Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Raglan Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Raglan Caravan Park Reviews

Raglan Caravan Park
West Road
Ancroft
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2TB
Tel: 01289 387422  or  07850 600441
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 plus tents
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 13 Reviews
                9/10 from 13 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 89 reviews from this member

 Felt very comfortable at this well organised Site and would be happy to come back anytime. This was our only stay this year where one entire toilet block had been spray sterilised.

There were plenty of hand wash facilities and signage with very helpful staff. Wifi was poor unless you went up to the bothy area.

There are regular buses from the Village to Berwick, well worth a visit, to the North and Wooler to the south.

The marvelous, long virtually deserted beaches of Northumbria are about a 3 mile drive or walk away. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Lottie 1 review from this member

 A lovely stay on such a friendly, quiet, clean campsite. Very helpful staff on site. Perfect for that quiet but child friendly stay. The site owner Eric was extremely helpful when we needed help with our tent and electrics, as first time campers in a tent!

During our stay we visited Bamburgh, the beach and views were stunning. We also visited Blair drummond safari Park, which was a good day out. Berwick a short drive had a lovely Chinese and chip shop, and Eric said there are others that deliver on site. Plenty of supermarkets close by at Berwick too.

The facilities were clean and there were bikes for the children to use, which was a lovely gesture and on our last days stay we had bacon sandwiches delivered for breakfast. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David1 1 review from this member

 Fab place handy for local attractions some great beaches close by you’ve got to drive though.

A few bikes for the kids to ride on site only free.

Camp site staff were really friendly and helpful

Caravans Motorhomes camper vans and tents all catered for

Well worth a visit. 👍 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Camp chaos 26 reviews from this member

 This was a perfect, peaceful spot to get away from the masked crowds.

The site is obviously popular as there are now more pitches available. We didn't notice any pressure/queues at the toilet block. We were pitched near the new block which is clean and modern with good, hot showers. There was a washing up area around the back.

The owners were lovely and friendly, we took up the suggestion of a bacon butty on our last morning which was delivered to our van by Eric!

The immediate area is very quiet. From what we could work out, the nearest village with any amenities seems to be Lowick which is about 5 miles away (a good cycle ride around the back roads) where there's a small grocer's and a couple of pubs: the Black Horse is recommended.

There's a bus stop 5 mins walk from the site, we got the bus to Berwick on a rainy day and had a good walk along the walls and then a substantial lunch from Foxton's as a reward!

We also cycled to Cheswick beach (beautiful) and Holy Island (amazing) and had a top notch lunch at the Barn at Beal.

The treat of the holiday though was all the wildlife! We saw numerous birds of prey (one flew along in front of us whilst we were cycling down a quiet lane), a deer, grouse and (the pinnacle): dolphins on two separate days. The first time we spied them from the cliff top at Spittal beach and the second time from the beach at Cheswick. Such an amazing site.

I would defo visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Wooday 3 reviews from this member

 Eric and Barbara doing a great job.

Beautifully sited and maintained. Friendly welcoming site.

Eric did everything he could to help me be comfortably set up.

I was just staying one night on my way south. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: PHolds 9 reviews from this member

 I was the first to arrive at Raglan campsite of a large family group, there were to be 9 adults and 6 children in total. We were met by Eric's mate, who showed me to our pitch, he said

"Just set up here, all this is yours".

Very informal, just sensible unwritten rules.

I personally really liked the site because of this.

The facilities are reasonable, perhaps another block would better suit the site; two gents showers are not enough, and the hot water pressure would drop if all four were being used (ladies next door and the washing up area at the rear).

The surrounding area is very intensive agricultural farming which may not to be every ones cup of tea. I'm not a fan, but my dog loved it, there's no livestock, so the dog can be free of the lead.

That's another + for the site; they allow dogs, but they have to be tethered and kept in control.

The beeches close by are stunning, immaculately clean and are dog friendly. They are free from dog eggs, EVERYONE picks up their dogs waste.

I never went to the surrounding pubs but my two daughters did with their children and they said that the food was good and fairly priced.

At the end of out stay Eric said that it'd be best if we collated our pitch fees and paid him just the once, which made sense.

It was all very informal and nice, a wonderful attitude to business transaction. My son passed him the cash, he said "Thank You", shook hands, job done.

I really enjoyed my stay at Raglan, I don't think I'll go back however, but this is due solely to the surrounding area. Industrial farming just is not my bag.

I've, been over to Lindisfarne a couple of time and it's ok, the grandchildren went over and thought it was fun to drive over the causeway, and the daughter-in-law really enjoyed it.  


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Grumpybear59 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely views on a level site with plenty of choices for either grass or hardstanding pitch - grass kept short and collected so none likely to be trodden into van.

Now has two toilet blocks - original brick built with one WC, washbasin and shower for gents and same for ladies (disabled shower/wet room). Used daily whilst we were on site and always clean and tidy. This building also houses laundry room with washing machine (£2. 50 per wash), dishwashing sink and local information board and leaflets. At the other end of field new wash block - ladies one side and gents the other.

Two showers including WC and toilets for each gender, plus additional separate toilet on ladies side. Still need to finish dishwashing facilities behind this new block.

Separate chemical toilet disposal area which was all good.

Great access to southern Scotland, we visited St Abbs one day, plus Berwick upon Tweed where there is large Morrisons. We also visited National Trust Farnes Islands on boat trip from Seahouses and Holy Island plus Lindisfarne castle. Another day was spent in Bamburgh, great butchers shop with meat pies!

Eric and Barbara campsite owners are very friendly, only spoke on phone to Barbara but Eric around site every morning. We paid £25 per night with EHU a little bit pricey considering no local shop but on the plus side, they take card payments too. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Great glen neil 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site near to Lindesfarne, views over rolling hills. Very friendly and helpful owner, Eric.

Limited to just 2 toilets 1 each gender, with shower, toilet and washbasin included. Not a problem for us but site not that busy. They are installing more as we left.

Bit over priced but we would go back any time. Site had washing machine, hand wash and drying rack. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blodds 2 reviews from this member

 Very neat and tidy site, with welcoming owners. Eric took the trouble to walk round the units most mornings to say ‘hello’.

Only downside in my opinion were the toilet facilities, which were a toilet/wash basin/shower with disabled access, one for women and one for men. Whilst this was not a problem when we visited, as the site was not full, I could see there being a queue in the busier months from campers.

Caravanners usually have their own facilities available anyway. Because the toilet facilities were a bit lacking I thought the price for a caravan for a night a bit steep, however if we are up this way again, we would consider using the site and I would recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PippaMJ 4 reviews from this member

 Be aware, that there is only 1 toilet each gender for the whole campsite + the shower & handbasin were in the same room; so, if someone was having a shower, you couldn't use the toilet. 40 minute wait on one occasion; 35 another; the best we managed was a 15 minute wait.

Never saw anyone in charge of the site from arriving to leaving. Struggled to get confirmation of our booking or any contact at all on the day of arrival. Eventually, got the passcode for the toilet block on the 3rd phone attempt at 2230.

Site was clean but no separation between tents & caravans; very haphazard siting with no marked pitches. It would be ok for caravans with own toilet facilities but not good for tents - we only stayed 36 hours, rather than the 3 days we were booked for, because of the lack of toilet/washing facilities.

Electric hookup worked well. The site is down a narrow country road, without signage and there is nothing to do on the site nor within walking distance. Disappointed. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Raglan Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Raglan Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1334 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December