Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hillcroft Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Hillcroft Park
Roe Head Lane
Pooley Bridge
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2LT
Tel: 01768 486363
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 75
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 56 Reviews
                9/10 from 56 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BevandJohn 3 reviews from this member

We visited for just one night whilst touring and what a cracking campsite this is. We got a 'Super' pitch for 23 with it's own tap, grey water disposal but also a TV booster which meant my TV tuned in to every one of the freeview channels without needing the aerial cable. The pitches were huge with great views over the site and the nearby fells. The site has had a major refurbishment which really shows and everything is very good quality including the shower block. The facilities were state of the art with underfloor heating and even a countryside soundtrack playing in them with birdsong etc. It is quite a climb from the village up to the site and the site is also sloped so it might be difficult for the less fit.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nnnccc 11 reviews from this member

Absolutely fabulous site catering for all sorts. Statics, tents, motorhomes, caravans and pods so something for everyone. Excellent location within easy walking distance of Pooley Bridge which is lovely but can get very, very busy but well worth a visit.

Had our motorhome & car and pitched on one of the super pitches so absolutely loads of room and great views over site but do take good pegs if pegging anything down as hardstanding is exactly what it says and bent a few pegs so know for next time. Water, drain & tv point on pitch all very useful as well. Very close to new toilet block and this was something else. Fantastic, everything you could need, huge showers, plenty of hot water, spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard by staff. Pot wash area directly behind toilets and again excellent though do watch out for taps as water pressure quite high and soaked numerous times. Only ever had to queue at toilets a couple of times but at weekends and I would imagine school holidays this gets so busy due to it's popularity so to be expected but don't let that put you off.

Probably the only negative thing I would say and this is nothing to do with site is the amount of children running about unsupervised on road, racing round toilet block, particularly between ladies and gents on bikes & scooters. Almost hit a few times whilst visiting toilets. Maybe some signs put in place or something to stop them racing through gap. Almost reversed out onto some kids who appeared from nowhere on scooters and had to chase a young girl who was climbing on fence on our pitch right next to sign saying not too so. We are parents but no way would we let our kids run about the way these were. Just surprised there hasn't been any accidents.

Anyway, enough about that, visit this site it is lovely.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickcaro 6 reviews from this member

Just returned from 4 nights here over a busy bank holiday weekend.

It's a huge park, about 2 thirds statics and lodges with 2 camping fields, pods and 2 caravan areas. The whole park is clean, tidy and well looked after and there are always friendly staff about. Handy shop for essentials and fresh coffee, and a large play area and ball field for the kids.

We booked one of the new super pitches at the top and it was enormous. Space for the caravan, awning and 2 cars, with water and drainage and a tv aerial point. Lovely views looking down over the park and across the valley with a glimpse of the lake. The only minor niggle was that the hard standing consisted of very large chunks of rock and slate which isn't great under the groundsheet, especially with a toddler.

I don't normally rave about shower facilities but the brand new shower/loo block is amazing. Stone floors, powerful hot (free) showers with motion sensors, loads of space for changing and I never once had to queue despite how busy it was. Hairdryers in both the women's and men's, huge potwash area outside and even a special doggy shower outside. They also have luxurious private bathrooms with jacuzzi baths that you can rent per night.

The location is great, 10 minutes walk from Pooley Bridge with lots of walks on the doorstep and beautiful views down the lake towards Helvellyn. You can catch the steamer from Pooley Bridge and stop at various points around the lake. 3 nice pubs and a couple of cafes and shops. About 15 minutes drive to Penrith. A totally relaxing few days and I'd recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tibbs1cat 3 reviews from this member

Went with my wife and 3 kids, Never again! the pitch was mud and needs leveling out, Ball games all day against our tent from as early as 7:30! A hot tub nearby at a static that was humming on and off all night keeping us all awake, the owners were there and never even used it! a groundsman said he would tell reception and get it sorted, well if he did nothing was done about it!

Seems if you're camping, nobody seems to care! We also booked on the understanding the new facilities would be open, they were not! they managed to get all the extra new hard standing done though to make the already over used toilet/shower block even worse! one night there was no toilet roll! we left tired and feeling we needed a weeks holiday just to catch up on our sleep! when you pay nearly 200 you at least expect a decent QUIET nights sleep!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Barty38 1 review from this member

We stayed in a pod on this beautiful campsite, we had a wonderful time on our mini break here. The toilet block was clean and tidy, we noticed a new block in the process of being built which is good to see for future visitors. The staff were extremely friendly and all in all we couldn't fault the experience.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newnatjj 19 reviews from this member

Two adults, two kids (aged 16 & 13) plus dog, Gelert Bliss 4 & EHU.

Returned from a nice 4 night stay at Hillcroft after one of the best online booking systems I have come across; you can choose the pitch you want as it shows you the ones that are available for the dates you've selected. We did arrive 45 minutes earlier than pitch time and although our pitch was empty we were asked to have a walk around the area and return for the allocated 12pm check in time.

Hillcroft Park is just a short walk away from Pooley Bridge which is a lovely village at the end of Ullswater. The village has lots of little shops, a post office, several pubs, a small camping shop (although this is up for sale so I don't know how long it will remain), tea rooms, lots of lovely walks along Ullswater, the river and woodland. You can also catch the Steamer which takes you to Glenridding. We did this and purchased an all day ticket, which allowed us to hop on/off at different piers along the lake; well worth the money. We did pay the additional cost on the steamer to allow us to go to Aira Force which was beautiful.

The site has two camping fields and then a large area of statics. We were pitched on the first field which also has camping pods, at the bottom of a slope. The camping fields are surrounded by shrubs/small trees. One word of advice would be not to park on the grass - we did this and our car got stuck! We were very lucky with the weather while we were there but I could imagine the field getting muddy and possibly boggy with a lot of rain.

The facilities are situated on the edge of the statics. There was plenty of showers and toilets. These were given a quick clean a couple of times a day, however I do feel they would benefit from a deep clean. You are able to adjust the temperature on the showers and these were powerful enough - no push buttons neither which was great! It is definitely a struggle getting dry & changed though - two hooks available and anything left on the floor of the tiny dry area ended up soaked. Washing up area is outside but these are under cover.

It cost 130 for 4 nights for the 4 of us, dog and electric. Fairly priced for the area, I would not be happy paying more for the site though.

There is a lovely play park for the kids, plenty of grass to play on, and wifi available at an additional cost. This was expensive - 6 per day or you could pay 12 for 3 days; anything to keep the teens happy though I guess!

Ullswater is a stunning location, which we will definitely return to - possibly staying at Hillcroft Park again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Davy / Jean 8 reviews from this member

Spent 4 great nights on this site, when arrived we were instructed of size of pitch & we explained it might be tight, we looked at pitch & this was to small, returned to reception & informed them it was to small, the lady on reception allocated the pitch next & said we could turn tent sideways, this was superb for our set up.

The site is very clean & well maintained, The location is great for a base in the lakes with all roads very easy accessed, Penrith is 6 miles away & has a go outdoors in case you need anything.

Poorley Bridge is a 5 minute walk,

The steamer pier is there & worth while purchasing a all day ticket this allows you to jump on & off the steamer also taking in some great sights of ullswater, Aira force is well worth visiting.

My only issue was Wifi that was chargeable where all sites now have this free.

We will be using this site as our base on further visits to the lakes

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Amanda.ferrol 2 reviews from this member

A lovely clean site, busy but not noisy and very friendly. Not over crowded and well maintained grounds. Handy little shop. Showers hot and powerful but could do with extra room to get ready as difficult to get dry in small area. Very handy to walk into village, good play area for kids. Pubs dog friendly with plenty outdoor sitting areas in nice weather. Lovely tearooms also dog friendly. Well stocked food shop and a lovely little gift shop.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: JMKB 1 review from this member

Me and my partner stayed in a pod for 5 nights for the first time, we really enjoyed our stay the pod was cosy and more roomy than we imagined, just the heater isn't very warm but in summer I doubt you would need it, the toilet and shower block was only 1 min away and very clean and tidy, great hot shower too, everything you need is just a 5 min drive or 10 min walk away, pooley bridge has 3 lovely pubs and a couple of cafes, there's also a couple of shops where you can get all you need. Penrith town centre is 15-20 min drive away where you have supermarkets and shops like any other city centre and is a great place to visit. All in all would definitely come back to hillcroft 5***** thank you x

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andy4x4 2 reviews from this member

Just back from our first trip to Hillcroft, We have stayed at various sites around Pooley Bridge before but seemed to have missed this site up until now but shall not be making this mistake again.

We booked and paid for our stay on the Hillcroft web site this had a fantastic option of selecting your pitch at the time of booking this can be done by looking at the site map available as a PDF down load, Booking and paying on line was so very easy and more sites should follow this example.

Booking in is from 12pm and we arrived about 12:30 to be greeted by very friendly staff who had all our details through the on line booking so no form filling etc was required so were heading to our pitch in under 5 mins.

We had decided on pitch 25 a grass pitch at the very top of the site it is a sight drag up to the touring pitches but nothing unmanageable, The top field has a gravel road way going around it with pitches all around. Ours was on a slope up from the road and was also sloping down to the left so levellers are required, We had some trouble with wet grass a rear wheel drive merc and a twin wheel caravan caused this but got in to position after a couple of wheel spins and runs up the little slope. The view from our pitch made all this worth while looking across ullswater lake to the hills beyond, EHU up was right behind us so no need for long EHU cable. Water was a very short stroll away so not an issue ether, lighting around the field was by bollards that gave enough light but not invasive.

Site facilities were a single larger WC and shower block this is a distance away from the top field and slightly dates but very clean. Waste point was very good and clean, chemical disposal point was Ok but very basic and in the open.

The site has a small shop with basics prices as with most sites were a bit over the odds. We did not have any kids with us but the play park looked very new and had lots of thing to do in it, There was also lots of room around our field for ball games etc.

As with other posts very easy walk in to Pooley bridge but remember take a torch at night and it is an uphill walk back.

In general a very nice site well maintained grounds and road ways with touring well separated from Pods and Statics we shall be staying again and are looking to book for August Very soon.

PS

Should say the pitch we had 25 and probably all the ones around us all have a cattle shed behind them when we were there the farmer was quite busy with cattle so a bit of noise from tractors and some cattle related smells etc but again this did not bother us.

Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4436 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!