Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Scalby Close Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Scalby Close Park Reviews

Scalby Close Park
Burniston Road
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO13 0DA
Tel: 01723 365908
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 42 Caravan Pitches, no tents
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trevord2011 7 reviews from this member

Very Small site OK for overnight but would not stay for longer don't get me wrong owner we really nice site well maintained, toilets and shower block dated and what seams like pallet in shower to stand on.

Site is small for big twin axle vans and you need to be able to reverse well.

Has a lot of regulars that spend the season. Pig farm at the rear is noise but smell OK just the noise at times sounds like they are being slaughtered. Big shame a few things spoil it as right on the main road.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JannyT 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night at the end of July.

So as not to sound negative throughout the review I will start with the plus points.

The Reception staff were very friendly and very helpful and led us onto the site and gave us a choice of two available pitches. The toilet block and washing-up area were both spotlessly clean, but there is a negative here which I will come to below.

The location of the site we feel is not as described and it has serious downsides, with what appeared to be a scrapyard on one side, and a 'dump-it' site on the other. The site is also extremely close to a very busy main road. The scrapyard was open for business very early in the morning, even on a Saturday, so if you are looking for an extra hour or two in bed in the morning, this is not the site for you. The smell from the dump-it site was also pretty bad if the wind was in the wrong direction. The other downside regarding location is that Tesco is neither 0. 5 miles or 1 mile away - it is at least 6-7 minutes by car and certainly not within walking distance by any means.

We were on a pitch right next to the stream, and this would have been lovely except for the masses of insects this seemed to attract and we were bitten to death in just one evening, with all of our citronella gear seemingly having no effect whatsoever!

With regards to the shower block and washing facilities, these were obviously very well maintained, but unfortunately, if you are planning to wash dishes or have a shower at 10.00/10.30 am on a Saturday morning, you will be out of luck as both were closed for some considerable time for cleaning although when I looked in the wash-room window there was no-one there. This is bad planning considering the check-out time on the site and knowing that at that time in the morning, most people leaving would be wanting to shower/freshen up and wash up their dishes. I waited for 20 minutes or so but in the end, we left - unshowered, and with a basin full of dirty dishes.

Lastly, the site accepts cash only - no facility to accept credit or debit cards. In this day and age this is quite unusual and we generally always pay by card so it would have been an idea to make known this fact in advance so that we had been prepared.

We did only stay for one night, having booked for two but unfortunately the site were not able to offer us a refund.

On balance, although the facilities (when open) were lovely and clean and the staff also friendly and welcoming, this was not the site for us due to location, traffic and scrapyard noise and smells from the dump-it site. It was also disappointing that the proximity of shops/pubs to the site was somewhat misleading.

Unfortunately we will not visit again.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Krissycamper 1 review from this member

I love this site! Fantastic location, great service from a family owned business and everything is always looking clean & well cared for. Site is a little outside the town of Scarborough but directly across from fields and cliffs overlooking the sea, making for a lovely spot to go on walks. Definitely my favourite caravan park to come and unwind.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: EricL 1 review from this member

Superb Site. I cant understand people complaining about the price. You are paying for the proximity to Scarborough which is about a 15-20 min walk away.

There are buses running past the site and the stop is a short distance along the road.

There are clean toilets, plenty of hot water and very friendly, helpful owners.

Its a lovely setting with private, screened pitches which have their own water, drain and electric hook up.

A babbling brook and an abundance of wildlife complete the rural picture.

I thoroughly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pegleg50 1 review from this member

Just back from a short stay at scalby close park, Scarborough.

We have a small caravan and awning and we were allocated a pitch, a shingled very flat pitch, it was surrounded by bushes making it very private.

The toilets and showers were very clean with masses of hot water.

There is a laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer and an iron free to use, washing up facilities are also in the laundry room, again with masses of hot water.

The owners were very friendly and helpful.

The site is very pretty.

We will definitely be revisiting this site again.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Flintybaby 2 reviews from this member

It is my first time on a proper park and I was somewhat surprised. I was told it is 4* site but I was a little shocked how close the caravans are. We did have room for an awning but only just but if we had the awning up we couldn't park the car at the side and it was stuck out at the front. Also as its close to a stream there are lots of insects, daddy long legs, spiders, crane flies, ear wigs etc.

The other downside to this site is the farm behind it - it stinks! We could smell cow poo all week. Also there is tractors and trucks going up the side which woke us up quite early most mornings (including sunday!).

Now for the good points. The owners are lovely and really helpful. The barrier system is brilliant. Very secure. Other caravanners were very friendly but there wasn't much of a community spirit, everyone kept themselves to themselves. One really good point is the drain and tap right outside the door. It was extremely handy for us as our pump broke in our caravan so it saved us lots of trips to a tap far away.

The showers were generally clean and I wasn't waiting for a shower but in high season you may have to as there are only 2 showers in the womens and only 1 in the mens.

We probably would go back to this park but we woud try and be as far away from the tractors as poss because we didn't appreciate being woken up. I don't think its worth £25 a night though, glad we only paid £16!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 2+2+DOG+AWN=££ 3 reviews from this member

Very small site with very tight pitches, once our caravan was on pitch, touching tap to avoid a-frame sticking into road we couldn't park car on as it was too tight. Nothing at all for children, nowhere to play not even grass area, wish I was told this on booking as I wouldn't have gone.
Thought the £25 per night was far too high for small pitch and toilet block with 2 showers for ladies and only 1 for men. Ok did have laundry room and washing up room, but didn't require use of them as our intended 5 night stay was shortened to the minimum 3 night stay as we had to find somewhere more suitable for children.
Location was good, short drive to beach, facilities small and average.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Michmac 5 reviews from this member

This is a small site with a friendly-atmosphere, close to Scarborough's North Bay (5 mins by car). We had a super-pitch for our caravan and awning which included full hard-standing and our own tap and drain.
The super-pitches are nicely-landscaped and offer privacy but are very difficult to get your caravan into. We had to unhitch and move the van manually (which isn't easy on gravel) otherwise we would have got tangled up on a caravan facing our pitch. Others had the same problem which would be daunting if you were either not too fit or a solo-caravannner. We did get assistance from another caravanner which we were very grateful for. Once in, the pitches are fabulous.
The toilet block was adequate for the size of the site and was spotlessly clean and well-maintained. There is also a laundry room and information point. Fire equipment was highly-visible. We had a problem finding the chemical toilet disposal point as it was not marked but were pointed in the right direction by another camper.
There is a security barrier which is reassuring. The site is alongside a main road but there wasn't much noise from the traffic due to the landscaping. There was some noise early on from the pigs and tractors at the farm to the back of the site but, hey, it's the countryside!
The site fees are very reasonable compared with others in the locality. We will definitely be returning to this site but will make sure we ask for a more accessible pitch next time.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Misstinkertrain 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 1 week & had a great time, the site staff were friendly.
Site was spotless, shower block always kept clean & never too busy.
There's a laundry room on site with information leaflets of places to visit & some games & jigsaws (which was great when it rained & we stayed in the caravan).
No shop or pub on site, nearest pub is a 15 minute walk away, shops not really within walking distance, but that didn't bother us at all.
Pitches were spacious, hardstanding for the caravan, but only a strip to park it on, you step out onto grass.
We were on the side of the pitch by the road, but there were bushes in between & it wasn't noisy.
Short drive into scarborough.
Great site, would definitely visit again . 

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bevian 2 reviews from this member

Only 3 tent pitches, but conveniently placed for the excellent facilities provided.
Immaculate toilets, showers and wash facilities with constant hot water, also excellent washing up facilities and laundry.
Very close to Scarborough and many local attractions and facilities.
secure site in nice surroundings, highly recommend.

Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4964 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019