Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Resipole Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Acharacle > Resipole Farm Holiday Park > Reviews

CLOSED: Resipole Farm Holiday Park
Resipole Farm
Loch Sunart
Acharacle
Highlands   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that the touring site at this location has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. Their self-catering lodges are still available

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Saraha 1 review from this member

 Very helpful and kind site managers.

Clean and adequate facilities.

Beautiful Loch side setting.

Excellent access for boating or walking.

Art Gallery with high quality display. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Andy593 2 reviews from this member

 This site is perfectly place on the edge of Loch Sunart, ideal for canoeing etc.

The pitches are large and well spaced. The toilet/shower block was closed (COVID) during our stay so cannot comment on these.

This probably resulted in the site being quieter than usual as the tent pitches weren’t being used.

The surrounding area is wonderful to explore and there is a lovely but strenuous walk up Ben Resipole direct from the site.

Unfortunately, I believe the touring side of this site is closing after this season. Ps had to rate site facilities although I was unable to use them. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Walt nl90 3 reviews from this member

 We had a fantastic pitch, no. 5. Looking down Loch Sunart.

Grounds well kept, We could not use facilities due to Covid.

Hope to visit again.

P. S. You will need protection from the Midge`s. 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alison 2 reviews from this member

 A stunning location, well kept site. No facilities open obviously due to Covid restrictions.

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Has a slipway you can use for canoeing, paddle boarding or open water swimming. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Thegra 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location with friendly helpful wardens greeting us on arrival and escorted us to our pitch.

With a caravan and awning there wasn’t really enough space for our car on the pitch without parking it completely blocking view to the Loch so we ended up parking it in the campers area parking as currently no tents on site.

Real highlight was the wonderful walks from the site for breathtaking views of the surrounding area. We also visited the Art Gallery which was absolutely top class and some really talented artists work on display and for sale.

The site was really quiet and tranquil - a real gem! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: McCarron 14 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site in a great location. This site is immaculate, one of the best maintained sites we have been to in a long time, more so in these difficult times. Hard standing pitches were weed free, large and level, grass was cut to perfection elsewhere.

Facilities were closed due to Covid as was small on site shop, but local meat produce from the site farm was available on request. Welcomed on arrival by friendly, helpful warden and shown to pitch, shown where motorhome service point was and where nearest water/grey waste point was.

Pitch looked onto the loch opposite with lovely views to mountains beyond. Great dog walk on site either a short 15 minute circuit around the wooded area or venture further up the hill direct from site to Ben Resipole which is 3 hour trip. Beach opposite site is mostly rocky and not great to walk along.

There are a couple of Forestry Commission picnic spots either direction from the site within a reasonable walk or short drive. Access from Corran ferry is mostly single track road (from Strontian onwards) to site, but has plenty of passing places. Shop for provisions is in Strontian or past the site in Salen.

Great location to explore the Ardnamurchan Peninsula, recommend visit to Sanna Bay and or Lighthouse at most Westerly Point on mainland UK ( approx 1. 45 hours trip each way ). 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jollytaylor 1 review from this member

 Amazing views of Loch Sunart. Beautifully kept site, very approachable staff.

Narrow roads to get their but some breath taking views - well worth the journey 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Auldleagirl 6 reviews from this member

 Just spent two nights here recently. What a lovely site. Met near the gate by Tim who cycled ahead to show you to your pitch. We had a fantastic view right down Loch Sunart.

The pitches are spacious and the grass is short and well kept. No facilities were open due to Covid-19. There is a good motor home service point. Be aware that whichever route you take to get there is narrow, passing places roads. Not for the faint-hearted and pretty tricky for long caravans/twin axles etc. But it is so worth it.

We were extremely lucky with lovely summer weather. About 4 miles away is the village of Salen which has a hotel/pub. Also Strontian is close too and has a shop, post office etc. Across the road is the loch and there are some nice walks too.

There were two glamping pods for hire too. It's the kind of site you need to be sort of self sufficient at as you're not really going to pop out anywhere too close for something you've forgotten. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cjeager 14 reviews from this member

 If you go camping in the west of Scotland in August then you can expect to be pestered by midges. For about 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour in the afternoon / evening that was the case. We stayed inside the tent in the morning and were sometimes elsewhere for the evening midge-fest. The rest of the time there was no issue with midges. Probably the situation helps as it is right at the angle of Loch Sunart with a clear view straight down towards the sea. Breezes from all directions and the views are absolutely stunning.

The midges (irritation level not desperation level) were the worst thing about our stay. Almost (more of that later).

For the rest we had a great time. We used the Corran Ferry a lot, it cuts off a drive of about 40 miles and that includes some narrow twisty roads with blind bends such as you can expect to find in that part of Scotland. I wouldn't want to tow anything large along some of them but I suspect that if you know what you are about it isn't too bad. The A861 which runs past the site is "interesting", up and down, narrow, twisty but perfectly do-able. It is also pretty quiet. Very little passes the site at any time of day. Rush hour seems to consist of about 20 cars a couple of lorries and a bus. Although the site borders the road and we were in one of the "front" pitches nearest the road, traffic wasn't a problem.

The site itself if extremely well maintained, the toilet block and washing up area spotless at all times. The shop has a decent supply of food and some emergency bits and pieces just in case you might have forgotten anything. Everybody was friendly and helpful.

There's another couple of shops within 15 minute drive (one in each direction) but there was enough in the site shop that we didn't need to go to them (though we did). Both sell decent coffee and "deli" food as well as basics like bread and milk.

There's plenty to do in the area. Lots of places to walk, watch the wildlife and so on. Ardnamurchan Lighthouse is worth the drive, the drive itself gives some stunning views (but not many stopping places from which to admire them). The ferry to Mull is within a short drive, Mallaig and Fort William a little further but easy day trip territory. We spent the only wet day of our holiday in Fort William. There was enough to keep the pair of us entertained and plenty of choice about where to eat.

The other not so good thing about the site is something nobody could do anything about. On our last evening the site owner/manager came round and warned everybody that high winds were forecast for the following morning probably between 9 and 12. Well, that was fine as we were leaving early next day anyway so we would be well out of the way by 9. Except the winds arrived 6 hours early. 40mph broadsided our tent and took out two (fibreglass) roof poles. We weren't the only tent suffering. But that's one of the "joys" of camping and that could happen anywhere.

Would we go back? Yes. But probably not soon. It's a great site but we try to go somewhere different every year and for us it's a bit of a trek from the darkest reaches of east Kent.

Summary: great site, fantastic location. 


Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement