Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Forest Holidays Cropton

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > Forest Holidays Cropton Reviews

CLOSED: Forest Holidays Cropton
Cropton
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 155 Reviews
                8/10 from 155 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  155 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please be aware that this site has now closed for touring bookings. To search for another site, please click here 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Stuart6867 11 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews and the brochure we had high expectations for the site. Sadly did not quite live up to these.

It is set in a fabulous location but they have been redeveloping the site to include more holiday lodges which is a shame as the pitches have been reduced. The site was still showing the signs from the building work.

Toilets floors were always dirty but not surprising given the muddy gravel you had to walk over. Showers were large and hot though.

Pizza service is excellent. Freshly made on site and good value. Staff very friendly and gave a great service.

Loads to do in the area, and great walks. Would recommend the North Yorks steam railway and Eden Camp for family days out.

We have stayed at other Camping in the forest sites and not been disappointed so maybe we just came at the wrong time. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aidybarker 3 reviews from this member

 Terrible for camping as of 2013. Just been this August bank holiday. Turned up to be told that the basic pitches are 'literally just a piece of grass on the field'. OK, that's essentially what it says on the web site and I've been many time previously to this site and agree - but also as per the website you could camp in the nooks and crannies and have a great little adventure. Not so now, all the nooks and crannies are 'select with hookup' or whatever and the basic pitch gets you onto a field with quite bad access - scraping the bottom of the car.

Pitched on the field you have to clear the pieces of green polystyrene presumably from unpacking things to go into the log cabins. One side of the field is basically a building site and we had to keep a constant watch on the kids. Those same log cabins are now your view as a camper. Also, be aware that as nice as the staff are, very politely asking people to let their fire go out, but not dealing with all the loud music coming from the cabins - you can't help but feel unwelcome as a camper.

As the field was full, there was no 'open space' for the kids to run around in. We took the kids to the playground - it's been replaced by a log cabin.

By Monday, a bit of soap left in one dispenser, and only a couple of toilets with loo roll.

All in all a real shame that the operators have gone for the 'big money' and letting people get closer to nature with a double glazed window in between. The core campers are now left with what amounts to an expensive yet poor site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chester2 2 reviews from this member

 After driving for 6 hours to get to the site, we were so disappointed when we arrived. Nothing like our expectations. It was a building site - so many log cabins being built and very noisy and dusty. The bins were overflowing the whole 5 days we were there. The worst site we have ever been to. Such a shame as in a lovely area. Will definitely not be going back. As it is advertised as a Camping in the Forest site, we expected to be in the beautiful forest surrounding the site - not in the building site it turned out to be. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Garmitage 3 reviews from this member

 Please be aware we do not usually leave reviews as I can't honestly say we have ever had a bad experience before in years of camping and now going in our van. However having just come back from this site we felt obliged to warn everyone about this place.

It is such a shame as the location is really lovely but the site itself is a complete disaster area. When I say building site I can't emphasise enough that you are completely surrounded by earth movers which start at 07. 00 and keep going all day. I think weekends may be better but you are still surrounded by ugly building works and sloppy mud from the passage of heavy machinery. No peace and quiet as advertised and we had no warning when we booked which we find quite incredible given the extent of the work and the price they are charging.

Other than this I feel the need to mention the dirty loos and showers yuk!

Also piles of broken washing machines furniture etc.

Felt sorry for staff who said they had told head office about the problems but they were not responding.

We are now worried because we are due to go Bedgerlert for main holiday this summer which is run by the same group. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 89 reviews from this member

 A bit of a mixture, this Site, just now. It is undergoing a lot of work upgrading the cabins and, we understood, installing new ones too. As a result, the Site itself is home to diggers and quite a lot of workers, meaning that the environment has been more than a bit degraded with earthworks, pipes etc. When complete, we assume that it will be back to a high standard and ideal for people wanting a real break from city or town life.

Basic facilities are good with very good staff who, with so few residents when we were there, were only too happy to help or chat. There are lots of easy walks in the forest where there are deer and squirrels. We will treasure the night hearing not only owls hooting but nightjar too. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jane+Daz 2 reviews from this member

 We booked a select pitch but when we arrived on Good Friday late in the afternoon, all of the select pitches had gone (even though we had booked one!) this was not a problem because they upgraded us to a select plus pitch which included its own water tap. The site is predominantly set up for caravans with lots of level hardstandings. There is a field to the bottom of the site which is used for tents, however, my husband was talking to a member of staff who told him that in a couple of weeks the field was going to have cabins on!

There is a small shop which does takeaway pizzas, pasties and beer that is brewed locally plus emergency rations, washing up liquid, soap etc. The toilets are fine, and the showers are lovely and warm and are the push button type. The staff were really friendly and very informative regarding local area and walks.

There is a leaflet in the shop with walks around Dalby Forest ranging from 1 mile to 9 miles. We went on a Dusk Walk with one of the staff to look for Deer which was very good and informative - cost was 10 adults, 8 children (I think!) Pickering is about 7 miles away and there is a co-op supermarket in the centre of Pickering (by the crossroads) there is a pay and display carpark which serves the supermarket. There is a very good handyman shop called Coopers (near the traffic lights) which sells everything!

The site is near to Eden Camp, Flamingo Land and Whitby. The North Yorkshire Railway goes from the centre of Pickering through to Goathland and Whitby. A lovely site and would probably return. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kaydk 5 reviews from this member

 Like this site. Its a real get away from it all place, with some great woodland trails - colour coded and well signed. The site itself offers good value for money, Good facilities with a very nice on site shop/bar. Its well laid out with plenty of space, the pitches are a nice mix of grass or hard-standing. Good touring base for the North Yorkshire Moors, Rosedale, The Yorkshire Heritage Coast etc (and the local village has its own brewery!)- perfect 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: A kirk 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site located in the woods, very similar to that of some of the campsites in the New Forest.

Arrived late, but had rang earlier to confirm that it would e ok, was advised what pitches to look for and just pop into the shop the next morning and pay. This I thought was very trusting of them, as it would have been easy to exit without paying. However I believe in being honest.

A said site was lovely, but facilities were in need of a little clean.

Washing up room was out of order, but for no reason that could be seen, so I along with many others continued to use it.

Toilets and showers whilst were not the worse I've seen, they certainly could have done with a little more cleaning. On the plus side they were nice and warm considering the freezing weather.

Staff were fantastic to deal with.

Very little mobile phone coverage, especially on Vodafone.

Would return if I was in the area. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Swingler6 1 review from this member

 This is the second time we have stayed on this site and we really like it. The staff are friendly and helpful and keep the modern facilities really clean. Its also a very eco friendly site. Just as good in winter as summer with a range of lovely forest walks to suit all abilities.

Our younger family members thoroughly enjoyed hiring bikes to go off riding through the forest and I have never come so close to touching a deer!Lots of other wild life to see too and great in the summer for children to play in the brook at the bottom of the site. There is also plenty to see in the surrounding area. I think this will be a regular trip for us.

You are not so close to walk to a pub or local shops if that's what you like but they are minutes away by car. 


Previous     155 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to 865

Get an email reminder on 1st December