Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Proctors Stead Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Proctors Stead Caravan Park
Proctors Stead
Dunstan,
Craster,
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 3TF
Tel: 01665 576433  or  07841 716829
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: 28/03/2019 - 03/11/2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 160 Reviews
                8/10 from 160 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (4)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  160 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peterpam 9 reviews from this member

This was the second time we have been to Proctorís Stead and we were not disappointed. The original pitch we were shown was a little bit too far away from the showers etc and the owners were very accommodating to let us move without any problems. The site is immaculate and we feel that criticisms of the toilet and shower block in other reviews are rather ď nit-pickingĒ and unfounded. The site is quiet most likely due to the absence of tents. Although there is Wi-Fi, the signal is inconsistent and would probably benefit from a booster aerial. Mobile phone signals are very poor but that isnít the fault of the site or itís owners. We really enjoyed our family weekend and we are positive we will return to this lovely site in the future. The surrounding area gets top marks too.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The-Aged-Traveller 8 reviews from this member

Just re-visited since last year, I'm pleased to see that it's still going strong and they've added more pitches all with EHU. Love this site, nearest pub is The Cottage Inn and I think it's a better pub than the Jolly's in Craster Village more choice for the kids to eat and not as expensive for food or drink, add to that a large lawned area with picnic tables at the rear and a playground for the little ones and dog friendly. Easy walk to the castle and a good walk to Embleton beyond the castle.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mmaile 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site. Plenty of room, very clean and a good price. Lovely staff and owners. Dunstan burgh (English heritage) is a lovely walk along the coastal path. There is a very popular pub in Craster selling a variety of seafood etc, and there is a lovely pub just a short stroll from the campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CVM17 10 reviews from this member

We love the Northumberland coast and are regular visitors to Proctors Stead. A lovely site but which does not drain well after heavy rain. That said it is a case of surface water rather than soft ground and we have never had a problem.

The facilities might be described by some as quaint or old-fashioned, but always well-maintained and clean. The easy-to-use grey water drainage point for motorhomes is a welcome facility that many sites lack. Hot water at washing up sinks is somewhat erratic to say the least!

The perfect location for coastal walking and there is a stop on the regular Coast & Castles bus route just 10 minutes from the site. One pub 10 minutes from the site, and another about a mile away by the harbour and opposite Robson's smokehouse (kippers to die for).

A quiet site in a great location, we will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Manj 15 reviews from this member

Have just returned after having a lovely holiday here. We stayed several years ago and were just as pleased this time round. It is a family run site, who were all very friendly and helpful. The site remains mainly grass pitches which is a pleasant change from a lot of sites nowadays which are resembling car parks more and more, with hardly any grass between the pitches. Ok the toilets may be a bit dated but they were always clean [cleaned between 6 and 7 every morning] and were very spacious. Showers were 10p for 6 minutes which was more than enough time and plenty hot water. The local pub was just a 5 minute walk away, dog friendly and serving good food. Lots to see and do in the surrounding area so this site is very central. Would return in a heartbeat.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JMurphy 5 reviews from this member

We stayed for 5 nights and had a great time but we've stayed many times before so we knew it would be nice. The facilities, as usual, were always clean and well maintained. The site is very level and is always kept in good condition. A few basic items are available to purchase at the farm house. The site is in a great location for exploring the coast by car, on foot or by bike. Plus it is nice and quiet in the evenings too.

Some of the earlier comments are a bit unkind; the reason that tents are no longer allowed is that the lovely chap who ran the site has passed away and now his elderly wife and family are running it to keep it open for the public. Some of us appreciate that gesture and wish them every success.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The-Aged-Traveller 8 reviews from this member

Visited here again, second time this year, following on from another review I agree the Elson disposal point is not fit for purpose very messy definitely needs updating. I had not noticed the last time I was here but they no longer take tents or trailer tents and I think they've reduced the amount of caravans they take in, is this the begining of the end for this little gem of a site.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmn 12 reviews from this member

Lovely mature site near Craster. The Cottage Inn is within walking distance (5 minutes) of the site and offers great food.

Craster itself is a bit further away. We drove to the car park outside Craster and walked in. Dunstanburgh Castle is a further 1. 5 mile walk along the coast. English Heritage charge to see the ruins.

Alnwick is a short drive away for the gardens and castle.

The site is well kept with the only criticism being that the toilet disposal point is also the waste water disposal point, so there are usually queues. It's very badly designed (channel in the concrete) and needs overhauled. With tents no longer allowed on this site, they should really do away with the dishwashing area and put in a proper hygenic elsan point.

Cant comment on the rest of the facilities as we used our own.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The-Aged-Traveller 8 reviews from this member

Great little site, toilets could do with updating but OK, nice walks to castle and some good pubs close at hand.

Only one gripe IRRESPONSIBLE dog owners who DO NOT keep their dogs on leads and allowed them to foul on main field and run around. Would come back

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bellaruss 6 reviews from this member

Excellent week on this site. Spacious pitches, helpful and friendly owners. You can buy milk and eggs on site, but it's only 6 miles to sainsburys in Alnwick. They sold strawberry milkshake on the site, and one day when it was sold out, the owner gave her son a call, who happens to be the milkman, to bring some more down later in the afternoon!

Lovely location. You can walk from the site to dunstanburgh castle, and there's also a no car cycle path from the site directly to embleton sands beach. Perfect for the kids.

Our only gripe was that the toilet block was extremely well used over the bank holiday weekend and so not as clean and well maintained as would have liked.

Previous     160 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Northumberland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win Duvulay Luxury Sleeping Bags worth £560!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3958 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £369 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £780

Open Today's Window to reveal Today's Prize





0.0977