Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Fieldhead Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Hope Valley > Fieldhead Camp Site Reviews

Fieldhead Camp Site
Edale
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZA
Tel: 01433 670386
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 98 Reviews
                8/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: February 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Benmco44616owp 1 review from this member

 This is a fairly basic campsite but has all the essentials. The shower and toilet block was clean and the water was hot. A large radiator was being used as a drying space and seemed to work well. The showers cost 20p - I didn't use them so couldn't say how long 20p lasted.

There was a separate pot washing area.

The field itself was cosy - not too big. It was a bit muddy but then it's been the wettest Feb ever.

The location is beautiful and near perfect. 2 min walk from the train station but the trains didn't disturb, 5 min walk from a pub and just behind a Peak District visitor centre, where you can buy a few basics. Great sunrise over the ridge from Mam Tor.

Ive only scored customer service 5/10 because there were no staff when I arrived and I left early the next morning. 


Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stevem52068fkl 1 review from this member

 This was our first visit to Fieldhead Campsite and we were not disappointed.

The facilities were spot on and very clean and the position for walks into the hills was ideal.

With 2 welcoming pubs within 5 minutes walk we made good use of them sampling the real ales and warm food topped off a long days walking.

The owners were lovely and hand on heart I can say we will be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 25 reviews from this member

 Nice clean site good toilet bath room facilities very near pub and train station next to visitors center. There is also place to charge phones

There is a car park more suited to hikers 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toddytyke 1 review from this member

 Camp site has all the facilities required and is in a great location, however there are a few niggles which would mean I will be looking for an alternative on our next visit.

First, the two phone calls that I made were not dealt with in a positive and friendly way. My request for parking seemed an inconvenience and I was directed to the train station a short walk away. Not ideal when having to unload. Then a space was found for a daily fee of 4. When I returned from my walk I was surprised that there were about 30 not 20 cars in the car park and most were double parked. A sign that the site was cashing in on a busy weekend. Next, the showers were not free and had to paid for. 20p for 2 minutes is barely enough time especially when the machines are not in the cubicles so you lose time adding extra money.

I appreciate that this is a no frills basic camping facility but it could be better with a few changes. There is plenty of competition which you would think would drive these improve mens. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MariamYamout 1 review from this member

 Called to see if I could arrive impromptu. Say yes! Very happy.

(but you can also book)

Site location is only 5 minute walk from Edale station. Great when you are carrying a lot of heavy things. Small but has a visually stunning site at the back where a stream runs (fenced).

Suggestion: Would like to see a birds eye map of the actual site and whats within 15 mins radius.

Customer service/Site Facilities was great, happy to answer questions and helpful when you insert the wrong change into the machine. Kindly given a Peak district map to borrow, otherwise you can buy your own at the information point.

Was able to point out faults (blocked toilet etc) which was fixed straight away. Toilets were very clean. Very decent shower facilities(and pricing- helpful after 5 hour walks when your body is sore). Even laundry room is available. Washing up room available, really helpful with dishes etc so you don't have to warm up water in your pots. Bring your own washing up liquid (only two sinks- but never super busy)

Information point.

Information point at the front with helpful staff (Rosemary)

Has maps, souvenirs, and gadgets for kids. Suggestion: Would like to see adult merchandise (tshirts etc).

Otherwise, freedom to just do your own thing. Good value for only 3 nights stay at 7. 50 p/n. Would come to stay here again.

Be aware of availability and the site can become full easily as its not massive but changes throughout the day. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: UnderCanvasAgain 4 reviews from this member

 I just had one night here with my son in a small tent, which made it easy to transfer minimal kit from the car. These are only allowed in the car park. Next to or a shortish walk depending upon which of the 6 small fields you are camping in.

Friendly and helpful staff. Wash block OK (though can't comment on the showers - coin operated). The adjoining visitor centre has lots of info on local area and some provisions.

Great location with 2 pubs, tea room, local shop, a rural train station and lovely countryside all on the doorstep. Hope to return for a weekend visit in the future with the whole family. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingwithspaniels 1 review from this member

 Arrived to a friendly welcome from the owner. Shown around site and we could choose to camp wherever we wanted. Would have liked to have gone to the bottom field next to the stream but it would have been quite a walk with all of our stuff (as you have to carry it fromthe car park)but quite happy to stay where we did on the second field after the car park. Had great views of Mam Tor from the tent.

Toilets and showers were basic but clean. 20p for 2 minutes in the shower with a maximum of 3 coins allowed. Never had to wait even though the campsite was busy. Fridge/freezer available for campers to use Silence required after 10. 30pm which suited us.

The surrounding area is something special. Very close to the start of the Penine Way and also great walks over Mam Tor and over to Castleton. 2 pubs within a very short walking distance, ate at the Old Nags Head which can be thoroughly recommended! Dogs and muddy boots welcomed here.

All in all a fantastic site and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saman 1 review from this member

 Just spent a wet but wonderful Easter in Edale. Campsite ticks all the boxes. Free Wifi, ee coverage, helpful staff, clean facilities, lots of hot water and soft toilet roll! Surrounded by stunning views and countryside, flat, sheltered pitches spread over several small fields. There is a small car park at the front of the site, no vehicle access onto the camping fields - hip, hip hooray! giving a charmingly peaceful stay. There are 2 pubs/cafes and a quaint old church just a short walk from the site. Onsite there is also a tourist information centre where you can get local information, maps, advice, tea, coffee and snacks. Looking forward to another visit! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ramble2727 3 reviews from this member

 Really lovely campsite. Small pitches in a secluded area with a stream. Clean toilets and washing facilities. Perfect location for great walks and 2 nice pubs on the doorstep. This is a great campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bikerhiker 13 reviews from this member

 My first visit to Edale and the peaks. This site was perfect for walking Kinder scout and getting my first taste of the pennine way. Great for the 2 pubs on the doorstep and the cafes. Facilities are ok, hot shower and clean toilets. I was in the field by the road and found it a bit noisy with drunks bowling home from the nags, but nothing compared to the roar of the trains running through the tunnel. Everybody friendly and welcoming though. 


Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Fieldhead Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fieldhead Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Fieldhead Camp Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Hope Valley      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4319 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020