Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Larkwood Lakes Ltd Camping And Caravanning

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St Edmunds > Larkwood Lakes Ltd Camping And Caravanning Reviews

Larkwood Lakes Ltd Camping And Caravanning
Icklingham Road
West Stow
Bury St Edmunds
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP28 6EY
Tel: 01284 728105  or  07468 589316
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 5 vans plus tents
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 9 Reviews
                10/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jfa110n 16 reviews from this member

 Recommended - Everything previously said in reviews is correct. Lovely site will book again if we need a site in the area. I used the single shower / toilet which is in a large wooden shed accessed directly from the outside.

Once inside, the shower and toilet are both located in the same long narrow room that locks to give you private and exclusive use of both. These facilities are not overly luxurious but were clean and functioned well with unlimited hot water via an electric heater.

Beautiful secluded location that is easy to get to. Well placed to explore this lovely part of Suffolk. We took a taxi into Bury St Edmunds with A1 Cars which cost £11 each way. While we were in Bury we had some really delicious pub grub in the Masons Arms. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gill F 9 reviews from this member

 Great site, originally planned to stay for five nights and then move on, but stayed for 10 nights in total as it had everything we needed.

Fishing was good, caught lots of small fish and one very big pike.

Good walks from site around the Kings Forest and to the Anglo Saxon village. Cycling in the area is really good too, lots of very quiet lanes and pretty villages.

TV signal was a little bit hit and miss, possibly due to the big trees surrounding the site.

Toilet and shower on site, but we preferred to use our own facilities due to Covid.

Site is very quiet, for several nights we were the only ones on site.

Good for wildlife such as bats and owls.

Owner is very friendly and very helpful. Hope to return soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Orb2019 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet idyllic site with good facilities.

Ideal area to explore with Bury St. Edmunds, Cambridge and Norwich within easy reach.

Really friendly helpful owners. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Windingdown 12 reviews from this member

 Our first stay on a CL and if this one is anything to go by we will be staying on many more.

Greeted by Tony, who took over the 5 pitch adult site in December and shown to our pitch with an explanation of it being as eco friendly as possible.

£25 on hardstandings with hookup and plenty of space for awning.

1 toilet and shower. We didnít need fresh water or to drop grey water so not sure about these facilities.

Beautiful lake view from all pitches as well as from the Information hut with verandah, chairs and table. We couldnít get WiFi but did get tv via sat dish.

We donít have bikes but we were told there were plenty of cycle paths. We walked round the siteís fishing lakes seeing muntjac deer.

We also walked on the main roadís footpath to the Kings Forest but didnít go very far in and to St Maryís Church in the opposite direction.

We stocked up with provisions prior to going to site as we didnít know how far pub/shops would be. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Joyfre 1 review from this member

 Lovely peaceful site, nice walks around the lakes and great watching the swans with their sygnets, could also watch beautiful horses nearby.

Owner was extremely helpful. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Twillingham 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful little site in a stunning setting. There are only 5 pitches for motorhomes / caravans and they all face a lovely lake.

There are two lakes in all, with a path around them and swans and other wild life on them. King's Forest is an easy stroll away.

The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area.

Rarely have we been on such a tranquil site.

We'll definitely go again. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Sharon 1 review from this member

 Little hidden Gem for the fun fisherman/woman. Two lakes, 1 begging to be fished. Caught 84 fish in one go and had to stop because I was exhausted, and they were still biting.

There are some decent size fish to be had as well. Quiet little spot in the countryside with lakes to myself.

Will definitely go again.

Only downside, Covid closed the shower block and toilets. 


Date of Visit: June 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site is under new ownership and once again offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Zedhead36 30 reviews from this member

 This is a fairly new 5 van site (CS) but you wouldn't know it from the quality of the pitches and the facilities available.

The owners are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the local area. The pitches are large and level and face a beautiful lake (fishing exclusive for campers) with another larger lake behind this one also with exclusive fishing for the campers. No carp in the lakes I'm told, but with chub, tench, roach, rudd, perch and pike resident plus maybe the chance of the odd trout left over from its days as a trout fishery who could want more.

There is a shower room with toilet, an indoor kitchen, tumble dryer and a decked area overlooking the nearest lake where you could spend a while watching the wildlife or just reading in the lovely quiet of this peaceful site.

Nearby is the West Stow Anglo Saxon Village, Forests, nature reserves and great towns such as Bury St Edmonds and Newmarket are a very short drive away.

Larkwood Lakes is now on my favourites list and we will be returning to this lovely site as soon as possible 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Larkwood Lakes Ltd Camping And Caravanning child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Larkwood Lakes Ltd Camping And Caravanning?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Larkwood Lakes Ltd Camping And Caravanning dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bury St Edmunds      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2827 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement