Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Chester Southerly Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Cheshire > Chester > Chester Southerly Camp Site Reviews

CLOSED: Chester Southerly Camp Site
Balderton Lane
Marlston Cum Lache
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 4/10 from 29 Reviews
                4/10 from 29 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Margaret Ann 1 review from this member

 We stayed one night to visit Chester. Site was mainly being used by tradesmen with families in tow. Toilet block extremely

Basic. Box with loose toilet paper on counter and each toilet cubicle had loads down the loo and some very dirty as well.

I used the shower the following morning and had difficulty getting any hot water from the flash water heater. Only the end toilet which I had used the day before was by my reckoning useable. No sign of a cleaner prior to 9. 15 in the morning

Will certainly never go back 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Joycejjdave 2 reviews from this member

 We didn't realise till we pitched that the place was taken over by a what seemed to be a traveller community. It was not welcoming at all. We couldn't get near the toilets, they were surrounded by cars and peoples belongings. We slowly realised that we seemed to be the only non travellers on the site. There's children everywhere and everyone looked at us as if you landed from another planet Not a place to visit at all and we left after only a few hours despite paying for a few days. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: PH4NT0M 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site last minute, because everywhere else was booked up. Handy enough to get to, extremely close to a main route so traffic noise was constant. We had to avoid children, bikes, toys etc on arrival and were told just to pick any spot. Having been told on the phone there was plenty of hard standing available, we found loose stones and very few to choose from, all other spaces were taken by seemingly permanent residents! The toilets were ok, but were not cleaned or replenished in the 3 days we were there, showers were again ok, not cleaned but constant and hot (no push button or meter!) The laundry was a disaster! 3 washers (not industrial) 1 worked and cost 4! after extracting a load of someone elses washing, it didn't finish my wash, coins had to be re entered, finally after 2 hours! went to put into the 1 dryer working, 2 for 1/2 hr, again had to remove other clothes to get mine in, spent 6 to get them still damp, gave up around midnight, removed them in the dark, light not working, and hung them up in my awning! some boys tried to befriend mine, they were frankly too rough and cheeky, so we went out each day to avoid them, we also felt the need to lock as much as possible away in the caravan while out. Not impressed as a campsite, more of a one night stop over. Will not be back! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ftt1960 2 reviews from this member

 What a terrible site. I have been a camper since I was a child, I'm now a grandmother. Never have I stayed on such an awful site.

The ground was waterlogged due to the amount of rain over the summer and also poor drainage. There were kids toys lying about all over the place. There was a rusty vehicle lying in the bushes.

The toilets were absolutely disgusting and were not cleaned properly while we were there. We didn't attempt the showers because they just didn't look very inviting despite being free. There were piles of clothes lying in the laundry, no idea if they had been washed or were waiting to be washed. Thankfully we didn't need to make use of this facility. There was nowhere to freeze ice packs.

We had pre-booked but the girl who dealt with us seemed to have no idea who we were.

With a main road running alongside the site there was a great deal of traffic noise all night.

The only positive I will say for the site is that it is very well situated for exploring the beautiful city of Chester. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Bobbyboy1980 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here with my two boys to try out our newly purchased trailer tent. I haven't much experience of touring sites so thought that 24 for one night with EHU was ok.

The site is quite small, seemed mainly to be used for road workers (not discriminating in anyway). There were kids running around, which I didn't mind at first as my children went to play with them, but when time came around for us to settle in for the night, the kids wouldn't leave us alone.

The Wash/Toilet facilities seemed ok.

It advertises a shop on site but, there isn't.

I won't be staying here again. As I don't think that having an abandoned car in the bushes for children to play in is not very safe.

Ok for a stop off but not for a family.

On a final note, the site is right next to the A55 which is a main route from Wirral into Wales. Not very tranquil. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Frankiejude 4 reviews from this member

 We've just got home after 2 nights at Southerly, it could be a nice site, so handy for Chester. But we were so disappointed with it, the toilets were filthy, no toilet paper and they were cold, the showers were'nt inviting either. There were children running around at all hours and leaving scooters/bikes etc on the road ways. We were there with friends who then informed us that the elson point was overflowing. We certainly won't go there again. It was advertised as having a shop and childs playground - Where were they? Nowhere! Also this was the most expensive site we have ever stayed on, 20 per night for 2 adults. 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jangar61 2 reviews from this member

 We have used this site many times under the ex owners, with some good memories.

However we recently re-visited and arrived at 7pm on a fri night, Kids bikes littered everywhere, lots of kiddie noise, 47kg bottles strapped to the side of vans, vans with flat tyres, huge 5th wheelers sited there. The new owners wanted 20.00. Shame as it's really handy for Chester, but the road noise was always an issue. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TheObriens 2 reviews from this member

 This has the potential to be a really nice site. It just seems a little new. It is expensive, with no concessions.

We walked to the park and ride - quite a walk though, - about a mile and got the bus into Chester for 1. 70 each.

Chester was lovely. We walked the wall, and shopped til we dropped.

The traffic noise is bad, but not so noticeable in a motorhome. It could really do well with a shop or small bar.

Lots of open space and clean and tidy. We would return if we went to Chester again. Next year maybe 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tessietwo 5 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay at this site in our motor home. It is ideal as a short trip/nightly stop over while touring as it is only 3 miles outside of Chester. Many people staying in the site took taxis into the city centre, which we though was a good idea if you didn't want to drive in yourself in a motor home. We were lucky to find a site near Chester over the Easter weekend, as attempts on the net told me that all sites around Chester were full! We saw signs for this site while travelling past and we were very pleased with the overall presentation of this site. There were plenty of hard standing pitches and grassed areas for dogs/children to play.

There is quite a busy road next to the site but if you are in a motor home or caravan, it wouldn't be a problem - it didn't bother us at all.

The shower/toilet block was large, with clean facilities. The toilets could have had more toilet paper in them, but that would be my only negative point.

A very convenient and spacious site. Would definitely recommend it and will be back in the future! 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1935 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December