Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - New House Farm Cs

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells > New House Farm Cs Reviews

New House Farm Cs
Bryngwyn
Rhosgoch
Hay On Wye
Builth Wells
Powys   (Browse area)
LD2 3JT
Tel: 01497 851671
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Easter To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 22 Reviews
                9/10 from 22 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  22 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elmo22 5 reviews from this member

Love peace and quiet the ideal site for you. My hubby and I plus our sheltie stayed three nights. Toilets and shower were basic and functional my only criticism they needed a clean. Owners were delightful, bought some of their home reared beef sausages delicious they overheard us saying we had run out of potatoes and kindly gave us some. Loved lying in bed at night listening to the owls. We came here to go harness racing which was cancelled so went to hay on wye not far away, no pub in walking distance but we are early to bed people so no problem to us but you are allowed camp fires so what is better than a nice site with a glass of wine cooking beef sausages on an open fire.

Journey to the site was an adventure up hills and little lanes we were given excellent directions. I would call it a retreat campsite just up our street highly reccomend we will be back. We have not rated child friendliness as ours are grown and flown but they would have loved the space and experience thisb site would give them

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickfpage 2 reviews from this member

Great little site with friendly owners. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Very basic toilet and shower block, but that's fine. There's a firepit in the corner of the field as well as a water tap. Since we were the only campers there, we had all this to ourselves. The farm sells its own meat and veg which is a bonus if you fancy a barbecue. The view across the valley to the hills is lovely and there are great walks straight out of the site. It's fairly remote and accessed along some very narrow lanes, so possibly not for the faint hearted. It's about a 10-15 minute drive from Hay on Wye, but there's a great pub just down the road in Painscastle. Recommend this site to experienced campers who know what they're looking for.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laffinlis 2 reviews from this member

What a great little find, perfect for our 4 night stay, very peaceful, with great views exactly what we were looking for away from hussle and bussle, toilets and shower were basic but clean and perfectly adequate. Sue and John were the perfect hosts, and very friendly.

It is off the beaten track down a lane but is a great location for sightseeing as your central to Hay on Wye, Builth Wells and the Brecons. Sue does both breakfast and evening meals at the farmhouse, we tried both, the breakfast was excellent and set you up for the day, and the 3 course evening meal was certainly to a very high standard all with farm produce where possible, a must try.

We loved it and We will be back!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: 1_man_+_his_dob(lo) 34 reviews from this member

Spent 3 nights while attending the Hay literary festival. Unfortunately, as feared, the site was pretty full by the time I arrived and I ended up on the sloping top part of the field because the flatter, sheltered bottom section had been filled by tents. Cue 3 days of objects falling out of cupboards and sliding off worktops!

There were 2 water taps in the field and a shower/toilet + 2 toilets a few minutes away near the farm house. These were pretty basic and couldn't cope with all the people who had arrived by the end of the week.

The owners were very nice and visited the site several times each day. Only £3. 50 per person per night, so great value when camping solo.

The site is not easy to reach - the lane leading to it from Rhosgoch in particular is very narrow. Regardless of vehicle I would also recommend taking the longer route from Hay-on-Wye / Clyro to Painscastle, then Rhosgoch, rather than the direct road to Rhosgoch.

The views from above the farm are good and the site is peaceful during the night with only the sound of the farm animals to greet you in the morning.

Hay-on-Wye is about 15 minutes away by road and from there Hereford is another 20+ minutes away with a big farm shop and The Weir NT gardens on the way. Hay Bluff and the Black Mountains are about 15 minutes further south of Hay along more narrow roads.

I will use this site again but will try to pick a quieter time.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madriggie 1 review from this member

Wonderful site! Basic camping doesn't get much better than this.

Its very remote, going down a very narrow lane to reach it (its the turning with the white chapel, it took us a while to spot!) but once there, the only sounds you hear are the birds, and the sheep!

We stayed for two nights, and was totally alone for most of it until late on the second night, so the kids were free to run round to their hearts content, watching the sheep and lambs, horses, we even borrowed a few floating items and went to the stream to 'race' them much to the kids delight (what proper childhood memories are made of!)

Sue and John are lovely, we didn't see much of them as its a real working farm and they are very busy for the most part. The facilities are very basic, but nice and clean. Two taps for spring water in the field, and a camp fire area should you wish to do that kind of thing! Field is a little slopped at one end, but plenty of flat areas, and even the slop isn't too steep to camp on.

Only thing I'd say is they do with a bigger sink for washing up and a longer pull cord on the lights as the kids couldn't reach! But that is a really minor thing on an overall perfectly nice site!

We will go back any time!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: BeakerUK 4 reviews from this member

Two nights over the Easter break in pure heaven. This is the most glorious campsite.

Do not come here for sparkling toilets, scalding showers, laundry rooms, bowling-green pitches, easy access with endless entertainment, on-site shops or nearby supermarkets, facilities for children and lots of families to buddy up with.

What you will find: A small, sloping field down a tiny country lane that goes only to a few hill farms; a rickety gate you have to open and close every time you take the car in and out; bumps and dips and molehills; two basic but respectable toilets and a shower near the farmhouse; utter peace and solitude;

Sheep and lambs on the hillside fields; occasional horses trotting by; a friendly farm dog who waits to be invited before greeting you in your tent; Fermat, the stunning and snuggly British Blue cat who meets you on the way to the toilet; birds of every shape and variety including wheeling birds of prey and hooting owls at night;

A total escape from the rat race; the chance for children to be free and experience nature; a wonderfully friendly welcome (and apparently help pulling your car off the field if you are silly enough to park in the mud!)

A campfire to share; glorious star-filled skies at night; and the chance to taste the most delicious food imaginable - either with a farmhouse breakfast (we got fruit salad, cereal, toast and jams, home-made sausage and bacon from local pigs, fresh local eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, potatoes, beans, orange juice, tea. All for a staggering £6.50!) or a packed lunch, or even a three course evening meal!

We shared the site with a couple of walkers in one tent our first night, and had it all to ourselves the second night - it was perfection. We will be back!

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FriendOfOwls 6 reviews from this member

Best Site Ever!

Our weekend at New House Farm was quite simply enchanting. Multiple hooting owls and barking foxes and the stunning night sky lent magic to the night, and in the daytime there was a view from the campsite to die for!

This is a beautiful, isolated farm, set in a green, quiet valley. Only occasional road sounds from passing farm equipment or someone going up the lane to the farm further up reminded us that we were on earth and not in paradise!

The mid-air wrangles between red kites, ravens, buzzards and crows were like something from a Biggles book, and kept us entertained all weekend.

Owners John and Sue were very friendly and helpful, but it's a working farm and they're busy people, so don't expect to be greeted by a receptionist and a horde of site staff! We arrived and the farm was quiet and nobody about, so we set up before we were able to check in, but it was fine, and they greeted us later with a smile and a chat, and a brochure about the farm and the facilities on offer, which was very nice.

Toilet and shower were extremely basic, but I found that charming as they were clean and the shower very easy to use. Again, no frills but the water is good and hot, and it's free!

Next time we go, we might treat ourselves to a campers' breakfast at the farmhouse. Sounds like great value. Evening meals and packed lunches also provided if you book in advance. They also sell their own meat, but we don't eat much meat, so we stuck to what we'd brought with us.

We were so enchanted by the campsite that we didn't use the car, but the short walk we took over the moors gave stunning views of the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons, and wetland habitat where we found damsel flies and dragon flies hovering over little pools. Peacock butterflies hovered in the flowers around the farmhouse garden and patio, and happy hens walked free about the farm buildings and in the courtyard by the loo block. Very pleasant!

Nice little corner designated for an open fire, should you want one (Bring wood from home).

Bit of a slope on the field, so when it's busy and you're last in, you could find yourself pitching on more of an incline than usual, but still OK. Most of the field was very usable. It is small, so expect it to be busy on bank holidays, though they do limit numbers to avoid problems.

We were only joined by one group on the Saturday night, and were on our own on the Sunday. Apart from the many, many owls! It was the perfect place for us. No negatives at all.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flapper 2 reviews from this member

In short, this was the nicest campsite we've ever been to. But it's not for those who like extensive facilities, UHU, bar, shower blocks, & nearby toilets.

If you like views of the Welsh hills, buzzards wheeling overhead, horses in the next field, owls hooting to each other across the valley, an open fire, and absolutely no road noise (except when someone rides out clip-clopping along the path), and friendly owners then this is for you.

We stayed for nearly a week and there was no more than 3 tents in the field. There's probably room for about 4 pitches on the flat, and another 4 up the hill a bit. John, the owner, explained that he doesn't want too many pitches up at one time so you should never feel cramped.

The 2 toilets and 1 shower are basic but do the job. There are 2 spring-water fed water points in the camping field.

There's a lovely half-hour walk across the fern-topped hill to the pub in Painscastle. This walk has stunning views across to the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons. I wouldn't fancy finding the way back in the dark though!

Our kids loved running free in the camping field, playing in the mud and stroking the horses in the next field. This really is a rural, small-farm paradise and I can't recommend it enough.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robinghill 2 reviews from this member

Great little site. For most of week we were only caravan but plenty of tents many only staying few days to visit royal welsh show. Walks in area are very good. We found the golf club on the clyro rd (look for yellow signs opposite chapel) a good place for a drink and they also do food. The warden is very friendly had nice meal on Saturday at the farmhouse. Only problem was wet weather but even that didn't spoil our holiday

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayne1203 3 reviews from this member

We came with a group of friends with their children. Found the info on this site and took into consideration the reviews of others.

Getting there down lots of very narrow lanes. God help if we met anything coming the other way.We had a little trailer, and when we reversed it would twist to the side. Not good. But that was our problem. To get to way out places with fab views. You expect it.

Loved the views, but the site seemed to attract the wind, which gusted under our awning and the boys were pretty cold. Toilets were basic, a little trek from the site (thankful for our porta potti) and could do with a few cheap modifications. Like a hook on the back of the door, hot running plumbed in water and cleaned occasionally. I didn't even try the shower. Looked pretty manky.

The field grass was cut nice and short, and there was a couple of fresh water taps. The owners were friendly, and the animals, especially the horses. Well, great characters. We had tiny lambs in the field beside us, which for the kids was also great. We love walking and good views, and the walks up the hill to the common land was fab, and the views breathtaking!

Found it rather expensive as it was price per person and there was no hook up, but the company was fab so made up for it!

Loved the fact we could all sit around the fire.Don't forget to take your own firewood.And the stars at night again.Great.

We bought meat from the owners, which was tasty but a little expensive. We didn't have their brecky as it was for a set time, a little too early for all of the group, so we did our own fry up and bacon sarni's at a time that suited us.

All in all a good weekend.

Previous     22 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4091 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019