Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Exmoor Camping Westermill Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Exmoor > Exmoor Camping Westermill Farm Reviews

Exmoor Camping Westermill Farm
Westermill Farm
Exford
Exmoor
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA24 7NJ
Tel: 01643 831238  or  07970594808
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 77 Reviews
                8/10 from 77 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  77 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kyliea 1 review from this member

 The facilities were exceptional, the shower and toilets were some of the best wed seen in a camp site.

Lovely little break away with family and friends and a brisk walk down to Brixham harbour. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Steve56x 2 reviews from this member

 A great site in the middle of Exmoor.

Next to a young River Exe with great walks from the camp. Very peaceful and a good place to chill out. Clean facilities and fire pits in one of the fields- they sell logs on site

This is in a Dark Sky park so good views of the stars. I thoroughly recommend if you want to get away from the crowds 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Davsato 3 reviews from this member

 Group of motorcycling friends.

A lovely quiet campsite in a great area. (yes, most bikers love peace and quiet too lol!) the campsite was large enough to have your own area and not bother, or be bothered by, anyone else.

Firepits and wood to buy was a big bonus. Friendly old farm dogs wander about.

Good value campsite in the middle of nowhere, great place to get away from it all 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: NicciMac 51 reviews from this member

 What can I say - other campsites could really learn a thing or two from Westermill.

Price: Not sure exactly, we paid about 55 quid for 3 nights (2 people, 1 vehicle) - so I guess that's about 9 pppn.

Location: wonderful. Bit of a hike to the closest village (Exford), but it is possible.

Ambience: so laid back. Pitch wherever you want, there are no marked out pitches, dogs, chickens, and geese roaming free, brook running through the site - it's just beautiful.

Facilities are great - laundry, family showers, washing up point. And a water tap you can easily fill up your tank from.

No phone signal, which for us was a bonus as we wanted a proper getaway. Little shop on site. No EHU but this meant no big white boxes of Motorhomes - like AT ALL - which was wonderful, I hate them and they ruin a campsite as far as I'm concerned.

We pitched right by the stream and put our drinks in to keep them cool. It was heaven. They got everything right. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: IslaH 3 reviews from this member

 This year my family and I visited this campsite. I used to come here when I was a child (everything seemed so much bigger back then!).

It still has the same draw for families, my kids loved playing in the stream and forming friendships with other children on the site.

The facilities are great, really nice to have a family shower room and the drying room is a luxury that every family campsite should have!

We went on one of the walks but got a bit lost as I think the guide leaflets the campsite has are a little out of date (that or they need to repaint their waymarkers! But it was still a really enjoyable walk.

I would definitely recommend this campsite. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chev 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely location stayed in field 4 with open fire pit.

Good clean facilities.

Nice walk to exford.

Midges a problem for 1 night but that goes with the territory.

Logs for fire 5 per bag.

Some adults allowed their kids to roam and play through other peoples pitches, bit annoying. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wirral Camper 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite with brilliant facilities. The owners were welcoming and helpful.

Really enjoyed being on a working farm. We had no phone reception, which was fantastic, just to escape for a few days.

Local pubs and shops are just a shortish walk and are good value. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joy Templeton 4 reviews from this member

 Peaceful and quiet with all the facilities you need. Toilet blocks are clean with plenty of hot water and toilet paper in the toilets.

The owners are friendly and cater to your every need. We love it because of the lack of loud music, and lots of outdoor space to explore.

Plenty of room for the tents without feeling hemmed in by the other tents. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Forty-two 1 review from this member

 I have been visiting this site for the last ten years and despite the English weather doing its best to dampen proceeding we have never had a bad stay.

The site is all about escape, there is no mobile signal, no electrical hookup and fires are allowed in the forth field.

It's how camping used to be, quiet and making your own fun.

Walks from the site are available, it's better with stout walking boots. Exford is an easy flat walk along the approach road which is quiet. There are plenty of towns within 30 minutes, but if you are familiar with North Devon, everything is 30 minutes away.

There are two sets of toilet/shower blocks, a bit rustic but they are clean and functional.

As mentioned by another reviewer, if you are towing ensure you go via Exford, if you don't be sure to post a video of your exploits! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ArkansasJane 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site for getting away from noise, mobile phones and I-pads, traffic, light pollution and other distractions of modern life. I've never camped anywhere quite as dark and peaceful.

We were late arrivals on august bank holiday weekend and missed out on the best pitches, on the left-hand side of the track that runs through the whole site (ie on the river-side). The strip of grass on the right is all on a slight slope, which was just about ok and we could still hear the river at night.

The plus side of being away from the water is the slightly reduced midge problem. Go to the 4th field and light a fire and maybe disappear inside at dusk, because the midges were really quite awful - though they're probably not as bad during less balmy weather.

Bring a good torch, as you might end up a long walk from the bathrooms, as we were. The hot water was great, the showers better than ours at home. The bathroom block above the third field was a bit rustic for our small daughter's taste, but fine for me.

Our daughter loved the swing hanging from the tree and enjoyed playing by the river and watching the collies, sheep and hens. She met some children to play with, but the layout of the site (long and spread out) was not brilliant for muscling in on other children's games. (as we've found at other sites, with a central space between tents)

Bring essential groceries and any unusual ingredients you might need. We found food shopping and eating out (and petrol) all more expensive than in SE London. We didn't come across any really good local food shops, though maybe the market in somewhere like Dulverton might be worth a try.

There was a nice greengrocer in Dulverton. The pubs in Exford we found to be just ok. Offered a warm welcome, but pretty average food. The Crown is posher, but still not great food (especially for vegetarians).

We also tried the Black Venus in Challacombe - with great chips and v v friendly staff, but it still was pretty average pub food in my opinion, (though I'm a bit fussy!).

There are some wonderful outings from this site (all with car, you will be driving a lot): Porlock, Lynmouth, tunnels beach at Ilfracombe (v rocky, with tidal pool), many many walks on Exmoor, loads of beautiful villages, Tarr Steps (try this late in the day, when the crowds have diminished, the Watersmeet walk from Lynmouth (which was beautiful, though extremely popular).

The Exmoor Pony Centre near pretty Dulverton is v sweet and the volunteers just lovely people. Exmoor Zoo was fab (don't normally like zoos), quite small, with 'natural' enclosures. The greatest pleasure for me though was lighting a fire at night, under the extraordinary sky, and listening to the owls.

Despite the site being nearly full when we arrived, it was still fairly quiet at night and it cleared out on Bank Holiday Monday, despite it still being school holidays.

The owners are helpful and the shop (open 1 hour AM and 1 hour PM) has some useful stuff. The meat looked good - shame we don't eat it. A lovely site, but come prepared for midge attack. 


Previous     77 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Exmoor Camping Westermill Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Exmoor Camping Westermill Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Exmoor Camping Westermill Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Exmoor      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4133 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement