Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Heyford Leys Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Bicester > Heyford Leys Camping Park Reviews

CLOSED: Heyford Leys Camping Park
Upper Heyford
Bicester
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed permanently, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Judas_hill 41 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this site I can not find much to say about it. Seamed to be mainly worker using the site and it was quite noisy from road works going on, and could hear a humming noise all night, did not see the owner apart from when we arrived. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: 795E 16 reviews from this member

 Just returned from Heyford Leys sorry but all that I can say is it an ok site, the field was very soggy and the weather hadn't been really bad. I personally didn't find the owner very sociable he would walk past and not even say good morning. There were road works on the main road and at 5am they were using what sounded like a JCB one morning. Although the fishing is free the small pool was covered in weed and the fish are very small. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mhux43 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent camp site nice and tidy. Toilet and shower facilities are spotlessly clean, warm friendly welcome, well laid out site not to far from oxford and a credit to the owners who are there if you need any help. I would highly recommend this camp site and rate it 5 star. We stayed in a tent with electric hook up, the field was flat and well sheltered. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Olhao 2 reviews from this member

 We booked here for a week in July 2015, the site was clean, level, hook up and electric hook up & reasonably quiet with about 40% (holiday makers) occupancy. Priced very reasonably. We used it as a base for touring the surrounding counties, so spent little time on site during the day. Sadly, there was a lot of early morning activity from the many 'permanent' residents who I was told were workmen from various local concerns. We were disappointed that the pond was not maintained, being strangled and covered in vegetation making fishing virtually impossible. Shower block was basic, but clean. Water and disposal area a short, level walk. Helpful owners, always willing to stop and chat. Could not find any local shops or pubs within walking distance. 5 mile drive to Bicester to get fish 'n chips one night, these were indifferent, but well wrapped and so still hot when we got them back, and saved on the washing up! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kaye Page 1 review from this member

 TICKED ALL OUR BOXES

Stayed here with our tent (electric hook up too) whilst doing a glider experience at Bicester. Excellent site small well maintained friendly and certainly ticked all our boxes. We watched woodpeckers in the trees and fell asleep to a babbling

Stream. Yes its small with only two showers etc but we didn't have to wait and it was all very clean and well maintained. Well situated for exploring Oxford (use Park and ride) and Bicester well worth a visit too (outlet village good if you like that sort of thing we didn't) but lots else to wander and see and local pubs etc very friendly. For the price we could not fault this site and will certainly stay here again when in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Campermaid 20 reviews from this member

 Overall a good site. Loos and Showers ok, not fancy, but they'll do. Though hand dryer didn't work, but that's a minor irritaion, which may be fixed by the time you go. At 14. 50 a night can't complain really. The owners are very frienly and helpful, but don't be fooled by the claim of a 20 minute walk to the Barley Mow, NO WAY is it 20 mins! It's a long walk through what is now a bulding site on either side of road. Use to be American base, but now they are building hundreds of homes there, much to the disgust of the locals. The noise of the building can be heard from the campsite by the way, but its not too loud. The walk is more like 40 minutes if you are a good walker, and then a further 30 down the canal to the next village and not 20 again as it says on the website. It nearly killed us! We left at 11 in morning and didn't get back till 6 (we did stop for lunch and many breaks though). Also if you want wifi you have to pay 5 for a day! Don't bother I would say, as you can get it for free in pub. Other campsites do it in the price, so I think 5 is a bit steep. Good site for a stop over. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SecondLife 13 reviews from this member

 A nice little site and although the facilities appear dated they work very well and considering the cost of 16 a night it is a real gem. There is a bus stop at the entrance and goes to Oxford and Bicester but no service on a Sunday. The site has good access to the motorway network so makes a good stopover point as well. The pitches seem to be quite close together, this was ok however some parents seem to think it is ok to watch their children to play football and tennis and use our motorhome as a goal. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Acornis 28 reviews from this member

 A quiet site just right for a stay over on the homeward bound journey. The facilities are a bit basic but none the less clean and well maintained. We booked a bit last minute and the owners were very helpful, following up my call with an email of the directions etc. The site is being used for workers on the nearby development but this was not a problem as most parked vehicles away from the main site so as not to disturb visitors with early morning starts.

Nearby is Bicester for shopping and we had a trip to Blenheim Palace, about 1/2 hour away. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RIMMER 190 reviews from this member

 As others have mentioned a quiet, peaceful site not far off the motorway network and ideal for a one night stop-over. Toilets/showers a bit basic but functional. The disused airbase next door is being demolished for new housing and this may explain some of the workers living in units on site which led to some slight traffic noise in the morning. There is a bus stop outside to either Bicester or Oxford otherwise not a lot locally. Never got the chance to try the pub Barley Mow down the road which was a pity as it is GBG listed. The shop on site is more a mini supermarket. Paid 16/night with ehu. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4683 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement