Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Resipole Farm Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Acharacle > Resipole Farm Holiday Park Reviews

Resipole Farm Holiday Park
Resipole Farm
Loch Sunart
Acharacle
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH36 4HX
Tel: 01967 431235
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Cjeager 13 reviews from this member

 If you go camping in the west of Scotland in August then you can expect to be pestered by midges. For about 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour in the afternoon / evening that was the case. We stayed inside the tent in the morning and were sometimes elsewhere for the evening midge-fest. The rest of the time there was no issue with midges. Probably the situation helps as it is right at the angle of Loch Sunart with a clear view straight down towards the sea. Breezes from all directions and the views are absolutely stunning.

The midges (irritation level not desperation level) were the worst thing about our stay. Almost (more of that later).

For the rest we had a great time. We used the Corran Ferry a lot, it cuts off a drive of about 40 miles and that includes some narrow twisty roads with blind bends such as you can expect to find in that part of Scotland. I wouldn't want to tow anything large along some of them but I suspect that if you know what you are about it isn't too bad. The A861 which runs past the site is "interesting", up and down, narrow, twisty but perfectly do-able. It is also pretty quiet. Very little passes the site at any time of day. Rush hour seems to consist of about 20 cars a couple of lorries and a bus. Although the site borders the road and we were in one of the "front" pitches nearest the road, traffic wasn't a problem.

The site itself if extremely well maintained, the toilet block and washing up area spotless at all times. The shop has a decent supply of food and some emergency bits and pieces just in case you might have forgotten anything. Everybody was friendly and helpful.

There's another couple of shops within 15 minute drive (one in each direction) but there was enough in the site shop that we didn't need to go to them (though we did). Both sell decent coffee and "deli" food as well as basics like bread and milk.

There's plenty to do in the area. Lots of places to walk, watch the wildlife and so on. Ardnamurchan Lighthouse is worth the drive, the drive itself gives some stunning views (but not many stopping places from which to admire them). The ferry to Mull is within a short drive, Mallaig and Fort William a little further but easy day trip territory. We spent the only wet day of our holiday in Fort William. There was enough to keep the pair of us entertained and plenty of choice about where to eat.

The other not so good thing about the site is something nobody could do anything about. On our last evening the site owner/manager came round and warned everybody that high winds were forecast for the following morning probably between 9 and 12. Well, that was fine as we were leaving early next day anyway so we would be well out of the way by 9. Except the winds arrived 6 hours early. 40mph broadsided our tent and took out two (fibreglass) roof poles. We weren't the only tent suffering. But that's one of the "joys" of camping and that could happen anywhere.

Would we go back? Yes. But probably not soon. It's a great site but we try to go somewhere different every year and for us it's a bit of a trek from the darkest reaches of east Kent.

Summary: great site, fantastic location. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Tricksterjess 3 reviews from this member

 We were looking for somewhere to continue our holiday with an additional 2 nights and had a look on the map on a whim and thought Resipole looked good. I checked the reviews which were all favourable and they turned out to be accurate.

Greeted on arrival and given choices of where to pitch as weather was difficult to predict. This is a very well run site, cleanliness second to none and lovely hot showers, most welcome after a few damp nights in a tent!

It is in a more remote location but a wee shop sells basics and there are wee cafes and restaurants within a 10 minute drive. We meant to stay 2 nights but the weather wasn't great and so we cut our stay which was a shame as we liked the site and there was a nice atmosphere.

Lovely lady in the shop too! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vinny278 1 review from this member

 Lovely, well kept site. Friendly owners and staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Generous pitches. Pods looked great. Ideal for a quiet, relaxing break. Dog friendly.

Lovely views of loch sunart. Good, free hot showers at all times. An unspoilt corner of uk. Very few places like this left!

Nature at it's best! 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Kathy121 1 review from this member

 We normally camp in a tent but decided to experience a stay in a camping pod. We love camping and still planned to cook on our camping stove outside but the thought that we could have heat and light in a pod in the autumn evenings was appealing, as well as not having to dry out a wet tent when we returned home.

Resipole Campsite currently has two spacious and attractive pods in a lovely location backing onto ancient oak woodland and looking out over beautiful Loch Sunart. Our pod (Otter)was spacious and very warm, clean and cosy.

Two wide benches make up into a huge bed that could easily sleep a family of four. We have never had better nights' sleep! A small table with two stools is provided as well as a cupboard with fridge and kettle.

Other than these items you need to bring along your camping gear except for the tent and sleeping mats. The pods have spare electric sockets. Wifi connections were variable. Our pod had a wide porch for cooking outside under shelter.

The washrooms, washing up room and toilets were situated close by. Groceries are available in the campsite shop and an excellent village store at Salen two miles away.

The local area is a paradise for naturalists. It is scenic and unspoilt. Travel is delightfully slow on narrow single track roads. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rus159 1 review from this member

 2nd visit by Bo'ness sub aqua club up to Resipole. Very clean toilets and shower block. New for 2017 was glamping pods.

These were fantastic reasonable rates finished to a very high standard. Staff work tirelessly up here cleaning and making sure everything is right will be back again only thing that could make it fantastic is a clubhouse or indoor area.

But it looks like they are thinking about it 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliarm 4 reviews from this member

 This is a medium sized site with excellent facilities: plenty of very clean toilets and showers and a small shop.

Located right on the shores of Loch Sunart in a stunning location. Nice quiet site with plenty of wildlife and excellent views. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hilli 5 reviews from this member

 We were lucky to arrive on a beautiful sunny day, met by the friendly owner and warden. This is a well kept site with good sized pitches. Toilets and showers were a little dark so used are own facilities. Loved the homemade bread from the on site shop.

View from the site is lovely. We stayed for a week and used it as a base to get the ferry to Mull from Kilchoan and lochline, Mallaig and around Ardnamurchan. Ordered fresh live prawns from the well stocked shop at Salen, the best we've ever had. Just beware of the ticks in the forest walks, got loads off our dog. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S-and-G 10 reviews from this member

 Despite we arrived around 7pm the warden was extremely friendly. (Moreover he is from Wales and we love Wales!)

The campsite is along a small road so there is some traffic, despite this overall it is pretty calm.

Good mowed grass. There was only 1 or 2 tents so we had a big field for us, close to the toilet/shower block which are very good. There are also 2 washing machines and 2 dryers.

The view from the main field seems pretty great, but the weather was too bad to really see something.

This place can be a good basecamp if you plan on spending a day exploring Ardnamurchan, for which we had a crush this year ! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hamish Motorhome 5 reviews from this member

 Our favourite all-time ever site. Good hard-standing or grass pitches with EHU. Water close by. Adequate motorhome service point. Never been bothered with noise in all the times we have stayed there. Site is right next to the road but when the ferry stops, so does the traffic. Excellent dog walking facilities on site and the local area. The biggest plus for this site is the lochside location. Stunning views, even when it's raining! Toilet block is good if a little dark. Dish wash area is fine and under full cover. We will keep going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Highlander09 17 reviews from this member

 A well kept site overlooking the loch and with walks from the site onto the hills.

I would agree with the comment about lack of hooks in the showers and would add a comment about no hooks at all in the dish wash room, but otherwise the facilities were excellent.

As the site was not very busy with tourers (although there are a lot of season pitches) we had parked the car on a vacant hardstanding next the our caravan and awning only to be told after two days to move it to the next bay which was parking for tents! Nobody was looking to use any pitches nearby and we thought it was a bit jobsworth. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Resipole Farm Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Resipole Farm Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Resipole Farm Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Acharacle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2010 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020