Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Old Post Office Eco Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Maesycrugiau > The Old Post Office Eco Camping Reviews

The Old Post Office Eco Camping
The Old Post Office
Maesycrugiau
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA39 9LG
Tel: 01559395554
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 4
Open: 14/04/2022 to 31/08/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 19 Reviews
                10/10 from 19 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (30)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Joshua Sutton Ziaia 1 review from this member

 I stayed with Karen and Ricci at TOPO Camping in September, partway through a long, hard charity cycle tour.

I was run down, exhausted and very smelly, having cycled a very hilly 60 miles that day. As I got closer, Karen and Ricci were waiting outside to welcome me in, with a warm hello.

Their campsite is in an idyllic location, in perfect solitude. The low-impact commitment was inspiring and I enjoyed one of the best showers of my whole 40-day trip.

That evening, Karen brought me a pot of tea, showed me around their garden wonders and introduced me to their lovely chickens.

We all chatted for some time about camping, the world and chickens. I feel like I made friends that evening.

For dinner, I also got to cook some of their delicious homegrown veggies on the campstove.

It was perfect and exactly what I needed. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay there for longer! 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: ErikJohn 1 review from this member

 This is a special campsite. This is due to the combination of the wonderfully warm welcome from Karen and Rikki, the amazing breakfasts they provide (to your tent!) and the well thought out eco campsite they have created.

Everything has been thought through from the well designed kitchen area and eco loos to the vegetable and herb gardens that you are invited to help yourself from.

They have created the campsite they would like to visit - and have succeeded so well. 


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: LauraandEric 1 review from this member

 We read glowing reviews before booking and can say that they were all very accurate.

Karen and Rikki were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The campsite is in a beautiful location and close to many points of interest.

You can tell that the site owners frequently camped for their holidays as they had thought of everything. A well stocked shed had absolutely anything you would need! Games, matches, tables, sleeping bags, even a spare tent!

The site was in a dark skies area. So we were lucky to have beautiful sites of the night sky and the milky way. It was also incredibly quiet and peaceful. Karen and Rikki have created a rare and niche place which is ideal for a relaxing camping trip.

The breakfasts were incredible, and to be able to book a full English whilst camping is pretty special!

There was a lot of care into the eco aspect of the campsite too. It was our first experience of using a compost toilet but we were both pleasantly surprised as everything was neat, tidy and clean. The polytunnel with freshly grown veg and herbs which you could help yourself too and contribute to the honesty box was another very special touch.

We will definitely be returning to this special place and can fully recommend! I wish were could rate higher than 10 for customer service on here! Book now to avoid disappointment 😊.

Thanks for a lovely stay Karen and Rikki!

Laura and Eric x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: JanetThomas2000 2 reviews from this member

 This is one of the loveliest campsites I have stayed at. Karen and Rikki were so helpful and kind.

I had a coffee on arrival which was so welcome after the drive. As an extra you can have a full English breakfast delivered to your tent, I had a veggie one and it was awesome.

In fact I had two which sets you up totally for a hard day hiking (or sight seeing).

The site is beautifully kept and it was exactly as they described on their website.

A real gem of a find and such a peaceful location.

I would definitely recommend it and I will be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Barbaraf 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful two nights we've just spent at Karen and Rikki's eco friendly campsite.

They are perfect hosts-kindly and welcoming, they really have thought of everything you might need, and it is a complete delight to camp in their fields in deepest Carmarthenshire,

Close to the river with lovely views of the surrounding hills and woodland. Red kites soaring overhead,

The most delicious cooked breakfast delivered, piping hot, to the tent and the loan of a hot water bottle. Bliss.

We left completely relaxed and are already planning to return. Thank you. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: KurtandSarah 1 review from this member

 Highly recommend if your looking for an exceptional campsite for peace and quiet, escaping the hustle and bustle of everyday life, we will definitely be returning!

Karen and Rikki were just amazing and so thoughtful welcoming us with hot drinks, giving us the choice where we wanted to pitch, giving us the use of the outbuilding to hang up and keep our motorbike clothing dry, providing a very good value for money cooked breakfast which we ordered the day before, all fresh, locally sourced produce, the eggs were so tasty from their beautiful rescue chickens!

I loved the huge private shower the water was hot and powerful.

We canít explain how great our stay was, thank you Karen and Rikki you went above and beyond and nothing was ever too much trouble, going out of your way to make sure we had everything we needed, a fire pit, kindling and logs, including a marquee when rain had been forecast so we could sit out and enjoy our last evening by the fire! Kurt and Sarah x 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bab Jockson 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site in the Teifi valley, with good (if hilly) cycling to be had.

Facilities very clean and tidy, and the shower a real treat. Owners very welcoming.

Highly recommended if you are looking for tranquility. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Boucas 1 review from this member

 Just back from a 3 night break at this lovely campsite - definitely the nicest site we have ever been on and we have done a lot of camping.

If you want peace and tranquility then this is the place for you - two large meadows so plenty of room to pitch where you want. Amazing views, red kites and buzzards overhead, firepits available and wonderful walks from the site.

New for this season, Karen and Rikki have built a fantastic shower which was hot and powerful and a great addition. We had the most amazing homecooked breakfast, cooked by Karen, using local sourced ingredients and delivered to our tent piping hot - it was absolutely delicious.

We are hoping to visit again this year as still so much to see and do in the local area.

Karen and Rikki were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them and they should be very proud of what they have achieved 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: EandD 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, with friendly, helpful owners. We were looking for a quiet, adult only site, and this was just what we wanted. Fire-pits and wood can be provided - lovely on a cool evening! Washing up area, with hot water, and fridge freezer available, along with eggs from rescue chickens, and veg and herbs from the garden.

Although only 2 units at a time are allowed at the moment, due to Covid-19, there is plenty of space for their allowed number of 6. There are no showers on the site, but should be availabe next year (hence the score of 9 for facilities.

The surrounding countryside is fantastic, with Brechfa Forest only a few miles away, for cycling and walking, and the coast is about 40 mins drive. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: SarW 1 review from this member

 This is a small, peaceful and beautiful campsite where you can really get away from it all. Everything was so well set up, with many thoughtful touches from the owners.

Karen and Rikki were extremely welcoming and the optional cooked breakfast delivered to the tent was a complete treat and absolutely delicious!

With produce from the vegetable garden available to guests, eggs from ex-battery hens, a composting toilet and more, the site certainly lives up to its 'Eco-camping' name.

We had a wonderful week staying here and would highly recommend this lovely campsite! 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Old Post Office Eco Camping child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Old Post Office Eco Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Old Post Office Eco Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Maesycrugiau      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3333 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement