Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandfield House Farm Touring Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Sandfield House Farm Touring Park
Sandsend Road
Whitby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO21 3SR
Tel: 01947 602660
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: March 1st To October 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 90 Reviews
                8/10 from 90 Reviews

Photos (16)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  90 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jillw1 3 reviews from this member

Excellent site with lovely sea view from our pitch. Very well kept site, excellent facilities, dog walking field, easy access to beach and lovely walk along the prom.

The lady at reception was very helpful, refunding the amount for the awning as we decided not to put it up.

The local pub - The White House is very welcoming, allowing dogs in the bar.

Will definitely return to the site.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Susang 2 reviews from this member

It was our first outing with the motorhome and we arrived with mixed views on how it all works. The staff were really helpful. Even called when we had not arrived to check our arrival time to ensure we were on our way. The facilities were immaculate and very clean. Plenty of space between pitches with a mixture of grass and hard standing. The toilet and showers were regularly cleaned and cannot fault the cleanliness. Great spot a few mins from the beach and a great hotel offering really good food. The walk to Whitby along the seafront was unexpected treat with lovely views. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helmo 1 review from this member

We have been visiting this site for 5 years.

The location is perfect for walking into Whitby and Sandsend. We donít use the car while we are here.

The site has 2 toilet/shower blocks, one is brand new. They are cleaned regularly, spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water. The site is very well maintained, the grass is bowling green standards! Good size pitches and most have a sea view.

Craig and the team are great, very helpful and nothing too much trouble.

Itís a popular site so booking in good time is recommended.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SunshinecamperDR 14 reviews from this member

Stayed here May Bank Holiday. What a lovely site. Two toilet blocks with showers. Hard standing pitches. Tennis court, football/play field for the kids. Friendly staff. WIFI. Out of the entrance, turn left and walk to Sandsend, lovely little village, great for kids. Across the road from the campsite is access to the beach, turn right and follow the beach which leads you to Whitby, lovely walk. All flat so we took the bikes. Close to the site is a Lidl. Only downside is the shower curtains, I personally don, t like shower curtains.

Would definitely return, itís a lovely site, we didnít move the car, we walked or rode the bikes everywhere.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Greasychipbutty 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely site by the coast.

We arrived a little early and our pitch was still in use. No problem, 'pull up in the car park we will have you hooked up and get the kettle on'

Nothing was too much trouble, very helpful and professional.

Though the site was quite full at the weekend there was always plenty of showers and toilets available. Quite a lot of seasonal pitches on the site.

Facilities were very clean and tidy

You could play bowls on the grass around the site if it was flat, not sure how they manage that with the vehicles running over it all the time.

Though the site is on a small incline all the pitches were made flat and with sea views.

A short walk down a path from the site and you are on the sea front. Half an hour along the prom or beach to Whitby.

We found a local general shop, Chinese take-away and cafe about 5 minutes walk from the site with a pub just round from the shops.

Loved the site, we will go again.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bobbymax 12 reviews from this member

Site was quite full for a windy weekend in September but none of the facilities were ever crowded.

Only a 25-minute walk to Whitby Town Centre (shops en route) and five minutes to the beach via the walkway through the golf course.

Toilets and showers were clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful on arrival.

This, however, is a very exposed site if there is any off or onshore breezes and there were plenty of chairs and windbreaks flying around while we were there.

It appears that improvements are still being made but at £27 a night it is also quite expensive for what it is at present.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Asfc70 21 reviews from this member

We drove over the North York Moors from Pickering and was not expecting the many ups and downs. Took the longer but flatter route home via the A171 to Guisborough, and down the A19 towards Thirsk.

Now the site itself. Great location, on the main coastal road, 20 minutes walk from the centre of Whitby. Lidl supermarket and Spar petrol station 2 minutes drive away.

Stayed for three nights and was warmly greated and escorted by a buggy to our pitch. Lots of pitches but enough space for our awning and vehicle. Water points ideally close to pitches.

Two adequate toilet/shower blocks (free showers). The older block has a Chemical disposal point, washing up facilities and a laundrey room.

We took out tennis racquets and had a game of tennis on the tennis court.

Dog walking field, and a playing field with goal posts were both well kept and grass well manicured, could have played crown green bowls on them.

Found the Abbey expensive at £6. 90 per adult and so we just walked aroung the perimeter wall and found access to the lovely tea room. Visited the set of Heartbeat, Goathland which was a 20 minute drive from the site.

Great shops in Whitby, Skinner street really is like a timewarp back to the Seventies. All in all the shops are very old fashioned and that made a pleasant change from Poundshops and Charity shops which usually prevail these days.

Fish and chips at the Quayside on the prom near the swing bridge was great and surely worthy of its 2014 Best Fish and Chip shop in Britain Award.

The wind did get up at times, but thankfully calmed down during the night. Would not recommend putting an awning up with winds of over 20mph.

Good access to the beach, cutting between the Golf links.

Would return if in the area.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Eric Garbutt 1 review from this member

We have used this site for quite some time now and have seen improvements in the facilities over the years.

Good points

The location is fantastic, Whitby & Sandsend are in walking distance by road or fantastic beach (when the tide isn't fully in )

Staff are very helpful

Good clean toilet blocks. The new toilet block could have done with a chemical disposal & grey water disposal point.

Bad points

The hard standing pitches are too small, not very level & not far enough apart. It would be difficult putting awnings up.

The hookups are only 10 amp so you have to be careful not to trip them.

The tariffs are quite expensive but do include 4 people, there is also a supplement for Awnings & dogs. This makes it expensive for couples.

We love the location and will return, but we would use it more if the bad points, particularly the pitches were sorted.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jondy376 55 reviews from this member

Our daughters have just spent a week on this site which they really enjoyed the site and itís location, we had 1 night and wasnít looking forward to it, as the site is so big. We enjoyed our stay. All the staff were really friendly, the site is very well maintained. Everyone on the site has a sea view. The location is really good for walking to Whitby or Sandsend

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mike Ebbs 1 review from this member

Super, super campsite Stayed here 3 times before, gets better each time. Staff really know the meaning of customer care.

The site is nicely laid out and kept immaculate, the toilets are first class and well looked after

There are 2 bus stops just outside the site entrance, one way to Whitby the other to Middlesboro or you can go across the road, down a track to the beach and walk along the prom to Whitby, not too far to walk

Just round the corner there is a nice hotel The White House

With a good restaurant and very nice food

Whitby is a nice little town, right on the seafront with lots to see and do

Site and town, got to be 10 out of 10

Previous     90 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2781 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019