Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Fieldhead Camp Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Site Reviews

Fieldhead Camp Site
Edale
Hope Valley
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S33 7ZA
Tel: 01433 670386
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 95 Reviews
                8/10 from 95 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  95 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Toddytyke 1 review from this member

Camp site has all the facilities required and is in a great location, however there are a few niggles which would mean I will be looking for an alternative on our next visit.

First, the two phone calls that I made were not dealt with in a positive and friendly way. My request for parking seemed an inconvenience and I was directed to the train station a short walk away. Not ideal when having to unload. Then a space was found for a daily fee of 4. When I returned from my walk I was surprised that there were about 30 not 20 cars in the car park and most were double parked. A sign that the site was cashing in on a busy weekend. Next, the showers were not free and had to paid for. 20p for 2 minutes is barely enough time especially when the machines are not in the cubicles so you lose time adding extra money.

I appreciate that this is a no frills basic camping facility but it could be better with a few changes. There is plenty of competition which you would think would drive these improve mens.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MariamYamout 1 review from this member

Called to see if I could arrive impromptu. Say yes! Very happy.

(but you can also book)

Site location is only 5 minute walk from Edale station. Great when you are carrying a lot of heavy things. Small but has a visually stunning site at the back where a stream runs (fenced).

Suggestion: Would like to see a birds eye map of the actual site and whats within 15 mins radius.

Customer service/Site Facilities was great, happy to answer questions and helpful when you insert the wrong change into the machine. Kindly given a Peak district map to borrow, otherwise you can buy your own at the information point.

Was able to point out faults (blocked toilet etc) which was fixed straight away. Toilets were very clean. Very decent shower facilities(and pricing- helpful after 5 hour walks when your body is sore). Even laundry room is available. Washing up room available, really helpful with dishes etc so you don't have to warm up water in your pots. Bring your own washing up liquid (only two sinks- but never super busy)

Information point.

Information point at the front with helpful staff (Rosemary)

Has maps, souvenirs, and gadgets for kids. Suggestion: Would like to see adult merchandise (tshirts etc).

Otherwise, freedom to just do your own thing. Good value for only 3 nights stay at 7. 50 p/n. Would come to stay here again.

Be aware of availability and the site can become full easily as its not massive but changes throughout the day.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: UnderCanvasAgain 4 reviews from this member

I just had one night here with my son in a small tent, which made it easy to transfer minimal kit from the car. These are only allowed in the car park. Next to or a shortish walk depending upon which of the 6 small fields you are camping in.

Friendly and helpful staff. Wash block OK (though can't comment on the showers - coin operated). The adjoining visitor centre has lots of info on local area and some provisions.

Great location with 2 pubs, tea room, local shop, a rural train station and lovely countryside all on the doorstep. Hope to return for a weekend visit in the future with the whole family.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingwithspaniels 1 review from this member

Arrived to a friendly welcome from the owner. Shown around site and we could choose to camp wherever we wanted. Would have liked to have gone to the bottom field next to the stream but it would have been quite a walk with all of our stuff (as you have to carry it fromthe car park)but quite happy to stay where we did on the second field after the car park. Had great views of Mam Tor from the tent.

Toilets and showers were basic but clean. 20p for 2 minutes in the shower with a maximum of 3 coins allowed. Never had to wait even though the campsite was busy. Fridge/freezer available for campers to use Silence required after 10. 30pm which suited us.

The surrounding area is something special. Very close to the start of the Penine Way and also great walks over Mam Tor and over to Castleton. 2 pubs within a very short walking distance, ate at the Old Nags Head which can be thoroughly recommended! Dogs and muddy boots welcomed here.

All in all a fantastic site and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Saman 1 review from this member

Just spent a wet but wonderful Easter in Edale. Campsite ticks all the boxes. Free Wifi, ee coverage, helpful staff, clean facilities, lots of hot water and soft toilet roll! Surrounded by stunning views and countryside, flat, sheltered pitches spread over several small fields. There is a small car park at the front of the site, no vehicle access onto the camping fields - hip, hip hooray! giving a charmingly peaceful stay. There are 2 pubs/cafes and a quaint old church just a short walk from the site. Onsite there is also a tourist information centre where you can get local information, maps, advice, tea, coffee and snacks. Looking forward to another visit!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ramble2727 3 reviews from this member

Really lovely campsite. Small pitches in a secluded area with a stream. Clean toilets and washing facilities. Perfect location for great walks and 2 nice pubs on the doorstep. This is a great campsite.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bikerhiker 10 reviews from this member

My first visit to Edale and the peaks. This site was perfect for walking Kinder scout and getting my first taste of the pennine way. Great for the 2 pubs on the doorstep and the cafes. Facilities are ok, hot shower and clean toilets. I was in the field by the road and found it a bit noisy with drunks bowling home from the nags, but nothing compared to the roar of the trains running through the tunnel. Everybody friendly and welcoming though.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stephenc 6 reviews from this member

This is a fairly basic campsite with not much other than grass and toilets. It's quiet apart from the odd DofE type group but they are kept away from the main fields.

Treat this site as a base and not somewhere that will keep you occupied and you won't be disappointed.

It's a rough and ready campsite with no frills. Leave the big family tent and take the scruffy old 2 man one.

Lovely location.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ChrisDunn 2 reviews from this member

Have to generally agree with most of the other reviews in that it is a lovely campsite in a great location, but it has problems. There was a choice of 6 fields, we stayed in the bottom field next to the river which was nice. The Nags Head pub in the village was fantastic, excellent food, great beers and lots of friendly characters (and their dogs) in there. The owners of the site were nice enough and let us pitch where we wanted. They describe their facilities as 'modern' and this is where I start to mark the site down. They may have been modern 20 years ago but not now. The showers although nice and hot and powerful didn't actually cater for getting changed within the cubicle as they had no bench and hardly anywhere to hang stuff up to keep dry. The 3 nights we were there the gents toilets had no soap (although the ladies did!). The drying room was definitely required one night after getting drenched on the walk, however after seeking it out found it to be all switched off with no obvious way of turning anything on and no-one around to ask. The washing machine had a big sign on it basically telling you it was not to be used unless you were trained? I would come back, but will definitely be trying somewhere different next time we're in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chummy 7 reviews from this member

Just home from a wonderful bank holiday weekend in Edale at Fieldhead campsite! We stayed in a large tent with my 2 sons to hike and mountain bike in the surrounding area. We arrived late Friday and were quite worried that reception would be closed but luckily we were greeted by the friendly owners and advised to pick a pitch, which was great.

The site is set in a beautiful location with the peaks in the background and stream running through it - also very handily located at the entrance is the visitor centre with weather information gifts and a wild flower roof. No parking next to pitches, we had a parking spot and really from wherever you are in the campsite it's not far at all to make trips to and from the car park - we actually really liked not having cars driving around with the kids to worry about. The toilets showers and washing up areas were warm, adequate and central. Pitching areas all appeared flat, my son fell in love with the campsite cat!

Centrally located for the station, the village pubs and loads of walking routes - also worth a visit is the derwent and ladybower reservoirs which we drive to (approx 20 minutes away by car) and cycled around.

Easily the most beautiful campsite we've stayed in, the owners were helpful taking the time to chat about possible walking routes and they invited the kids on a bat searching walk

Would happily return, many thanks for a great value weekend.

Previous     95 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2289 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!