Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pondwell Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Isle Of Wight > Seaview > Pondwell Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Pondwell Camping And Caravan Site
Pondwell Hill
Seaview
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO33 1PX
Tel: 01983 873163
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: Easter To October 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this site has reopened under new ownership for 2015 onwards. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vinylvaughan 19 reviews from this member

 Managed to book Pondwell at the last minute. Reception was very helpful. We encountered a few problems with our pitch, as we seemed to be at the bottom of the hill, could not get any tv reception with with our freesat dish. Mobile phone reception seemed to be a problem as well. All was resolved, when we were allowed to move to another pitch and found a signal. At first we found the toilets needed a bit of a clean, no toilet paper, etc. But this was soon resolved. Showers were fine. The Beach and also a Nature reserve is a few minutes walk from the site. There is a Bus stop outside the entrance which goes into Ryde, you can also walk into Ryde along the coastal path, takes about 45 mins. Took the coastal path into St Helens, a pleasant walk, but beware, some of the path is blocked off at high tide ! There is a Pub on the grounds, that serves food. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Pondwell. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jazzy Bee 4 reviews from this member

 I have stayed on this lovely site each August Bank Holiday for the Scooter Rally in Ryde for the last 4 years.

The site is clean and tidy, though the shower blocks are a bit dated.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, great pub next door with a fab breakfast and other meals.

Camp shop is good for your basic needs and open most of the time.

Pitches good prices. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andyjv 2 reviews from this member

 I returned to Pondwell after a gap of 6 years and I was pleased to see it remained unchanged and as unspoilt as it was when I first discovered it.

I chose it some years ago because it was peaceful and offered nothing more than the essentials needed for camping.

I arrived this time just after 9 in the morning and was welcomed by the chap in reception who I found to be friendly and helpful. Even though it was peak season there was plenty of choice as to where I could pitch my tent and I found a spot easily.

After a long overnight journey, a shower was in order after my tent was pitched and I found everything in the toilet / shower block clean and working properly.

My stay this time was an all too short 3 days but in my time there I found no problems and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet that this site offers.

The island has so much to offer, with Ryde being nearby I found plenty of good cafes and food outlets. From Pondwell there is a lovely walk to the beach, or by car all parts of the island can be reached in a very short time although I found the Newport area was a bit of a bottleneck and is best avoided if possible as far as traffic is concerned.

I definitely recommend Pondwell if you like the peaceful life. Looks good if you have kids as the play area is visible from most areas of the site.

Basic, simple, reasonably priced, I will be back.

Thank you Pondwell! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheekychap 3 reviews from this member

 This is the second year running my grandson and I have stayed for 7days at this camp site, which we both still enjoy. It's good to see the same staff running the site over the years. They have always been very friendly and helpful and go out they way to resolve any issues.

The site is clean and well maintained with an on site shop which sells the basic essentials and freezing block facilities. The shower block remains the same but the hot water system has been up graded and offers really hot showers which are all kept clean.

The wishing well public house on site serves good hot food at good prices. The site slopes down a little being flatter near the bottom of the slope where for those that require the hookups are situated.

The beach is close after a short walk down country lanes or through the camp site giving access to both Puckpool park or Seaview along the coast, offering sandy beaches.

If you require a site that offers open space and quietness this is it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SmellySocks 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week in July in a tent with electric hookup. Campsite is really nice and quiet with a great playground for the kids. We had great weather, which helps, but we were a bit exposed to the sun, as there's no real shade. There is direct access to Seaview the local village and its seafront. However, if we went to the isle of wight again we'd probably go further south to Shanklin, rather the stay dear Ryde which is bit of a dump.

The pub near the site is really good, and there's a basic shop, which is really only open in the morning. The staff were helpful, but you did have to search them out a bit. The toilet and shower blocks are basic. Not terrible but basic. There was always hot water though, and never a queue. We'll never camp near Ryde again, but if we did I'd probably use the same site. My only reservation being the showers etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gcpoole 1 review from this member

 We arrived fairly late and arrived at the wrong place. After ringing the late arrivals number, we were directed to the site.

Once there we were greeted and told that we could choose where we pitched our tents within a specific area.

The site was busy and we were still able to find a suitable and desirable place to pitch three tents. We were close to the shower and wash facilities. All was clean and even had flowers in the female toilets.

We visited the reception /shop in the morning and were able to buy bread, milk and a paper. Not much choice, but all essentials were there.

Facility is available for those whose mobiles need recharging, costing £1 per hour - chargers are available for some models too.

Overall a great site, close to a nice pub and within easy reach of Ryde. Close to beach and bus stop at top of site into Ryde on an houry basis.

Lovely playground for kids. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wibbs 9 reviews from this member

 On arrival at the campsite, at midday we found the site office all locked up and a sign to say someone would be around the site, after a 10 minute look around we could not find anyone so we rang the booking number and we were told to just find our pitches.

After setting up, we decided to go to the shower block, which we found to be very run down and there was not any hot water, we reposted this when the office was open but nothing happened all the time that we were there.

The other showers at the top of the field were hotter but no cleaner with really old fittings and fixtures the campsite felt well past its best and nothing like the pictures on the website.

I have tried contacting the site on our return but had no comeback.

After a 6 hour trip to get there we were most disappointed by this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen98 24 reviews from this member

 First impressions of this campsite couldn't have been better, we were met by someone who knew our names, that we needed 2 adjacent pitches and showed us straight to them.

The pitches were electric hook up and on fairly flat ground at the bottom of the field, next to the hedge (the non-EHU area does seem to be a bit more sloped).

It was a large field, but even though we were there in summer half term week there were only about a dozen tents in total, leaving it very open and peaceful. For the first few days the toilet block was perfectly clean - even with flowers in a vase.

Between our 2 groups we had 7 children and the site was ideal, with plenty of space to play games, a lovely play area in it's own little wooded area, but still visible from the tents, a couple of swings further up the hill, and for a particularly wet afternoon a TV room.

The beach really is only about 5 mins walk away, and the walk is through an area of chalets, with only a small quiet road to cross at the end. The walk towards Ryde along the seafront is easy enough (even the 4 year olds managed it).

Part way along is Pondwell park with a fantastic play area, the other side of the park is a lovely seafront cafe, and a bit further along is Appley tower which you can pay a small fee to go up, but don't be caught out like us - you can't go up on wet days because of the slippery floor).

A couple of bad points now. After a couple of days a child (I would hope) had made a large mess in one of the toilets. The next day it was mostly cleared up, but there still some 'mess' on the walls of the cubicle for the rest of the week.

Similarly one cubicle was without loo roll for days on end. Maybe the cleaners just need to be a bit more vigilant. The showers weren't always as warm as you'd like, but were usable. Our week was very wet and then very windy and on site a few of tents got flooded or broken, but that was the fault of the unseasonal weather rather than the campsite.

Overall we were looking for a site near the sea, without the crowds and noise of the more commercial, bigger sites and this fitted the bill. Although there were a couple of niggles, if we visit the Isle of Wight again I will happily stay here. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheekychap 3 reviews from this member

 My parents brought us here for a holiday in 1960, apart from tents there were caravans then. I have been camping at this site off and on ever since. The site offers tranquillity, plenty of room and an atmosphere that draws you back again and again.

I have always found the staff very friendly and helpful even at 07:00 hrs in the morning thanks to an early ferry.

There have been improvements over this time and yes the old shower block could do with modernising but it is adequate for its purpose.

The shop holds the basics where you can get your freezer blocks frozen but then there’s a supermarket just up the road for bigger items if required.

The Wishing Well pub attached to the site offers good food at reasonable prices and a good play area for the children which stops at 22. 00hrs in the evenings.

The site is clean and is priced just right. The beach is a short walk down country lanes where you can walk all the way to Ryde along the seafront passing Puckpool park to sandy beaches. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pondwell Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pondwell Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pondwell Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Seaview      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4329 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement