Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Packhorse Farm Bungalow Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Matlock > Packhorse Farm Bungalow Caravan Site Reviews

Packhorse Farm Bungalow Caravan Site
Foxholes Lane
Tansley
Matlock
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE4 5LF
Tel: 01629 582781
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 45 Adults Only
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 6 Reviews
                9/10 from 6 Reviews

Photos (22)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Liberty15 9 reviews from this member

 Very nice secluded site. Toilet and shower facilities were nice and clean and checked/cleaned daily.

Would recommend this site, definitely for its position in relation to local amenities.

Very peaceful and quiet site. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevril1 12 reviews from this member

 Rather disappointed. Can be very noisy due to tent campsite right next door. Shower block and toilet block is very old and run down fortunately we were able to use the heated shower block next door. No view. Mostly seasonal tourers so you do not have the community spirit. Road very rough to site. Rather expensive at 20 per night for what you get. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sybil LGL 6 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely, well maintained and peaceful site with a clean and well heated toilet and shower block; and the owners are very welcoming.

Despite the weather (lots of rain and cool) we enjoyed our stay; there are many interesting places to visit within an easy drive of the site and lots of good walking locally, including Lumsdale Falls which are easy to get to on foot, and further afield.

In the week we were there we didn't get to do everything we had planned so will definitely be back at some time in the future. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BB29 23 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed at Packhorse farm for 3 nights, 18 A night with ehu. What a lovely peaceful site and run by lovely helpful owners. Although there had been a lot of rain prior we had no trouble getting on and off the grass.

Lovely heated facilities with lovely hot showers. Pot washing area too.

We walked into Matlock by road took us about an hour but if you go along the footpath from the site this would be quicker. At the end of the footpath (about 15 mins walk) you can catch a bus into Matlock.

We did the Cookoostone walk which is a lovely walk through woodland and incorporating the Lumsdale Waterfalls which are well worth a visit, the walk from the site is approx 3. 5 miles (5. 6km)long. There are lots of walks straight from the site and Tansley market is 1. 8 miles away.

We will definitely be returning to this wonderful site. 😊 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KarenfromSussex 1 review from this member

 We were passing through this area and picked this site as it was adult only. We tried calling, got an answering machine, but turned up anyway before anyone got back to us and luckily they had one pitch left. We're so glad they did! We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome by the lady who runs the site (her son and daughter-in-law run the adjoining tent campsite which does cater for families with children). They are located in the most beautiful countryside, are beautifully kept and have all the facilities you could wish for. There is a lovely dog walk with gorgeous views alongside the approach lane, separated by a hedge. We spent the long warm evening cycling along the lanes around the surrounding farmland and watched the farmers at work, busy trying to gather in the hay before the rain that was forecast that night. We had just the one overnight stop as we were enroute south (20 for our motorhome and 2 adults, no charge for our dog) but as we have family in the area we will definitely stay at Packhorse Farm from now on when visiting and stay for much longer in future as there is so much to do and explore in the area, Matlock, Matlock Bath, The Heights of Abraham, Gullivers Kingdom and of course the gorgeous Peak District. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cockerspadgers 35 reviews from this member

 Absolutely love this site. Found it by accident before it was listed on UKCS. Rang the owner for details and booked for the weekend. Enjoyed our stay so much that we ended up staying again the following weekend.

On arrival we were given a warm and friendly welcome from Mrs Haynes, the owner, who was happy enough for us to set up first and settle up later. The site is flat and well maintained with the grass cut short and cuttings collected up. There had been rain in the morning but the ground drained well so there was no problem with access. Didn't use the toilets/showers as we have our own but they looked clean.

We had our border terrier with us and there were some great walks close by. We did the Cuckoostone walk and visited the Lumsdale Waterfalls which was very interesting with information boards about the Arkwright Project. We walked into Matlock where there are plenty of shops, a nice park and scenic walks by the riverside. We drove to Matlock Bath which is not far away and also walked along the Cromford Canal.

Being adult only it was very peaceful and other caravanners were very friendly. We paid 18 a night including ehu and there was no extra charges for dog/awning which we thought was very good value. Would we return? Most definitely. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Packhorse Farm Bungalow Caravan Site child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Packhorse Farm Bungalow Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Packhorse Farm Bungalow Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Matlock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5573 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement