Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thorntons Holt Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Thorntons Holt Camping Park Reviews

Thorntons Holt Camping Park
Stragglethorpe
Radcliffe On Trent
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG12 2JZ
Tel: 01159 332125
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 155
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 223 Reviews
                8/10 from 223 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  223 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Marian 1 review from this member

 Very well kept site very clean the shower/toilets were of the highest standard possible.

Small shop but had the basic things you may need. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

If you like a quiet site to stay on with plenty of trees, squirrels and chickens wander freely

I highly recommend this site.

There is an indoor pool but we didn't use this also a small cafe but it was only open friday to sunday. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Georget64 37 reviews from this member

 A pleasant stay. Although near main roads, and the airport, the site was surprisingly quiet and we slept well.

Facilities were very good. More water points would have been appreciated.

We did not like having to manually open the entrance gate each time.

At the end of our stay the site was very busy with many tentcampers with children, for which this site is ideal.

The local bus runs every 20 minutes, including the evenings so it is ideal to visit the city of Nottingham. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: PEDRO JUANES 2 reviews from this member

 Thornton's Holt is ideally situated close to Radcliffe on Trent and walks along the canal,

Peaceful with traffic noise too far away to be annoying,

Chickens wandering around, safe for children,

Would go back again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kdkrom 1 review from this member

 Clean facility’s and camp site.

Quiet location

May need an extension cord for your electric hook up.

Over all it was a pleasant stay, really enjoyed the free range chickens 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Starfrez 1 review from this member

 Lovely setting, quiet and easy to get to cycle trail. Clean wash facilities. Grass short and trees and hedges well maintained.

Obviously not all amenities were open during our stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sherie 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean tidy place. Good measures in place for COVID-19. Really enjoyable was a shame shop and pool were closed but understandable in circumstances.

Think the staff do an amazing job of keeping everything to such a high standard.

We were in a motorhome just myself and hubby. No pets. 2 people 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oldnasty 10 reviews from this member

 A great site with large pitches & lots of open space. Dog friendly, but dogs need to be on a lead as there are a number of chickens which range freely around the site. Ther is however a country park which can be accessed about 20 yards from the site.

Because of the size of the pitches the ehus are sometimes quite a distance away, so a long cable is recommended.

The whole site and especially the toilet block is kept immaculately clean.

My only criticism about this site is the poor signage. On arrival you are given a pitch number & a site map. Study the map carefully as signs on site point to different areas such as the paddock, the meadow etc. But do not show pitch numbers which can be found on the perimeter of the field, but first of all you need to find the correct field!

That being the only criticism, I can safely say I will use this site again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barnyspike 1 review from this member

 Spent a weekend at this site. There could be some vast improvements made by cutting back the hedges so pitch numbers can be seen and electric boxes can be found without having to get inside the hedge.

Roadway round the site is full of potholes. Noisy road, pub at the end of the road is more of an eating establishment and shuts at ten o'clock.

As a plus, toilet block and washroom facilities are excellent but what really spoilt it for us although we were only pitched a few metres away from the toilet block, a certain individual felt fit to pee in the hedge bottom or his car in broad daylight with children around. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Terry+Linda 43 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a [3night] midweek stay here, quite simply, its one of the best sites we've stayed on.

It has generous sized pitches [both hardstanding & grass]. And the grass is kept well cut.

The toilets are brand new, with enough [free] hot water for a shower, they're on a timer, which allows four pushes [three was enough for me to shower, shave & shampoo my hair]. Generous sized cubicles allow you to shower without having to watch that you don't splash your clothes. And even "piped music" is provided.

Work is currently under way to build what looks like it will be some sort of bar/pub/clubhouse, it also has a small shop selling basic essentials.

The gate is security controlled with a keypad [as are the showers/loos].

WE found the staff very friendly & helpful. The shop sells "Free Range" eggs [they must be free range, 'cos the chickens were wandering around everywhere. And they visited our caravan every morning & evening].

Whilst there [for three nights] we visited the Great Central Railway at Loughbrough, and Melton Mowbray [a delightful little town. And the choice of pies from "the olde pie shoppe" are amazing, and delicious].

We looked in on the nearby National Watersports Centre at Holme Pierpoint, but TBH, nothing there appealed. But we still feel that there is plenty more to do in the area.

I see some have complained [on here] about traffic noise, but TBH, we did'nt find it a problem.

I meant to use the swimming pool at some point, but somehow, we did'nt find the time. [it seems its run in "sessions" and pre-booking is essential].

My only complaint is that we found the entrance to the site hard to find, setting the postcode in our sat-nav sent us entirely wrong, its poorly signposted, and we ended up phoning the site for directions. My advice is "approach the site from the A46 if you can, and watch out for the railway bridge".

I cant really comment on "child friendliness". As we didn't have our grandchildren with us, but had we done so, there was plenty of space for them to play safely, within our sight. Although I saw no evidence of a "childs play area"

At £77. 25 for three nights [two adults, one dog, caravan & awning with EHU] it's not what I consider "over-expensive". But this site oozes quality, and quality is never cheap anyway.

Would we return?. Yes, most certainly. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ReedsUnited 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with excellent facilities! Very good value. Booking the pool on arrival was essential on our hot busy weekend.

Although the camping field was full, there was plenty of space for the children to run and play. No queueing for toilets but short queue for morning shower.

The owners are working hard to care for their customers. There is a day visitor policy which is outlined in pitch details on the website which requests visitors leave by 5pm. We appreciate that there could be campers taking advantage of the site facilities but we felt 5pm was too early a cut-off.

We would definitely book this site again but not with family offsite and would request a pitch away from the road to avoid early morning traffic noise. 


Previous     223 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thorntons Holt Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Thorntons Holt Camping Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thorntons Holt Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Thorntons Holt Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nottingham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4472 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement