Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside International Caravan & Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Site Reviews

Riverside International Caravan & Camping
Bronllys
Talgarth
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 0HL
Tel: 07517 448 014
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: Feb 1st Til Dec 31st

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 20 Reviews
                7/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marie1605 5 reviews from this member

Awful place!

On arrival I was told about the noise policy, 10pm quiet time and silence by midnight. I even had to sign that I agreed to it.

Field was nice and level (in places) but no view of the mountains which was a shame.

1 very dirty portacabin with 2 toilets in for ladies, for a whole field. The other toilet and showers were a good walk away.

Friday night was horrendous, we went up to the play park for the kids, on returning to the field at about 9. 45 it was bedlam! Noise was horrendous and the people next to us were very loud and their language was choice. I called the owner who came down and was supposed to calm it all down. He did very little to sort the situation, he was happy to placate the majority who were noisy and ignore those who weren't happy.

The swimming pool was nice and the barman was friendly enough.

Definitely won't be returning!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zomarc95 1 review from this member

Booked via email/Website with no reply rang a hour away and we weren't expected faulty system.

We Just returned from a weekend at this site. Was a bit disappointed, lovely website, but very misleading.

Club house tired, dirty and in need or some TLC. The pool was lovely, the staff friendly but slow service for food ordered 6 chips and cooked in 2 batches, so we couldn't eat together.

Camping field no view and near a road, lovely hares & wildlife around though. Great for the dog but not if you like to be close to a toilet block, it has a old port cabin full of bugs, and we had to ask for the 'ladies' to get unlocked!.

Needs a skip to remove a lot of junk that is dotted around and some time and money spent to bring up to date.

Excellent view from main building outside a real let down.

Sorry but wouldn't stay again, Could be a lovely site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ceri Skinner 1 review from this member

I have a caravan on the site have been there for 3 years and I look forward to going there every weekend. The clubhouse has entertainment almost every weekend and has karaoke. The toilets are clean and always have toilet tissue and smell clean. There are 2 parks one at the bottom half and one at the top half which is very ideal. They have a large field with football goals if the kids don't want to go to the park, and a lot of the young boys are always down there. They do litter picking all the time so the site is maintained. They hold children fun days for the younger kids. They do stuff to suit all ages to keep everyone entertained. The swimming pool is warm and always cleaned, The changing rooms are also kept clean and the showers are lovely, I honestly couldn't say a bad word about the campsite it even has a beautiful view, there are 4 - 5 pubs down the road from the site, also a garage and a co-op and a chippy they are about 10 minutes away very ideal

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ellemorganpics 1 review from this member

After camping at this site 3 years ago my husband and I fell in love with the place and the fun, friendly welcoming staff and owners.

We soon purchased a tourer and have sited it here ever since. There have been many changes over the last year including, refurbished toilets, refurbished pool area and Jacuzzi, speed bumps in the road all over site, to name a few, plus a brand new toilet block just to the side of the camping field so no more hills!

We have a 6 year old and she wants to be at Riverside more than at home due to the freedom factor she has due to the fact everyone is so friendly and welcoming. I have recommended this as a camping site to everyone that asks and nobody has been disappointed. We will be staying here for the duration and are looking forward to many more seasons here.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boxerlady4 1 review from this member

After much research and looking about we decided to site our tourer on this site 2 years ago and have loved every minute of it. We have a dry van so have to use the toilet facilities which are fine. They allow us to bring our dogs with us which is a big bonus plus there are fields around ideal for walking. The indoor pool is a bonus especially with the British weather being so bad on times. The club house used to be huge but has been made smaller, I preferred it the old way. Would like to see a better selection of meals available and Sunday lunch would be brilliant. All in all I love it here and I'm looking forward to another season.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BartleyH 1 review from this member

We have been regular visitors to this site for many years now. We enjoy ourselves immensely every time we visit and the owners are such a lovely family, always make us feel welcome.

The site has had some upgrades recently, with the inclusion of more toilets for campers - though whoever expects to not have to walk a bit for facilities when camping should probably choose another holiday!

The toilets blocks are cleaned regularly and the seasonal caravanners seem to do their best to keep them looking clean and tidy.

The clubhouse always has a friendly welcome, the owners sublet for a few seasons with mixed results but they have full charge back now and it is much better for it. Entertainment is regular, with a quiz, bingo, kids events and live artists periodically throughout the season. A selection of bar snacks and decent range of drinks available.

The pool is an extra charge, but a small and reasonable one considering what the costs must be to keep the pool as warm as it is!

The owners are always available as there is always someone on site. They are usually out working around the site so sometimes you have to call their mobiles to find them, but patience is a virtue and they always appear to help with whatever query you may have.

The owners have kids so there is always a friendly welcome for families. Our children make friends every time we visit! A small park at the back of the bar area makes a great retreat for them while we relax and watch!

All in all, a great site and we have never had any problems.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Thumbnailshoe 1 review from this member

A glorious week spent on and off the campsite. Staff very friendly and a mobile number available where a return call is guaranteed for any support required.

The site is well situated to make the most of the surrounding area and the wonderful scenery and activities.

The local community and businesses are so helpful and friendly and many retain the charm of the honesty box (most surprisingly even for cider).

Plenty of choice to eat out locally and find that the sites option to serve a child friendly basic menu is the best idea as it is really worth paying a visit to the many and varied options within a walk away from the site.

Site facilities include club house, swimming pool, jacuzzi, laundry room, two children's play areas, and my personal favourite:- the winding stream running at the bottom of the site where you can spot more wildlife than on Countryfile

Having camped and toured on the site over several years I have many wonderful memories and would highly recommend for campers, tourers and statics. The walk to the shower block could be daunting for the the less abled, but brilliant for the keep fitters. No complaints from me for the showers I have not seen them in a terrible state at all and the family deserve a medal for all they have done over the years that I have stayed there.

Weather has been absolutely wonderful that really brought the campers together with light hearted banter and evening choruses galore.

The site is well managed by the Gunning family who walk around the site daily keeping an eye on things without being intrusive

( really though, you can't miss them or Beany the dog if you need help or have any queries).

A personal thank you from Eira and Clive.

So much to do and see locally I could not possibly fit it all in.

Hire bikes, eco car, canoes, pedaloes, kayaks, gorge walking, canal rides, castles, golfing, bird watching, star gazing, lazy walks and punishing trails, gliding, farmers markets, village fetes to mention but a few.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: H5blh 3 reviews from this member

Initially when booking in they seemed friendly and laid back. We only want to pitch our tent for two nights and the attraction of the pool, table tennis etc for our 7 year old boy was ideal.

Having a sauna would be a bonus also so we could unwind and detox after hitting the bar.

We tried to book in, arriving about 2. 30 on a Saturday afternoon only to find no-one in the office. I left a message with a chap to say we were waiting at reception but having no reply for two hours we decided to pitch up as could not wait any more.

After pitching up we walked up the steep hills to inspect the toilets, club house etc. The toilets and showers were a mess, in need of work and dirty to say the least.

Onto the club house, well seemed ok at first but no table tennis for the boys and the games room consisted of three gambling machines (not ideal for a 7 year old). There is a pool table and darts board !

Having sat for a drink we were joined by about 20 teenage boys as their local football team were playing and the bar was full also as a rugby match was on.

All was ok though. Then onto the evening !

Arriving back in the club house about 8pm hoping to order food were were told they stopped serving food a 8pm but they was a sign saying 6-9pm

The lounge area was also fully occupied by a birthday party so we could only sit in the bar area. Upon asking where we could get food, delivery was mentioned though the bar staff Sub-contracted did not know if deliveries would be allowed onto the site. We took our chance.

So we sat in our tent eating out of Chinese trays.

The next morning we fancied a coffee and a swim. Cafe and pool does not open until 10am so we had to go into town for a coffee.

Returning to swim, we were supposed to pay at the bar counter, but again waiting for 5mins, no staff appeared so we made our own way in.

Jacuzzi, warm but no bubbles, pool was fine then onto a relaxing Sauna. It's a storage shed and out of order so no sauna. Changing rooms and showers freezing !

We decided enough was enough. I normally complain but I don't know who is running the place so we packed up and left.

Oh and we did not have a call back about booking in so we had a free night and a free swim. Let's just say it still was not worth it.

Shame it could be a good site but we felt the sited vans etc took priority and the management have not got a clue what's going on.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendy fleming 9 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a three night stay at this site on first bank holiday in May.

We booked in as a last minute and the owner was very helpful over the phone and on arrival but that was the last we saw of him.

The site itself was on a number of levels - the statics and 'newest' seasonal caravans being on the top, then the older seasonal caravans and a few tents on the next level, down a very steep hill were the touring caravans, tents and any other people who couldn't find anywhere to stay for the weekend it seemed.

The toilet/shower block was a walk up the steep hill, the toilets were not the cleanest we have seen but I suppose it was bank holiday the pressure in the showers was almost none so quite hard to have a shower when you seem to be leaning against the pipe on the wall!

The price of the swimming pool, sauna etc is not included in the 20 per night you pay to stay - this is extra - we paid 8.00 for 2 adults and 2 children to go swimming (you have a discount if you are staying on the site) but the pool was freezing because they had a power cut but didn't think to tell us before we paid to get in - it certainly wasn't clean and the jacuzzi had a scum floating around in it - no children allowed in the pool under the age of 18 without an adult but that didn't seem to apply to all families 'maybe only the tourers'!

They do have a small park which is situated behind the 'club' and they also have a very small club on this site which we didn't use simply because they charged for tickets to go in to see the act!

Brecon town not too far in the car with some lovely shops and a lovely walk along the river.

Morrisons also in Brecon for all your essential alcohol!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynne booth 1 review from this member

We have been sighted on this site for 4 seasons and love it. Pet friendly, child friendly and lots of things to do in and around the site.

Our daughter (10) would rather be here than at home! very friendly people and owners and staff are great. Would highly recommend to anyone for a short break or if you are looking to site your van this is somewhere you cant go far wrong :)lots of improvements on the site over the last few years and the site is growing all the time.

Lovely little local village amenities including petrol garage and Brecon town 10 minutes down the road. Builth Wells, Llandrindod Wells are all within travelling distance as is Hay on Wye.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1876 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!