Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Thorntons Holt Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Thorntons Holt Camping Park Reviews

Thorntons Holt Camping Park
Stragglethorpe
Radcliffe On Trent
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG12 2JZ
Tel: 01159 332125
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 155
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 216 Reviews
                8/10 from 216 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  216 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barnyspike 1 review from this member

 Spent a weekend at this site. There could be some vast improvements made by cutting back the hedges so pitch numbers can be seen and electric boxes can be found without having to get inside the hedge.

Roadway round the site is full of potholes. Noisy road, pub at the end of the road is more of an eating establishment and shuts at ten o'clock.

As a plus, toilet block and washroom facilities are excellent but what really spoilt it for us although we were only pitched a few metres away from the toilet block, a certain individual felt fit to pee in the hedge bottom or his car in broad daylight with children around. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 41 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a [3night] midweek stay here, quite simply, its one of the best sites we've stayed on.

It has generous sized pitches [both hardstanding & grass]. And the grass is kept well cut.

The toilets are brand new, with enough [free] hot water for a shower, they're on a timer, which allows four pushes [three was enough for me to shower, shave & shampoo my hair]. Generous sized cubicles allow you to shower without having to watch that you don't splash your clothes. And even "piped music" is provided.

Work is currently under way to build what looks like it will be some sort of bar/pub/clubhouse, it also has a small shop selling basic essentials.

The gate is security controlled with a keypad [as are the showers/loos].

WE found the staff very friendly & helpful. The shop sells "Free Range" eggs [they must be free range, 'cos the chickens were wandering around everywhere. And they visited our caravan every morning & evening].

Whilst there [for three nights] we visited the Great Central Railway at Loughbrough, and Melton Mowbray [a delightful little town. And the choice of pies from "the olde pie shoppe" are amazing, and delicious].

We looked in on the nearby National Watersports Centre at Holme Pierpoint, but TBH, nothing there appealed. But we still feel that there is plenty more to do in the area.

I see some have complained [on here] about traffic noise, but TBH, we did'nt find it a problem.

I meant to use the swimming pool at some point, but somehow, we did'nt find the time. [it seems its run in "sessions" and pre-booking is essential].

My only complaint is that we found the entrance to the site hard to find, setting the postcode in our sat-nav sent us entirely wrong, its poorly signposted, and we ended up phoning the site for directions. My advice is "approach the site from the A46 if you can, and watch out for the railway bridge".

I cant really comment on "child friendliness". As we didn't have our grandchildren with us, but had we done so, there was plenty of space for them to play safely, within our sight. Although I saw no evidence of a "childs play area"

At 77. 25 for three nights [two adults, one dog, caravan & awning with EHU] it's not what I consider "over-expensive". But this site oozes quality, and quality is never cheap anyway.

Would we return?. Yes, most certainly. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ReedsUnited 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with excellent facilities! Very good value. Booking the pool on arrival was essential on our hot busy weekend.

Although the camping field was full, there was plenty of space for the children to run and play. No queueing for toilets but short queue for morning shower.

The owners are working hard to care for their customers. There is a day visitor policy which is outlined in pitch details on the website which requests visitors leave by 5pm. We appreciate that there could be campers taking advantage of the site facilities but we felt 5pm was too early a cut-off.

We would definitely book this site again but not with family offsite and would request a pitch away from the road to avoid early morning traffic noise. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Aceselect 13 reviews from this member

 Firstly negatives, not a quiet site as advertised on their website, road noise in background constantly, not too intrusive and light aircraft flying over from the nearby airfield. Also, lots of rules which seem to be enforced for some and not other guests.

The roadways around the site are full of pot holes and depending on where you are you can be a long way from the elsan and waste emptying points. The shingle around the facility block is also not good for wheeled waste and toilet containers.

Positives, very pretty site, grass, hedges etc well maintained, hard standing pitches adequate, not badly priced and the best shower and toilet block we have ever used, large, spacious, clean, warm and very well thought out.

Pub within walking distance which does a carvery, which was ok and an on site small shop selling some basics.

There's not much they can do about the noise, but the roadways around the park and facility block could be improved. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 183 reviews from this member

 First time visit here and we were most impressed with the new toilet block. Also friendly staff, very quiet at night and bus stop+pub over the road.

Buses are frequent by day and run late in the evening which does allow a night out in Nottingham though we did find this city somewhat on the raucous side. Paid a reasonable 21/night. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 20 reviews from this member

 A delightful site, free range chickens keeping the site clean and checking on the campers - very friendly. Toilets were lovely and spacious, ample space to move around with ample hot water, which is time limited, to a long time.

Did not use the other facilities so cannot comment on them There are lots of attractions within a 20 mile radius. There also appears to be a lot of walking opportunities as well as being well served with cycle routes.

We stayed here to attend a graduation at the university. Other other days were spent driving to Chesterfield to visit my ill father-in-law.

We would love to come back here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Litcho 1949 1 review from this member

 Brilliant site. Safe for children, plenty of space for them to play, plenty of space between pitches, so you don't feel hemmed in.

Great facilities. Local public bar and facilities off site. Easy to locate, the road is a distance away, but easy to access, as it is well signposted. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Anitaalmond 1 review from this member

 I would give this site 9 as it stands but will in the future be a 10 site once all the works are completed. We started using this site a few years ago and have seen many improvements including a fabulous new toilet block with laundry, pot areas and even a family/disabled facility.

What inpressed me the most was the new motorhome facility including grey waste dump drain, flushable CWD and fill up point.

It's a large campsite with lots of open space for children to run free, as do the hens who are very friendly! The site also has a small swimming pool which is great for families and can be used for a small charge. There is a security barrier at the entrance and cars are advised to drive through the camp slowly. The site has a small shop and reception area and they have plans in place to relocate this into a new area soon.

It's on a bus route to Nottingham and even has a local pub across the road. There are also a few shops and a cafe in the local village of Cotgrave.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, they keep the site in good order and are obviously keen to make a success of their business. Price for 2 people and 1 unit 23 per night. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerry1283 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with friends with a mixed age range of children. Fantastic site, the meadow was flat with a nice space in the middle for the kids to play.

The park gave a lot of entertainment to the mixed age ranges (from 2 - 8 years old). The amenities block is the best I have seen on a campsite.

Loved the chickens wandering around too!

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Didydave 3 reviews from this member

 This is a really easy review loved it definitely go again. Staff brilliant, location great having a few quid spent on it so can only get even better. Would like to see a few service pitches. Now going to ramble

On because uk camp site need 200 word's to complete a review when it's not nnede 


Previous     216 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thorntons Holt Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Thorntons Holt Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorntons Holt Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thorntons Holt Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nottingham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020