Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Grantown On Spey Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Grantown On Spey > Grantown On Spey Caravan Park Reviews

Grantown On Spey Caravan Park
Seafield Avenue
Grantown On Spey
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH26 3JQ
Tel: 01479 872474
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 150
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 101 Reviews
                8/10 from 101 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 130 reviews from this member

Lovely peaceful site ½ miles from centre of Grantown on Spay with its local shops, eateries, butchers and Co-op supermarket. Site has manly hardstanding pitches ranging from basic pitch with EHU to fully serviced pitches. Site is also home to statics and log cabins which have been nicely distributed on the hillside location to give a spacious feel to the site.

Two very clean amenities block, one new with underfloor heating the older block having been modernised. Site has a very good free Wi-Fi service, good phone and TV reception.

Lots of woodland walks directly from site or town, Spay riverside walk and cycling along the quite B roads in the area.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Trev.jones 8 reviews from this member

First impressions were very mixed: staff were brilliant and helped pitch on prearranged super pitch (we had no choice on pitch when booking as only serviced super pitches were available at a price premium).

The site looked very big and our pitch all gravel, as were all the pitches in the gold area. Most of the pitches in gold area were a very good size, as promised by the site advertising, but ours, gold 20, was in a convex corner with the ‘mouth’ of the pitch quite narrow, opening out onto a reasonable width at the back, similar to the other ones in gold.

The pitches to either side were similar shapes and the people on both had pitched before us over to our side of their space thus restricting our space to the extent that there was no way a 6-metre gap could be achieved between our outfits: this is a fire risk… I would expect that as a site affiliated to CAMC it should follow the same layout safety rules but apparently not. Some pitches in other areas appear to have the same issue.

Facilities on site were good but not exceptional for the price. The super pitches all have their own fresh water, grey water disposal and a satellite connection point (push fit aerial socket rather than the more usual satellite screw connector).

Super pitch campers are offered the free use of a satellite decoder box, either SCART or HDMI, but our TV has a decoder built-in so we declined their offer. Satellite signal strength was excellent as was the ‘free’ site Wi-Fi with download speeds comparable to good home ADSL at 18Mbps, the best I have ever seen on a camp site. Cell coverage with three was reasonable but only for voice and text.

An easy walk along a residential road takes you into the town where you can get groceries and good food and drink; you might need to book a restaurant, particularly at weekends. We had a good meal at Wee Puffin (turn right onto High Street) but they were booked solid after about 7pm.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nomadstanley 7 reviews from this member

Stopped here for a night while walking the Speyside Way. It's no more than a 10 minute walk from the centre of town.

I arrived after reception had closed, but it was easy to find the on-site wardens caravan.

Check-in was quick and easy, and jovial. Bathroom facilities were great.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobc51 3 reviews from this member

Warm welcome, shown to pitch, well explained facilities, nice level hard standing pitch, all site really well kept and maintained(even went round in morning collecting overnight mushrooms),

Shower and toilet block very clean, shower rooms spacious and plenty hot water, good dog walk just behind sites on old railway line, short walk from town.

OK that's the good stuff only negative comment I think it is a bit pricey £31. 00 a night (inc. £1. 00 discount for C&M membership) but they really put a lot of effort in.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Torryloon 15 reviews from this member

We stayed on this lovely site for four nights, been here many times, winter, summer, always kept immaculate, good mix of statics tourers and tents, two large toilet shower blocks, spotless, games room with pool table and table tennis.

Big play park for kids, Ideal for dog walking, ten minute walk into town which has plenty shops and cafes.

I think it's a bit overpriced, but I'll be back again for sure.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

A brisk almost brusque telephone manner, and the only site in our fortnight tour up north to require payment up front (same-day booking). The most expensive on our trip too, about a dozen pitches with just EHU & hardstand are £32. All the others (and it's a big site) have standpipe, drain & TV which we don't need, and cost £36 (minor reduction for Club members). Wifi included in the site fees.

In fairness, the actual welcome was warm, we were escorted to our allocated pitch & the facilities were well explained. Our Red pitch was by a tall overgrown conifer hedge that blocked views of the Cairngorms - this and the shade it cast was why we moved on next day. Good modern clean washrooms, good dog walks from the site. Easy to use motorhome service point.

Grantown on Spey is worth an hour or two, an interesting & handsome town with a good range of shops & an impressive war memorial.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sumitra 23 reviews from this member

Excellent site with very good amenities and friendly helpful staff. Nearby town has all amenities in a short level walking distance and a useful co op on the corner.

Plenty of nice walking nearby. Dog friend pub in town. In short everything you need for a nice break.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bigmark 18 reviews from this member

Arrived here from Liverpool mid afternoon and was greeted by friendly staff and taken to my pitch. Faculties are very good and village only a stroll away with the usual co-op type shop and pubs and restaurants.

Aviemore 12 miles away and lots of other attractions to visit. The weather was not too bad despite it being March and the mountains looked fab with all the snow.

Would defo go again.

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

On arrival we the reception was very friendly and helpful, pointing out local walks in the area and provided us with leaflets for local walks which were very helpful.

We were initially allocated a pitch in the Gold area, but I found this part of the site slightly unattractive with no views and near the road, so I asked had a look around the site then asked the man at reception if we could move to another serviced pitch in a different area and this was no problem. We moved to a white area serviced pitch with excellent view and a large very level pitch.

The rest of the areas on the site were similarly nice. We found the toilet block to be excellent and very clean one of the best I've seen. We were close to the children's play park which looked excellent. The town centre was only a short walk with plenty of shops and bars, cafes and restaurants.

There were also plenty of great walks which we did with our dog. We will certainly be back to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fraser600 1 review from this member

Brill site. Great for dog walks. Great for kids and super staff. Superb pitches. Just a top site all round.

Close to shops and easy to get too. Very central for touring around. Nothing bad about it. Oh and very good wifi

Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4148 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019