Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Westgate Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Weardale > Westgate Camping Site Reviews

Westgate Camping Site
6 Britton Hall
Westgate
Weardale
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL13 1LN
Tel: 07775 933210
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16 Hardstandings
Open: 12/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (4)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chubbs 1 review from this member

 No facilities due to covid which is completely understandable, What was available was easy accessible and clean the site was really well maintained and tidy,

Peaceful location

Will definitely use again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brightfireinside 1 review from this member

 This campsite is how I remember camping as a child, its quiet, a plain field, clean toilets and showers which are cleaned twice daily and I've been in and the toilets have been a bit dirty but that reflects the people staying there, rather than the management!.

Well run! Management are brilliant and the best priced site around, my daughter loves it.

It is our second time visiting and we cannot wait to make more memories here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Aimeekate 1 review from this member

 We as a family have now been camping at this site for a number of years, as growing up having a caravan at Westgate when we had our children we wanted the same for them.

We have camped at this site starting off in a tent and now we have a trailer tent.

This site is lovely and quiet I've never had any complaints to give, Helen is very helpful and answers to bookings quickly, toilet block is always kept clean, the site overall is just lovely.

Everyone on site is friendly, and most of all the kids love it! Credit to the owners. We will return over and over. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Haswell88 8 reviews from this member

 We arranged to stay in Westgate for a weekend away travelling after work. Easy to reach the site, reasonably well signposted. Pitches are ok in size however as you move to the back of the site, the field thins out and you end up quite close to the neighbours.

The facilities on site were very disappointing, although we saw the toilets being cleaned by the site manager, you had to wonder what exactly was done.

The toilet block is well past its best and is covered in old cobwebs and dead flies. Checks were not completed regularly enough in my opinion as some children had moved the urinal blocks into the sink and left an unpleasant deposit on the loo seat.

The location is great and there are a few nice walks close by.

If you do chose to camp here, bring bug repellent, citronella candles and fly killer as the midges are overwhelming. Myself and my partner were eaten alive.

The price of the site at first seems very reasonable however we quickly realised we got what we paid for. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Donna cornforth 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site with beautiful views, location is fantastic in the middle of everything, toilet/shower block was basic (ideal for weekend), we arrived on a very wet Fri afternoon and the owners came out and towed us on to the pitch which was very helpful all round lovely friendly place to stay, we will be staying again fantastic value for money 😊 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kimmiemm 2 reviews from this member

 We decided at the last minute to have a few days away which included the August bank holiday. After emailing a number of places Helen replied to say they had a space, I was surprised as the BH are usually the busiest times. When we arrived we were a little concerned about the road being so close, in case of traffic noise, but the site was nice and small and in a beautiful area. The road wasn't a problem except a couple of local Lewis Hamiltons passed by. The people on the site were friendly, a couple of the touring vans seemed to be there the whole season. The river walks are outstanding, you can walk for miles on a nice gentle path beside the river. The local pub just a few minutes walk away, served lovely food, on the Saturday night it was very busy so get there before 8pm to ensure a table. The whole area is spectacular, it is very much like the Yorkshire Dales but without the crowds. We visited Alston with its lovely one off shops and Middleton in Teesdale for Hardraw Force.

My only criticism of the site is the shower block is a little past its prime. It is regularly cleaned, but really needs a makeover.

We had a really lovely week here and look forward to returning next season 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Royston 01 6 reviews from this member

 Site situated in the lovely weardale, but, but facilities were so dated I thought I would hear, hidihi! Campers call in mornings. At 17 per night CASH ! Only no cards accepted. I expected something better than a tatty gravel patch to park my motorhome onto. Also as there was nothing on website to say it was cash only I had very little cash with me and had to go back into town to draw money to pay. Although there were four what looked like permanent caravans there with no one in them I was the only other person on site for the whole week. This site would not be on my agenda to visit again. Even though its position is in such beautiful countryside. The road noise from the evel Knievel's shatter what little enjoyment there is to be had. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blinxter 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site, there are static caravans in a separate area on the road up to the site but this little triangular field is set aside for those passing through. Was the beginning of the bank holiday weekend and despite only being a relatively small field, there was plenty of room.

The shower block was warm and well kept (AND FREE) and as previous reviews have mentioned, the site is right along side the main road however as also stated, very little traffic, it isn't really a through road and west gate seems to be almost the end of where people wish to travel to.

The village is friendly and the pub was welcoming and quaint, a free house with from what I can gather, own brewed real ales. Chickens and cockerels roam free in the village so, drive carefully but remember, the fresh eggs on sale in the pub are most likely the freshest you will find unless you catch them yourself before they land on the hay.

All in all a little gem of a site and location. I will stay hear again on my trips to the north, and for an extra night next time probably. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sammcw 1 review from this member

 This campsite is an all round beauty. It's set in beautiful Weardale, and access is fantastic.

It's set by the 'main road' which could put a lot of people off - however it must not put you off. The A689 dwindles to nothing more than a rural (but full width) road at this point, and traffic during the week is low. At weekends it's one of the few places where it still drops off almost completely.

The campsite is next to the river, and we find we just have to sleep with the window open to listen to it! There is a pub and co-op post office nearby (as mentioned in another review the co-op has essentials and more despite being tiny, and the staff are very friendly like a true old fashioned village shop). There are some lovely places to walk, and the nearby (6/7miles away) Killhope lead mining museum is well worth a visit. Unfortunately we missed the weardale museum for this season, but are sure to return.

The owner was very accommodating (we have a large motorhome conversion and a lot wouldn't take us), but worth checking in advance as I can imagine this site can get very busy in summer.

Toilet block is clean, it has lovely hot water, the shower is a proper electric shower, and you can set it as hot or cold as you desire. No silly push buttons to fumble for when soaps going in your eyes to turn it back on! Washing up sink outside has hot water, wide gateway, dogs are allowed - a huge bonus.

I'd stay here again without doubt, and would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from city life! Ideal for tents, motorhomes, and caravans. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Emaandmatthew 1 review from this member

 I called and spoke to the owner who was absolutely lovely and said we were welcome anytime. We arrived about 9pm and heather met us to guide us in. We were the only tent pitched in the snow but it was perfect

A little colder than I would of liked but we felt safe and secure and the campsite is well maintained and fantastic value for money. We paid 12. 00 for 2 adults and a tent.

The shower block and toilets were very clean and very well kept. We will definitely be back thank you so much 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Westgate Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Westgate Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Westgate Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weardale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3708 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement