Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Oxon Hall Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Oxon Hall Touring Park Reviews

Oxon Hall Touring Park
Welshpool Road
Shrewsbury
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY3 5FB
Tel: 01743 340868
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 123 Reviews
                9/10 from 123 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  123 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marg + Alby 2 reviews from this member

This is a fantastic site managed by a lovely team who are very friendly and helpful. It is in an ideal location near to Oxon park and ride where you can travel into Shrewsbury and back for just £1. 60. There is also a co-op store and a chinese take away along with a fish and chip shop nearby and a little further along the road, a pub with an Ego restaurant within.

The pitches are spacious and there is an adult only section if required as well as a well stocked shop selling caravan equipment as well as basics such as milk.

All in all a great site with fantastic spotless facilities and we would certainly recommend it.

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kevinsheldon 33 reviews from this member

Just returned from a Christmas shopping weekend at Oxon Hall.

The wardens have obviously worked hard to give the site a Christmassy feel by putting up lots of lights and decorations. Really welcoming:)

We were given a large hardstanding pitch not far from both a water point and also the revamped warm and cosy toilet block.

No need to stock up with provisions as you're only a stone's throw away from a large Co-op with a decent chippy and chinese alongside.

Shrewsbury has lots of independent shops where you can buy unusual gifts whilst, most importantly, supporting local retailers.

£2. 50 return for 2 people from the Park & Ride into town?

Even Scrooge couldn't complain about that!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Badger826 3 reviews from this member

We received a warm and friendly welcome following a trouble free booking. Our small booking request was catered for without a quibble. The site has security barriers opened by a card. The toilet facilities have been recently refurbished and kept in a very clean state. Laundry and washing up rooms are both inside. All rooms are capable of being heated for the winter. The site is well laid out and maintained to a high standard. With a park and ride next door as well as shops, take aways and a pub at the end of the long drive most things are catered for. The shop on site has basic supplies and caravan accessories. Being on the outskirts of Shrewsbury the site is within easy reach of numerous places of interest and you can take trip into Wales. All in all a first class site, we will certainly return.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 33 reviews from this member

Oh dear - must have had an off day between Saturday and Sunday -ladies lavatories/showers grubby-paper strewn about the floor-my pet hate-mop bucket with filthy water to clean showers post use. Only paper in 2 of the toilet cubicles not been replaced by 9 30 the next morning-at this price level I think the motto should be-must do better!

Saying that we had an

Excellent fully serviced pitch in great position by the pond (pitch 34) ducks visited us at 5 30 both days expecting their tea. Caught site of a buzzard -have never seen one before.

Very hard ground ruined 4 steel tent pegs trying to peg out awning.

Lovely quiet neighbours in non adult area -very peaceful no noise after 11 which may not suit everyone but I am very pleased with this after a hard week at work

Easy and cheap to use park and ride now only every 20 mins due to budget cuts so you have to time your arrival at the stop carefully.

Nearby co op has everything you could want

2artisan bakers in the town expensive but superb bread and pastries.

The Armoury on the river front lovely pub food and drinks on a hot Saturday afternoon

Shrewsbury is a very pretty place and oxon a good option if slightly expensive but knew about that before we ent so no complaints from us -(apart from the ladies facilities issue)

Tanners wine merchant in the town worth a visit. The market hall is a must for coffee and cake.

We probably would visit again if in the area

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Emmzybird 2 reviews from this member

Having stayed at the sister site earlier in the year we did have high expectations and we were not disappointed! Lovely site, well kept, clean and tidy, huge hard standing fully serviced pitches and toilet blocks are immaculately clean! Staff very friendly and helpful! Will deffo return. Highly recommended. Great location for the park and ride into Shrewsbury, only downfall this doesn't run on a Sunday (not the sites fault). Thank you for a lovely stay!

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz+ ant Slade 16 reviews from this member

Stayed over the New year.
Really nice site with great facilities.
Great position for the park and ride with chippy and pub within a five to ten minute walk.
We did have a issue while we stayed on the site, which I have to say the staff didn't handle very well, but I cant say there not friendly.
Because of that don't think I would stay there again.

Date of Visit: December 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 75 reviews from this member

We originally booked a 3 for 2 night offer for mid-December but they rang to say they were snowed in and asked if I wanted them to hold my deposit.

I managed to rearrange lots of family commitments to stay on site a week later than planned and was disappointed to find they wouldn't honour the 3 for 2 offer, as it had expired the day before.

On top of that they charged me more as it was now classed as Peak Period. (only 10 'vans on site though).

The approach road was still being cleared of ice as we arrived and it looks as though they'd pulled out all the stops to get the site open again.

We were pleasantly surprised how effective the revamp to the toilet and shower blocks have been; really pristine and lovely and warm.

The Christmas lights and decorations were amazing and would put several town centres to shame. Sadly, we missed the Christmas Tree festival in St. Chads, as that had finished the day before we arrived too. Snow in December, who would have thought it!

Unfortunately the riverside path was closed off due to ice, so we couldn't cycle as far as we hoped, but did manage a 15 mile loop to Montford Bridge, Mytton, Fitz, Leatton and the town centre.

We used the Park and Ride twice and it's excellent value at £2. 50 return for a couple and so convenient for the shops.

All in all, a nice break even if 'management' weren't in the Christmas spirit.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Anna Camper 9 reviews from this member

Lovely relaxed site. Lots of water points, level gravel pitches, 16amp power, really big shop selling everything and more. Toilets and shower block warm, clean and modern, lots of hot water, NO press button! Staff very friendly and helpful. Will return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Teeekay 11 reviews from this member

I endorse all the previous reviews. It is really in a great location for getting into town, what a lovely town with so much to see and do all easily reached on foot. Note Park and Ride doesn't run on Sundays neither does alternative bus service #1 (through the alleyway). However we took our motorhome in straight into town to the Frankwell car park. Very large, paid £1 for 10 hours.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GrandPaDiesel 1 review from this member

Just got home from 6 days at Oxon Hall. We chose this site because it is only an hour from home and we had a new to us caravan to try for the first time. If it was possible to give this place 12 out of 10 then I would. I cannot think of one thing I could find fault with. The site itself is kept immaculate, the showers and toilets are better than you find in a lot of hotels. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We originally booked for 4 nights but stayed an extra 2 days because we loved the place. The on-site shop is well stocked with most things a caravanner might need. They even had the part I needed to repair a leak on our hot water system.

The icing on the cake for us was that a 5 or 6 min stroll took you to the Oxon Hall Park and Ride. No need to use your car to go to Shrewsbury. And cheaper than parking if two of you travel. Another couple of minutes walk takes you to an excellent chippie and a Chinese take-away. Both are next to a well stocked Co-op and a good Pharmacy. There is also a ladies hairdresser and vetinary service on the same precinct.

About 10 mins walk away is a Toby Carvery. Not my cup of tea. But very popular.

We had a hard standing pitch in the adults only section. Plenty of room for the van, awning and car.

An added bonus for us was that the site is over-run with rabbits, blackbirds and lots of other bird species. Plus regular aerobatic displays by a few Buzzards.

All in all. We cant wait to go back

Previous     123 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5482 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019