Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Kinloch Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Isle Of Skye > Kinloch Campsite Reviews

Kinloch Campsite
Dunvegan
Isle Of Skye
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV55 8WQ
Tel: 01470 508009
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 80
Open: Open Now Until 31st October 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 144 Reviews
                9/10 from 144 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  144 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 05/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Emjaytoo 8 reviews from this member

 We just loved this site and landed up extending our stay by 3 days! The managers were great, telling us to pitch in a way to maximise the views - and wow, what views!

We never tired of watching the changing weather and tides across the loch and all the birds. Best though were the grey seals, 30 or so of them, who hauled themselves out onto the rocks just offshore and waited for the next incoming tide to float them off. Just wonderful!

It does get very busy come late afternoon but most people are gone again the next morning. The showers are basic but are kept very clean, as are all the facilities.

The managers are genuinely friendly and helpful and this is an excellent base to explore from.

Definitely first on our list when we return to Skye. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Chalky9 29 reviews from this member

 Deceptively large site in a fabulous position alongside Dunvegan Loch. Sanitary facilities are good, but a bit of a hike if you are pitched at one end of the site. Grey water disposal point at the top of a hill!

Easy walking distance to village with cafés, restaurant, bakery and small grocer's shop. Stunning local scenery. Poor wi-fi and limited phone coverage. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wor Joe 4 reviews from this member

 Very large site. Stunning view of the loch, amazing sunsets. Though large it's quiet. A bit expensive, £24 a night for our little campervan. Clean showers but you have to keep pressing the button.

Bus didn't turn up at the scheduled time, so we had to drive to visit anywhere else, though the castle in walking distance is worth going to. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tangodave77 3 reviews from this member

 We stay in our campervan for 1 night in kinloch campsite. The staff were friendly amd helpful. We also used there facilities on another night at a small charge without staying on the site. This was most usefull for touring we found.

The showers were perfect.

The one downside of the campsite is that come the evening the midgies come out. This can be expected anywhere on skye in the summer so we cant complain. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Captain Nemo 2 reviews from this member

 Nice and friendly staff, clean showers and toilets, good opportunity to dump grey and black water. Surprisingly that the camp site was nearly fully booked beginning of May. International guests (a lot of Germans, few French and a great number of English)

Lovely location directly at the shore. We loved to be here and recommend that site to anybody 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The2Lees 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site under new management since March 2018. Superb location on the shores of the loch, near attractive village. Biggest asset to this site is the positive attitude of the owners and their attention to detail.

They work tirelessly to maintain high standards and still find time to chat to campers offering, when asked, suggestions for local activities (our cycle ride to Coral Beach was memorable).

Christine and Paul's aim is to make you feel welcome and they succeed without ever being intrusive. In addition to this, the facilities and the feel of the site are both excellent and relaxing.
We look forward to returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GAVWTD 7 reviews from this member

 We are currently at Kinloch Campsite after being very disappointed with the Skye Camping and Caravan Club site. Kinloch Campite’s new owners (as of March 2018) Paul and Christine are only 4 weeks into their new ownership but they managed to book us in for 3 nights at very short notice (i. E. We were 20mins away and needed a pitch that night).

Paul and Christine were so helpful and welcoming. They pitched us up in an overflow pitch for the first night (mind even this has a loch view and was near amenities which are spot on. Clean and very hot showers). Then over the next 2 nights we were allowed to select our pitch right on the loch side (our pitch is no 23 and is feet from the lochside, what a view).

Most pitches give you a fantastic view though. The site has been fully booked and everything has run smoothly. We will definitely be coming back to Kinloch Campsite; with just a 2min walk into local village with bakery, shop, pub, restaurants, cafe, museum, walking distance of Dunvegan Castle, Macleod Tables and most importantly for us dog walks from site it is perfect for us (ie we found Skye Club Site limited as local village was a 30min walk down a narrow road with no pavement for safety of kids and dogs.

No dog walks from Skye Club Site bar a muddy walk around loch through a croft farm. Skye Club Site did not allow an awning on any pitch. So around 30mins after pulling into CCC Skye Club Site we decided to wave goodbye to it and the fee we had paid and move to a more welcoming site as muddy dogs in a motorhome doesn't mix whereas at Kinloch we had a choice of pitches to choose from all of which would accommodate our awning perfect to dry off and towel down muddy dogs and muddy kids. So Kinloch fitted our needs perfectly.

Thank you Paul and Christine and we wish you good luck with your new business. We will be back 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ChampersCrean 8 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome on arrival. Knowledgeable staff. Beautiful views from all pitches. Can walk into Dunvegan. We rented a car for a couple of days and the rental firm very helpful and friendly too.

We didn't enjoy good weather but a beautiful rainbow made up for it. Nice quiet site and would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nick W 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with good modern, well tended, clean facilities, in a fantastic loch side location at sea level. There is plenty of space between pitches, as far as I could see, with wide scenic views all around. We had a good, if 'business like' welcome and introduction to site facilities.

The nearby village is about 10 mins walk. It has a surprising range of shops for the location. We'd stayed at the nearby CCC site (12 miles East) and not ventured across to here before, so we were pleasantly surprised and we preferred this location. The village has a post office, bakery, small general store, some 'touristy shops', plus several eateries - though we only ate at the castle. The castle is well worth a visit. It isn't particularly cheap at c £10 to 15 per head. But we spent over 3 hours walking the extensive, well stocked gardens and visiting the castle interior, so it was reasonable value. It has a huge adjacent car park and good restaurant / coffee shop / loo.

The campsite had free wifi on site, extending to our pitch (19), near the reception, though it may not cover all of the site. It has good recycling and waste disposal facilities, including grey water into a drain with a channel ideal for motorhomes! Many sites only seem to cater for caravan grey waste so this was a welcome feature. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs E 37 reviews from this member

 We were fortunate enough to be allocated our pitch earlier than the stated check in time, having travelled over 600 miles, through the night and for around 15 hours. It was quite windy when we arrived so we postponed putting our awning up immediately but agreed where we'd be putting it with the person who showed us to our pitch.

My husband was exhausted so had a sleep and I nodded off too. When I woke I found that the occupants on the next pitch had arrived and had put up their awning exactly where ours was going! Cue, one sleep deprived and quite irate husband who did apologise for 'sounding off' at this couple. But it turns out they'd been told to put their awning up where we'd been told to!

We managed to fight with the wind and rain, turn our vehicle around and then put our awning up, but on a slope on the opposite side to where we wanted it to go. The pitches where we were, I feel, are not really big enough to accommodate a large (ish) awning and I'd request a larger and different pitch if we ever went back.

The views across the loch were lovely, but were spoilt by some inconsiderate German campers with no concept of personal space! One evening, they brazenly ran through ours and our neighbours pitch to congregate on a bench directly in front of our two pitches, talk very loudly, and drink until late in the evening (gone 11pm).

The same group also proceeded to gather in the dishwashing room, drinking and getting in the way of others who were trying to wash up. Such a shame, as it marred our experience of this site.

The village of Dunvegan was walkable from the site and has a few good general food stores, bakery, fuel, restaurant, pub and cafes.

I'm not sure I'd return to this site, mainly because it's at the far end of the island and we'd want to visit some of the places nearer the bridge and central area. I also value a bit of privacy and space around our pitch and this was lacking, although our neighbours were lovely people (just a shame about some of the other campers not respecting others)!

N. B. I've not rated on child friendliness as we don't have any. 


Previous     144 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kinloch Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Kinloch Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Kinloch Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Skye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020