Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Magic Cove Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Mawgan Porth > Magic Cove Touring Park Reviews

Magic Cove Touring Park
The Park
Mawgan Porth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR8 4BD
Tel: 01637 860263
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 18
Open: 27/03/2021 to 03/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 41 Reviews
                9/10 from 41 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hamandjam 5 reviews from this member

 If you like Mawgan Porth, this is the place to stay if you can get in as it is very popular and people return year after year which is not hard to understand as they have a great location within easy reach of everything.

Beach is dog friendly and kept very tidy.

Cannot comment on child friendliness, as we do not have any with us.

Excellent place to stay 5 minutes from the beach and the Merrymore Inn which have an extensive food range. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sheilajane 5 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting here for about 10 years and it only gets better each year, the new, since 2013(?) larger pitches are superb, with water and waste adjacent. The showers are spotless and the addition of a laundry makes this a real home away from home. Don't think there is a a better site anywhere in the UK, the fact that the beach is only a very short stroll away just adds to the perfection. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PollyPalmer 3 reviews from this member

 Just back from 4 brilliant days at Magic Cove. We had 3 pitches 2 tents and a camper van, awful rain the first night I thought the ground was going to be waterlogged. Pitches all on well drained sandy soil making camping so much easier. Toilets and showers the cleanest I've come across in all my years of camping. Spotless whatever time of day or night you used them. Plenty of hot water for showers and dish washing, washing up liquid was even provided. Site owners take grate pride in their camp site and this rubs of on their guests. I didn't see anybody not leaving the facilities as they had found them. Magic Cove perfect for a relaxing holiday away from all the stresses of work/everyday life. We took our dogs with us it was really handy having the walking area behind the site for first thing in the morning and late at night. Mawgan Porth beach is lovely, we enjoyed some amazing sunsets. The pub was nice and dog friendly also only a 2 min walk. The Farm shop at the top of the hill sales yummy produce, we bought sausages, minted lamb burgers, quiches & carrot cake all were delicious. Newquays about a 15min drive away if you want a busier seaside town with all the usual stuff, co op & aldi. We can't wait to return to Magic Cove, it's a lovely camp site. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunshinetours 18 reviews from this member

 What a great site and location. We knew of Mawgan Porth from previous numerous Cornwall visits but this little gem is situated perfectly for beach (fabulous), shop, pub, fish n chip shop, tennis and mini golf all within walking distance.

Site is as described below, very compact, level, spacious pitches in new layout and a water / EHU / TV / drain point on every pitch (some will require longer hoses than others please be warned). Free wifi on site very quick and easily accessible (other sites take note!)

Toilets and shower (20p for 3. 5 minutes and you can stop start) and washing facilities all top notch and spotlessly clean and modern. All for very reasonable price we felt.

Very popular (especially high season) with lots of long returning visitors and we can see why! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Ajh2001 9 reviews from this member

 Our favourite site just got better!

Pitches have been enlarged - now only 18 where there were 25. Some are slightly bigger than others. We had more than enough room for our large trailer tent, the car and lounging space for us. Pitches are level and all have water/electricity.

New laundry facilities are fab! Two large washing machines and a tumble dryer. So much easier than previous arrangements! Two washing up sinks are also housed in the new building.

Free loan of nets/buckets etc was handy too, as we'd forgotten buckets - as we usually do, and it saved us buying yet more!

The owners continue to maintain high standards - the site is always spotless. We always visit in peak season and it is run like clockwork - they are often around if anything is needed. We have never had any problems with noisy neighbours, apart from some snorers and this year the crows!

Butcher visits Monday, Wednesday and Friday with lovely grub! Entertaining too!

Short walk, (5 min) few shops and to lovely beach - dogs allowed. It's great to see the dogs also enjoying their holiday and we've never seen any problems with dogs and people or other dogs.

Merrymoor Inn is great for food - especially breakfast, if like us you drive down overnight and arrive famished!

Lovely walks - some cliff walks are rather close to the edge in places so take care with small children. Inland walk to the falcon Pub is easy and pub food is excellent!

If you visit in August there's quite a lot going on for such a small place. We especially love the donkey derbies, and the pig and duck racing! Not to be missed! But equally if you just want to chill on the beach you can't do much better!

And the icing on the cake this year? Decent weather! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jaspergucci 27 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely week at Magic Cove. The site is in a perfect location. About a 10 minute walk to the beach at the end of the road and easy access to the cliff walks. In the village there is a grocery store, a paper shop, a pub, bistro and a couple of beachy type shops, one in which you can hire surfing equipment.

The site-

Positives:

Friendly owners that obviously take pride in their lovely site.

Friendly campers.

Well maintained pitches, with electric and tv points. Even had free loan of tv aerial if required. Water points by each pitch.

Clean showers and toilets.

Pot wash facilities are good and always clean.

Ideal location. Easy access to beach, bus stop for Newquay, shops and walks.

Lovely views. From our pitch we could see over the surrounding countryside and hills.

Quiet (we went outside of school holidays). There was very little noise at any time during the day and certainly no noise after about 10 at night.

Lots of information on hut.

Negatives:

You pay approx. 20 per night and still have to pay for showers.

Small pitches. However, there was enough room for our medium sized caravan and large awning but not much room left to sit out or spread out with guy ropes etc. And your neighbours are quite close.

There didn't appear to be any wardens on site.

My biggest bug bare-one of the rules of the site was to keep dogs on leads at all times while on site, yet there were a number of dogs off leads being walked through site and left off leads at pitches. Some people, are fine with dogs on leads but don't like them wandering up to you, so if you have a rule about dogs on leads you should uphold that rule and ask owners whose dogs are not on leads to put them on one. If not, get rid of that rule so people can make a judgement whether to come to the site based on the fact that there might be dogs off leads.

Having said all of that, overall the site is an ideal place to stay if you like walking and you like the beach. We had a lovely stay and would recommend to others. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: VDub Dilly 3 reviews from this member

 We absolutely loved this little site! What a gem! I had already read the reviews on here which were by and large favourable, so I was hoping for the best - but the reality was even better! Beautiful little very well kept site - just 14 pitches, which to my mind is wonderful! The toilet/shower blocks were pristine and this year there is a new dishwashing/laundry block which was absolutely spotless. The owners were extremely friendly and on hand at convenient times.

There are no facilities for children to play so the site is probably more suitable for adults only.

The beach is just a short 5 minute walk away - adequate facilities in Morgan Porth - pub, shop and some little quirky shops - great 'Disco Beads' shop for girls!

We would most definitely return - it's a proper Cornish gem! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Andy roberts 1 review from this member

 Having visited this site with high expectations the start of our 2 weeks was great, we got greeted by the owners with a friendly smile and clear directions to our pitch and the site facilities.

The shower and toilet block were extremely clean and always stocked (toilet roll etc).

The town of Mawgan Porth is small and to be honest the shop club etc quite expensive ! There was a regular and reasonably priced bus service to get around with and the beach was very nice and clean. There are plenty of walks along the cliffs in both directions however they are quite hilly.

My only criticism really is that some of the pitches were rather waterlogged and it didn't take much rain to become so. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Laurie118 27 reviews from this member

 Well it has all been said before, but this site is about as good as it gets,

Just spent a week there and the standard of the showers and toilets is 10 out of 10. The pitches are level and well drained.

The site is 5 mins from the most beautiful beach. The village of Mawgan Porth has fish and chip shop mini supermarket, Pub and shop selling all your beach requirements.

We have stayed here before and will stay again in the future. The owners of the site are very friendly and helpful and are there to help. Well done Magic Cove 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fragglerock74 1 review from this member

 We arrived 2hrs early due to travelling down from Leeds, however this wasn't a problem, we were showed to our pitch. Excellent facilities, toilets showers immaculately clean washing up liquid provided.

Yes the site is small but your aware of that before you book, if you don't like that, don't book. It's literally a 5 minute stroll to a beautiful dog friendly beach.

The weather was absolutely fantastic when we were there, cant fault this site at all, before we left we booked for next year. Thanks for a lovely peaceful stressful week.

Didn't take any children so unable to comment with regards to facilities for them. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Magic Cove Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Magic Cove Touring Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Magic Cove Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mawgan Porth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4539 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement