Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Normans Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Pevensey > Normans Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site > Reviews

Normans Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Normans Bay
Pevensey
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN24 6PR
Tel: 01323 761190
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 200
Open: 01/04/2024 to 02/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 146 Reviews
                8/10 from 146 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  146 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jnmphoto 1 review from this member

 The staff at Normans bay are very friendly, and the site is well laid out with plenty of space between visitors.

The facilities were clean, and the showers hot. Plenty of drinking water filling stations combined with grey water disposal points.

Situated a few minutes walk from a large, and mainly empty beach, and ideal location for morning and evening walks.

Bus stop and rail station in easy reach if needed. There is not much on offer in the shop and an on site restaurant/cafe would be nice, but these are my only negatives.

This was my first experience of campervan life. I know the area well, that is the reason I chose Normans Bay. 


Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Glenn_btn 3 reviews from this member

 This is a nice campsite with easy access to the beach. The facilities are always clean and tidy and the staff pleasant and help full.

I only have 2 issues with the site. If you want to stay for 1 night, you can't book electric (not all of us can stay the whole weekend) They say you can ring up in the morning and upgrade but I would like to be able to book electric in advance specially during a busy period.

The other which is not down to the site is the damn awful road to get to the site it littered with pot holes.

There has been a large one by the railway crossing that been there at least 18 months and someone has not put a cone in the hole, so at least you spot it. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Suzy Kentell 1 review from this member

 Nice site, well looked-after.

Facilities were pleasant and clean. Being near a beach was nice, but even at low tide there was no sand - only shingle and some very odd sharp sticks poking up through the stones, making it a bit dangerous for the young kids to play.

The big issue was the very high winds that drove us all mad.

We understand from other guests that this is common at this site. We accept nobody can control the weather, but we were advised by the staff (who were all very willing to help) to position ourselves in such a way that the winds had quite a severe impact on our stay.

Had we set up in a slightly different position, it would have made a big difference.

We would come back in the future, but would be more picky about the pitch we are given. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 We, a retired couple, came with 2 of our grandchildren (ages 9 and 7) for a couple of nights. Having just come back from an extended tour of Switzerland and Austria we were slightly taken aback by the (high) price here compared with what we'd been paying in those countries.

We'd been here two or three times before and knew what to expect. Our grandchildren loved the playground and the easy access to the beach.

It wasn't the site's fault that the weather wasn't suitable for proper swimming, but we enjoyed the beach anyway. The games room, which we didn't use in the end, but investigated, looks good.

Positives too were the good 16A electricity supply and the good wifi, as well as the flat pitches.

But for us adults there were quite a few negatives. The facilities block at our (far) end of the site is in serious need of refurbishing.

Only 3 showers for each of men and ladies for (our half of) such a large site is totally insufficient, especially when located close by a beach. One of the mens' showers had a sloping floor which didn't allow water to drain away leadinjg to a large puddle.

It also had a half-broken tap. The site seems to attempt to squeeze the maximum number of tents, caravans and motorhomes on, and has a very crowded feeling.

The single one-way road around the site, used by every vehicle, is dangerous with children running, cycling and playing on it (and we saw toddlers on it too) and cars driving too fast. Our pitch like many, was right by the road so each time we came out of our motorhome we had to take care.

Numerous dogs seem to roam around unleashed. While some staff members are pleasant and helpful, some are rather grumpy. Our grandchildren had only just arrived and hadn't got a ball out before we were told that 'no football was allowed'. Fair enough.

There were notices around the site to this effect too. But still there were plenty of children playing football around the site. So what are their rules regarding dogs and footballs, and do they ever enforce them ?

Finally, a local tip - visiting Pevensey castle (English Heritage) is really worthwhile. It's not really walkable but it'd be possible for teenagers and adults to cycle there.

The town has extended the car park for it since we last came, and it now has dedicated motorhome spaces and a modern pay point. 


Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wigwam-Clive 9 reviews from this member

 Very close to a pebbly beach.

10 minute walk to the train station.

We opted for a non electric grass pitch, with plenty of light for solar panels to work nicely.

Facilities nice and clean and staff really helpful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 257 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- At roundabout, where the A 259 joins the Pevensey Bypass and becomes the A27 take second exit and continue towards Pevensey and Pevensey Bay. Best to avoid Sluice Lane ( some sat navs suggest this route) as it is narrow.

At the traffic lights in Pevensey Bay turn left into Coast Road and follow to site in about one and a half miles. Care is required as there are often parked vehicles and the road in parts is not so wide. Arrival time at this site is from 1. 00pm onwards.

Normans Bay Campsite is quite large with about 200 pitches. The site is quite long in layout and very open with little tree cover as it is adjacent to the coast road and beach.

As with all C&CC site there is a variety of pitch choices from hardstanding with electrics to grass with or without. The hardstandings have a hard base dressed large pebbles which we found difficult to get onto levelling blocks.

There is also some ready erected tents for rent. For the pitches with electrics, the bollards are handy to the pitch and are rated at 16 amps and they use CEE17 blue connectors. There are two toilet blocks at opposite ends of the site, they are of a good standard. Water and waste points are dotted around the site.

There is a drive over motorhome waste point at the far end of the site near the second toilet block. For children there is an adventure style playground and for older children there is a Games Room with Table Tennis and Snooker.

There is free site wide WiFi although I found it quite slow but that could be down to the number of people on site? 4G was OK but not as fast as in other places.

Reception, have a useful selection of essentials for sell as well as gas. A couple of food outlets park in the car park, reception will have opening times.

The major advantage of this site is its location adjacent to the Pevensey Bay pebble beach. The site is situated about mid-way between Eastbourne and Hastings.

For those wanting to use public transport there are buses available from nearby Pevensey, about a half mile walk. In the other direction and about the same distance is Normans Bay railway station with hourly trains to either Eastbourne of Hastings.

For food shopping there is an ASDA supermarket en route into Eastbourne about three miles from the campsite. There is a very small newsagents/ general store about half a mile from the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Attymu 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite, clean amenities,

Situated in a great location with an excellent customer service especially Dave he was very helpful.

I look forward to camp there again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: SarahLou4 1 review from this member

 Checking in was straightforward and the lady on the desk was friendly and efficient.

The campsite itself was very clean and tidy, brilliant shower/toilet blocks and the campsite was very quiet which we liked.

The location was perfect and the site was very flat.

The only negative was that the same lady on reception was very rude when I walked in to use the toilet whist she was cleaning. There was no sign up, I didn't see her there until she shouted at me and I don't have a watch so had no idea of time, I just happened to be passing and thought I'd stop on my way. She was still ranting about me to somebody else as I retreated hastily down the path like a naughty child!

That awkward moment aside we had a wonderful time and everybody that stayed there was very friendly. It is fairly remote and the reception didn't open until 1pm which is also where the shop for basics is.

Fish and chip van was there Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

Overall a lovely campsite in a beautiful quiet setting. 


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cherri 1 review from this member

 Great location

I really like how they show you to your pitch.

Nice little shop on site too

Definitely will be booking again

Pitch 70 was our favourite 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Amamc4 1 review from this member

 Really helpful & friendly staff who found me a good pitch out of the wind as rough weather was forecast even though I'd just arrived on spec.

Nice clean facilities & right by the beach.

Recommend. 
via mobile


Previous     146 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Normans Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Normans Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Normans Bay Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pevensey      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2422 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement