Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Bryn Bach Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch > Bryn Bach Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Bryn Bach Caravan & Camping Site
Under New Ownership And Management 2017
Bryn Bach Caravan Park
Bwlchtocyn
Abersoch
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 7BT
Tel: 07391561160
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 42
Open: 15/07/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 23 Reviews
                8/10 from 23 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  23 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Mppres 1 review from this member

 Caught up in heavy rain with gales and had to leave early so next time would probably find a site on a lower ground, more sheltered location.

It was a shame as the area is very scenic, lovely beaches, hills in the background. With good weather, itís a fantastic spot.

Staff on the site helpful and battled hard to keep facilities as clean as they could in a testing, constantly wet environment. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: HockScott 1 review from this member

 We've just returned from a fabulous stay at this site. The manager is super friendly and will go out of her way to help if she can.

The facilities are very very clean, the views from the site are breathtaking and the local amenities are easily accessible either by car, bike or on foot. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Becgav 2 reviews from this member

 We booked to stay here for 2 nights on weekend 25/4/19 for a short weekend break as the start of our family camping season in our tent along with my sister and her family in their caravan.

Following an hour or so's drive from where we live we arrived mid afternoon to pleasant weather, despite a storm promised for parts of North Wales but apparently due to miss the Lleyn and just hit the North West and parts of North Wales.

Following a quick chat with the owner by phone as they weren't on site, we pitched our tent in any pitch we wanted in the tents field.

The site is perched up on a hill with fantastic views of Abersoch. There are showers, toilets and a small shop along with some swings and a slide for the kids. We were lucky as we were the only tent in the tent field so had a choice of where to pitch with electric which we had paid for, and the kids loved the fact the rest of the field was empty so they could run and play around. There were a few other caravans and a couple of yurts already set up.

Within a few hours though the wind and rain had picked up and by 10pm it was chucking it down and blowing a gale. We were sadly caught up in Storm Hannah. Not ideal in a tent on an open hill top with a 4yr old girl asleep inside. !

The weather got worse to the point that by 11. 30pm we bailed as felt it was too unsafe to stay and we went home, to later return and collect tent & caravan in the morning on our return. The winds at this point when we left at 11. 45pm were in excess of ++ 70mph!

On return in the morning our tent had collapsed and fortunately had only 1 broken tent leg and a smashed door window- we expected it to have blown in to the sea!. Some of the awnings and yurts weren't so good, if at all even there. Apparently on speaking to the other campers who had stayed in their caravans the wind peaked at 5am at approx 80mph which is when everything blew down or away.

Apologies this post is long, but I feel I had to review as despite us not really staying the 1st night due to the storm, and then having to go home as we were not able to then stay the 2nd night due to the broken tent, the site itself was tidy with nice & clean basic facilities (and didn't even look like it had been battered by a storm the following day. )

I would possibly stay there again next year due to its reasonably close location to Abersoch and if I wanted time to just chill, however with young kids there really isnt that much on site and you do need a car to get everywhere including the local shop- we went Porthmadog as this had the nearest supermarket (approx 20 mins away by car).

Good communication leading up to the stay by site owner as everything was done by email. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cn150 14 reviews from this member

 First return vist to this lovely site under the auspices of its friendly new proprietor/manager. There have been some improvements - the paths and caravan hardstandings have been re-gravelled. Also the toilet/shower/dishwashing block for campers has been refurbished into one closed and one covered dishwashing area, and three separate shower/toilet rooms with nice, powerful and warm showers. The closed dishwashing area now also has a freezer for storing freezer blocks and a microwave. There is a new office/shop cabin, which offers bike hire and everyday essentials such as fresh milk and washing-up liquid, and also a few camping items. You can no longer walk directly down a path to Machroes beach from the campsite, as that access has now been blocked off, but don't worry as a path on the right side of the adjacent Cim farm campsite takes you down to the lovely Porth Ceriad beach. Overall a lovely, improved place to stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cn150 14 reviews from this member

 This is my family's second visit to Bryn Bach. Last time I was there it had one field designated as a Caravan Club CS, but it no longer is displaying that sign, so I presume that is not the case any more. Essentially it has four fields: 2 seasonal with caravans; 1 mixed seasonal and tourers; and 1 mixed tourers, camper vans, and tents. I was in the mixed field in a nice pitch with hook-up. It was before the main school holidays so the site was relatively quiet. I would say the pitches are a bit closer than you might get at a club site. There are two facilities blocks. The shower in the mixed camping field is a bit tepid, but the showers near the caravan field are fine. Both blocks have washing-up facilities. It also has a small boat park. The site has lovely views over the Abersoch part of Cardigan Bay. It is not quite as windy as some camp sites are in the Abersoch area. You can walk down to the nearby Machroes Beach from the site in about 10-15 minutes. There is free site Wi-Fi, but you have to be right next to the office to pick up a good signal. The road to the site is quite hilly, narrow, and twisty in parts, but there are quite a few passing places. There is a kids' play area with sand. It is only a short 5-minute drive to Abersoch itself from the site. The lovely Porth Tocyn hotel is just a short 5-minute walk from the site, which is nice to visit for evening drinks or a 3-course dinner.

I would visit again as I like the location and the views over the bay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Edmund Ridsdale 8 reviews from this member

 I visited Bryn Bach over the bank holiday at the last moment and was initially glad I had found a site to accomodate us for the weekend.

My feelings changed somewhat when I arrived. Access up a steep narrow hill with a caravan in tow was very precarious and oncoming cars had to pull into passing lanes to allow us through.

The site has very good views and is a haven for the boating fraternity, allowing storage of many different types of craft on site.

We were allocated a pitch on the tent field at the bottom of the slope. Requiring electric hook up, and having sited the van I checked out the toilet block serving the field. Not very good would be a polite way of saying it was totally inadequate for the numbers who arrived over the weekend. The field suddenly became very crowded with more than 25 groups of campers in tents and caravans arriving in a very short time and I dreaded having to use the toilet/shower block.

I used the shower block on the first night and it consisted of a single shower in a cubicle resembling a public convenience cubicle. Situated in a block with a unisex toilet and a single toilet for males and one for females. The shower water never got warmer than tepid and it was a very tight squeeze inside it with water sloshing everywhere.

I resorted to using the one for the caravan field. At the entrance to the site as it was much better, having a large cubicle within the gents toilets and one also inside the ladies toilets. So my wife told me. There was also a separate shower in a small cubicle next door.

These performed very well if you made sure to get in before everyone else got up in the mornings or if you preferred. Late evening. Taking a flashlight with you as the site is unlit.

I think the allocation of the toilet block on the tent field is woefully inadequate and provided much entertainment for the many children who visited over the weekend. Often left to amuse themselves. Roaming all over the field playing close to other pitches and cars and caravans at the lower end of the field.

The owner although he seems quite helpful has a manner that could be seen as quite laid back. And I had to mention that the tent field block was in a bad state in the afternoon on the bank holiday sunday. Probably due to the kids. But he did clean it up.

I doubt whether I would use this site again. Due to accessibility, poor on site services and not being a boating type, requiring storage for my boat etc. But it could be described as ideal for anyone who is.

The trip to the beach was daunting on the first night as we could not find our way back with all the small lanes and sites in the area. We did eventually get back with some directions from a local homeowner. The same thing happened to another couple of ladies and a small boy who arrived on Saturday and promptly went off for a walk to the beach at about 4. 00 pm only to arrive back in darkness. Not what they expected I feel. But regulars would not have this problem.

The walks around the headland are lovely and the views spectacular so if the site itself was slightly improved it could be a fantastic place to stay. Alas for me it isn't at the moment. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JayneJ 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site during August school holidays. We arrived at around 7. 30pm on a Friday evening and the weather absolutely threw it down (and I mean bucketed down).

The site is gently rolling, and the EHU pitches are at the bottom end of the rolling slope. During our stay we were aware of big pockets of rain water between our ground sheet and tent. The EHU pitches are quite small and I could hear the bloke in the next tent snoring all night throughout our stay.

We took our own toilet, so I can't comment on toilet facilities, but there were two shower blocks (although one block only had 1 shower). Although basic and slightly dated, they were clean. It appears the charging for shower facilities has changed since the older posts as we didn't pay for showers. There is still only one washing up area, and this is congested at peak times.

I only remember seeing one young couple there with their dog and the rest were families, so our boys had a great time during the evening playing in the middle of the site. There is a small sanded play area, again this is dated, but the kids seemed to welcome this facility. I did feel that the children were safe.

The views are amazing, and I guess that the views and location is a high factor in the price (because at almost £30 per night (incl EHU) it is becoming a tad pricey).

The walk down to the western end of Abersoch beach takes around 15 minutes but the walk back is all up hill. We also walked to the National Trust beach (Porth Ceiriad) a couple of times after our evening meal, which was also lovely.

The small shop kept some weird hours and you couldn't purchase basics so you'd have to head out to Abersoch.

I wouldn't not return to the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joanne1969 2 reviews from this member

 We recently returned from a weeks stay at this site. On arrival we were made welcome at the office and shown where the tent field was and told we could pitch up anywhere in the field. The tent field is gently sloping but it was easy to find s flat spot on which to pitch up.

The facilities in the tent field are clean and well maintained, however they could do with a few more toilets and showers and another sink to was pots (there is one male, one female and one unisex loo and one unisex shower and one sink to wash up). After a few days I realised that there were a couple more showers in the caravan field so walked through the caravan field to use their facilities.

There is a small children's play area which is visible from the tent field and felt safe for the children to play there.

The site is within walking distance of 2 beaches, however the walk to Abersoch beach is down a very steep hill, so is hard work walking back up with children!

The office sells cold drinks and chocolate and a few basic supplies like disposable bbqs, however no milk or bread which would have been handy as there were no shops within walking distance.

All in all a lovely little campsite with great views of Abersoch and would be even better with a few more loos and showers 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KxG+C+D 3 reviews from this member

 Just spent our second holiday at this lovely caravan site and will be going again next year.

The owner is very helpful. The facilities good and the views are stunning. A beautiful site in a designated Area Of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

The area around is quiet, out of school holidays, with a number of large bays to visit with sandy beaches and Snowdonia looms in the background on most views, including from the site.

Also good for dog owners as they are allowed on most of the beaches.

The nearby town of Pwhelli has supermarket and necessary shops just 1/4 hour away. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: KatieP 4 reviews from this member

 Visited Bryn Bach for the first, and last time, this summer as part of a group of 15. Main reason we won't be returning is we found the owner too officious and obstructive. That said, the site was clean and in a good position. Main gripes are:

We arrived at 1. 30pm and were welcomed with 'you're not meant to be here till 2pm, I'm having my lunch!' I apologised and said just tell me which field we are in and where our pitches are and I'll book in later.

Even though we were a group of 15 there were no pitches marked or reserved for us, so we set up where we felt appropriate. When we did see the owner later he said we were too spread out and we had to move closer.

As 3 of us were in trailer tents this was easier said than done, but we obligingly unpegged 2 of the smaller tents and moved them wholesale nearer the rest of our group. I would have had concerns over fire regs if we'd moved the trailers closer together as he said. Apparently the site was going to be full up by the next day, and we had taken too much space up.

However, by the Saturday night there was still plenty of space - annoyingly even from where we had moved our two tents.

Next I was told off for having a gazebo up in front of our trailer tent. I explained we had put this up instead of our awning as there was rain forecast and we didn't want a soggy awning to take home. However, I had to pay an extra £5 for the privilege, whilst my other friends weren't charged for their full awnings!

Facilities wise it was all ok, toilet and shower blocks clean and not too busy, although had to queue for the washing up area. Small, sandy kids play area up in the caravan field. Tent field looks over down into Abersoch bay. A 15 minute walk down to Bwlchtocyn Beach.

In summary, a decent site but way too much hassle for us. 


Previous     23 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bryn Bach Caravan & Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bryn Bach Caravan & Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bryn Bach Caravan & Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abersoch      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


960 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December