Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Proctors Stead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Alnwick > Proctors Stead Caravan Park Reviews

Proctors Stead Caravan Park
Proctors Stead
Dunstan,
Craster,
Alnwick
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE66 3TF
Tel: 01665 576613
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 26/03 - 01/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 167 Reviews
                8/10 from 167 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (10)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  167 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: BarryHocking 1 review from this member

 Pleasant spacious site with well spaced pitches, well tended and facilities OK if a little dated.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

Great walks direct from the site with plenty of things of interest 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Outfortheweekend 4 reviews from this member

 Very peaceful caravan site, set in lovely countryside with tidy facilities.

Owners very friendly, provided good advice on walking routes (free os map print outs of area) and reception stocks a few camping essentials like ice cream.

Site was immaculate with the grass mowed daily it seemed! Amazing for star gazing, not much artificial lighting on site. Shower block although old fashion, has room to change and leave clothes then separate areas for shower. 10p for 6 minutes perfectly adequate for me but Mrs needed x2, I tried 3 showers and all needed a different number on electric shower for optimum temp!

Access to arguably the best coast line in country; we visited Craster, Newton-By-Sea, Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth on this visit but have travelled to many great places in area previously.

Local pub Cottage Inn has great garden and ok play area, pub food and reasonable prices well within walking distance.

Possibly the quietest site at night weíve been on, would visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Stylus92 6 reviews from this member

 This site is one of my all time favourites. It is in a great location on the magnificent and relatively quiet Northumberland coast, it is kept in excellent condition, and everyone is so friendly.

The site is level and well maintained, the only slight negative being that the toilet block is rather old. It is however kept clean and well looked after.

The area has some fabulous walks and a spectacular coastline. The walk to the north from Craster, past the ruins of Dunstanburgh castle and on to Newton is stunning. Further afield towns and villages such as Amble, Alnwick, Alnmouth, Warkworth and others are well worth visiting.

Nearby is the excellent Cottage inn, and just down the road in Craster is another pub, a restaurant, a tea room and some other shops.

We just keep coming back. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gail-force 11 reviews from this member

 I love this site, it's close to a beautiful coastline, quaint fishing village and a ruined castle (and some excellent pubs). And it's not commercialized, which so many coastal sites are. The site itself is immaculate, the toilet blocks clean and spacious and the pitches have plenty of room between units.

We were in The Croft which is a small offshoot of the main site and very quiet. Although to be fair, the whole site was peaceful and relaxed.

I'll not go into the facilities, as they have been more than covered by other reviews, suffice to say they are very good and clean.

Myself and my mum had a brilliant time there and I'd recommend it to anyone as a base to tour Northumberland or just somewhere to unwind. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jakeboy2 2 reviews from this member

 Good well kept site. Good clean toilets. Camp shop. Friendly owners. Good value.

Lack of water and waste drains in middle and lower fields. And. No facilities.

Mean elderly and disabled people have a long walk to empty waste etc. And shower.

But a very good site. Easy fix. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: The-Aged-Traveller 9 reviews from this member

 Still love this little site always a pleasure to visit Ian and Sally always welcoming and friendly,

However the elsan disposable point still a bit of a problem needs a re-think. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Les123 4 reviews from this member

 Proctors stead is not far Craster town. Ian and Sally are the owners, very helpful.

Ina motorhome, 2 people, no pets for us but they were allowed with the usual rules for them. Awnings were allowed but no tents. Our pitch was big enough, hard standing.

The site is kept very clean and tidy. Toilet facilities were clean between 6 and 7 am, so no problem there as we were still sleeping. No daft noises waking us up.

Toilet facilities were very good are single cubicles as are the showers. What I liked about the showers were was the area where you strip off is to the side in the cubicle, no chance of your clothes getting wet. The shower has a curtain and was a power shower. Really nice and long enough for the 10p your pay for 6 mins, very reasonable.

Dishwashing area very good.

Separate washroom with enough sinks, hand wash and hand lotion.

Water taps at both ends of the amenities. Bins for your rubbish. Disposable of waste water and toilet good as well.

There was a little shop on site open 08. 30-7pm. Fridge with milk, bacon, sausages, cheese, other things and Alnwick butchers steak burgers, they were delicious. The freezer had pots of doddingtons ice cream -Alnwick ale flavour was very nice indeed, other ice cream lollies were available, didnít look any further into the freezer because the ice cream sold it for me. The shop also had crisps, jars of sauces, pasta, chocolate, really quite a collection of things.

Got a card when we checked in with some doís and doníts. Free WiFi which. Always helps. Good tv reception.

£22 a night. Checkin 1pm, check out 12 noon.

We have electric bikes so no walking for us but it does have Great coastal walks to Embleton, Craster and Alnmouth. Dunstable castle a walk to that. Entrance for adults £6. 70. But on the coastal path we could see the castle just fine.

Embleton has 2 pubs, the Grey Hen £6. 00 for 2 pints, food 12-3 and 6-9 pm. The Bluebell is also a Sambuca restaurant, special on £7. 95 for 3 courses 12-5 pm which we had with Peroni lager went down very well, and impressed.

Craster has a pub didnít go into it and a cafe, nice to cycle through but not much there for us.

You could cycle along to the Howick Art Exhibition, Not for us but lovely grounds it is in.

Pub the cottage inn was along the road about a 10-15 min walk. Live singer on, on a Saturday night.

First time we have been and will be going again, had such a fantastic time, lots of people stopped to say hello, very friendly people. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Peterpam 9 reviews from this member

 This was the second time we have been to Proctorís Stead and we were not disappointed.

The original pitch we were shown was a little bit too far away from the showers etc and the owners were very accommodating to let us move without any problems. The site is immaculate and we feel that criticisms of the toilet and shower block in other reviews are rather ď nit-pickingĒ and unfounded.

The site is quiet most likely due to the absence of tents. Although there is Wi-Fi, the signal is inconsistent and would probably benefit from a booster aerial.

Mobile phone signals are very poor but that isnít the fault of the site or itís owners. We really enjoyed our family weekend and we are positive we will return to this lovely site in the future.

The surrounding area gets top marks too. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: The-Aged-Traveller 9 reviews from this member

 Just re-visited since last year, I'm pleased to see that it's still going strong and they've added more pitches all with EHU.

Love this site, nearest pub is The Cottage Inn and I think it's a better pub than the Jolly's in Craster Village more choice for the kids to eat and not as expensive for food or drink, add to that a large lawned area with picnic tables at the rear and a playground for the little ones and dog friendly.

Easy walk to the castle and a good walk to Embleton beyond the castle. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mmaile 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site. Plenty of room, very clean and a good price. Lovely staff and owners. Dunstan burgh (English heritage) is a lovely walk along the coastal path.

There is a very popular pub in Craster selling a variety of seafood etc, and there is a lovely pub just a short stroll from the campsite. 


Previous     167 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Proctors Stead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Proctors Stead Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Proctors Stead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alnwick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4514 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020