Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Willowmere Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Site Reviews

Willowmere Caravan Park
Bures Road
Little Cornard
Sudbury
Suffolk   (Browse area)
CO10 0NN
Tel: 01787 310422
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 32
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 40 Reviews
                9/10 from 40 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  40 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharon274 1 review from this member

What a fantastic weekend we had, site was lovely, toilet and shower block and all facilities were so clean and had everything we needed.

Owners are so welcoming and we met some lovely people while we were there.

We will definitely going back and would recommend Willowmere to everyone.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Countrylemon 7 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a weekend in June (not bank hol) and I agree with the other positive reviews - reasonably priced, clean and very good facilities, set back from road, in the countryside although only a few minutes into Sudbury, quiet and no road noise.

We took our two dogs and three sons and as such, we tend to do a fair amount of walking and exploring on foot. Even though the site is surrounded on two sides by Cornard Mere, the only way out of the campsite to walk is through the front gate. This is onto the B1508 which does not have a pavement. The traffic whistles past at what feels like top speed (it's supposed to be a 30 mph limit but this doesn't appear to be adhered to by most motorists) and when you have children and dogs to watch it's rather unnerving.

Once you have run the gauntlet with the traffic and found yourself a quiet road or footpath it is a lovely area. The side road to the north of the site, Blackhouse Lane, takes you to a children's play area to the rear of Sudbury RUFC and also to Great Cornard Country Park, which is a real gem, with wooded areas and open pasture crisscrossed with paths. Great for exploring and walking the dog.

It's a shame that there is no access to Cornard Mere from the site, which you could then cross to link in with the public footpath which passes along the mere's southern edge, and on to the country park. It was nettle season when we stayed, and we couldn't see much of the mere at all.

The site itself has its own duck pond with water fowl, and also has the odd feathered visitors from the mere. I was concerned the dogs would take too keen an interest in these but the weekend passed without event.

The pitches are a little on the small side but it was only half occupied when we were there so not a problem. There are picnic tables and benches (the kind you get in beer gardens) in the central tent area, which I considered a great idea if you're tenting it. The managers were polite and helpful, and there's info leaflets in the booking in office. We didn't explore Sudbury itself (30 degrees C, too hot for that!) but did go swimming at Kingfisher Leisure Centre in town (Saturday and Sunday afternoons - waves and flumes!)

I don't think we'll be revisiting this site solely for the reason of the lack of pavement at the front, which is a shame as it scores so highly on other aspects. If this wouldn't worry you I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wilkins 19 reviews from this member

Again a very big thank to everyone who review sites on UK Campsite, this makes it easy to find the good sites in the area you wish to visit.

Willowmere caravan & camping site at Sudbury, lived up well to all the good reviews & having stayed at Willowmere for a week at the beginning of September, we fully agree with.

The whole site is well kept, the grass nice & short & being out of season there was plenty of room.

The facilities block was immaculate, always spotlessly clean & the showers or should I say individual wet rooms, nice warm showers with taps none of the buttons that need continuously pressing, there was plenty of room for mum or dad to take their children in with them.

Also a very large disabled wet room that required a key (provided free for those who required the disabled room); I believe this is good management as the room is reserved for those who require them.

A separate room for food preparation & two large modern sinks for washing up, with plenty of hot water, perhaps for safety reasons the water may have been a little too hot, but nice to have plenty of hot water.

Although the site was set back from the road by only about 300 yards, it was very quiet & surrounded by trees, on the far side of the site there was a lovely little pond, the home for the many ducks & other wildlife.

The site had a nice level of security lighting during all hour of darkness, which was appreciated when visiting the loo during the night.

I regard the site as being good value for money, the price is the same all year through, no high or low season, at 19 night including EHU, for this reason I think the UK Campsite rating of eight stars is perhaps a little low, as a very experience camper of many years I believe Willowmere deserves nine stars.

If I have to make any negatives, it would be that perhaps the pitches are just a little bit on the small side, but our visit being September, this was not a bother as there was plenty of space.

Willowmere is well situated for visiting the many beautiful little towns & villages of Suffolk, we did enjoy Sudbury, Long Melford, Lavenham, Castle Hedingham, Bury St Edmunds, Ipswich & Felixstowe to name just a few, also Suffolk hosts many National Trusts properties, such as Ickworth, Lavenham Guildhall, Melford Hall, Thorington Hall & Flatford, which we enjoyed.

Sharon, the owner was a perfect host, very friendly & very helpful, so a big thank you Sharon for a wonderful & relaxing holiday on a beautiful site. Wishing you all the very best for the future.

Brian & Martina Tonbridge Kent.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kayak Kween 2 reviews from this member

Booked 2 pitches after looking at the write up and speaking to the management, sounded perfect for us. The pitches are small with no official boundry. Which is fine if you have nice neighbours (read further down) First night was lovely, peaceful (apart from the wildlife which is one of the plus points) and the surrounding area is lovely. The next day it seemed the management had agreed to rent as much space as possible! We had SIX large tents on the TWO neighbouring pitches. With around 10 children and 3 dogs (not to mention their loud radio) its fair to say they more than encroached on our pitch as well. The showers were cold, when we complained it was apparently due to the volume of people. Then even more people were booked in! If the facilities cannot accommodate a high volume, don't book them in. We were told that the river was easily accessible, within 400 yards. Turns out although you can see the river access is via private land. So we had to drive 10 miles to use the kayaks. There are no children's facilities but they are encouraged to play on the oval drive round the campsite, while lovely when the are in excess of 25-30 of them its not enjoyable. All in all the site is mediocre, clean but with cold showers and no room to do anything doesn't get a high rating from us.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Redking 1 review from this member

We have stayed at Willowmere Caravan Park for the last three summers. The caravan park is well maintained, has friendly, helpful staff and competitive rates including hook up electricity.

The park is easy to locate, is situated back from the road with grassed pitches and a centre pitch for tents. It is an idyllic, quiet site that is also suitable for children. There are no determined playing areas but adequate room for the children to play and ride bikes.

The showers and toilets are excellent. They are checked at intervals throughout the day to ensure they are maintained in their spotlessly clean and fresh condition. There is a separate equally spotless, washing up area with laundry facilities.

Once settled onto your pitch, which depending on availability, you are allowed to choose, you are left to get on with your holiday, without interruption, unless that is, you require information or assistance, which is always available from the friendly owners and staff.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leroyclarke 1 review from this member

We stayed as part of a group of 5 families after being let down last minute by another camp site, 4 days before BH weekend! The camp site offered us pitches next to the pond area and although not level it was good enough to pitch. We were right next to toilets but this wasn't problem, they were spotless and very clean. There were 2 showers for each gender and sufficient toilets. There was washing up point and the waste areas were clean. I was very impressed.

We, as a group always attempted to be quiet and courteous but a couple of nights we carried on a little later bit there was no complaint. We were left to it from start to finish.

Everyone was polite and friendly. I've recommended to friends and we as a family will be returning. The site was cheap (17. 50 per night with electric)!

The ONLY thing could be a negative is that there is no children's play area BUT our children were happy enough on their bikes and scooters and playing on the tarmac route around the site.

I know Sudbury well, it is what it is with all the amenities you want only 10 minutes away.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gewcaravan 2 reviews from this member

My husband and our two children and dog stayed here for a week end of July beginning of August. We were made welcome on arrival, left to choose our own pitch which sloped off towards the back of the caravan but this did not cause any problems for us. The washing up / shower / toilet facilities were perfectly adequate although perhaps needed a little more attention when the site got busy. Perfect site for exploring Suffolk and surrounding country side. Our two children took their bikes and the way the site is set up we were able to let them enjoy a little freedom without causing any problems to other campers. There appeared to be a small commune in the corner of the campsite but this did note cause any issues for us and they were perfectly polite when our paths crossed, keeping themselves to themselves. Would definitely recommend this site for exploring

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bude camper 5 reviews from this member

This site is a lovely small quiet site. Large pitches and very good facilities. The showers are hot and everything is nice and clean.

Only a couple of miles from Sudbury town centre, which has all the shops and supermarkets that you would need.

Very well laid out site with caravans round the outside in a circle, and tents in the middle.

Considering we were there at the beginning of August the prices were very reasonable.

We would definitely recommend this site. And would stay again if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stefan yasul 1 review from this member

So pleased I chose willow mere as where to stay for 2 weeks, all the staff we very helpful. I wanted to stay a extra few days and they was more than happy to let me with some alterations.

The guys who are apparently 'travellers' which willow mere strictly does not allow, as the owner told me the rules which were plain and easy to go by, hassle free. There were some real nice private park lodges too which were in beautiful condition. They were historical builders which come every few months a year, willow mere clearly takes pride in history around Sudbury and were great guys who told me all the places to go!

Facility's were very good, toilets and showers especially, cleaned thorough pretty much every day.

Definitely worth staying here for a really easy hassle free holiday without being hassled by staff and other campers like many other camps. You can exit and return at any time. The grass cuts fresh and pond area was also lovely to see, but safe. You can fish on it apparently.

A must visit for easy going.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robbie_redcote 10 reviews from this member

Stayed here last weekend in June, and very pleased we did.

Firstly agreed there was a large group of travelers in one corner of the field, but they they gave no noise or any concern at all.

Toilet blocks excellent, toilets spotless with 2 not so much shower cubicles as Shower rooms with proper on off taps, a wide bench to put your belongings on and 4 hooks for clothes. Water pressure and temperature were very good.

Large open field, and you can chose your own spot, and we had a good size pitch backing to 'forest type' area. Not perfectly flat, but no real issues.

Water taps frequent with excellent pressure, grey waste point also frequent and low level so no lifting your waste container, easy access to Elson.

Anita who booked us in very courteous, friendly and helpful, and only 35 for two nights, with electric.

Close to Sudbury, Lavenham and Long Melford so excellent position.

Away from the road and very quiet.

Would certainly recommend and return,

Previous     40 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019