Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cheddar Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Priddy Wells > Cheddar Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Cheddar Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Mendip Heights
Townsend
Priddy Wells
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA5 3BP
Tel: 01749 870241
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 90
Open: 20/03 to 03/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 91 Reviews
                9/10 from 91 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  91 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Had a couple of nights stay on my own with my two dogs.

The site is well tended and looks very nice, with the owners busying themselves with keeping things tidy. Facilities were clean and the washing up room and laundry were very good, with local information to hand. The on site shop was also very good and well stocked.

The owners were efficient in my dealings with them, but not overly friendly.

Two points that will slightly put me off returning, their apparent attitude to dogs and how much the pitches slope. It seemed strange to be given and extra 'information leaflet' about dogs, that included statements about not letting your dog urinate on site or around your pitch; try walking two dogs to the entrance and not letting them lift their leg! It also had the C&CC club 'rules' printed with statements in bold. It just felt totally unnecessary. All other C&CC sites have a brief paragraph which is common sense and the norm for most campsites.

It also seemed strange to go to the trouble of putting gravel pitches in but not levelling the pitch at the same time! Luckily I got my van level, but many of the other pitches were not so lucky with vans at various angles with chocks staked up unable to get level.

The surrounding area is great for walking and that will probably pull me back to the site, but I'll no doubt check out the looks of other sites in the area first. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 33 reviews from this member

 We have just had 10 days at this lovely peaceful site.

We received a warm reception from the assistant site manager and were allowed to choose a pitch.

It is in a lovely peaceful setting, nice views over adjacent fields

Very little light pollution at night. A torch is useful after dark!

Pitches are a mix of hardstandings and grass, a good size some gently sloping.

The site is kept in lovely condition by the staff, who are very friendly and helpful.

Sanitary facilities are spotlessly clean and have good hot showers.

Reception sells a range of food and drink plus camping essentials.

You can purchase tickets for the nearby Cheddar Gorge attractions from reception, saving 6 on two adult tickets, you have to do this the day before.

Its a 3/4 mile pleasant stroll into Priddy which has an excellent pub, the Queen Victoria.

It is a very old pub serving local ales and good food with friendly staff. Free wifi too.

The other pub (The New Inn) is closed for refurbishing. Go past this and take second right to the Queen Victoria!

Left out of the site takes you into Cheddar Gorge well worth a visit.

There is a farm shop, which does breakfast, a few minutes stroll out of the site.

Plenty of footpaths and open spaces close by to exercise your dog!

Nearest supermarkets are in Wells, Waitrose, Morrisons and Lidl. Its a pleasant city with lovely cathedral and plenty of cafes and shops.

You can park at Waitrose and claim some of fees back if you shop

There.

Glastonbury, Weston Super Mare are all easy drives, also Clarks outlet at Street and the excellent Fleet Air Arm museum at Yeovilton.

TV reception is excellent but phone signal was non existent on EE. Apparently Vodaphone works fine!

Pay for wifi is available all over the site.

A super site convenient for this scenic area. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jusbluey 25 reviews from this member

 My partner & I have just returned home after a lovely weeks holiday at this campsite. Our pitch was on hardstanding & spacious. The site was wonderfully peaceful, the only sounds were from local farm animals. The facilities were kept spotlessly clean & it was good to have 2 personal cubicles (although I was concerned that one had a window to the outside & no way of preventing folk seeing someone inside using it). The only negative I felt was that in the dark evenings it could do with some lighting around the site. The details do say that there are 2 pubs in Priddy but at the present time only the Queen Victoria is open & very popular, offering good food at reasonable prices. During our stay we walked over 45 miles (thanks to decent weather), taking in Cheddar Gorge & the Mendips, areas which are very close to the site. A visit to the extremely beautiful Wells cathedral was a joy. I would definitely recommend this site & I hope to return sometime in the future 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Someone 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site with friends for a weekend in June. We were in a large tent and our friends were in a caravan.

We were warmly welcomed and informed about the various facilities by the good natured wardens, then shown to our pitches. These were a decent size and came with EHU, just reachable with our 15m cable. The pitches were on quite a slope so its worth making sure that you have the means to level anything that needs levelling, like the camping stove or a table. Pitches are all well maintained; some are hard standing and some are grass.

The campsite itself was very peaceful. Although it was a busy weekend with most if not all pitches occupied, there was almost no noise from anywhere on the site. A nearby road inevitably produces a little traffic noise but it is not a busy road and there were no noisy or large lorries. The road is narrow, though something to bear in mind if towing.

The facilities on the site were kept very clean throughout our stay and consist of toilets, washing cubicles, and showers. There are also disabled and parent/child facilities.

The site office is also a shop which appeared well stocked, though we did not use it or look round in detail. It is possible to order bread there for delivery the following morning.

Three quarters of a mile away is the hamlet of Priddy where the Queen Victoria Pub does excellent and reasonably priced food as well as a good choice of ales and ciders, as well as all the other drinks you expect to find in any pub. In the other direction from the camp site, just a few yards up the road is a small farm shop the sausages from there were excellent!

It is about 3 miles to Wookey Hole and a little further to Wells. Cheddar is also close by.

All in all, a beautiful, well maintained camp site inset in beautiful countryside. Well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PedroPete61 22 reviews from this member

 The site is well maintained and with Hard standings in our English weather a bonus, plenty of walks available with or without a dog, roads not to clever if on a Bike plenty of hills to keep the heart Thumping. One Bus a week on a Tuesday 10. 20 and return at 1300 hrs from Wells, A lovely city well worth a trip in a taxi with a group. There is a Play area for the children at the bottom of the site, toilets Spotless plenty of Hot water Will return next year 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: *deb* 22 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this lovely site in the Mendips near Cheddar. We were warmly greeted by one of the wardens and shown a couple of pitches that would suit us. We chose a pitch by the wall that borders the road. There was a small amount of noise from this but nothing too bad. The pitches are sloping and a little on the tight side. We were definitely closer than 6 metres to both the tent next door and across the road. We had a fair amount of rain and so the dead area of our pitch became a bit of a mud bath! Facilities are first rate, spotlessly clean. The ladies facilities were heated with privacy cubicles to some basins and even a few loos with wash hand basins in them. Showers were large enough to take a child in too, though there are parent and child facilities on site too. There are spotless dishwashing facilities both indoor and outdoor with hot water from solar power. There is some distant machinery noise, not sure if this is a local farm or there is a scrap metal place nearby but we were aware of the noise though we might have been unlucky. Bikers too seem to like the Mendips on a sunny day so be prepared for that as well. The small shop is really great and the croissants available to order and baked on site were just brilliant! It is a real credit to the wardens who obviously put in a major effort to keep the place to a high standard. Overall I think this is a great Club Site and one I would be happy to return too, but with better weather next time! 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Topcat+Dibble 18 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here. A lovely small site on the top of the Mendips a couple of miles from the top of Cheddar Gorge. The site is sloping so try for a pitch at the lower end, away from the road, where it levels off slightly. Usual facilities for a C&CC site with helpful wardens who offered us a choice of pitches. Site has a small play area for young children.

A small farm shop 5 minutes walk one way (which does excellent cooked breakfasts, try one) and a pub in the village of Priddy a 15 minute walk in the other (beer - Butcombe and food excellent).

No public transport so spent one day visiting family and friends, and the other visiting Glastonbury - the New Age hippy capital of Britain. Even if not your thing, worth sitting in a cafe and watching the 'sights' walk by!

Plenty to do in area and will be visiting again I'm sure. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Plinsky 15 reviews from this member

 WOW! We stumbled on this site accidentally: the one we were planning to stay at only had grass pitches on a slope an we kept getting stuck in the mud.

From the moment we arrived Roy and Jennette (the wardens) were absolutely a DELIGHT. Friendly, helpful and honest: thank you.

The site is brilliant: large half hard standing half grass pitches: these are levelled. The views of the Mendips are beautiful, the site is spotlessly clean, the toilets are WARM and immaculate. The shop is well stocked with local produce including Cheddar Ales!.

There is a small playground with swings and a slide, perfectly adequate for typing children.

We will certainly be returning: thank you fro a great time! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wookie75 2 reviews from this member

 We have had the pleasure of visiting this site on a couple of occasions, and have been overalled impressed with the pitches and the facilities. The site itself is well maintained and the shop has all that you forget to bring. I love that you can order your pastries for the next morning. A big thumbs up 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RosePearl1960 17 reviews from this member

 To spend time at this site was pure pleasure.

Friendly, helpful wardens.

A proper reasonably level hardstanding pitch, with space between us and the neighbours

Heated shower block with showers that are not the annoying push button variety

Well stocked shop, fresh bakery goods and not overly priced

Farm shop 300m down the road, I can recommend their bacon and sausages

Traditional pub in the village serving decent pub grub and fantastic walks, with breathtaking views. And not to mention the plethora of attractions all within a few miles of the site. 


Previous     91 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cheddar Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cheddar Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cheddar Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Priddy Wells      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1464 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020