Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Rochdale > Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park Reviews

Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park
Rakewood
Littleborough
Rochdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
OL15 0AS
Tel: 01706 378661
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 81 Reviews
                8/10 from 81 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  81 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nevonheronlake 1 review from this member

 Nice sized site and near to the lake via a country track, not really set up for motorhomes on the area we stayed in as no where so collect fresh water directly or to empty the waste, good job we kept the aqua roll. And a big plastic bucket for emptying.

But they have a new development ongoing so that should improve the worn-out and dated facilities.

20 per night cash only and no receipt which is a bit dodgy in my opinion.

The weather was good the walks were excellent and cafes and restaurants were good so we will go again and hopefully set up in the new area 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisj 1 review from this member

 Used all our own facilities as sites were shut due to covid

But loved the site and would defo return next year

Plenty of room

The electric did trip a couple times due to being only 6amp 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Suicideblonde 21 reviews from this member

 Absolutely love this place! We bought our first caravan just before lockdown and have stayed several times (when allowed) during the pandemic. It's quite a peaceful site and well maintained. Only saw the owner once each stay when we checked in, they just leave you to it but they're friendly and helpful.

Can't comment on the facilities as these are closed due to health and safety restrictions and the site is only accepting units with their own toilet and washing facilities.

The area can get busy at the weekend due to visitors to the Lake but this doesn't affect the campsite and is quite secure. There's a CoOp about 10 mins drive away for any shopping you might need, and the site is a good base for exploring West Yorkshire.

Being on our doorstep this has now become our second home and when circumstances allow we can't wait to go back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Paula5 1 review from this member

 We didn't really know what to expect from the site with not having been before & it being on the cheap side.

The road leading to the site could have been an issue if we'd have met another vehicle coming the opposite way but we were lucky having only met walkers along the road.

The site itself was well signed along the road so we had no problem finding it. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady who couldn't do enough to help, she came to show us where everything was & told us where we should park up.

The site was pretty basic, it had a shop, showers / toilet block including disabled, pot washing, a perfect tv signal & then from there we made our own entertainment.

At the prices we were charged we got all we expected to, the only extra was to use the showers we had to get tokens for 50p.

We enjoyed our stay & will be going back in the future, the owners & other residents made us feel very welcome. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Stu1979 2 reviews from this member

 Nice little campsite with everything you need.

Small shop on site showers are a short walk but there is a toilet block on the camping field.

Friendly helpful staff nice flat pitches and plenty to do just a short walk away from campsite 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doncaster76 12 reviews from this member

 Hollingworth Lake was surprisingly nice.

Access to site is via narrow road around lake which is full of walkers. There is no strict time to arrive or depart - which means you run risk of caravan coming opposite direction. If you are good with reversing through crowds of people you may enjoy this.

When booking I asked what time we could arrive. The answer 'from before lunchtime'. No other instructions or advice given. Arrived at 12:10, reception closed and took several attempts to get answer from phone number stuck on window. Told to find pitch and pay in morning. We weren't told there was a code for toilet block - another camper gave us the code. Where is the customer service, a simple 'the reception will be closed at x time, you will need the code for the toilets, any problems ring x' would have been sufficient at time of booking.

Electricity tripped 7 times, meant to be 6amp. We had settings to restrict usage to 5amp, ran the heating and fridge from gas. And yet it tripped repeatedly.

Toilet block was never particularly clean. Admittedly it is Autumn and the tiles are white, but the wall heater was supposedly on a timer (never on) and the hot water taps never got hot. A decent door mat and provision of a mop would help cleanliness.

The whole site looks in need of TLC. Most seasonal pitches look like they have been there for years. A lot of caravans had building contractors in, arriving late with their vans and leaving early for work. My storage site is better maintained.

15 a night with EHU might sound a bargain, but you get what you pay for at this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jayton 1 review from this member

 Just spent a pleasant weekend here. The weather was lovely and the site was busy but not overcrowded, good size pitch.

The lower toilet block is basic but I understand this is only temporary until a new block is finished.

We paid 17 pn for ehu and awning which we thought was good value. It is worth noting that the electricity is 6amp.

We will definitely use the site again. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mewssdns 2 reviews from this member

 Disappointing. The site is mainly a fixed mobile home micro estate. The smallest cheapest I have ever seen, though the residents try their best to keep it smart.

We thought 15 plus 50p per shower and no wifi a bit steep. Also there is often nobody on reception and the shop closed at 4pm! Driving in to the hardstanding down the narrow gap between the tiny homes was a squeeze for our Hymer B644.

Only 6 amp electric and low water pressure. The walk around the lake (not visible from site) is a pleasant hour and a quarter, but unfortunately the noise from the long high level bridge that carries the M62 over the pennines is disturbing. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bopp 4 reviews from this member

 Great visit. Only spent 1 night as on our way south. Toilet block clean with lots of hot water. Lady in office very friendly and helpful.

'The Wine Press' pub as you go down lane to Site is about 1 mile away with good beer and a good range of meals available.

Would stay again. 


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JMBJWB 4 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews of this site I was very disappointed with it. The whole site was waterlogged. There is only a 6amp electric supply which is not mentioned anywhere.

As we arrived on a cold damp day we switched the heating and the hot water heater on and immediately blew the fuse. The shower and toilet block is very dated and definitely wasn't cleaned for the first 2 days of our stay.

The showers were 50p which I wouldn't have minded paying for better facilities. The floors are tiled and were freezing! Water pressure was very low.

The surrounding area is beautiful so it's a shame that the campsite is so poor. 


Previous     81 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rochdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3341 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement