Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Folly Farm Cotswold Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Folly Farm Cotswold Camping > Reviews

CLOSED: Folly Farm Cotswold Camping
Bourton On The Water
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)



Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 105 Reviews
                8/10 from 105 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Lr1953 5 reviews from this member

 Nice level site for vans & tents.

A newish toilet block, BUT badly designed and not functional. Two showers and three loos for ladies and the same for men. No urinals. Not enough for a site of this size. Ladies shower was blocked. Not nice having to shower ankle deep in someone else's water.

Chemical disposal point was blocked. Raw sewage spread around.

No lid. No screening. Pretty unpleasant, especially for nearby pitches.

Dishwashing facilities like something out of the dark ages, but there was hot water.

Rubbish bins were very close by. Full up. Loads of wasps and flies.

Likewise the recycling bins.

Management were unpleasant. Will not return. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ussel 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site and excellent facilities. Was the 3rd time visiting this site and now under new management. Sadly this was noted the instant we turned up as we were charged extra for taking the same tent we took on previous 2 visits (as now it was too big??).

Also we had a large group of us with a lot of children, again the previous visits the children had free roam however this time after 1 day we were told not to go into the lower field that had a lovely tree to climb/bushes etc to play hide and seek.

Within a hour or so a 'hand made' sign saying NO CHILDREN was tied to a tree and also a traffic cone blocked the entry to the field.

Its a shame this happened as the previous 2 visits were lovely. A trip to Botwater was lovely however due to the issues we had we may be seeking other alternative sites in the area in future. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worthette 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely weekend staying at folly farm. Right from the word go the site reps were friendly and helpful giving us options of where we could pitch and the best position for the sun.

No pitch markings which was lovely as we had space and privacy. A really lovely site, with shade under the trees or full sun.

Other reviews talk about the toilet block and I agree they aren't great, but they are serviceable and temporary as the new block is well under way and looks stunning! Opening Next Easter, so not long to wait.

We will definitely be back as we barely scratched the surface to this lovely area. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chuperrete 3 reviews from this member

 We have stayed in many farm campsites and we have to say that we had never paid so much for so little.

The tent area is great, nice grass and big trees. But the facilities are just very basic. We love humble facilities but with humble prices too! and humble does not mean dirty. They were dirty and really looked like they have not been cleaned up in a long time, with dirt marks and spider webs on the walls.

Also you had to pay 1 pound for 10 minutes of shower, having 3 shower cubicles for about 40 families.

Rubbish bins overflowing, no laundry washing facilities of any kind and no wifi. 
Management response: Please note our brand new facilities block is open from 2018, and includes heated washrooms with toilets, wash basins and free showers, and a dishwashing area

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hrockett 1 review from this member

 We booked fairly last minute in high season. Met by friendly helpful wardens who offered us a choice of pitch. There are 3 fields, one is woodland, the others more open. It is a very attractive looking site but in my opinion there is lack of privacy between pitches and the pitches are too close together. We could hear all the conversation of the people next to us. By the time we got our unit in place with awning there really wasn't room to park the car alongside without encroaching on either neighbour.

It wasn't as peaceful as it felt it should have been due to RAF overhead, Chain saw (very large tree, went on for ages) and infernal wood pigeons. None of course the fault of the site management.

As other people have also noted the toilet and shower blocks really do need replacing. I believe it is on the agenda but I wouldn't consider staying here again till they are done. 
Management response: Please note our brand new facilities block is open from 2018, and includes heated washrooms with toilets, wash basins and free showers, and a dishwashing area


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Magmar 33 reviews from this member

 Making our booking over the telephone was very easy and we found Becky very efficient. On arrival we were shown to our pitch. We were in the lower area nearest the house with lots of very tall trees. On walking around the site we found that the tent field (Behind the reception) was far more open and sunny. Therefore we would recommend requesting either a sunny or shady pitch dependant upon your choice. EHU was available in all of the 3 camping/caravanning areas and generally the pitches were of a good size. There is a 'Camper's Cabin' with a fridge and a freezer for campers use as well as a coffee/drinks machine together with local tourist info.

The facilities were however much to be desired. There were no urinals for the gents, there was a Gents room with 2 WC cubicles all of which was a bit crowded as one clouted people opening the cubicle door. Only a push type cold tap on a small basin with a soap dispenser, there was a hand dryer but it took a couple of visits to find it as it ended up hidden behind a cubicle door when opened. I understand the ladies was the same. There were 2 other WC cubicles in the block but without any hand washing facility and the lights did not work in either of them. The only proper washing/teeth cleaning basins were located in the 2 shower rooms. These were both spacious with plenty of hooks and a chair, but regrettably did not have any hook/dish to place one's soap/gel on. The shower rooms were very basic. 1 for 10 mins of decent hot water was good. At the rear of the WC block were 8 Stainless Steel sinks with draining boards. 5 of them for washing up with good hot water, quite why they each had a mirror was a mystery. The other 3 sinks were set at a lower level and we believe that these were meant for personal washing. Strange because they had no mirrors. My suggestion would be for the site owners to spend a couple of days having to use these facilities to then fully understand the shortcomings. Rumour is that a new Facilities Block was planned for 2016????. However some very simple improvements to what is there would overcome most of the failings. The site wardens were excellent but I suspect are getting a little fed up with the moans re the facilities. Without the required improvements or new facilities we shall not return to Folly Farm which we found in every other aspect an excellent site. 
Management response: Please note our brand new facilities block is open from 2018, and includes heated washrooms with toilets, wash basins and free showers, and a dishwashing area


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: U7441DI 1 review from this member

 Went to this site 9 years ago and decided to return again this year - twice. The owners are extremely accommodating, friendly and considerate. The price is very reasonable. The site is lovely - whatever the weather - and we've had good and bad. The facilities are adequate and are going to be upgraded with a new toilet block we believe. The site is dark at night which is great if the skies are clear and you are into a bit of astronomy. There are great walks in the area and excellent pubs to visit - we recommend The Plough in Cold Aston, The Black Horse Inn in Naunton and The Mousetrap in Bourton-on-the-Water. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jleafe1 1 review from this member

 Great campsite - really peaceful with only a few pitches in our field. Toliekys faculties good

Staff were very friendly and willing to help wih our questions. You can walk to the lovely local pub The Plough across the field takes 20 minutes.

Great value for money would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alicehsu2 7 reviews from this member

 Despite several rowdy D of E groups at the campsite, the owners really worked hard to ensure that the campsite was kept quiet at a reasonable hour. They regularly checked that all of the guests were happy and they really cared about their site. There is hot and cold water. The toilet block is dated and could do with a refurb/replacement. You need to pay a 1 for the showers. Great service in being able to re-freeze your ice blocks and there are power points for charging your phone. 


Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!


All Sites in Gloucestershire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53647 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement