Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Rochdale > Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park > Reviews

Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park
Rakewood
Littleborough
Rochdale
Lancashire   (Browse area)
OL15 0AS
Tel: 01706 378661
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Ashley 6 reviews from this member

 Reasonable showers and toilets though would prefer no tokens and extra cost.

New block under construction so will be better once that's sorted.

Friendly manager 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aidylad47 1 review from this member

 First time here, lovely place plenty of nice walks, not too far to pub or restaurants

The lake is very scenic and a cafe to stop and have a bite to eat on a walk.

The site is really good toilets and showers are very clean also a laundry available staff very friendly.

We have decided to stay on a little longer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Pinkgemty 1 review from this member

 First trip as a solo traveller in my little campervan.

Owners very friendly and helpful. Felt safe all the time.

Nice simple clean facilities.

Iíd recommend this site and would stay again myself :) 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Una9au 1 review from this member

 We loved staying at this site, firstly the people in reception were warm, friendly and helpful.

There are 2 toilet and shower blocks and they are both clean and amply comfortable to use, the ones by the office have 2 showers and 3 toilets those are the ones we used, there are more further up where the hard standing pitches are, there is somewhere at those facilities to wash your dishes. On the field for dogs and children there was also an additional two toilets.

There facilities for water fill up, brown and black water were clean and tidy and set up for easy access. There are also plenty of bins on the field to get rid of your rubbish.

We had electric hook and had no problems at all. The filed is reasonably level and we didn't need to use levelers but there are some parts where you might need to use them, there are not many hard standing pitches on this field but should you need one they do have them.

The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful and yes there is a motorway bridge in the distance but we didn't hear it at all day or night.

Our 11 year old son loved his time there as did our little dog. The campsite is situated right by the lake and there is much to do in the surrounding area including a small children's play area just outside the site, an absolutely lovely place in amazing surroundings,

We will definitely be visiting again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jennir 1 review from this member

 Absolutely loved it ! Peaceful yet friendly campsite, clean, accessible

Staff extremely helpful and welcoming

Other campers all friendly and also welcoming

Nothing we didnít like. And we will definitely be returning in the near future

An absolute gem of a campsite 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Rdcons 1 review from this member

 The weather had an impact on our stay unfortunately.

The site was perfectly adequate for our short stay and it looks like the owners are just about to complete a very nice looking toilet / showerblock / shop?? Ready for summer I would imagine.

Would definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Aimeej 1 review from this member

 Lovely, peaceful caravan site!

Friendly staff and other people who were staying.

We are new to the caravanning world so we were only trying out all our kit

BUT we will definitely be returning even if it is only a mile down the road 😀 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fairdinkum 1 review from this member

 On arrival at what we thought to be the entrance to the site, there was a large "No Entry" roadsign giving the impression this might be a site with a one way system and separate entrance and exit, but driving along the lane, we could find no other way in.

Eventually we ignored the sign and drove in. To reach Reception and to access the touring areas we needed to pass between pillars with large signs saying "No caravans or Motorhomes beyond this point. Toilets / Showers closed. "

We parked and walked up to Reception. It was closed and no one was answering the phone. Envelopes in which to place cash payments were provided. Notices advised new arrivals to find a pitch, but no info on where the tourer areas were. After scouting on foot we found 2 areas where tourers and electric points were evident and chose to pitch on the lower area.

Next morning a friendly lady in Reception laughed when I asked about the big No Entry roadsign. "There's only one way in love". And when I asked about the "No caravans or Motorhomes. " sign, she said "Oh that was when we had covid restrictions. We just haven't taken them down yet. " I suspect the No Entry sign went up for the same reason and they simply forgot it was there. I asked whether they hadn't had time, and suggested taking the signs down might be a good idea.

The whole site is desolate looking. Unloved. No landscaping. No motorhome service point. No WiFi. Few water points. Basic toilets (they were open once we were give a code in spite of the signs).

Very, very basic. I can only assume that high star reviews I've read are based on the surrounding countryside with easy access to walks around Hollingworth Lake, or people that haven't visited other sites and don't know how hard many site owners work to make their sites visually attractive.

And the site only accepts cash payments and you'll need more coins if you hope to have a hot shower. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Nevonheronlake 1 review from this member

 Nice sized site and near to the lake via a country track, not really set up for motorhomes on the area we stayed in as no where so collect fresh water directly or to empty the waste, good job we kept the aqua roll. And a big plastic bucket for emptying.

But they have a new development ongoing so that should improve the worn-out and dated facilities.

£20 per night cash only and no receipt which is a bit dodgy in my opinion.

The weather was good the walks were excellent and cafes and restaurants were good so we will go again and hopefully set up in the new area 


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chrisj 1 review from this member

 Used all our own facilities as sites were shut due to covid

But loved the site and would defo return next year

Plenty of room

The electric did trip a couple times due to being only 6amp 
via mobile


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Hollingworth Lake Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rochdale      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


41562 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement