Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lowfield Log Cabins

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Lowfield Log Cabins Reviews

Lowfield Log Cabins
Downdale Rd
Staintondale
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO13 0EZ
Tel: 01723 870574
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Log Cabins Only Now
Open: February To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Lowfield Campsite at Staintondale have stopped taking tents and caravans. They are building log cabins on the site and are about to landscape the area where the touring pitches were.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Robo283 1 review from this member

This was my first camping trip for many years, and my son's first ever, so we have nothing with which to compare this holiday. Lowfield is off the beaten track, unless you happen to be beating a track to the Shire Horse Centre which is just round the corner. However, that is a big plus for this site. It's small, basic and very friendly. The absence of a bar or other social arena was more than balanced by the absence of noise or rowdy behaviour. In fact, my 7 y.O. Son occupied himself the whole time we were actually on site by playing with other children of his age as there was no shortage of other families.

Paul, the site owner, and Rupert who looked after the site when Paul was absent, were very pleasant and helpful, even to the extent of lending us a tin-opener when ours broke. Other reviews point out that the toilets have cobwebs (yes, but no flies as a result) and the shower block is basic. The shower blocks are indeed basic, but the showers themselves are new and worked perfectly. Above all they were included in the price, as was the electric hook up.

It is worth noting that there is no shop on site or nearby; the nearest proper convenience shop, a Tesco Express, is about four miles away on your way back to Scarborough (North Bay). As long as you are aware of this it should not be a problem!

The site is handy for Scarborough or Whitby / Robin Hoods Bay as long as you have transport.

Despite the poor weather we extended our stay as we enjoyed it so much, and would definitely recommend it. We hope to go back in future.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Librasam 20 reviews from this member

What a wonderful find, this is a small site (approx 20 units) with very little to it, but if that's what you are looking for in a site this is great. Yes, the toilets are old fasioned, with cobwebs in the corners! and there are only two showers, but. There was plenty of hot water and they were clean. There is also no pot wash, but this wasn't a problem, especially when the prices take this into account.

Paul, the owner acknowledged that he wants to keep the site low key, in view of the beautiful log cabins he has built and will eventually build some more when the recession lifts. (He no longer advertises the site, with mostly regulars using it)

However the real gem about this place is the surrounding area, the Cleveland Way runs through the area and the old train line, which is now a National Cycle Track is wonderful to ride or walk along.

There is also a country pub, The Hayburn Wyke, about 15-20 mins walk down the track which serves real ale and food, also a great play area for klds.

So if you like quiet, quirky, relaxed and laid back, this is for you.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kevin29 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site and Paul the owner is very helpful and always around for assistance. Couldn't do enough for us. The toilets and showers are basic but the showers are nice and hot although there are only 2. It is a small site but a recommended one, we will certainly use it again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bexxieeeee 1 review from this member

Friendly site, lovely walks.

Had a lovely time but showers and toilets werer horrid.

Short drive into Scarborough & many pretty beaches.

Nice and quiet and beautiful views from the area.

Good grass areas for tents & caravans & seriously beautiful wood cabin on site - lovely just to look at!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ollie29 2 reviews from this member

We were very dissapointed on our recent visit to this one of our favourite sites, to discover that this site is to become an area of log cabins, and that the site is currently run down and although there were limited facilities we still enjoyed ourselves. Anyone looking to go there this summer will be saddened to the eventual loss of a hidden gem. Good luck paul and sally in your new venture. Our loss hopefully your gain.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alex83 1 review from this member

Great campsite run by a very friendly and helpful family!
Showers and toilet units were good and use of the a fridge/freezer was welcomed!
Great area for walking down to the Hayburn Wyke or onto the Cleveland Way walk along the cliff tops, either heading for Scarborough or Robin Hoods Bay. A decent pub was 15mins away down the old railway lines, bring a torch with you though!
All in all a great site that we will be using again!

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Yeshouse 5 reviews from this member

What a warm welcome by the owner Paul who personally tried to find a dry pitch for our family in this horrible wet month of july. This site is super for people who are cycling the North-Sea-Route like us. The nearby pub and the beautiful "paradise-look" beach with waterfall at Hayburn Wike were reason to stay an extra day on our tour.
Critics: the self-made sanitairunit is out of date.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JPS688 1 review from this member

This small site is perfect for a quiet relaxing weekend. There are four showers, a small playarea for the children, and a very nice pub just a short walk away. The owner was very helpful, and bent over backwards to ensure that everything was just right.

Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coyboy 1 review from this member

We stayed here for the Easter week and enjoyed our week. The owners where helpful and friendly and the facilities where adequate and clean. The camp is set in a lovely spot, we hope to stay again, The surrounding area is really beautiful and the coast is only about a twenty minute picturesque walk away We hope to return soon.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4218 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019