Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Jacobs Mount Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Jacobs Mount Caravan Park Reviews

Jacobs Mount Caravan Park
Stepney Road
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO12 5NL
Tel: 01723 361178
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
                8/10 from 99 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Weims 3 reviews from this member

 Busy with children but hardly surprising as its august, think it would be lovely in term time when not so many kids running wild.

Would have gone to adult only site had they not been fully booked,

Would return but only in term time 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rabb_uk 22 reviews from this member

 Well kept site that's mainly either statics or tourers on seasonal pitches, not many spare for actual touring vans or motorhomes, but the pitches are serviced and there's good facilities all around the site for rubbish and cdp, plus they're mostly level gravel, some may need ramps,

Toilets and showers good clean condition and set up for social distancing,

Shop bit bare at the moment and the bar/restaurant only open certain nights so be aware if intending to use,

Taxi is approx 7 into town, bus stop a 10-15 min walk, or all the way is a good 45-60 mins and really steep back up.

Atmosphere is a bit weird with so many empty vans around you and no one around, but bottom line is a good site, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tamglasgow 8 reviews from this member

 As stated by others, be prepared to pay for add ons like electricity via card meter and 40p per 8 mins of showering via token. On 2 occasions my shower was cold, reception said it was due to someone leaving hot water running somewhere.

Pitches are very tight and you are shown how to set up when checking in(They have a model on the desk), actually, there are a load of signs telling people what they cant do.

Site is very tidy but the toilets were a bit dirty and freezing.

Shop is sparsely stocked but supermarkets are a short drive away.

Gent on reception was friendly and chatty.

Didnt try the pub on site.

Nearby Scarborough was great as was the short journey to Filey.

I have been on better and worse sites but I wouldn't return, it's just not for us. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Petertowbar 33 reviews from this member

 Firstly you cant grumble at the pitch price of 19 per night but beware! there are add ons. For example an awning will cost you extra, so will electricity, so will wi fi and so will taking a shower.

If you can go with that then it's not a badly situated touring site and all pitches are fully serviced. I'm afraid my biggest gripe would be the the not overly generous pitch size which enables more pitches to be very close together, there are very few with the hedge for privacy.

You are warned when arriving of the perils of pitching your awning on the grass, which if you have a full sized awning is nearly impossible and some encroachment is inevitable. Also when manouvering on and off your pitch you are in everybodies way because of the narrowness of the road, the whole site could do with every other pitch removing as your pitch is very narrow and your tow vehicle has to be parked across the front.

Having said that the site has its own children's playground and is family friendly.

There is a clubhouse serving in the evening at peak times; the reception /shop has very little stock and the nearest shop is a couple of miles away. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DavyMyra 13 reviews from this member

 What a great site, well laid out and very well kept. Excellent facilities, washrooms well kept. You do need the magnetic card to access toilet facilities and I suppose 2 cards would have been more convenient but 1 did the job. Scarborough is a short drive to town with plenty shops and bars. The prom is a lovely walk when the weather is good. Lots of fish & chip shops.

The pitches are large enough for caravan and awning, with car in front, the pitch we were on was separated by hedges from the next one so nice and private. You do need to buy a card for electric, but the cost of the card on top of pitch fees still made it a very reasonably priced break.

All in all a very nice park, thank you to the staff and I will return, hopefully in better times when covid is not around. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Fozzle83 3 reviews from this member

 Where to start- the welcome onto the site wasn't great we were met with really bad attitude and after a long journey with children's and dog it's the last thing you want to be greated with. I was accused of booking the wrong type of pitch. Had to request a map lucky I did because I was given no information as to where anything was.

Also no notice of deposit needed on booking for the electric, gate key and electric Cash only.

Then we arrived at our pitch. We got pitched next to the waste disposal and bins. The stench was unreal and my children kept on complaining how bad it was.

The second night the electricity went on and off several times the whole campsite not just our pitch.

We booked a pitch with electric and paid online got their and had to pay for our electric so makes no different on booking. Our electric with kids for two nights was a couple of quid my brother who booked up but couldn't be pitched with us had over a fiver bill and it was just his cool box on for the two nights. Something dodgy about the electric metres there maybe the showers need tokens I didn't know this till I spoke to other campers. When in the showers the token boxers are outside the showers and as soon as you put your token in it starts counting your seconds down and this is before you get undressed and sorted.

I don't feel the sanitizer was enough around site one inside the toilets only no where else.

Shop on site. 😳 Erm there was nothing in the shop it had tent pegs and some freddos.

All I can say is thank god it wasn't wasp time because that would have topped it off for me.

Such a shame very pricey site we won't be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: DAZ248 9 reviews from this member

 decided to try this site because we have already stayed at their sister site in Filey twice. The site like Muston has serviced pitches, the pitches big enough for a caravan and awning on hardstanding and a grass area for your car. You do need heavy duty pegs though for the awning. On site shop and bar/restaurant but we didn't use but heard good reports. Barrier system operated via a swipe card (10 deposit) and electric is on a meter (again a card) we used about a pound a day with extra fridge charging kids gadgets etc plus we used our own shower in the caravan so didn't seem bad. Showers were 40p a token but didn't use them. However toilet block was clean and always had hot water.

There is a kids play area but didn't seem to noisy.

Scarborough 2 miles away and plenty to do around the East Riding coast. Will return thought it was a fab site 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jesspekjon 12 reviews from this member

 I was a little apprehensive about visiting here after reading some of the previous reviews regarding hidden prices and the amount of space between pitches, however I'd already booked so thought we'd give it a go. I was a little confused about some of the previous reviews too as a lot of complaints were about the hidden charges regarding the electric meter card and the barrier card. The confusion being that all the prices are actually listed on there webpage so I can't work out how they are 'hidden', maybe people just not doing their homework. Anyway.

We arrived to a very large well kept site, the gentlemen in reception was very polite and took the time to explain where everything was and other information like directions into town etc.

The reception housed a very well stocked shop, anything from sweets the the kids to alcohol for the big kids. The site also has a pub/restaurant however I can't comment as we never visited, I did speak to some of the regular visitors who said the food was really good as well as the prices. There's also a large children's play area.

There are a number of elson points scattered around the site and our pitch was serviced which was a added bonus, the pitch itself was quite large and again very well kept (hard standing) with room for our motorhome and awning and still plenty of room for outside seating etc.

The shower block was very clean and looked newly refurbished. The showers run on tokens which are priced at 3 for 1, each token lasting 8 minutes. The token units are outside the cubicles which again I have read previous complaint about, we never saw the issue. You get 8 minute to get undressed and showered, if that's not enough time then use 2 tokens and have 16 minutes!

As for the electric card, my opinion is that it works a lot better than the electric being included in the price, we stayed for 2 nights and put 5 on the card, we used the kettle, extra coolbox, TV and then some. Our total usage was 2. 55 meaning we got a refund. The barrier card- it is a refundable 10 deposit, which I never have a issue paying on any site as I see it as extra security for my van and I can imagine that without the deposit people would just forget to hand them back in.

I really feel for campsites like these who work hard and get pulled down by customers looking for anything and everything to complain about. If you want 5 star treatment then you shouldn't own a caravan/motorhome.

This site is one of the nicest sites we've stayed on and I highly recommend it to anyone. We will definitely be back again soon as we loved to 2 mile walk in to Scarborough and the taxi back after one or three beers.

Thanks for a great weekend :-) 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrh2000uk 7 reviews from this member

 First time at this site as our usual site as fully booked, will definitely return to this site again, absolutely loved it!

Level pitches, plenty of room and good shower blocks that were always clean despite it being a busy bank holiday weekend!

Good location and good bar on site. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mnevin 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from here and must say very disappointed.

1/ if your paying 31. 50 a night wouldn't expect to pay for electric as well

2/ showers pre paid on token you don't even get the water running all the time keep having to press a button

3/ toilet blocks absolutely freezing you get dressed very quickly in this place. The fan on the ceiling I think that they was last cleaned in 2000 because full of mould have they ever been cleaned I ask myself

4/ Not a lot of space between the vans

5/ cant believe how much they charge for extra guests or cars what's the difference if you have 4 staying instead of 2 after all we are paying for the water the electric and what's Jacobs mount providing nothing extra

Even have to pay vat on dogs ?

Which when you add the bill up they found it of to the nearest so they gain yet again.

This is a rip off site you might as well go on the club sites at these pricers

The one good thing nice meals in the very warm club house only place on the site what is warm I wonder why that is ?? 


Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Jacobs Mount Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Jacobs Mount Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Jacobs Mount Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5174 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement