Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Butt Farm Caravan And Camping Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > East Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Butt Farm Caravan And Camping Site
Victoria Road
Beverley
East Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HU17 8PJ
Tel: 01482 870984  or  07779151014
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carol Jean 21 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 3 nights. As per the other reviews, a very pleasant site. One person described it as 'upcycled' -yes this is a good description. You don't notice the road noise that was mentioned as it is very much in the distance. The site is level and has plenty of space but having said that there were only 3 of us there!The first night I kept hearing a cow mooing which concerned me but luckily didn't hear it again and next day they were all happily out in the field. There are 2 sheep in an enclosure - hope they were pet ones! Theres also a friendly tabby cat called Tiger. As a previous person said yes the water could be a little hotter at this time of year ( you cant regulate the heat) but it was ok.

It is about 12/15 minute walk to Morrisons and a further 5 minutes to the bus stop. We waited for the 18. 37 bus and one came but it said Out Of Service so we weren't very pleased at that and went back for the car - but then the bus arrived so we missed it ! It was obviously about 6 minutes late. It is 45 minute walk from the site to The Minster. It is a very pleasant 30 minute cycle ride to The Minster. The Minster is south of the town centre so the first landmark that you come to and after that the pleasant paved pedestrian streets where are the shops, pubs, restaurants. At the top end of the town centre is the beautiful St Marys Church. After 6pm parking is free. Through the day its a bit expensive. You have to park in the car parks as outside residents houses its permits only. The best restaurant we went to was Centralk 42 the tapas restaurant. Brilliant value at 20 for 4 tapas and 2 glasses of wine. Good food and service. Be careful if you go to Figaro. Think the food was too rich for us and also they charged my partner 8 for a large white wine! I really liked the Monks Walk pub which is near The Minster. Nice clientele and barmaid and they had live music - it was packed out then. We walked to Walkington. We crossed the field and walked straight ahead until we saw the wood on our right. A local man then said turn right up the wood until you part the road. It takes 40 minutes to reach the duck pond then just after the duck pond are the 3 pubs all in a row. One day we went to Hull. We first visited the free Maritime Museum. I said to the receptionist there 'We have just arrived in Hull for the day'. She looked up at me sleepily and said cynically 'Are you excited?' We had to see the funny side of her promotion of her home city! Anyway we went to The Deep which was great and had a nice lunch there.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Archie Bargee 21 reviews from this member

Easy to find thanks to the directions on the website. Pitches OK though not particularly level, power hook up good, good recycling facilities in the silo and the little pot wash/fridge/freezer/information area very welcome. Loos and showers beautifully clean and warm, though the showers a little cramped and no shower seats for us oldies - luckily we have our own! Oly very welcoming and friendly, as were the chickens, cat and cattle - lovely bull! Unfortunately there was a major downside for us, we were pitched very close to a group of tents with kids who screamed around late into the night (they went silent about 1 am) thought it was a great joke to bang on the side of our van after 11 pm and flash torches all over. Sorry Oly, not your fault, but we'll stick to adults only in future.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Corneronrye 3 reviews from this member

This is a clean, spacious and well organised site. Toilet and shower facilities are kept nice and clean. There's a useful utility room with a fridge and freezer you can use. Jen is a very welcoming host. There are chickens pottering around and a wildflower meadow. There's even a WW2 historical site on the farm you can go and visit.

It's a nice walk across the fields to Walkington, we can recommend the pies at the Ferguson Fawsitt Arms. There's a nearby supermarket. It's a bit of a walk into Beverley but it's a lovely town to visit.

The only negative was we could notice traffic noise at night - there is a main road not far away.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mandlwilson 1 review from this member

2nd visit to this wonderful small site. Excellent facilities which are always warm. They have firepits and barbecues available to hire. There is a supermarket less than 15 minutes walk away. The only downside is the occasional road noise.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cookiekid 31 reviews from this member

We've just returned from this lovely site and had a very enjoyable weekend.

This is our 2nd visit, the last one 2 yrs ago when they had just opened.

The facilities are kept very clean and are heated.

The pot wash area is undercover with plenty of hot water. There is also a fridge and a freezer for you to use in this utility area. There are plenty of information leaflets and suggested walks.

It's a lovely 30 minute walk from the site through fields into Walkington. There's 3 pubs there, we went in the dog & duck, the food looked amazing & the barrel, which is a traditional style pub, right up our street.

We walked into Beverley on Saturday, probably a 45 minute walk, very pleasant though. We got a taxi back 8. 00, I believe.

We didn't see Olly & Jen this time as they were away. Lucy was very friendly and welcoming.

Keep up the good work guys, see you next year.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazormshaw 23 reviews from this member

We stopped here over a very wet Easter weekend, we found the site easily especially now the site is signposted from the main road. Entering the site there was a board showing which pitch everyone was allocated along with a map of the site.

The pitches were very spacious even with our big tent and porch. The ground was soft but the weather had been pretty bad in the weeks leading up to Easter. While pitching up Oly the owner came over to introduce himself and gave us the low down of the site, left us to it and came back later that day to make sure we'd all settled in ok.

The site isn't cramped, our party took 3 grass pitches between us and there was plenty of space between us all which our kids loved for running around and tiring themselves out.

The heated toilet block was a godsend considering how cold it was, the wife kept disappearing for half an hours warm! 2 showers and 2 WCs in both male and female toilets. A covered utility area with pot washing, fridge and freezer as well as maps and leaflets and tons of information for the surrounding area.

There is a bus stop at the end of the road which will take you into Beverley if you don't fancy driving or walking and I think it also goes into Hull if you wish.

A former grain silo has been converted into the waste and recycling area, where there is BBQs and fire pits available to hire along with bins you are welcome to take to your pitch for recycling.

Oly and Jen were on hand regularly if you needed them and we couldn't have asked for better hosts.

Its the small things that make a difference, the friendly owners, the quirky facilities and the Easter bunny even brought eggs to each unit on Easter Sunday courtesy of Oly and Jen (thanks again, the girls loved the eggs).

Definitely will be stopping here again, an excellent gem of a site.

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy5311 1 review from this member

Had a great 2 nights stay. Lovely peaceful site with great facilities. Thanks to Oly for the friendly welcome and great service. The site is walking distance to Morrisons and about 30 min walk to Beverley with an 8. 50 return taxi after a couple of visits to the local pubs! We'll be back, see you soon! Wendy, Phil, Michelle and Mark

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2707marie 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site & very friendly. Went for a weekend with extended family with 3 tents. Very helpful as the plans changed several times with the booking but they never complained & we had a laugh about it. Lovely clean & warm toilets. Will defo be back. Pricing was a bit confusing as price includes dog but you pay extra for kids. Kids loved seeing the cows, chickens & sheep.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 21 reviews from this member

I liked this funky place - the friendly owners have added lots of little touches that make it a welcoming campsite.

Great site - quite flat with hardstanding and good access to power and water.

Nice clean showers and loos and the information/ shelter area is a good idea.

Firepits with fuel and marshmallows available for hire - great idea!

The site is near the motorway but you wouldn't know it as it's very quiet - in fact the birdlife around the site is noisy and interesting.

The walk to Beverley takes about 35 minutes and there is a Morrisons 5mins walk away. If you have a bike it's a doddle to get around - lots of cycle routes in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HighSlayer 7 reviews from this member

This is a lovely and slightly quirky site with owners who are caring, committed and helpful

Having seen the site on here and read the reviews - it was hard to resist staying at somewhere with the name of Butt Farm!

I was visiting the area for work and needed somewhere to stay for 4 nights. I use a standard sized van for work (not sign-written) and it was not a problem to use that. The site has a no-noise policy between 22. 30 and 07. 30 with no vehicles allowed to be driven on site during those hours. As we would be getting back from work much later on Oly was kind enough to put us on pitch no. 1 right next to the entrance so that we could coast the van on.

At the entrance is a board with your names and pitch numbers on. We arrived just as Jen was writing on the arrivals for that day, so we had a chat - what a lovely lady!

The EHU pitches are hardstandings but as we had a tent Oly and Jen were totally amenable to us putting the tent on the grass and the van on the hardstanding. Both Oly and Jen are friendly and helpful.

We arrived on Friday lunchtime to a nice quiet site. Set up the tent etc then popped off to do some initial work, getting back about 6pm. The site by then was very busy with families and lots of children.

We had a few issues with balls being kicked onto our pitch and under the van plus the associated kids (and some adults!) coming to get them. Apart from that though everyone was really well behaved, the kids were all on top form and behaving well - just bear in mind that this is a family site, especially at weekends/holidays. It is also very dog friendly but again all of the dogs were very well behaved with responsible owners.

The site facilities are a little basic but very clean and well looked after. There are 2 showers, 2 WCs and 2 sinks for the men and the same for the women. There is a sheltered room area with 2 washing up sinks and local info on walks, shopping, local amenities along with a map etc - really nicely done! This area also has a communal fridge and, when available some fresh eggs for sale with an honesty box. Very large, tasty eggs they are too!

There is also a room for bins/recycling etc though the bin lids could do with a wash. But hey, it's for rubbish!

Pitches are spacious and all numbered. There were some very large tents on site but nobody looked cramped or crowded in. Pitches are fairly level and flat but the ground is a little rocky so make sure you have some spare tent pegs or some hard ground ones - it's nothing major though.

The site is on a working farm which Oly and Jen run. This means that they arent around a lot on site except when needed but their mobile numbers are clearly displayed on the notice board. Being a farm you can expect the occasional Moo from the cows and the occasional Baah from the sheep!

Hidden treasure - the farm is also the site of a WWII Gun Battery and parts of it have been cleaned up. With permission you can go walk around it and they are planning some guided tours too. Bear in mind you have to walk across a field to get to it so stout shoes are required and a certain skill at avoiding cow pats. The Gun Emplacement is shared with sheep and rabbits so here you need to avoid the sheep and rabbit droppings. The sheep are nowhere near as skittish as most sheep are and you can get fairly close before they turn their backs and slowly saunter off - kids would love this!

Ok - so no site is perfect - the facilities have a rustic 'upcycled' feel about them which is very quaint and makes great use of existing structures, but of course aren't quite as clean and smooth as more modern facilities. To be fair though - that's the kind of site it is and you either embrace it or dislike it. We both really liked it. We did have to queue for showers and the lights are on sensors and timers so if you spend too long in there on your own you will end up in darkness - I felt the timer settings could have been extended a little.

For me the only big issue was the proximity of the main Beverly Bypass. Traffic can be clearly heard and is a little intrusive at night. I'm not a good sleeper so this was more of an issue for me - if you are a good or heavy sleeper then you'll probably be fine

Whilst talking about the facilities - big brucie bonus is that the showers have adjustable water pressure, adjustable temperatures and no timers on! It is such a pleasure to adjust the temperature to suit and not to have to keep pressing a daft button! That alone scores highly with me. The shower heads themselves weren't great and could do with replacing but otherwise - fabulous! The water is heated via a renewable source so there is a short delay whilst hot water works it's way through but the info pack tells you this so you just turn them on for a few seconds before getting in. There is plenty of hot water and the temperature is fairly stable.

So, Saturday we were out first thing, not back till 3am, back out first thing Sunday and not back until 11pm. Woke up Monday morning and wow - all the kids and families had gone, a few international visitors had arrived (Netherlands, Germany and Poland) and the campsite was peaceful and quiet. We stayed until the Tuesday, though typically for England, after a weekend of blistering sunshine and 30+ degree temperatures we had rain all Monday, Monday night and Tuesday whilst packing down!

There is a Morrissons Supermarket close to the site and Butt Farm is very convenient for Beverly, Hessle and Hull. The drive into Hull takes you through the most cosmopolitan part of town with lots of ethnic shops, supermarkets and restaurants - I wish we'd had more time to explore these and buy some authentic ingredients! On the way into Hull there is also a Tesco, Aldi, Lidl, Poundland and so on - pretty much everything you need. We headed in for a visit to Winfields. Hull has changed totally over the last couple of decades and as a recent City of Culture also has some great museums and things to do/see.

The site is also close to the Humber Bridge - definitely worth seeing!

So - weekends and school hols this is very much a family site with plenty of space to play, run about and do what kids do. It tends to attract nice families with energetic but well behaved kids.

During term time weekdays it is much quieter with a range of regular and one-off visitors providing an interesting turnover of campers.

Would I stay again? Yes, most definitely. Although the road noise is bothersome, the site has a nice rural feel, the owners are fantastic and the facilities are well maintained. It is well sited to visit local attractions, has plenty of walks straight from the campsite and the pitches are a generous size. There is also just a very nice 'feel' about the place, if you get what I mean? Cost in July 2017 was 21 a night including EHU for 2 of us. There are no extra charges for any of the facilities.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in East Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2511 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0938