Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Melbreak Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Morecambe > Melbreak Caravan Park Reviews

Melbreak Caravan Park
Carr Lane
Middleton
Morecambe
Lancashire   (Browse area)
LA3 3LH
Tel: 01524 852430
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 14 Reviews
                5/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anna + Co 10 reviews from this member

 Had another lovely few days at Melbreak over Spring Bank holiday weekend.

The owner gave us a choice of pitches as the site was quiet when we arrived.

The site is clean, tidy and well kept. The shower and toilet blocks are a little dated, but are kept very clean.

I would recommend this site for those looking for a quiet break - no pubs, clubs or other noisy distractions to disturb a good nights' sleep!

We will definitely be going back for a few days peace and quiet :-) 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Calisto 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the site and checked in without a problem, we were shown where too pitch, and where not to pitch up our tent.

The site was gently sloping, and it was clear that the lower section of the site could get really waterlooged judged by the water line around the base of a telegraph pole.

The Toilet block for males, was in need of some TLC, the lighting was poor only seemed to be activated by a dusk til dawn sensor? Shaving in the half light was an experience I wont be repeating. The Showers were hot but the nominal 20p charge seemed excessive considering the 15. 00 per night to pitch tent. No soap was provided, and only one hand dryer, in busy times I could imagine this being a problem.

The Ladies toilet and shower block was also very dated and old fashioned with no soap for handwashing and the hand dryer was faulty.

The on-site shop was poorly stocked.

There was some noise from a industrial estate adjacent to the site which was quite obvious at night time.

Upon leaving the site my wife called in to collect our freezer packs, and to my horror she was charged a fee of 1. 30 for the service!

All that said the site is in a good location for the surrounding places like Morecambe and Lancaster, also the Trough of Bowland. And of course the Heysham ferry port is only a few minutes drive away.

The site is in a nice location but needs a complete revamp, today's campers want more for there money, and this site fails to deliver that service. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Delaney45 5 reviews from this member

 We camped on this site at the last minute over the bank holiday. In my opionion the camping field is not suitable, at this point of the year after weeks of hot dry weather the field was saturated. The site is on an open plain with no shelter from the strong winds coming in from the sea. We booked and paid for 2 nights, after the first sleepless night of having to repeatedly try and keep the tent pegged into the wet soil we decided to come home. On handing back the shower block key no offer was made to refund for the second night.

The facilities are dated but clean ,if you do go take some 20p coins for the showers as change will not be given in the camp shop. The site is actually about 3 miles out of Morecambe and approx 1 1/2 miles from the beach (which is just a tidal sand bank) There is a pub about 5mins walk from the site which also does barmeals 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: User 239904 4 reviews from this member

 1st impressions do count, this is not a well kept site.

Gravel and hard standing is there and electric hook ups, but the whole place is untidy.

2 deposit required for the toilet key, male and female same key, there is hot water for washing your crockery true.

Think of the typical Spanish toilet of the 60s and the male toilet is the same, I'm glad of the facilities I had in my unit and I did use my own rather than use the block, I could not hold my breath long enough to use the block!

Bank holiday weekend, and some normal vans were allowed on, I mean white vans no beds etc, the occupants seemed to be on a boozy weekend, they did a tour from one end of the camp site to the other being hounded away by other site occupants with their van, when they parked next to me, this was 0530 in the morning, I got dressed and asked them to move or switch off their engine, they replied they were cold. Sorry, this is supposed to be a Caravan/camping site.

On arrival you are expected to pay up front, no problem if you are getting what you think you have paid for, but if you leave early you don't get a refund.

The kennels next door will let you know when its the crack of dawn as the staff walk their breeds close to the site area. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Justcamping 8 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here a couple of times, if we cant get on anywhere else Its gravel hardstandings with a field but be aware if it rains you get a free outside swimming pool. It has a small shop. Lots of seasonal tourers who seem not keen on children playing. Toilets are cleaned often and have good showers, a good washing up area with free hot water. Reasonably priced about 14 a night I think its more for a elderly couple rather than a family 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 9secondlegend 1 review from this member

 Our 1st time out camping and as all the reviews say its very basic.

We camped towards the back of the field near the bushes and we were quite sheltered but keep away from the botttom of the field as we had a couple of downpours and it flooded.

Toilets are old but reasonably clean.

Shop stocks the very basics

20p showers and 5p to refreeze your cool box ice blocks!

The beach was further than I thought and as we had 2 kids of 2 and 3 years I certainly wouldn't say it was walking didtance for them especially down very narrow country lanes but it was only a few minutes in the car. Miles and miles of sand but no sea!

3-4 miles from morecambe which has had a bit of a facelift since last time I went there.

Not a lot on site for kids apart from a big field to run around in!

Overall a quite site and basic if that's what you need. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Carian 2 reviews from this member

 Visited campsite last weekend 12/06/2009. It was exactly what we were looking for - peace and quiet, but not having to go too far for a change of scenery.

The actual camping area we stayed at was quite stony (top end of field) but there were plenty of grassy areas. As told by other campers there are two shower cubicles per toilet block and plenty of hot water. The 1 washing facilities did not cause any problems. Very friendly site.

It takes about 1/2 hr to walk down the lane to the beach but you can call off at the next campsite down for a quick drink in their club house especially on the way back.

Would definitely use this site again. Great for Lakes and Lancaster. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Oddy58 2 reviews from this member

 As we are new to camping and before we ventured on this first outing, we read the feedback on this camp site and have to say how spot on the feedback was, but the ground is very stony and hard to drive your pegs into. Other than that this is a nice small and quiet site we had our grandchildren with us + we where accompanied by our daughter in their own tent and we had a wonderful weekend.
I would advise you use the top side of the field as in really bad weather the bottom field seems to flood a little. I would recommend this site as will go again 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Oilyrag1950 1 review from this member

 Fantastic little site very frendily lady owner.
We went with two other families, kids had great time on the beach (10mins walk) down country lane. Also used club house from next site down no problem. Showers and toilets very clean, quiet site very little noise we will be back this year. RECOMMENDED. Also good dog walking area just across road. Short drive into Morcambe and Happy Valley Park, great time for kids. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Poggiepie 4 reviews from this member

 First impressions of this site - a bit dubious. When you enter the site the first lot of caravans look like they are in a car park. Anyway, we met the owner who is a very nice lady, she took us round the corner where there is a grassed area for camping surrounded by caravans. We got a lovely spot and the kids had a beano. The beach is close by and there is an excellent dog walk across the road from the site. (across the road on the left) If booking, ask for a pitch round the 'field'. The toilets are cleaned daily and there are a couple of showers at 20p a time. We paid about 47 for 3 nights over bank holiday with two kids and awning which I thought was very reasonable. This is an excellent no frills but value for money site. Would we go back? - booked before we left! 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Melbreak Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Melbreak Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Melbreak Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morecambe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6251 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement