Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hexham Racecourse

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Hexham > Hexham Racecourse Reviews

Hexham Racecourse
High Yarridge
Hexham
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE46 2JP
Tel: 01434 606847  or  0795 1054216
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: May To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lorna1979 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at the site for 3 nights but if it hadn't been for the rain and being unable to take down the tent, we would have left after 2. The actual camping area was good, a nice grassy area surrounded by tall hedges to shelter tents from the wind. The view is good, although cannot be seen from the tent area. The price is cheap compared to a lot of other sites at this time of year and the wardens were polite. Another review said the site is 15 mins from a town but Hexham is literally just down the road and had a lovely hotel called the County Hotel where we ate lunch and has a huge Tesco and Waitrose.

Now for the bad bits. The toilet block is very old and had a strange smell upon entering. The toilets and showers themselves were dirty and definitely not cleaned on our second day. There was loo paper all over the floor, the hand towel bin was over flowing and there was grass on the floor and hair in the shower. However saying that the showers are nice and warm and plenty of space for me and my toddler to shower and get dressed together. I have a feeling the warden John was off site for the second 2 days of our stay so maybe this was why things were slipping a little.

As for the games room, my husband described it as a table games cemetery! Not great.

The laundry / dish washing area was OK, again could do with a bit of a clean especially the bin.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fayety 5 reviews from this member

Lovely view, shame about the facilities.

If you are thinking of towing your caravan to this site be warned, the view comes at the cost of driving up very steep, narrow roads!

The warden has a very laid back approach to camping and has no set times for you to arrive or depart. There is no extra charge for putting up your awning or electric hook up.

The site appeared to be ok with very short grass & gravel paths but the toilet arrangements left a lot to be desired. Cleaning was supposed to take place every day at 11. 00 but the smell of stale urine and the grime in the sinks made us feel that there was no evidence of cleaning taking place at all. The showers were adequate with plenty of hot water.

There is no local shop, pub or facilities & town is a 15min drive away so you do feel as though you have left the world behind, this makes it a very tranquil spot.

This site has the potential to be a great place for a quiet get away, especially with its proximity to Hadrian's Wall but the facilities let it down. I know it was only £17. 00 per night but I would still expect a proper level of cleanliness to be maintained.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vandersar19 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely site. Right on the rails of the racecourse, shame the weather wasn't as good. Site is well kept and looked after by John. The facilities block is clean and tidy if a bit dated. The showers work and are nice and hot with plenty of space. Good games room for the little kids and big kids. Pool table, air hockey, table tennis, table football and flat screen telly on the wall. Excellent pot wash room and laundry. The site itself is on a slope and a bit uneven but plenty of level ground to pitch on. Site was quite busy due to races being on but nice and quiet in the evenings and mornings. Play area for kids, swings roundabouts etc. Mile and half into Hexham but it is all downhill, 5/6 pound for a taxi back.

John is a lovely bloke and is always around, on the Saturday night he was on duty at the races fixing the fences.

£17 per night with EHU Bank holiday weekend.

Overall great site, we loved it and will be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lottyj 4 reviews from this member

Come off the B6305 onto Yarridge Road and try to avoid coming off the B6305 onto Dipton Mill Road as it's rather a steep climb to say the least!

If the weather is good you'll be in for a treat as the views are great !

The toilets/showers are old but were clean, the water in the showers was lovely and hot with loads of space and hooks for your bits and bobs and they are free to use!

Hexham is 5 mins drive away and has loads of lovely little shops, a market, pubs, large retail stores and supermarkets.

The warden is a lovely friendly bloke, really really helpful, he was there to help straight away when we tripped the electric AND when we got stuck on the water logged pitch due to heavy rains, with his tractor. We will return soon :-)

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 247 reviews from this member

A perfectly acceptable site with rather dated but ok facilities, plenty of space and hot water in the showers, clean loos always with toilet paper. Bins in the facilities are emptied regularly.

The site itself is full of caravans which are mostly empty, families descend upon the site for the race meetings. The races can be viewed from the site, so no need to pay to enter unless you want to. It is a different experience sitting in your caravanning chair with a glass of wine whilst watching horse racing.

There are also a few caravans which are used by workmen, not a problem. The site has CCTV.

The roads to the site all seem to be up a big hill, unless you go miles out of your way, but not really a problem. The site itself is quite undulating so choose your pitch with care (there are a few hardstandings but even here you will probably need your chocks). Friendly helpful service, grass cut often and bins emptied often. Would use again if in the area, it's in a good location.

Hexham is attractive, has a large Tesco down by the river and a huge Sunday afternoon car boot sale at the stock market.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tojomccann 2 reviews from this member

We have used this site 3 or 4 times since it was recommended by a friend. The site warden is very friendly and helpful. I am retired and my wife works shifts so our 'weekend' can be 2 or more days at any time. It is only 80 miles from home and it is easy to just hook up and go at the drop of a hat. We arrived one time when there was a race meeting and we expected to pay a higher rate but that was not the case. We had a pitch looking onto the course and were able to watch all the races. Hexham itself is a lovely little town with all the local amenities including a large Sunday market/car boot sale. We will probably go back 2 or 3 times this season. There is a nice area to walk the dogs down by the river.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: RJEPhoto 8 reviews from this member

I visited the site with my girlfriend for a weekend in early September. The site was easy to find as the racecourse is signposted from Hexham town centre.

Cons first to get the negatives out of the way:

-The toilet block whilst clean, seems very dated and basic, akin to how I remember the school sports changing rooms in the 80's!, I have stayed in campsites where the facilities are much more modern for the same cost or less per night (this campsite is £18pn for 2 people);

-Same with the wash area;

Pros now!

-Very friendly site manager with lots of decent local knowledge, let me leave the tent up until after 5pm on the day we left, so very flexible it seems;

-Site has great views, as it's located up on a hill above the town;

-Only a couple of miles outside of Hexham, so easily within walking distance;

-Clean and tidy camping field;

-Hardly any light pollution, so great views of the stars at night.

There is also a 'community' room with a pool table and other games.

In all, I would stay there again and would recommend it to others-not the most fancy site by far, but we were happy with our stay.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Europa555 11 reviews from this member

What a cracker! Some previous reviews were quite scathing of this sight which had us being a bit wary. First impressions when coming of the main road was Oh No, but after getting set up and having had a good look round things improved.

True: the junk lying around and piles of rubbish at the entrance give it a depressed look.

True: the buildings don't do anything to improve the picture.

But also True: facilities were very clean. Good showers with loads of hot water and the views were marvellous.

Also True: Loads of room between caravans, no charge for awnings.

Over and above that things were very good with the only big problems being the wind, the bricked up area around the waste water point which made emptying difficult and some large potholes which are best avoided. Certainly pay another visit to this site.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peregrine6 1 review from this member

Stayed here for two nights, and we are going back this weekend the one after and the one after that!

There isnt much on the site, but that's why we absolutely loved it, a nice peaceful site, friendly people and reasonably priced. What more could you want?

There is a small park, and a games room with a pool table, tv and ping pong table.

There is nowhere on site to get any food but that doesn't bother us in the slightest, Hexham is 5 mins drive away and has a variety of shops/supermarkets.

The toilets/showers are a little dated but are clean, the water was red hot every time I used the showers, and they are free to use!

The warden is a lovely bloke, very helpful, the only downside to the site is the fact it can get very windy as its exposed, but I bet when the weathers good its one of the best places to be, the views are great

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

Hadn't read the reviews before coming. Planned to stay several nights, but stayed only one as we really didn't like the site. In this, we differ from all the reviews so I have tried to think why. Agree the views are cracking. Yes, the manager was pleasant, when we paid £17 for grass pitch and EHU next morning. The office had closed before we arrived, all the many seasonal caravans were empty bar one at the other end of the site, the racecourse buildings were in darkness; so it felt as if the site was closed, and it was a bit spooky (like being in an empty house).

The main problem was that the site needs TLC - we thought the toilet block was run down, unkempt and untidy outside; inside it was cold and unwelcoming, and the surfaces and floors needed a deep clean. Hexham is lovely, but when we return we will try one of the other sites in the area, leaving our pitch here for others to enjoy.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4159 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019