Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hillcroft Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Hillcroft Park Reviews

Hillcroft Park
Roe Head Lane
Pooley Bridge
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2LT
Tel: 01768 486363
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 62 Reviews
                9/10 from 62 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  62 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Twidal 1 review from this member

 Well positioned site : very well maintained : g

Ood flat pitches and easy access and departure

Easy reach to nearby Pooley Bridge.

Will probably book again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Seasidewill 1 review from this member

 Good points: good sanitation block, spacious pitches, short walk to Pooley Bridge

Bad points: Attracts lots of large groups at weekends in tents & pods. Loud shouting and screaming until late. Camping field sloping and muddy. Cars parked all over the place. Poor access to water tap for motorhome unless you pay for a superior pitch. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lynng7 1 review from this member

 The campsite was very well organised due to the covid 19, the cleanliness was outstanding, showers, toilets, sinks, even to the outdoor sinks for dishes was immaculate,

I will be recommending the site to a few friends who also caravan, and camp, highly recommended,

Staff were so helpful and very chatty, made my husband and I feel really welcome, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Debbie65 28 reviews from this member

 Hillcroft Park is situated about a 10/15 min walk from the picturesque village of Pooley Bridge, on the shores of Ullswater.

Site is hilly, with a mixture of statics, camping fields, camping pods, and a range of touring pitch types. It has a small shop on site and there is a small basic village store for other essentials, very limited, but Penrith (about 15 min drive away) has usual selection of larger supermarkets.

Entrance to the site is via quite a steep hill, and the main route through all the site is steep and uphill. Walking in to Pooley Bridge is a dawdle, walking back a bit more of a challenge.

We had booked a Super Pitch in the Buttermere area of the site, described on their website as follows: "These ‘Super Pitches’ are all hardstanding with generous space around each pitch to set out chairs and tables to enjoy the very best of Lakeland weather. " More about that in a minute.

Site well maintained although bins were overflowing at many times throughout our 8 night stay. Grounds were nice, hanging baskets, etc. Very busy with campers, families, but noise was nonexistent after about 9. 30pm each night and its nice to see the families playing.

Good social distancing measures in place in the toilet/shower block, with a kind of "clock in/clock out" system, plenty of hand sanitiser available and a mask needed when in the toilet/shower block. Never had to queue for a shower although it did look busy at times. There was usually a helpful attendant outside the block who quite rightly enforced the mask and other protocols.

Toilets/showers: we used the new block, and generally, it was pretty spectacular. Shower cubicles very spacious, shower hot and powerful, not push button as such, more of a sensor, easy to operate and with temperature control. Shower cubicles need at least 1 more hook, and there is no partition between showering area and drying area, so the floor does get very wet where you are standing to get dry. Despite the best efforts of the cleaner, the shower floors in particular were mainly filthy. Hair, mud, leaves etc. Nothing to mop or squeegee this away with before or after your shower, so you are walking in to the previous person's muck when you go for a shower.

If you've a dog, no off lead dog walking nearby and any walk you do will incur a hilly climb back up to the site at some point. Turning left at the exit from the site, and walking up hill for 20 mins or so, does take you on to Barton Fell. Stunning scenery, but still not suitable for off lead walking as there are a lot of sheep. Wasn't a problem for our pooch but some may want an off lead option.

Now, the hardstanding pitch. Ours was fairly level, water, electric and drainage all accessible. Space was adequate, I've seen worse, seen better. If putting up an awning you will need rock pegs! Talk about hardstanding! Goodness me, this was like pitching up on rubble! Large, sharp, uncomfortable stones which were over all the surface of the pitch. Awful. So sharp and horrible that sitting outside was not comfortable on the feet, and our awning carpet was ripped to shreds. I even had to dig out a razor sharp stone that had completely cut through the rubber sole of my shoe and was embedded.

Nice enough View from the pitch and we enjoyed the cockadoodledoo of the rooster.

Great location, although the steep climb to site might be difficult for some

Well maintained (apart from shower floors)

Friendly staff team

Awful hardstanding super pitches. Would not return for this very reason. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Zippy3 1 review from this member

 The site is well set out and the staff are lovely and have followed the social distancing measures well.

The toilet/shower block was immaculate. Plan on returning as soon as we can.

We would definitely recommend it. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stewart00 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed for four nights in a family pod, with typical lakes weather (torrential rain). Pod was a good size, site itself is immaculate, and can't sing the praises of the toilet/shower block highly enough. Definitely the cleanest and best quality I've seen in 20 years of camping.

Perfect location, lovely walk into Pooley Bridge, although the climb back up into the campsite could cause problems for people with mobility problems.

The village itself has a good selection of pubs/cafes/shops all geared up for the numerous campsites on the area.

Can't wait to go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BevandJohn 3 reviews from this member

 We visited for just one night whilst touring and what a cracking campsite this is. We got a 'Super' pitch for £23 with it's own tap, grey water disposal but also a TV booster which meant my TV tuned in to every one of the freeview channels without needing the aerial cable.

The pitches were huge with great views over the site and the nearby fells. The site has had a major refurbishment which really shows and everything is very good quality including the shower block.

The facilities were state of the art with underfloor heating and even a countryside soundtrack playing in them with birdsong etc.

It is quite a climb from the village up to the site and the site is also sloped so it might be difficult for the less fit. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nnnccc 17 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fabulous site catering for all sorts. Statics, tents, motorhomes, caravans and pods so something for everyone. Excellent location within easy walking distance of Pooley Bridge which is lovely but can get very, very busy but well worth a visit.

Had our motorhome & car and pitched on one of the super pitches so absolutely loads of room and great views over site but do take good pegs if pegging anything down as hardstanding is exactly what it says and bent a few pegs so know for next time. Water, drain & tv point on pitch all very useful as well.

Very close to new toilet block and this was something else. Fantastic, everything you could need, huge showers, plenty of hot water, spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard by staff. Pot wash area directly behind toilets and again excellent though do watch out for taps as water pressure quite high and soaked numerous times.

Only ever had to queue at toilets a couple of times but at weekends and I would imagine school holidays this gets so busy due to it's popularity so to be expected but don't let that put you off.

Probably the only negative thing I would say and this is nothing to do with site is the amount of children running about unsupervised on road, racing round toilet block, particularly between ladies and gents on bikes & scooters. Almost hit a few times whilst visiting toilets.

Maybe some signs put in place or something to stop them racing through gap. Almost reversed out onto some kids who appeared from nowhere on scooters and had to chase a young girl who was climbing on fence on our pitch right next to sign saying not too so. We are parents but no way would we let our kids run about the way these were. Just surprised there hasn't been any accidents.

Anyway, enough about that, visit this site it is lovely. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mickcaro 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 nights here over a busy bank holiday weekend.

It's a huge park, about 2 thirds statics and lodges with 2 camping fields, pods and 2 caravan areas. The whole park is clean, tidy and well looked after and there are always friendly staff about. Handy shop for essentials and fresh coffee, and a large play area and ball field for the kids.

We booked one of the new super pitches at the top and it was enormous. Space for the caravan, awning and 2 cars, with water and drainage and a tv aerial point. Lovely views looking down over the park and across the valley with a glimpse of the lake. The only minor niggle was that the hard standing consisted of very large chunks of rock and slate which isn't great under the groundsheet, especially with a toddler.

I don't normally rave about shower facilities but the brand new shower/loo block is amazing. Stone floors, powerful hot (free) showers with motion sensors, loads of space for changing and I never once had to queue despite how busy it was. Hairdryers in both the women's and men's, huge potwash area outside and even a special doggy shower outside. They also have luxurious private bathrooms with jacuzzi baths that you can rent per night.

The location is great, 10 minutes walk from Pooley Bridge with lots of walks on the doorstep and beautiful views down the lake towards Helvellyn. You can catch the steamer from Pooley Bridge and stop at various points around the lake. 3 nice pubs and a couple of cafes and shops. About 15 minutes drive to Penrith. A totally relaxing few days and I'd recommend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tibbs1cat 3 reviews from this member

 Went with my wife and 3 kids, Never again! the pitch was mud and needs leveling out, Ball games all day against our tent from as early as 7:30! A hot tub nearby at a static that was humming on and off all night keeping us all awake, the owners were there and never even used it! a groundsman said he would tell reception and get it sorted, well if he did nothing was done about it!

Seems if you're camping, nobody seems to care! We also booked on the understanding the new facilities would be open, they were not! they managed to get all the extra new hard standing done though to make the already over used toilet/shower block even worse! one night there was no toilet roll! we left tired and feeling we needed a weeks holiday just to catch up on our sleep! when you pay nearly £200 you at least expect a decent QUIET nights sleep! 


Previous     62 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hillcroft Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hillcroft Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hillcroft Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1223 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement