Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thorntons Holt Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Site Reviews

Thorntons Holt Camping Park
Stragglethorpe
Radcliffe On Trent
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
NG12 2JZ
Tel: 01159 332125
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 155
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 212 Reviews
                8/10 from 212 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  212 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 173 reviews from this member

First time visit here and we were most impressed with the new toilet block. Also friendly staff, very quiet at night and bus stop+pub over the road. Buses are frequent by day and run late in the evening which does allow a night out in Nottingham though we did find this city somewhat on the raucous side. Paid a reasonable £21/night.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camelsoutback 15 reviews from this member

A delightful site, free range chickens keeping the site clean and checking on the campers - very friendly. Toilets were lovely and spacious, ample space to move around with ample hot water, which is time limited, to a long time. Did not use the other facilities so cannot comment on them There are lots of attractions within a 20 mile radius. There also appears to be a lot of walking opportunities as well as being well served with cycle routes. We stayed here to attend a graduation at the university. Other other days were spent driving to Chesterfield to visit my ill father-in-law.

We would love to come back here again.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Litcho 1949 1 review from this member

Brilliant site. Safe for children, plenty of space for them to play, plenty of space between pitches, so you don't feel hemmed in. Great facilities. Local public bar and facilities off site. Easy to locate, the road is a distance away, but easy to access, as it is well signposted.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Anitaalmond 1 review from this member

I would give this site 9 as it stands but will in the future be a 10 site once all the works are completed. We started using this site a few years ago and have seen many improvements including a fabulous new toilet block with laundry, pot areas and even a family/disabled facility.

What inpressed me the most was the new motorhome facility including grey waste dump drain, flushable CWD and fill up point.

It's a large campsite with lots of open space for children to run free, as do the hens who are very friendly! The site also has a small swimming pool which is great for families and can be used for a small charge. There is a security barrier at the entrance and cars are advised to drive through the camp slowly. The site has a small shop and reception area and they have plans in place to relocate this into a new area soon.

It's on a bus route to Nottingham and even has a local pub across the road. There are also a few shops and a cafe in the local village of Cotgrave.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, they keep the site in good order and are obviously keen to make a success of their business. Price for 2 people and 1 unit £23 per night.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kerry1283 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here with friends with a mixed age range of children. Fantastic site, the meadow was flat with a nice space in the middle for the kids to play. The park gave a lot of entertainment to the mixed age ranges (from 2 - 8 years old). The amenities block is the best I have seen on a campsite.

Loved the chickens wandering around too!

Will definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Didydave 3 reviews from this member

This is a really easy review loved it definitely go again. Staff brilliant, location great having a few quid spent on it so can only get even better. Would like to see a few service pitches. Now going to ramble

On because uk camp site need 200 word's to complete a review when it's not nnede

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyobee 1 review from this member

Enjoyed a very pleasant stay at this site. It is in an ideal location for the city of Nottingham and with easy access to other towns and cities too.

We used the nearby excellent bus service to Nottingham ( every 20 mins ) and even has a late bus service at weekends until 1 am. We also used the nearby shepherds pub carvery which is excellent value.

The site is nicely landscaped. The new amenities block is the best I have seen and kept immaculately clean.

The swimming pool is modest but is a good amenity to have, we did find it a bit cool though.

I recommend the site and look forward to a repeat visit.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mattiron 3 reviews from this member

Been visiting Thorntons Holt for 10+ years.

This month was the first since the new Facilities was completed, and they were brilliant, absolutely worth the wait! Always loved the site before the upgrade, looking forard to the rest :)

Woud highly recommend, and will be returning!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Spyder27 9 reviews from this member

Seems a lovely site that would benefit from a return visit further in to season. Everywhere was wet and muddy (but so is everywhere else) so I havenít let that influence me. We stayed just out of season so sadly the swimming pool wasnít open but had a quick peep and looks lovely. The shower and toilet block is fabulous and along with the pool shows this is a site that is being invested in.

Seems a nice location (we stayed as we were going to the theatre in Nottingham) and it was perfect for us. Didnít find it noisy at all but we were further away from the road unlike some of the pitches.

Didnít see anything for the kids to do when the pool was shut but I didnít exactly go looking.

Will definitely go back in summertime

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oldstaffie 1 review from this member

We chose this site based on website info, and the fact that not many sites are open this time of year. Shower block would not be out of place in any luxury spa or high end gym. It is also brand new. However the rest of the site was in poor condition and poorly lit. The weather was awful so the fact that grass was soaked was no ones fault. We had a hard standing pitch! Staff were attentive and friendly, but it just wasn't enough to compensate for the isolated feeling and lack of grey water and chemical waste disposal points, and then there was the constant traffic noise, we expect that when trees are not bare this may be reduced but I fear probably not much. Couldn't get away fast enough !

Previous     212 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019