Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Haggerston Castle Caravan Park (haven Holidays)

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > Northumberland > Berwick Upon Tweed > Haggerston Castle Caravan Park (haven Holidays) > Reviews

Haggerston Castle Caravan Park (haven Holidays)
Boal
Berwick Upon Tweed
Northumberland   (Browse area)
TD15 2RA
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 156
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/01/2025
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 85 Reviews
                6/10 from 85 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: ElizabethRorison 1 review from this member

 Gents toilets were disgusting, my grandson came back wrenching, excrement was everywhere, my husband went to check and was disgusted at the sight.

Ladies toilets although nothing as bad as the gents needs upgraded and checked on a regular basis 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Josie2867 4 reviews from this member

 Very disappointed in the touring pitch we were allocated, no grass area for the awning,

And very little room to put up a windbreaker, so hardly any space to sit outside, we felt cramped,

The the people before had left the remains of a barbecue which hadnít been cleaned up, we had to do it ourselves, the toilet blocks were very dated, . They were very scruffy and not very clean.

The chippy is overpriced and ours ended up in the bin they were terrible. So needles to say we will not be staying there again. I never give bad feedback nor have I had reason to. Up until now.

A bad experience to say the least. 


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Compas4461 7 reviews from this member

 Booked for 7 nights left after 5

Mash and barrel was food waste lying on decking ie chicken bones and other food waste staff just stepped over it, and guess why we saw rats

Touring area just as bad, and drainage on pitches need upgraded. had rain, awning had puddles in it

Would I go back no chance 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daisy22 2 reviews from this member

 Left after 3 days. Camped for 40 years and this has to be the worst campsite ever.

Toilet and shower blocks filthy, a dirty nappy lay outside one of the blocks for the whole of our visit.

Fighting on sight on the Saturday night, police with a van and two cars in attendance in the morning.

Gypsies on sight and despite knowing they left there dogs out all the time and at times unattended the warden let them extend their stay. They were also singing and drinking loudly on all 3 nights. Their children ran wild till very late at night. They hired a quad cycle which weíre supposed to be adult supervision but let there kids race round on it unsupervised. We narrowly avoided a collision with it. They left rubbish everywhere and let their dogs pooh anywhere and did not pick it up.

Pitches small and tightly spaced and the stones used for hard standing totally unsuitable.

Warden was pleasant but did not have a clue how to run a site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sharon Stansfield 6 reviews from this member

 Great site. Nice and clean. Would definitely recommend.

Great location for exploring Northumberland. Friendly staff too.

Great pool too which we used twice. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tamglasgow 16 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Haggerston in about 20 Years and we weren't disappointed. We were wary due to the Covid-19 restrictions but fair play to Haven, they were on the ball with hourly shower block cleans.

A lot of the facilities like pubs, entertainment etc. Weren't on but that didn't bother us at all. It was great to see kids all out having fun outdoors.

Site was clean and the supermarket well stocked but pricey as usual for these sites, chippy was minging I have to say.

I would certainly return.

Tip: For shopping, head to Berwick. Loads of shops at proper prices. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Krismcewan 13 reviews from this member

 This is our 3rd Visit to Hagerston this year. For us its an hours drive from home and we can be there checked in and everything setup within 2 hours. Which is great for leaving after work to get in an extra night.

Haggerston touring site is well placed far enough away to be quiet and close enough for a 5 min walk to the complex. However you need to drive to be able to get to Berwick and its amenities. There are buses however.

Site pitches are good with a hard standing and gravel for awning. There are points dropped for the fact you sometimes get fully serviced pitches and sometime ones without drainage. Also people have cottoned on to the fact they over state the caravan length and they get a bigger pitch.

Seen several sub 20ft vans on pitches for 25ft+ vans. As such my friends who have a 24ft van were crammed into a smallish pitch.

We will be back.

The complex with all it has to offer suits us and we enjoy the cheesy entertainment and bingo as well as sitting in the sports bar witching tv. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alan551 12 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a week in July check in was fine really pleasant warden allocated us our pitch, which is just a slab of concrete with some type 2 at the side for your awning to go on.

Toilet blocks were cleaned daily by the warden who seems to have to do everything on site from booking people in showing them their pitches checking pitches everyday and cleaning toilets so they don't get a deep clean.

The week we were there 1 toilet block was out of commission for 5 days. Site is very big and clubs showbars pool etc are all a short walk from touring section.

My biggest complaint about Haggerston is the ammount of fibres floating about the area after the Duvets and pillows from the static caravans and lodges have been washed and dried in the laundrettes. This happens most days and can be very annoying. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AMATEUR 10 reviews from this member

 We got a great deal from Haven, around £9 per night for a longer stay. The welcome was friendly and the facilities are good. Pitches are level with EHU. Good facilities including Swimming pool, plenty for kids, a golf course, horse riding, entertainment, shop, bar, restaurant.

What letís it down are the showers and toilets. They are filthy and hardly cleaned. I noticed after the evening cleaning had been done, the floors were still filthy but they had put blue loo cleaner down the toilets.

During our stay it wasnít too busy, but when full it must be awful. Otherwise a good site, but badly let down on cleanliness.

Thereís loads to do in the area, with great walks and beaches. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hath 9 reviews from this member

 Booked here as we wanted a local site with in a couple hours. We paid £40 for 5 nights with awning and dog.

Firstly I have to agree with some of the previous reviews about pitch sizes, these were really small struggling to get van, awning and car on pitch. The hard standing for awning was horrible, large stones that we struggled to get rock pegs in.

Toilets and showers were excellent and very clean at all times even with it being so wet. One down side was were you got water and emptied waste water, this surrounded by grass between caravans and after heavy rain began to get muddy could do with a path to it.

Warden was really helpful with everything. Shop on site wasn't too badly priced, certainly seen a lot more expensive on other sites. Cant really comment on entertainment as we didn't go but we did have a meal at the mash and barrel (think that was the name) and must admit it was really nice and really not that badly priced for the kind of site your on.

My only gripe why do places use frozen chips ??? would I use again probably for the price. 


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Haggerston Castle Caravan Park (haven Holidays) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Haggerston Castle Caravan Park (haven Holidays) have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Haggerston Castle Caravan Park (haven Holidays)?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Haggerston Castle Caravan Park (haven Holidays) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Berwick Upon Tweed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2449 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement