Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bucklegrove Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Cheddar > Bucklegrove Holiday Park Reviews

Bucklegrove Holiday Park
Wells Road
Rodney Stoke
Cheddar
Somerset   (Browse area)
BS27 3UZ
Tel: 01749 870261
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 121 Reviews
                8/10 from 121 Reviews

Photos (27)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MS ontour 2 reviews from this member

 Found the site clean and tidy

Staff are very helpful and friendly

Situated just right for cheddar or Wells less than 10 min drive either direction the views are stunning

Pitch well-sheltered

Facilities were closed hence no ratings time of year,

But plenty to do off site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ForsterJ 2 reviews from this member

 Despite the 3. 00 charge per night this park offers nothing for dogs. There is no dog walk on site apart from the Woodland Walk which takes 1 minute to walk through and dogs have to be kept on a lead at all times.

There is a walk from the site but again, dogs cannot be let off as you had to walk past 2 fields of sheep and the dog had to be lifted over several concrete stiles.

People were walking around the site with their dogs on leads having no option but to allow their dog to foul on the paths, grassy areas and stones, to the disgust of other site members. We've stayed on many sites and dog walks, free poo bags and dog washes are standard. It was very disappointing.

Apart from this, the site was quite pleasant and the staff helpful and friendly.

The shop itself was one of the worst stocked on site shops but that was possibly due to the fact that they wanted you to eat at the on site bar/cafe.

It's described as a Restaurant but the menu comprised of pizza, burgers, scampi etc. All served with chips. The toilet and shower blocks were tired and in need of modernisation.  
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Haylr4 1 review from this member

 Very friendly reception staff. Nice small walk. Pool unavailable.

Food good. Toilets and showers both dated but clean. Dog friendly all across site. Quite expensive 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Sallya 1 review from this member

 Came to this site with my sisters

Amazing we can not thank Tom enough for his hospitality. great welcome, great night out with him and a few campers

Can not praise Tom enough he is such a lovely guy 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ann Ashby 1 review from this member

 We booked this site for its facilities, even up to the day before when we contacted the site were told to book swimming sessions on arrival which we asked only to be told the pool was closed. This was not the case on booking!

Shop facilities were next to useless didn't stock all staple products. Although I would say the site was situated near Cheddar and Wells with bus stop right outside taking only 15 mins. I wont be returning to this site again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevt1960 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at this site.

It's a well situated campsite on the A371 between Cheddar and Wells. Easy access from the M5.

We stayed in the top field and found it to be quite neglected compared to the lower field. I thought that the pitches were quite small, even for my Vango Icarus 500 without an extension. I had a feeling of being packed in.

The toilet/shower facilities could had been more modern in the top field. Even a coat of paint would have made them seem pleasant. They were cleaned regular but didn't look very clean.

I never visited the on site pub or shop except to ask for some directions. The staff were knowledgeable about the local area and the pub did look nice with a seating area outside.

The main road is very dangerous if you like to go walking, no pathways and bends in the road, where oncoming vehicles do not see you until the last minute.

Overall I did have a pleasant stay, but 3 nights is more than enough. I would prefer better facilities for a longer camping trip. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MistyMoon 6 reviews from this member

 Visited this site with friends and their kids. Facilities for the kids were pretty good, but for myself I didn't need ANY of these. Didn't use the site Toilets or Showers so I can't comment. It's a good location for exploring the area being close to the main road but then there is some road noise.

The pitches are very close together and packed in really tight - some pitches (including mine) really do not have adequate space for an awning and then you are pretty much touching the next unit. Also difficult to park your car near some pitches as there is just no room.

Overall a good site if you have kids but if you don't and you want something quiet and picturesque then this is not the one for you. I will not be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Parky15 9 reviews from this member

 Booked for four nights during Easter half term. All the caravan fully serviced pitches were gone, but I contacted them and was advised I could take our folding camper onto the tent/trailer tent fully serviced pitches.

On arrival they were very friendly and efficient and gave a clear map on how to find out pitch. The pitch was good, pretty level and had a gravel hard standing for the car. It had fences around 2 sides so assume these are not suitable for caravans at it would be tricky to manoeuvre onto them. The only downside with the pitch is we were opposite three empty season pitch caravans and then a large hedge to the rest of the campsite. It meant it was very quiet but we felt a bit cut off from the other campers - at half term it would have been nicer to have been nearer other children, but I should have asked when I booked.

Pool was a big hit, even though it was small, it was good enough and very warm. Playground was limited but bar was good. Didn't use wifi as three and EE had good coverage in the Grove field

I think the only downsides for me were (a) Toilet block in the grove was freezing (late October but no heating and Windows left open) and it is probably the most I have paid for camping in the UK ever - but this was probably a function of Fully Serviced Pitch, Great Location for the Mendips, Indoor Pool and Half Term.

Would I return? Probably, but would take a electric only pitch in the main field so it would be cheaper and more sociable. 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FloDorm 1 review from this member

 A comfortable and much needed break, taking in the sites of Wells and Cheddar Gorge. The Saturday night torrential rain at least proved our new tent to be waterproof. All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and extremely helpful. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julesht 2 reviews from this member

 Booked in here at relatively short notice considering it was Easter weekend, and loved it. The plots were extremely well tended and spacious.

Owners were very helpful- I noticed a split in my high pressure gas hose and the owner (who didn't have any in the shop) went and dug around out back and came up with some he had knocking about (free of charge). They also did a great job of organising a great big Easter egg hunt (also free of charge) which all the kids absolutely loved.

The family bathroom is a nice touch, and main washroom facilities clean if slightly dated.

The pool is fantastic, my daughter basically learned to swim over the Easter weekend, we lived in the pool. Freezing cold changing to be fair, but the water was lovely and facilities clean.

In the evening the club house had a great atmosphere- karaoke for the kids, decent enough food and drink for the adults. It was lively, but not completely mental, which was good.

Little extra touches like home cooked cookies on the reception desk just serve to reinforce the positive feel of our visit.

We will be back! 


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bucklegrove Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Bucklegrove Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bucklegrove Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Bucklegrove Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cheddar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2989 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement