Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Folly Farm Cotswold Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Cheltenham > Folly Farm Cotswold Camping Reviews

Folly Farm Cotswold Camping
Bourton On The Water
Cheltenham
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 3BY
Tel: 01451 820 285
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 103 Reviews
                8/10 from 103 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ussel 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site and excellent facilities. Was the 3rd time visiting this site and now under new management. Sadly this was noted the instant we turned up as we were charged extra for taking the same tent we took on previous 2 visits (as now it was too big??).

Also we had a large group of us with a lot of children, again the previous visits the children had free roam however this time after 1 day we were told not to go into the lower field that had a lovely tree to climb/bushes etc to play hide and seek.

Within a hour or so a 'hand made' sign saying NO CHILDREN was tied to a tree and also a traffic cone blocked the entry to the field.

Its a shame this happened as the previous 2 visits were lovely. A trip to Botwater was lovely however due to the issues we had we may be seeking other alternative sites in the area in future.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Worthette 1 review from this member

Just returned from a lovely weekend staying at folly farm. Right from the word go the site reps were friendly and helpful giving us options of where we could pitch and the best position for the sun.

No pitch markings which was lovely as we had space and privacy. A really lovely site, with shade under the trees or full sun.

Other reviews talk about the toilet block and I agree they aren't great, but they are serviceable and temporary as the new block is well under way and looks stunning! Opening Next Easter, so not long to wait.

We will definitely be back as we barely scratched the surface to this lovely area.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chuperrete 3 reviews from this member

We have stayed in many farm campsites and we have to say that we had never paid so much for so little.

The tent area is great, nice grass and big trees. But the facilities are just very basic. We love humble facilities but with humble prices too! and humble does not mean dirty. They were dirty and really looked like they have not been cleaned up in a long time, with dirt marks and spider webs on the walls.

Also you had to pay 1 pound for 10 minutes of shower, having 3 shower cubicles for about 40 families.

Rubbish bins overflowing, no laundry washing facilities of any kind and no wifi.

Management response: Please note our brand new facilities block is open from 2018, and includes heated washrooms with toilets, wash basins and free showers, and a dishwashing area

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hrockett 1 review from this member

We booked fairly last minute in high season. Met by friendly helpful wardens who offered us a choice of pitch. There are 3 fields, one is woodland, the others more open. It is a very attractive looking site but in my opinion there is lack of privacy between pitches and the pitches are too close together. We could hear all the conversation of the people next to us. By the time we got our unit in place with awning there really wasn't room to park the car alongside without encroaching on either neighbour.

It wasn't as peaceful as it felt it should have been due to RAF overhead, Chain saw (very large tree, went on for ages) and infernal wood pigeons. None of course the fault of the site management.

As other people have also noted the toilet and shower blocks really do need replacing. I believe it is on the agenda but I wouldn't consider staying here again till they are done.

Management response: Please note our brand new facilities block is open from 2018, and includes heated washrooms with toilets, wash basins and free showers, and a dishwashing area

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Magmar 26 reviews from this member

Making our booking over the telephone was very easy and we found Becky very efficient. On arrival we were shown to our pitch. We were in the lower area nearest the house with lots of very tall trees. On walking around the site we found that the tent field (Behind the reception) was far more open and sunny. Therefore we would recommend requesting either a sunny or shady pitch dependant upon your choice. EHU was available in all of the 3 camping/caravanning areas and generally the pitches were of a good size. There is a 'Camper's Cabin' with a fridge and a freezer for campers use as well as a coffee/drinks machine together with local tourist info.

The facilities were however much to be desired. There were no urinals for the gents, there was a Gents room with 2 WC cubicles all of which was a bit crowded as one clouted people opening the cubicle door. Only a push type cold tap on a small basin with a soap dispenser, there was a hand dryer but it took a couple of visits to find it as it ended up hidden behind a cubicle door when opened. I understand the ladies was the same. There were 2 other WC cubicles in the block but without any hand washing facility and the lights did not work in either of them. The only proper washing/teeth cleaning basins were located in the 2 shower rooms. These were both spacious with plenty of hooks and a chair, but regrettably did not have any hook/dish to place one's soap/gel on. The shower rooms were very basic. 1 for 10 mins of decent hot water was good. At the rear of the WC block were 8 Stainless Steel sinks with draining boards. 5 of them for washing up with good hot water, quite why they each had a mirror was a mystery. The other 3 sinks were set at a lower level and we believe that these were meant for personal washing. Strange because they had no mirrors. My suggestion would be for the site owners to spend a couple of days having to use these facilities to then fully understand the shortcomings. Rumour is that a new Facilities Block was planned for 2016????. However some very simple improvements to what is there would overcome most of the failings. The site wardens were excellent but I suspect are getting a little fed up with the moans re the facilities. Without the required improvements or new facilities we shall not return to Folly Farm which we found in every other aspect an excellent site.

Management response: Please note our brand new facilities block is open from 2018, and includes heated washrooms with toilets, wash basins and free showers, and a dishwashing area

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: U7441DI 1 review from this member

Went to this site 9 years ago and decided to return again this year - twice. The owners are extremely accommodating, friendly and considerate. The price is very reasonable. The site is lovely - whatever the weather - and we've had good and bad. The facilities are adequate and are going to be upgraded with a new toilet block we believe. The site is dark at night which is great if the skies are clear and you are into a bit of astronomy. There are great walks in the area and excellent pubs to visit - we recommend The Plough in Cold Aston, The Black Horse Inn in Naunton and The Mousetrap in Bourton-on-the-Water.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jleafe1 1 review from this member

Great campsite - really peaceful with only a few pitches in our field. Toliekys faculties good

Staff were very friendly and willing to help wih our questions. You can walk to the lovely local pub The Plough across the field takes 20 minutes.

Great value for money would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alicehsu2 7 reviews from this member

Despite several rowdy D of E groups at the campsite, the owners really worked hard to ensure that the campsite was kept quiet at a reasonable hour. They regularly checked that all of the guests were happy and they really cared about their site. There is hot and cold water. The toilet block is dated and could do with a refurb/replacement. You need to pay a 1 for the showers. Great service in being able to re-freeze your ice blocks and there are power points for charging your phone.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dubdogs 140 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of the Easter weekend. Got a really friendly welcome from the owners/wardens; they really were the main asset of this site, as there were very high winds as storm Katie passed through, and they were busy throughout our stay helping people pack-up/fix their units.

The facilities are dated and could really do with knocking down and starting again. It was also a bit disappointing to have to pay a 1 for the showers considering the nightly cost, again they also need a total overhaul. Having said that, everything was regularly cleaned so not complaints around cleanliness, very good.

There was good walking direct from the site with a good range of footpaths to choose from, taking you in to the nice countryside surrounding the site.

There is a handy 'cabin' that has useful local information. There is also a small amount of supplies that can be purchased from the reception hut (toothpaste, brushes, etc. ).

Overall, a well laid out friendly site.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bexstar83 1 review from this member

Phoned to book this campsite and was welcomed with a friendly manner on the phone, a few weeks later I had to phone up and change the date and this wasn't a problem very happy to the change the date then a week later had to phone up and ask to add on another tent and again this wasn't a problem.

On arriving to the site we were met by a friendly greeting who told us where everything was and our pitch.

The campsite was quiet, beautiful and loads of room for the kids and dog to run around, basically everything you need for a weekend camping trip.

And with Bourton on the Water only a 5 minute driver I can't think of a better campsite to stay at.

Looking forward to booking again

Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Cheltenham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7365 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019