Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Elvaston Castle Country Park Caravan and Motorhome Club

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Peak District & Derbyshire > Derby > Elvaston Castle Country Park Caravan and Motorhome Club > Reviews

CLOSED: Elvaston Castle Country Park Caravan and Motorhome Club
Borrowash Road
Elvaston
Derby
Derbyshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Reviewer: 

 The Club is sorry to announce the loss of Elvaston Castle from the sites network with immediate effect.

It has been with The Club for over 40 years but regulars to the site may well be aware the site has suffered some considerable quality problems which has resulted in a number of pitches being taken out of use and the cost to maintain this site has become unacceptable and The Club no longer believe it is an acceptable standard for their members.

The council has decided rather than invest in improving this situation that they want to take back the land from The Club and wish to potentially develop a hotel and golf complex on the entire estate.

Any member with a booking for Elvaston Castle in 2012 will receive a letter from The Club explaining what options you can take. They know this will be very disappointing news and The Club would like to assist you all they can in switching your booking onto another site on the network. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cadmasa1 19 reviews from this member

 Lovely small caravan site near Elvaston Castle Country park. Pitches were quite uneven and no hardstanding pitches available at all. Toilets were dated, but very clean.

We had a lovely pitch with lots of space behind us, but you did get noise during the day from the kids play area located in the country park behind.

Pub within walking distance, but food was more a la carte than pub grub, unfortunately we didn't eat as we had our four legged friend with us.

All in all a nice site, would definitely return if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pullup 15 reviews from this member

 Lovely clean site with fantasic dog walks around the local area. There are no facilities for children and no ball games on site, although elvaston castle has a play area and large field a short walk from entrance.

Site has a dishwashing area and information point, close to public transport.

Friendly warden who let us stay late on the Sunday and reserve a pitch for our friends.

The only slight problem was needing a key to use the toilets/showers (only 1 key per pitch) which I kept forgetting and having to walk back for. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hondagirl 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a fri/sunday break, 3 kids and two dogs in our Bailey and awning. We last stayed here during a very wet spell about 5 years ago and I think the site has improved quite a bit since then. Luckily it was dry this time, when its wet it gets very wet! Lovely wildlife and close to the cities of Derby and Nottm if you want some shopping.

There is a large coop if you head left out of the site which is very handy. The site is within a public county park, there is barrier at the entrance and the public car park closes at 8pm. The country park is lovely, Ive been coming here since I was little and its fantastic for walking the dogs and taking kids on bikes.

The site itself is well laid out and quite small,I think its 45 pitches max. The warden was very helpful and didn't hurry us off our pitch at 1 min past 12 which we have experienced recently on other sites.

The facilities are fairly old but very clean and tidy, 2 showers ( for ladies) the same in the gents and 4 toilets. Its a well maintained and very tidy site. We will defo visit again.

The only downside is the cost, for us, 2 adults, 2 kids and one infant with caravan plus awning it was 40 for the weekend, that's the way with CC sites nowadays though. In fairness we couldn't stay anywhere for that price anyway! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paula Watkins 20 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site.Don't know why we haven't been before !

Easy to find,road not as noisy as I thought it might be.

All grass,nice trees and bushes, ground ok but I expect could be soft after rain.

2 showers,controls a bit high,might be to stop children using them on their own.

Very nice warden not usual club official type.

Lovely country park next to site very well used

Queue of cars all day,nice walk up the the house,not really a castle,tea and home made scones.Worth the walk just for the scone,you can buy to take home as well.

Walked to Borrowash for bus to Derby. Frequent service,driver saw us and waited for us.Runs into evening which is useful. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wherenext 38 reviews from this member

 This site was a bit of a curates egg for us. It was nicely situated next to a lovely park and stately home (not really a castle) which is run by the council.

Excellent for kids and those with dogs. We walked over to a lovely little Nature Reserve in the park. Free entrance. Delightful.

The site was handy for both Derby and Nottingham and for the M1 and A50. No road noise at night and a nearby suburb of Derby for shops. The downside for us was the condition of the toilet block and the space for pitches.

The toilet block definitely needs updating as mould growing on walls of showers. This block looks like it was previously a public toilets for the park which has been adapted.

The pitches were tight albeit legal and the ground would be soft after any rain. There have also been security issues here as the public car park is adjacent. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: YTPERRY 1 review from this member

 We only stayed at this site for one night but wished we had booked in for longer as we found it to be a very pleasant peaceful site set in the grounds of Elvaston country park with lovely walks around the site, we walked up to the castle which was very grand and the gardens looked delightful but we didn't have time to explore there.

The only downside is no hardstanding pitches and as it had been raining the ground was very soft and mud was trodden inside the caravan. We will definitely go back for a long weekend next year hopefully when there has been no rain! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Quinnjeanq 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 4 days at this site, the site is well situated for good walks in the adjoining country park, with wonderful wild life.

However the down sides are the facilities which are very very dated and the showers were very poor with lots of black mould about and flaking paint work, although they were kept clean by the wardens.

We shall not be returning that's for sure even though the site has a pleasant feel, it all looked neglected by the club standards. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: P4thf1nd3r 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site!

We were lucky as the weather was great when we visited.

The park is fairly small and they are quite particular how you position on pitch, (drivers side rear to the number post and car the other side the number not in front of your van etc). You may be asked to move if you are wrong.

The site is beautiful - watch the squirrels and visiting ducks while eating breakfast.

The facilities are basic, but clean and kept locked, they are better inside than what they look from outside. There are 2 showers each men / ladies.

No ball games allowed on site, unfortunately my 11 year old wasn't very happy to be told this by the warden. But the field just through the park car park is massive and free to use. You can hear children during the day times using the play area in the castle grounds - as we have kids this didn't bother us, but thought I better mention.

There are plenty of beautiful walks through the castle estate, walk to the castle itself with a small gift shop and a popular cafe, we visited as this was closing but it looked very nice. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Moseley38 23 reviews from this member

 A small site mostly on grass which as stated before gets rather waterlogged. There are three pitches on tarmac near the entrance to the site and as we were in a motorhome we stopped on one of these although I think if the site was busy it might not have been too good here it was ok for the one night we stayed here.

The main facilities are very old being basically portacabins and rather leaky ones but they are kept spotless by the very friendly and helpful warden.

The best bit of the site is its proximity to the country park which we would have liked more time to explore so we will return next year. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2669 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement