Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Gordale Scar Camp Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Malham Cover > Gordale Scar Camp Site Reviews

Gordale Scar Camp Site
Gordale Farm
Malham Cover
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4DL
Tel: 01729 830333
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 129 Reviews
                8/10 from 129 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  129 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Christ 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights over the bank holiday.

I liked the fact you got to use a room for a shower in the morning which helps when it is freezing outside (although the room needs cleaning and updating).

ALlowing firepits would be an additional bonus.

The site is in a perfect spot for great walks, pubs, food! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sisterblue 3 reviews from this member

 I spent a fantastically mellow night at this little campsite - the best location for a campsite in all of England? Its a basic little site, with toilets, a shower (out of order on my visit) and drinking water. But really, what more do you need? The toilets were clean and tidy, if basic, but that's kinda what you are looking for in a place like this. Others mentioned the hoarding; but it is tidy hoarding.

I pitched next to the little stream, and had a view right down the gorge. With a momma duck and her little ducklings quacking around, and swallows swishing through the sky (and showing undue interest in the overhangs of my tent) it was just lovely.

For the uninitiated, what are you waiting for!? You check in at the farmhouse (first house on the left past the main gate for the scar), just turn into the drive and stop at the gate. I got a friendly welcome, and it cost me £5 - one person with a tent and landrover. No campfires are allowed, and that shows in the lack of burnt spots in the grass!

Lovely; I will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SteveWilson333 1 review from this member

 I have visited this campsite many times over a 20 year period. Although, understanderbly it’s sometimes difficult to get onto during peak time.

Myself, my wife and two children [9 and 12] have very much enjoyed each and every visit to this stunning location. Unfortunately it seems both the campsite facilities and the farmer who runs it come in for a lot of criticism.

Yes, the facilities are very basic and there’s a lot of unproccessed recycled material around the toilet area (a somewhat peculiar foible of the owner, but so what!). However, we do not go to this campsite because of the toilet facilities. We go there because it is a privilege to be able to camp in the most stunning, beautifully peaceful location which is not over-run with huge numbers of campers in posh camper vans and tents, packed in cheek by jowl in an overly expensive, sanitised camping “car-park”. The farmer who runs the site [single-handedly it seems] has always been a good natured, fair, straight talking man to me who doesn’t deserve to be insulted.

If you want high-end toilet facilities at eye-watering camping prices, this is not the place for you. However, if you want the privilege of being able to camp, relatively cheaply, in one of the most beautiful locations in the Yorkshire Dales, then this is it. Accept it for what it is.

Tragically, it seems that some criticism may have so upset the owner that he is now determined not to let campers on his site at all going forward, as we found to our cost last weekend. Please do not allow this to happen. If high-end toilet facilities are that important to you then Goredale Scar campsite may not be the place for you. All the better for the rest of who feel a stunning location is more important than a nice toilet. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clitheroe 1 review from this member

 Without doubt this is one of the best locations in the country. An excellent site, but the facilities and the owner let it down. It was my first stay and probably will be my last. The toilets and washing facilities smell and are unclean. The showers appear to be badly wired and the owner hoards a vast amount of rubbish spoiling the National Park. Most annoying is the owner decides the price and whether he allows you to stay by a lengthy interview. I joked with my partner that I felt like I was being assessed on suitability by the banjo player from deliverance. The site was expensive costing £30 for a tent, two people and a car. I am a respectful camper in my 50's. I was concerned that none of the campers received receipts so we had no proof we had paid, and neither did any other campers. Not sure how he knows who has paid as no names or registration numbers were taken. Not a good system. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Curly16 3 reviews from this member

 Great location for Malham Cove, Malham Tarn, Gordale Scar and surrounding areas. Fabulous views.

We didn't book, just turned up on the bank holiday weekend (at 5. 30pm) and there was space.

As previous reviews, the toilets/washroom aren't for the feint hearted. If you want spotless facilities then go somewhere else. The ladies has 3 cubicles gents 2 and a urinal. Slight smell in the ladies but not unbearable, more so in the gents apparently. Open bins under the wash basins and in the toilet cubicles were not emptied the duration of our stay (Sat to Mon). We didn't use the one shower which was unisex 10p and located in the pot wash area so can't comment on that. Based on previous reviews I took some baby wipes instead! There is lots of rubbish around and in them too what the owner has obviously collected over a long period, some of it perhaps with the intention of it being useful for someone else maybe?

Pitches - you can set up where ever takes your fancy. I would avoid the left hand side as you drive in, by the wall next to the road, it was very boggy compared to the rest of the site which seemed well drained when we walked around. You will be sharing the site with sheep so there is a lot of poo I'm afraid.

Other than when we booked in, we didn't speak to the owner but he seemed friendly enough, he spent a long time with a foreign couple next to us telling them all about the area and its history.

We didn't try them but there are a couple of pubs nearby in Malham, looked nice and always busy. Coffee shop in Malham does a lovely all day breakfast. Other than a very small shop in Malham that sold confectionery, crisp, pop newspapers I think, there are no shops nearby that we saw so if you run out of something you'll have to drive to Gargrave.

At the time of our visit, prices were £4 per person, £4 per tent, £3 for cars. No charge for dogs.

We really enjoyed our stay at this site, the basic facilities didn't bother us at all, it's a lovely little site, quiet in the most part given it was a bank holiday and we'll definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glet42 2 reviews from this member

 Well this campsite blew us away, on one hand we stopped at one of the most beautiful campsites we've ever stopped at and on the other, the word hoarders comes to mind. :) the toilets and showers are something to behold, dirty, uncleaned and messy, but if you can see past that like we did, you would stop here in a heartbeat for the beauty of the location. Cheap as chips. Would definitely stop here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GAlcock 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for the first time in our 7meter Van. This site is in a beautiful location and well worth a trip down the narrow lane to get there. To avoid any stress, our advice would be stop at the gate for the campsite, on the left as you get to the bottom of the hill. If the sign directs you to enter by the farmhouse, walk up and ask to enter by the lower gate. We did this and had no problem. The farm entrance would have been very tight. Agree with previous review - best to fill up with water before you get there. Site run by a helpful chap. We were bemused by the recycling system! We will return for location, location, location. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madinsdale 3 reviews from this member

 Excellent location, site owner friendly, facilities a little basic as noted but I knew this. Two hot water washing up sinks. Gents had two loos, not sure on girls as I didn't ask my daughter. One shower, but never saw a queue, as I suspect most will probably not bother here for the odd night.

We camped near the stream which was wonderful. Fantastic access to the scar, the cove and back to Malham via Janet's Foss. Amazing location.

My biggest concern, although may be a plus for others is the lack of a curfew. The campers next to us, although probably thought they were being quiet didn't stop talking until almost 2 in the morning, and also played intermittent music. Also I heard the odd car arrive until well after 10pm. As I said, some may find this a plus, but it does disturb the children and other campers alike. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Espressoman 2 reviews from this member

 Not a campsite the faint-hearted. The facilities are basic to say the least and the and the pricing structure and contact details seem fairly random. Having said that, in terms of getting away from it all, I haven't found a place like it so far. There are spectacular views and walks and I love this location. The site is relaxed and you are able to pitch wherever you like, there's a stream running through for the kids and Goredale Scar is spectacular. In terms of privacy, you have to be aware that there is a busy public footpath running through the middle of this narrow site but this didn't bother me or cause any feeling of being watched. I love this place. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thejames1508 1 review from this member

 I though I would write this from a motorhome prospective as most of the reviews are for tents. This is a fantastic location, great start for the 7. 5 mile circular walk from Janets Foss to Malham, Malham Cove and Malham Tarn returning via Gordale Scar ( scramble down the waterfall )

My motorhome is 6. 9 meters long by 3. 1 meters high built on a Peugeot base. It is tight getting in to the field via the farmhouse entrance and you will have to fold your mirrors in to get through the gate and quickly fold them out to watch the back end of your motorhome, but Once in its well worth it. There is a water tap at the gate but I suggest you fill up before you get there as you will be blocking the gate ( its not a hose pipe style tap so you would need an adapter ) There is a slope to get out of the field when leaving, just take it easy and you will get out as I did when it was wet last time I went.

Satellite TV will work but only in the first part of the campsite away from the gorge.

Freeview didn't work for me.

Mobile, you will be lucky to get a 3G signal with any network and a very limited phone signal.

FM radio fine.

Hot water for pot washing.

Only 1 shower for both male and female to use but no issue if you have a full tank of water.

This is a great campsite and the owner is friendly, Very good price too, great to find a campsite that doesn't exploit its customers and location. It would be helpful if motorhomes were allowed to use the lower gate to enter and exit but it wouldn't put me off going. 


Previous     129 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Gordale Scar Camp Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Gordale Scar Camp Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Gordale Scar Camp Site dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Malham Cover      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3642 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement