Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cuckoo Fen Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Over > Cuckoo Fen Campsite > Reviews

Cuckoo Fen Campsite
Long Lane
Over
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB24 5NE
Tel: 07599 544652
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 15
Open: 24/05/2024 to 29/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 7 Reviews
                10/10 from 7 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Pop Up Campsite 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Mrs jubbly 12 reviews from this member

 Fairly local to me, I chose this site to test pitch a new tent (no room in the garden). I am so glad I did, it was a lovely experience for a utility visit with no expectations!

The narrow road to the site is a typically bumpy farm entrance. You are directed to the welcome area which is a notice board advising to pitch where you like but strictly enforcing the 6 metre rule. I found a lovely spacious flat area with some friendly and helpful neighbours.

Tim the owner came over and chatted briefly. Lovely guy, helpful and friendly - he camps on site himself with his family. He seems very much the 'laid back as long as you abide by the simple rules' type. Perfect.

On site there are three composting toilets and one outdoor urinal. There are amusing instructions in the loos but its not rocket science and they are immaculately clean. The two showers in a shed were a revelation - probably the best showers I have come across on a campsite. Warm, good pressure and none of that pressing a button to keep them going malarkey; spacious and clean too. There are two outdoor washing up sinks - big, clean with plenty of hot water. A separate drinking water tap for filling up water bottles, with a thoughtfully placed dog bowl.

The best thing about this site is the ability to relax knowing you are not going to be disturbed by thumping music or the sound of someone's tv blaring. The site description is spot on - the background soundtrack is simply the local fauna and flora, and the occasional clinking of a game of boules.

Locally there are great walks across flat farming countryside. The River Ouse is up the road where you can open water swim or paddle board.

The local village Over has a really well stocked shop and a pub which serves food later in the week (didn't visit).

Also, on a Saturday morning at about 8am the Cool Coffee Bean van turns up for about 45 minutes - she honestly makes the best flat white and serves some fabulous croissants.

I will definitely return for as often as I can for quick getaways 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Csamu4 3 reviews from this member

 Cuckoo Fen is a magical place to stay.

There are just enough amenities to make the stay comfortable, without spoiling the natural surroundings.

The showers and (compost) toilets are excellent: spacious, clean, and in excellent condition.

Many thanks to the owners for treating visitors and the natural surroundings with equal respect.

I wish I had booked for longer, and I shall return. Thank you very much. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Vivienne Payne Derr 1 review from this member

 Tonight is our last night of a perfect 10 nights nights at this wonderful campsite. I believe we are the longest staying residents. I have to say this site is almost perfect.

If you want traditional camping with just enough mod cons then you can't go wrong.

There is plenty of space, very little noise and showers that are better than any I've had at the hundreds of campsites I've stayed at.

Tim (the owner) is helpful and on site to answer all you questions. If you want a club house and entertainment and electric hook ups (our idea of hell) then this place isn't for you but if you want proper camping then I couldn't recommend this site highly enough.

Such a rare gem in the new "trendy" world of camping but oh what a gem.

We will be back! Thank you Tim and Emma for bringing back real camping. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Chpate 1 review from this member

 We loved this site.

There was plenty of space, good even ground for pitching, which was well drained even through a bad storm on the first night.

The toilets, shower and wash facilities were very clean and we loved the eco friendly feel.

Highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: RhosynGwyn 1 review from this member

 I loved this small friendly site. Simple, eco-friendly and well run the warden or owner was camping on the site with his family.

The shower (1) and washing/wash-up facilities had plenty of hot water, and were pristine - though the washing/wash up are unsheltered. That's the only reason I've slightly marked down facilities. Compostible toilets were fine, with well-written and humorous instructions.

Site is very sheltered on three sides, and I was there through storm Francis when the only problem for me was the wind noise through the large mature trees. Earplugs helped.

There's a small copse of mature trees at one end, and the young children who were there seemed to really enjoy the more simple fun of a tree swing, collecting twigs for the fire and climbing on hay bales. I'm guessing it wouldn't keep older children occupied.

5-10 minute walk takes you onto Ouse Fen, 10 minute walk into village for a general store and a pub serving basic food Thursday to Saturday evening and Sunday lunch to order. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Astrac 1 review from this member

 A spacious, low key, quiet campsite with just what we needed, well organised, clean and no frills but plenty of attention to detail. We didn't have young children with us but it looked very suitable for children.

It is in a nice quiet spot, well away from main roads. There are some nice walks in the area and great rspb managed reedbeds a very short walk away. Also very close to a good cycle route 51.

Days out in the area - Cambridge with loads of free museums, the Raptor Center at Woodhurst, national trust visitor centers - Houghton mill, Wicken Fen and Anglesey Abbey, the small town of St Ives and small city of Ely with a Cathedral, Riverside walks and independent shops/market. Obviously on my one night stay I didn't do all these things, I know about them because I'm local to the area. I just enjoyed a short break to the routine.

The only downside is that the campsite is a pop-up so catch it while you can. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: CycleSam 1 review from this member

 I stayed here in a tent during a short cycling tour with my 11 year old son. The field is large so you don't feel cramped or overlooked. It's also flat and smooth which is a god send in a small tent.

Facilities are good and clean and well laid out making social distancing easy in these crazy times. The site is also 5 mins walk from a nature reserve and miles of footpaths.

We both enjoyed our stay and intend to return. 
via mobile



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cuckoo Fen Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cuckoo Fen Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cuckoo Fen Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Over      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Woodshrop 24 Tribute Festival 19/07 to 21/07

Family friendly festival in Shrewsbury with 16 of the UK's best tribute bands honoring the greatest hits of the past and present. Chill out zone, food and drink stalls, camping on site and more. Win weekend camping tickets for two AND save 10% on Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4466 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement