Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Rochdale > Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park Reviews

Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park
Rakewood
Littleborough
Rochdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
OL15 0AS
Tel: 01706 378661
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 76 Reviews
                8/10 from 76 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stu1979 2 reviews from this member

Nice little campsite with everything you need. Small shop on site showers are a short walk but there is a toilet block on the camping field. Friendly helpful staff nice flat pitches and plenty to do just a short walk away from campsite
via mobile

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Doncaster76 12 reviews from this member

Hollingworth Lake was surprisingly nice.

Access to site is via narrow road around lake which is full of walkers. There is no strict time to arrive or depart - which means you run risk of caravan coming opposite direction. If you are good with reversing through crowds of people you may enjoy this.

When booking I asked what time we could arrive. The answer 'from before lunchtime'. No other instructions or advice given. Arrived at 12:10, reception closed and took several attempts to get answer from phone number stuck on window. Told to find pitch and pay in morning. We weren't told there was a code for toilet block - another camper gave us the code. Where is the customer service, a simple 'the reception will be closed at x time, you will need the code for the toilets, any problems ring x' would have been sufficient at time of booking.

Electricity tripped 7 times, meant to be 6amp. We had settings to restrict usage to 5amp, ran the heating and fridge from gas. And yet it tripped repeatedly.

Toilet block was never particularly clean. Admittedly it is Autumn and the tiles are white, but the wall heater was supposedly on a timer (never on) and the hot water taps never got hot. A decent door mat and provision of a mop would help cleanliness.

The whole site looks in need of TLC. Most seasonal pitches look like they have been there for years. A lot of caravans had building contractors in, arriving late with their vans and leaving early for work. My storage site is better maintained.

£15 a night with EHU might sound a bargain, but you get what you pay for at this site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayton 1 review from this member

Just spent a pleasant weekend here. The weather was lovely and the site was busy but not overcrowded, good size pitch. The lower toilet block is basic but I understand this is only temporary until a new block is finished. We paid £17 pn for ehu and awning which we thought was good value. It is worth noting that the electricity is 6amp.

We will definitely use the site again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mewssdns 2 reviews from this member

Disappointing. The site is mainly a fixed mobile home micro estate. The smallest cheapest I have ever seen, though the residents try their best to keep it smart. We thought £15 plus 50p per shower and no wifi a bit steep. Also there is often nobody on reception and the shop closed at 4pm! Driving in to the hardstanding down the narrow gap between the tiny homes was a squeeze for our Hymer B644. Only 6 amp electric and low water pressure. The walk around the lake (not visible from site) is a pleasant hour and a quarter, but unfortunately the noise from the long high level bridge that carries the M62 over the pennines is disturbing.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bopp 4 reviews from this member

Great visit. Only spent 1 night as on our way south. Toilet block clean with lots of hot water. Lady in office very friendly and helpful. 'The Wine Press' pub as you go down lane to Site is about 1 mile away with good beer and a good range of meals available. Would stay again.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JMBJWB 4 reviews from this member

After reading the reviews of this site I was very disappointed with it. The whole site was waterlogged. There is only a 6amp electric supply which is not mentioned anywhere. As we arrived on a cold damp day we switched the heating and the hot water heater on and immediately blew the fuse. The shower and toilet block is very dated and definitely wasn't cleaned for the first 2 days of our stay. The showers were 50p which I wouldn't have minded paying for better facilities. The floors are tiled and were freezing! Water pressure was very low. The surrounding area is beautiful so it's a shame that the campsite is so poor.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

Just had a wonderful weekend here at hollingworth lake. We knew what to expect as we have stayed here twice before, but never this busy. It was still a lovely relaxing site with plenty to do if so required, the weather outlook was not good rain and thunder storms, but all we had was a very short rain spell, the rest of the weekend was really warm and pleasant. Although this was the busiest we have witnessed it still was no where near cramped or pitched on top of each other. Pitch size is huge and in general we all had a great time so much that I am sure we will return again. £15 per night with ehu for us. 2 x A 1 x C

Great weekend many thanks

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hippydebs 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 2 night stay, well is all I can say is what a wonderful site to stay on. The male owner of the site, told us all we needed to know about the site and where everything was. Pitches are of generous size and had electric hook up and facilities for waste and fresh water and rubbish were really good. Toilet blocks were really good as were the toilets. There is even a lovely kids play park on site. Loads to do around the area, there was places to eat and drink, various shops and lovely walkways and scenery. This site is well worth a visit, I will certainly be back for a lovely relaxing break

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

If I had read some of the previous reviews then I suspect I would NOT have booked this site. However I did book ( gave an hours notice ) and turned up, 'there will be nobody around when you turn up have you been before ' 'no I replied' ' ' ok, ' and was given directions when I got to site ' DO NOT drive on the grass I was told' that's ok with me I didn't want to get stuck.

It was a case of park where you want to, which we did, the hard standing pitches are all marked out so it was straight forward. I was not too sure as to where to park my car so I parked it on the next pitch to me ( there was another 5 pitches vacant ) it was dark when we arrived so we chanced it. We did trip electric out twice, I am sure it was our fault and not so much the supply, we did have heater on, microwave on and the kettle tripped out the mains.

Saturday afternoon we went for a stroll around hollingworth lake taking us approx 1. 1/4 hour to do the lap which was a nice walk until when we were at the far side it started to snow. Sorry rambling again.

Site hard standing pitches are adequate not sure where I would park car might be a little tight next to caravan. £ 15 per night with ehu 2 adults 1 child no awning. Toilets are clean and serviceable ( my opinion if you want modern toilets it wont be £15 a night ) you get what you pay for which we were more than happy with. Small shop on site and a small kids play area at far end of site/ near the entrance to drive in ( sure it not part of the campsite though).

We are usually quite picky as to where we stay, needless to stay we really enjoyed our stay here and shall return for the better weather.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hetty1 2 reviews from this member

This site is in need of a facelift. We booked in for one night and left after a couple of hours after a large and loud party camped right next to us - literally a few feet away! The location is good, but there is building work going on close to the site also. Hopefully this will be an improvement for the toilet block and showers which were clean but very tired. Not bad for only £15 but could be so much nicer.

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3333 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019