Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Perran Springs Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Newquay > Perran Springs Holiday Park Reviews

Perran Springs Holiday Park
Goonhavern
Newquay
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR4 9QG
Tel: 01872 540568
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 01/05/2021 to 04/09/2021
           24/05/2022 to 03/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: CostaBrava 1 review from this member

 Great family campsite, with large shower rooms which are spotless and extremelty clean.

Pitches are flat and very large, with dish washing sink with hot water all close by to everones pitch.

A new children's play tower has been added to the existing play area, there are also lots of fields for the kids to run around and play football.

The is a load of wildlife, within the campsite and 3 fishing lakes with very large fish. Great if your into fishing!

Also dog friendly. With a nice long dog walk (public footpath) at the bottom of the campsite.

Would highly recommend and we are returning in the summer. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mrs mouse 13 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 6 night stay at Perran Springs. This is a well kept site, quiet and the owners obviously take pride in maintaining it. There are lovely lakes for fishing or just for a stroll around with ducks and Canada geese in residence. The play area for children looked fairly new.

The pitch size was good, almost level and with plenty of room, we were asked to park on the edge of the pitch to avoid damaging the grass unnecessarily as there had been quite a lot of wet weather, despite this the pitch was well drained. The reception opening hours are short, there is a small shop within which we didn't use but maybe not that useful when you consider it is only open for a couple of hours a day. Easier to use a local supermarket.

The toilet blocks are kept very clean and there were adequate showers with push button controls, water was warm but my husband would have liked hotter water for the hand sinks for shaving. There were two privacy cubicles in the ladies and one in the men's side. There is also a laundry room and baby/family room. There is a toilet outside the laundry for disposal of baby potty contents.

Never seen that before. There were dishwasher sinks (uncovered) at various points around the site with drinking water/waste water points and the waste bins here also. The one near us didn't have hot water at any time, we just washed up in our trailer in the end. Apparently there are potentially plans for a covered dish washing area to be built adjacent to the laundry in the future.

The site was very quiet with only around 12 - 15 units while we were here, hard to know how the facilities would cope if it was full. We liked it for its peace and quiet, convenience for places we wanted to visit and a short walk into Goonhavern where there was a very good pub for an evening meal. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The truswells 1 review from this member

 Spent 11 nights on this fantastic camp site, everything was spotless, the staff couldn't be more helpful, we stayed on the swift pitches, large and flat, coped with the rain with ease. Walked to the new inn at goon haven about 20mins their, food nice, good ale and friendly staff. The site is perfect position for touring up and down the coast. A proper nice campsite with proper nice staff well done you.

Looking forward to our next visit in the summer of 2016 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smax87 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a week and would recommend this site for it's great facilities and location. This site is ideal for people who want to be far enough away from towns to not have trouble and close enough to get to towns/motorways. The location is not far from Perranporth so you can grab a bus or taxi and enjoy yourself on the beach (the beach bar to be precise!). There is a local shop in Goonhavern which has most necessities. The toilet facilities are very hygienic and well kept. The site was very tidy and looked after well, the grass was being done every day we were there and the rotation of using the pitches was well organised. There are fishing facilities here if required. There are also Pods and Euro-tents if you don't fancy messing around setting anything up. Newquay is about 9 miles away. The motorway is nearby to get to St Ives, Truro etc. I will come here again should I venture down to Cornwall again. Hats off to the owners and staff looking after this place. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Middleton2 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2 weeks at this fantastic site. In all our years of caravanning we have had good sites but never returned to the ones we have stayed at except for this one. We will be returning for our 3rd year running in 2015. The site is excellently run to a high standard by the family owners who are very helpful, friendly and obliging. Site is exceptionally clean as are the toilets, showers and the bins emptied regularly. The site is very quiet and a good location. Pitches are large. Fishing great. Cannot wait till next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phoebetaylor 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful holiday at Perran Springs Holiday Park. Checked in straight away, grounds are lovely, beautiful lakes, with excellent clean and well-kept facilities. Plenty of amenities for everyone to use. Lots of space between each pitch, you donít feel as though you are cramped. Stayed in the Euro Tent, which we would highly recommend. Excellent equipment, all brand new, we didnít need or want for anything. Originally booked for 2 adults and 3 children but had another two adults staying after an unfortunate car accident which wrote our vehicle off. The owners of the site were amazing. They didnít charge us for the additional persons and were most accommodating in ensuring we were all comfortable. Lovely family run park with that extra special touch of caring and kindness. A relaxing peaceful park, where our children could be free to enjoy themselves without any worries. An excellent location, near to all of Cornwallís favourite destinations. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mabbs1998 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site. Stayed there 12 days on a hardstanding pitch. Highly recommended. Site is spotlessly clean and well maintained. All pitches were very spacious. Toilet/showers also very clean and never out of toilet roll. There are only 4 showers which I thought would be a problem but I never had to wait at all (I would suggest they leave a mop and bucket so guests can clean the floors after use as dirt can be walked in). There is an area with play equipment for children (but my boys were a bit old for that) On-site laundry washer and drying machines - reasonably priced. Small shop with just the basic items but there is a Londis just a short drive which sells lovely bread and pastries or Co-op, asda or morrisons a bit further out. Beautiful beaches all around (some with a bit of a hike) but very worth it and most dogs are allowed. I would very highly recommend this site and will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shaun + Lorraine 5 reviews from this member

 We haven't done many camp site reviews except where there has been a problem. On reflection, if everyone did that some excellent sites would only get poor reviews based on personal experience, which wouldn't help anyone. With that in mind we have resolved to put more effort into letting people know when sites are good.

In a nutshell the site is excellent and the area is gorgeous; only read on if you want detail!

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at this site and it was fantastic. We nearly missed it though because I couldn't be bothered negotiating the website to book, happily though the 'other-half' persevered. When we arrived they offered us alternative pitches and made sure we were happy with our 'spot'.

The facilities are adequately stocked, very clean, and pleasant to use. You do have to press the shower button several times, if it hasn't been used for a while, to get the hot water to come through, but this is clearly stated on the back of the shower door. There was always plenty of hot water at the showers and the sinks. The park is well landscaped, the areas around the fishing lakes are lovely, and the site is a 'labour of love' as the owners built it from scratch. We don't have children with us anymore (hooray - only joking kids) but the play area looked good and is close to the bigger pitches and Eurotents, which makes sense. The family owners are very pleasant and have a wealth of knowledge about the area - just ask. Like most sites they do expect you to stick to the rules (keep the noise down, keep the dog on a lead, keep the kids out of the owners garden, etc) but this shouldn't be a problem for most people; rules apply to those who need them, not those who don't.

There are local shops about half a mile away (max) including a garden centre that has cafť, fruit and veg shop, and a beauticians!

Perranporth has a Co-op supermarket, but there are smaller independents too. There are numerous pubs, restaurants, fish and chip shops and cafes. Having said that, it is very much a family resort and clubbers may have to go to Newquay, which is about 8 miles away. The beach is dog-friendly, (something of a rarity in Cornwall) and is popular with families, surfers etc. It also has the UKs only beach bar, The Watering Hole, which is a lively interesting place and a good spot to watch the sunset.

We do a lot of walking and this is a perfect area to access the South West Coast Path - catch the bus to Newquay and walk back - it's about 10 miles but it's a beautiful walk, or walk from Perranporth to St Agnes and beyond.

I wish I hadn't done this review now it's just making me wish I was back there.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Bec8903 1 review from this member

 Just returned after spending two weeks in one of the Eurotents.

There are good points and some not so good points. Some may seem a little picky but that's me! So bad points first.

1) The water was very temperamental. Some days it was really cold even the washing up areas.

2)The play area was limited for the children and could do with a few more activities i. E a slide.

3)Cost of tumble drier was expensive. Its worded that for 15 mins its £1 including a 3 min cool down period, what it doesn't clearly state it that each £1 thereafter was only 12 mins.

4)The shop wasn't really stocked with what you needed, couldn't get a paper.

5) Website states you can walk to shop- It was down a country lane with no path so I wouldn't have risked it. Ha ha ha

6)The showers were push buttons but they only last for a few seconds at a time. The one shower only last 3 seconds. I learnt to hold it in and wash with one hand in the end. Was very funny though

7)We stayed in a Euro tents and there were a few issus with them. The zip would often break/slip/miss teeth, the inner rooms were not pegged down and I slipped over on one whilst holding my four month old. The floors are uneven. Website states to bring hangers! I cant understand why when there is no camp wardrobe

I think that's all for the bad points, like I said some little niggly bits but this is what is important to me.

Right good bit;

1) the site is the cleanest site I have ever been on.

2)Owners very friendly

3)The showers were always cleaned on a regular basis and there is plenty of room in them.

4)Bins emptied a few times a day.

5)Lakes are beautiful

6)In a great location to get to anywhere

7)Nice and quiet

8)Plenty of room around the pitches

9)Plenty of toilets and showers (always had loo roll in them)

I would have a few suggestions for the site.

1) Would love to see some sort of shelter over the washing up facilities

2)Family bath for young children

3) more activities on the park area

4)Put a rubber bladed type thing in the showers so you could rinse any mud/dirt away so its tidy for the next person (saw that at another site and thought it was a great idea)

5)Maybe some low light lamps along the path for night times.

We had a great holiday though and no site is ever going to be 100% perfect for any one person. Would I go back? Yes but when my children were older. Would I reccommend the site? Absolutly 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheRoulsons 1 review from this member

 This lovely site has been built up & developed from scratch by the owners own ideal of what a campsite should be like, having enjoyed several years camping earlier in their lives. We really enjoyed our recent 10 night stay on this friendly, level and spacious site. It was quiet, spotlessly clean around the park & the toilets regularly maintained/cleaned. Every day that was dry, we could hear the lawn mower keeping the grass tidy and clearly the owners take pride in their site. We valued the clear policy on dog ownership responsibilities and areas that were restricted for the health & enjoyment of all visitors. This resulted in us not seeing any dog mess in the pitching area or the fishing lakes. Specific dog walking areas are provided and sufficient.

The site enjoys unusual near zero light pollution and enabled us to maximise our enjoyment of the annual meteor shower.

For wildlife enthusiasts we saw around 24 different species of moths, lizards (on path adjacent to site), various butterflies and plenty of dragonflies, damselflies and bees etc. We saw many fishing folk enjoy the lakes area. The children's simple play area was very much enjoyed by our 9 yr old. Of the sites we have visited over the years, this gets our top spot and we commend the owners for their site. 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Perran Springs Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Perran Springs Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Perran Springs Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newquay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countryís leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3504 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window