Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alton Water Camping And Caravanning Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Stutton > Alton Water Camping And Caravanning Site > Reviews

Alton Water Camping And Caravanning Site
Holbrook Road
Stutton
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP9 2RY
Tel: 01473 328268  or  01572 653021
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 88
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Lebber 1 review from this member

 Really helpful friendly warden on site, clean showers/toilet facilities

Large pitches, dog friendly and nice walks from site.

Watersports on site and cafe, friendly pub within walking distance 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Nerrad28 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean campsite. Beautifully situated next to the reservoir.

Lots to do for both adults and children. Dog friendly including taking your dogs on the boats (they must have a life jacket ).

Spacious flat pitches. Big well lit and warm toilet and shower block. Nothing bad to say about this site.

Only improvement I would suggest is a 2nd peg in the showers as hanging the clothes you walked in and a towel was tricky on the one.

Overall highly recommend this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Air-z 2 reviews from this member

 Large clean site on the edge of a large reservoir good for long walks we had our dog with us

Pub and shop within walking distance but an on site shop selling the basics would be nice 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mabran 1 review from this member

 We had a great 4 day visit at the Alton Water campsite. T

The location is perfectly located adjacent to Alton Water reservoir and activity centre, with the foot and bike trails just over the fence.

The site was very clean and well maintained, with pitches separated with adequate space to facilitate large tent, awning and car within its boundary. Each pitch had its own electric hook up and drinking water tap. The bathrooms were warm, clean and roomy, with hot showers, sinks and washing up facility.

Full time wardens were available throughout visit, and were amiable and informative.

Two pubs are only a short walk away in Stutton village which both serve good food and choices of drinks.

Overall, this is one of the best sites we have visited and would well recommend to anyone who are thinking of camping or motor homing in Suffolk area. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cjlow0 1 review from this member

 This was the fourth time we have stayed at Alton Water, I would highly recommend it, my children love the screamer inflatable on the lake,

The pitches are spacious, the staff are friendly,

There is a lovely little restaurant which does a great carvery and the snack shack on the lake was the highlight of our stay, the man was so nice, we sat by the lake chatting drinking and he kept us all fed with lovely burgers and giant cookies whilst we watched the sun go down. Then he was there for huge breakfast baps in the morning too. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Helenswright 5 reviews from this member

 What a lovely campsite! Only 2 years old. A reasonably flat campsite with service points for water and electricity. We stayed as 2 tents on pitches 86 and 87 which were away from the bulk of the pitches so had plenty of privacy.

There are only 88 pitches in total and we stayed from Thursday through Monday and even though the weekend was fully booked out, the site didn't appear overcrowded.

There are 5 showers and 12 toilets for ladies and I think similar for men - all kept clean throughout the day. My only gripe would be that the shower cubicles were not large enough to have a separate dry area to hang clothes and dry off in privacy - you had to get dressed outside the cubicles ion the corridor.

The showers were hot and fairly powerful - so much so that the water almost hit the cubicle door! There are 6 washing up stands. The beauty of this site is that it is part of the Alton Water park and we therefore had access to all the watersports and cycling right on our doorstep.

There is a children's adventure playground on the park and a small cafe too. We cycled around the water which is about 8 miles with plenty of hills and tracks to go off road if desired.

The Kings Head can be reached via footpaths from the park and takes 10 minutes to reach. It serves very good quality food at a reasonable price.

We will be returning again! 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 16 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Jobine 1 review from this member

 I had booked as a family group of 5 pitches for two weeks to be placed together if possible as we have very young grand children.

The staff helped as much as they could even inviting us to move two tents to be closer together the following day.

The staff I found to be very helpful and friendly, in fact the best 'team' I have come across in my camping world!

Some other sites & their staff could learn a few things regarding interaction, information and customer service!

The disadvantage of this site was the lack of washing and drying facility as we were adjacent to a water park, play area and sand pit, children clothes get dirty very quickly.

I am already looking to another visit for next year 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Falolippy 1 review from this member

 Overall, we found the site very good. It's in a lovely setting with good facilities.

It's a great site for the outdoorsy types, with bike and canoe hire, and the kids, we observed, were having a ball on bikes and the play ground.

There could be more dog bins around the site, it's a trek to the only one by reception.

A 15 min walk brings you to the lovely Kings Head pub. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rebel75 3 reviews from this member

 This is a relatively new campsite and was our first visit. Very friendly welcome from the wardens, and info about the site and areas was provided. All pitches seem to have EHU if you want it and a running water tap. Pitch sizes were good and the site accepts groups.

The site is flat, very accessible and dog-friendly. There is a playground for the kids just next to the campsite near the lake - our kids (5 and 7) loved it.

The toilet/shower/washing up block was good - could have done with more frequent cleaning as the site was fully booked! A great site for cycling enthusiasts, lots to do nearby. There was an open swimming even on the weekend we visited which was great fun to watch and made for a great atmosphere about the place.

We also visited Flatford Mill (Nat Trust)15 mins drive, and the RSPB have a wildlife garden there that our kids loved! Only major negative for us was that the 10pm noise rule wasn't adhered to by other campers - particularly those in groups - and unfortunately the on site wardens didn't enforce it.

That said, we will definitely return. It was an easy 90 min drive from East London. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Basichendo 13 reviews from this member

 A new site and one not far from us, Alton water is a pretty big reservoir which has water sports on it and a path all the way around (12km). There are water sports and bike hire available if needed. The cafe isnít on site but is just outside the site across a car park. Itís pretty good.

The site is flat, and the pitches are a reasonable size (we had a super pitch - didnít seem any bigger than normal ones). The showers are new and there are two small freezers for freezer blocks. Thereís a volleyball net in the centre of the site for communal use.

The downsides for us were

- the site seemed unclear where pitches were and where walkways were, just a little Ďdumpedí

- arrivals were weird. Pull in, speak to warden tells you to go out and across car park to speak to someone else. Who sends you back to warden! Have a hut maybe?!?

- bugs. Millions of bugs. Mozzies and otherwise. Take spray

- there were only three male toilets. They got grim

- showers quite cramped and not got separate changing area like most these days

- no shop on site

- park not on site. Just outside the fence but with young ones itíd be better if in eye sight

For me, quite expensive for what it was and weíve been to so many better sites for the money. 



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Alton Water Camping And Caravanning Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alton Water Camping And Caravanning Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Alton Water Camping And Caravanning Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stutton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46138 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement