime-coated caravans and awnings to match!). When we were there there were several Dutch and German families staying seasonal. Their caravans are immaculate (probably because their wives have little to do while their husbands are at work other than endlessly clean them!

The plots have hard-standing pads large enough for the most substantial caravans and awnings. There are individuals taps to each one. The facilities block has showers that are smart and impressive, but toilets that are dated and less impressive. There was a workman on site fitting out a disabled shower, so it may be that the toilets are next for refurbishment. There is also a bar and games room. There is a small outdoor pool as well, though I suspect this may get very busy on hot, summer days.

The site has been extended over the last few months, with new plots installed. Hopefully, once the lawns have seeded and the leaves are back on the trees this should green the place up a bit. On balance, I would hesitate to say that Thriftwood is worth its 30 per night high season tariff. However, south-east England sites seem to command similar rates - which only serves to prove what good value-for-money many northern sites are. The owners are obliging and helpful.

There are small supermarkets in Borough Green, or a 24-hour Asda in Swanley for more substantial shops. The site reception has a small selection of emergency provisions if needed. The site is ideally placed for exploring the many National Trust properties in west Kent and Surrey. It is also about 13 return to take the train from Swanley into London.

Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


585 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977