Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Jacobs Mount Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Jacobs Mount Caravan Park > Reviews

Jacobs Mount Caravan Park
Stepney Road
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO12 5NL
Tel: 01723 361178
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 108 Reviews
                8/10 from 108 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  108 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: October 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: BivvyBoy 37 reviews from this member

 I don't like giving negative reviews without good reason, so I hope this is objective and fair. Short version - small pitches that are in a poor state of maintenance, and not up to CAMC or C&CC standards. Not recommended for touring caravans.

First the positives: the site is very easy to access off the A170 in either direction, and is well signposted on approach. The entry is wide and there is an obvous waiting bay before reception.

Secondly, the welcome we had from Sandra. All the ins and outs of the site were explained in a very helpful way, and we were made to feel that if we had any issues, help would be at hand.

The deposit for the barrier card and electric card. It's spelt out on their website when you book that you will have to pay a deposit, returnable on your departure. Yes you have to pay for your electric use, but it's not hard to use the card or top it up, and we spent about £3 a night during our stay, we topped up on the last night, and got a full refund on our departure.

Customer service - as I will describe, our pitch was very waterlogged, and our water tap was leaking badly from the tap when turned on, adding to the puddle growing across out pitch. Within one hour of mentioning this at reception, there was a chap replacing the washer in the tap, and he also gave us a new hoselock attachment that gave a better seal on the hose. This was in some quite heavy rain and wind, so top marks here.

The shop - it's enough for the things you might have run out of like milk, washing up liquid and loo roll where you don't want to drive anywhere to get to the shops.

Talking of which, this isn't a good site if you like to park up and leave your car. The walk down to Scarborough isn't too bad, and it is downhill. You can go cross country down to LIDL on Seamer Rd, but I wouldn't like to carry two bags of shopping back up that hill! There are no bus stops nearby. We took a taxi home from the Crown in Falsgrave which is the nearest pub to the site, and that was £7. 50. At this time of year the site itself was quiet, and we didn't hear any road noise; the biggest noise at night was the Tawny owls hunting across the site.

On to the other aspects; if you look at the site on Google maps, you'll see this was all built in one go, and the site has 130 pitches. The vast majority of these are seasonal and annual pitches. I think they have crammed as many pitches in as possible, then let it be a free for all for who takes most advantage of the spaces given.

The Mrs said the loos and showers were in need of some cleaning, TLC and updating. She's a down to earth woman, so for her to say it's poor, it must have been poor.

Our pitch was 5 metres wide - just. The hardstanding was not separated from the grass either side, and was starting to get eaten away by moss and grass. The grass was also absolutely waterlogged, it was really welly country. Yes it might have been a wet summer, but I am sat on a CAMC site right now without a puddle in sight. The idea is you park your car across the front of your van once you are set up, but I didn't even try the awning as I would have been trying to peg the last six inches of it out in a puddle. We have a small tourer, and we could barely fit our Sorento across the front without compromising the tow bar, or sticking the car out into the roadway. To be fair to the site, when we mentioned that we were starting to chew the grass up just trying to park they said stick it on the gravel on an empty pitch two berths away which was fair enough.

And so to the seasonal/annual pitches; these probably make up 80% of the site. As mentioned the pitches to me seem small. Some pitches had vans and awnings on so huge that there was no way vehicles would fit onto their pitch, but the custom seems to be park half across the road, or just borrow an empty pitch. When we drove in on a Sunday lunchtime after shopping, we had to slalom between cars parked out into the road way, and I could not have towed a van confidently between the obstructions.

The icing on the cake was when we woke up late, a seasonal van opposite us was being visited by its owner who had parked his works van in front of our van, and half way out into the road. Two cars had already driven across our pitch to get round him, and churned the grass into mud. I then saw a third car come past at a good 15mph (site limit here is 5mph) and he was within 12" of our tow bar.

My feeling is that the residents don't seem to care about what rules there are, or other people, epsecially tourers who they don't know.

Bottom line - if you're touring, avoid this site. It has no special features that make it good for visiting Scarborough, and there are better ones to chose from nearby. 


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandancer1618 10 reviews from this member

 We booked this because our original site booking in the area had a fire and we had to rearrange.

We were there for a concert at the Open Air Theatre.

First impressions was that it was a well run site. Lady on reception was pleasant and friendly. There was some road noise.

We had paid £34 per night for a serviced pitch. It was still quite cramped and no specific boundary from pitch next door. Considering the price, I expected a larger pitch. We also had to pay a £20 deposit for the barrier card and a pre-paid electric card to add credit to the meter. In fairness what you don't use gets refunded.

The toilets and showers were clean, and free hot water. Only one soap dispenser worked by the handbasins and only one hand dryer was available. Considering the size of the site, I would have expected a bigger shower block and facilities e. G. Soap dispensers/toilet rolls, to be refilled or checked daily. Whether this was a factor on people not washing their hands after using the toilet, I'm not sure, but this was very prevalent by both male and female.

It was a busy site with a lot of seasonal pitches and static caravans. As it was the weekend it was quite busy and noisy. The kids weren't any problem at all, it was the adults causing all the noise, with loud music and rowdy pitches.

Didn't use the on site shop, but it didn't look well stocked. Supermarkets are a few minutes drive away. On the plus side the bar was cheap and beer was good.

Overall its a good site if you like a busy site, and good for exploring nearby towns. We didn't like it due to noisy pitches and other unhygienic guests. I imagine there are quieter and better run sites in the vicinity. Most definitely won't return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Ross25 4 reviews from this member

 I booked this site and told them, I would arrive at 5. 30, we actually arrived at 5. 15, which was ok considering we drove 250 miles. Reception closed and we had to phone to get a response.

Given a pitch a gate key and told we would get an electric card the next day. Tokens for the shower were 3 for £1.

The pitch was quite small although water and a drain for waste were on the pitch, all good after we poured lots of boiling water down the drain to get rid of the smell.

Toilet and Shower facilities could have stood a good clean as they were grubby and mouldy in places. The shower token machine was placed outside the cubicle which entailed getting undressed then leaving the cubicle to drop the token or having a shorter shower than the 8 minutes given.

The showers were of the push button type so it appeared that the tokens were a bit of an add on. Pub on site only open Saturday and Sunday evenings

On the plus side it was a pleasant half hour walk into Scarborough itself. The site was quiet and peaceful.

We booked for 4 nights and only stayed for 3.

I get that its the end of the season and things are winding down for a lot of sites but getting the basics wrong means we will not be returning 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ebarson 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site quiet at night with excellent facilities. Its child and dog friendly, lit at night with an on site pub and restaurant.

There is water at all pitches which are hard standing with a grass patch to the side.

Its just walkable if you are fit (about 2 miles)downhill into Scarborough.

Although we did walk in we got a taxi back that cost £7. 50.

The staff are very helpful and patient for people like me that needed the power card explaining. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marie5 2 reviews from this member

 Just had a lovely two night stay at this little site.

The staff were very helpful and friendly during our visit fully explaining about the barrier card / toilet pass and electric card £20 deposit on arrival by a helpful young man. £10 is returnable and they just deduct on the electric on how much you use in our case £1.90 you need tokens for the shower 40p for one or £1x3 tokens one is ample time for a lovely hot shower in the immaculate toilet blocks.

This site is spotless well run and well kept we will be returning itís in a ideal location, we walked into Scarbrough easy access down hill and got a taxi on return £8.

The pub is a bonus which they played bingo and did meals we sampled the Yorkshire pudding with beef and gravy very nice ! Extending the menu to pizzas, garlic bread etc would be a bonusÖ.

The site looked full and does have season statics however it did not seem busy, there is a new play area and people who we can into contact all spoke.

I did read reviews about this campsite before my stay and was apprehensive but from our experience it has been a lovely quiet relaxing stay and will be returning. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Durhamian 4 reviews from this member

 Very acceptable site generally, location good, but be prepared for cramped pitches compared to 'Club sites' or CLs.

Prices reflect this AND the electricity is charged extra on a meter card @ £5 per day for us!

The bar was open only weekends off season- fair enough if you like bingo!

Clearly a well thought of site, judging from the number of seasonal places taken, which unfortunately, if like us, you're there at a quieter time, makes it feel as a cross between a ghost town and a caravan storage site! bet its noisy during the peak season!

Suggest that the site has one bay/row of 'visiting pitches? 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Skelly7 on tour 1 review from this member

 Lovely site, clean shower and toilet block with dish washing station and laundry room. Great kids play area. Also on site shop has essentials and spares for caravaners.

There is a lot of seasonal pitch holders but we found everyone very friendly and helpful.

There is a pub on site but doesnít open till 7pm they have bingo and artists on, we enjoyed the bingo they got a good crowd in. They do food itís ok, drinks prices are reasonable.

Itís a around 3 miles to the North Beach at Scarborough but itís not on a bus route, we got a taxi into Scarborough city centre it cost £8. 50 each way with Nippy Taxis.

Would recommend this site was our second time here and will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kevinv 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely and peaceful campsite

Pitches lovely size

Shower block is very clean and you pay separate for showers which is a pain, but you just get on and move, get 8 minutes in shower 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Weims 3 reviews from this member

 Busy with children but hardly surprising as its august, think it would be lovely in term time when not so many kids running wild.

Would have gone to adult only site had they not been fully booked,

Would return but only in term time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rabb_uk 22 reviews from this member

 Well kept site that's mainly either statics or tourers on seasonal pitches, not many spare for actual touring vans or motorhomes, but the pitches are serviced and there's good facilities all around the site for rubbish and cdp, plus they're mostly level gravel, some may need ramps,

Toilets and showers good clean condition and set up for social distancing,

Shop bit bare at the moment and the bar/restaurant only open certain nights so be aware if intending to use,

Taxi is approx £7 into town, bus stop a 10-15 min walk, or all the way is a good 45-60 mins and really steep back up.

Atmosphere is a bit weird with so many empty vans around you and no one around, but bottom line is a good site, 
via mobile


Previous     108 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Jacobs Mount Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Jacobs Mount Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Jacobs Mount Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3208 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement